Cashback

Cashback Image
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 42 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Based on the Oscar nominated short, Cashback is the tale of life on the graveyard shift at a supermarket. When a bad break-up leads to insomnia, art student Ben joins the nocturnal existence of a group of young grocers who indulge in the art of the imagination. As Ben learns to let his runBased on the Oscar nominated short, Cashback is the tale of life on the graveyard shift at a supermarket. When a bad break-up leads to insomnia, art student Ben joins the nocturnal existence of a group of young grocers who indulge in the art of the imagination. As Ben learns to let his run free, he begins to see beauty in the ordinary as well as the possibility to love again. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    80
    Slickly charming, genteelly erotic and directed with supreme polish, Cashback is a conventional romantic comedy that plays unconventional games with time and memory.
  2. 75
    The film's structure is a little awkward, almost certainly as a result of its being expanded from 20 minutes to 97.
  3. It's no small trick to blend fantasy, slapstick and genuine emotion, but Ellis pulls it off with whimsy to spare.
  4. Reviewed by: Emily Phillips
    60
    Much more than a tits and arse farce, this is an enjoyable, if lightweight effort.
  5. Springs from that childhood fantasy of being able to stop time and wander freely among the temporarily frozen. If only writer-director Sean Ellis had done more than use the conceit for a functional romance.
  6. Ellis' slight film has its charms, and the backstory he concocted to lead into the original 18-minute short is effective. But the film lags badly in the middle.
  7. Director Sean Ellis has a lovely eye, but he's set the film in his blind spot. Not only can't he distinguish between art and porn, savoring and wallowing, universal truths and exhausted clich├ęs -- he doesn't even seem interested in these distinctions.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Jan 28, 2012
    10
    GREAT FILM. This will probably be the only movie i will ever give a 10 to. Words can't really describe this movie. I first watched thisGREAT FILM. This will probably be the only movie i will ever give a 10 to. Words can't really describe this movie. I first watched this streaming through netflix at 3 in the morning and it blew me away. Expand
  2. StanleyL
    Aug 14, 2007
    10
    One of the greatest movie I've seen in my life. Sean Ellis described human emotional in the way never been before. Naturally and naked, One of the greatest movie I've seen in my life. Sean Ellis described human emotional in the way never been before. Naturally and naked, the main character's emotion take you back when you first experience love. Beautifully and intelligently filmed but not everyone would understand the artistic of this movie. I'm sure those of us who appreciate the beauty of life will definitely love this movie. See it for yourself, see it through the eyes of artists, of nature lovers. Expand
  3. Jun 14, 2015
    10
    A wonderful film with many hidden truths. I related strongly to the dream of freezing time to experience my life slower. I personally struggleA wonderful film with many hidden truths. I related strongly to the dream of freezing time to experience my life slower. I personally struggle with the fear that my life is slipping away, and all too often I look at the big picture and ignore the details. The movie spoke to me, and gave me words of encouragement. Very beautiful. Expand
  4. RichEP.
    Aug 22, 2007
    8
    I don't know why a majority of reviews were so harsh on a rookies first major film- sure it was a tad sophomoric but it reminded me of I don't know why a majority of reviews were so harsh on a rookies first major film- sure it was a tad sophomoric but it reminded me of all kinds of people I grew up with so I was able to suspend my perception of the film. I say a majority of film reviewers are jaded the average joe will dig this picture! Expand
  5. Sep 26, 2010
    8
    http://mashupmash.blogspot.com/2010/09/cashback.html

    Just yesterday I was recommended this by Movielens (see previous entry) and after I
    http://mashupmash.blogspot.com/2010/09/cashback.html

    Just yesterday I was recommended this by Movielens (see previous entry) and after I read the description I went out and got it. Basically this movie is about a guy who breaks up with his girlfriend, then develops insomnia, then discovers he can stop time, then draws naked women. Sound great so far? Yeah thought so. Ok, so even after an albeit...weird description I watched it not really sure what to expect. What I found was actually a semi deep movie about him trying to overcome his insomnia. I do recommend it. I gave it a 4 out of 5.
    Expand
  6. Apr 8, 2012
    6
    I can completely relate to a lot of things in this movie from the hardships of losing your first love to enjoying beauty in almost everything.I can completely relate to a lot of things in this movie from the hardships of losing your first love to enjoying beauty in almost everything. Quite a few times I found myself laughing out loud which is some good relief from the inner thoughts of the main character. There are a few truly great moments in this movie. But on the other hand I was totally caught off guard when Ben started to freeze time and drawing the girls in the grocery store. I think the idea could've been gotten across with less cleavage and more dialogue or narration. This is still a really solid movie to watch on a date or something of the sorts because both male and female can enjoy it. Expand
  7. Dec 8, 2012
    0
    This is so boooooring! No plot, no acting, nothing takes off or goes anywhere. Ending is so out of reality, it's almost laughable. Maybe ifThis is so boooooring! No plot, no acting, nothing takes off or goes anywhere. Ending is so out of reality, it's almost laughable. Maybe if you're a young teen, you might enjoy. Otherwise, you'd waste almost 2h of your time. Go rent something else. Expand

See all 16 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July

    10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July Image
    Published: June 28, 2016
    Our editors pick out the most interesting films headed to theaters next month.
  2. Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    We rank every movie directed by Steven Spielberg throughout his 40-plus-year career.
  3. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 22, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Independence Day: Resurgence, Free State of Jones, The Shallows, Hunt for the Wilderpeople, The Neon Demon, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.