Casino Royale

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 1201 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Dec 13, 2013
    9
    Casino Royale rejuvenates the Bond franchise with a beautifully crafted film complete with wit, emotion, plot and of course, enthralling action sequences.
  2. Sep 15, 2010
    9
    i really enjoyed this bond film i wasn't sure about Daniel Craig as bond at first but he actually performed very well in this film. the plot of the film was also well written better then a lot of other bond films
  3. Jun 13, 2011
    7
    I was actually really surprised. Daniel Craig was an amazing Bond and Eva Green to me was one of the best Bond girls. The plot was actually really good and believable. The acting was great. The only problems I have with the movie is that its a prequil but the technoligy was far better then the other films and M looks older. But once you get past those details this movie was great.
  4. Nov 2, 2012
    9
    Simply the best Bond of all times. Also if Daniel Craig isn't the best actor I could imagine for this role, this is subordinate because of the great supporting actors. Eva Green is fetchingly good and Mads Mikkelsen as the antagonist is also very well played. The whole film consists of so much rememberable action scenes, every single one is just awesome! The long break between this and theSimply the best Bond of all times. Also if Daniel Craig isn't the best actor I could imagine for this role, this is subordinate because of the great supporting actors. Eva Green is fetchingly good and Mads Mikkelsen as the antagonist is also very well played. The whole film consists of so much rememberable action scenes, every single one is just awesome! The long break between this and the last Bond was essential, with the new techniques there are better visual and audio effects, that improve the whole movie quite much. 'Casino Royale' is a legendary story, the ending is absolutely great and I also enjoyed the poker game. It's a little step away from being a perfect action movie, but is surely one of the best I've seen in years and everything just works in this film. Simply awesome! Expand
  5. Sep 26, 2013
    10
    Casino Royale is by far the best of the newest Bonds, with an exciting premise, masterful execution, and an overall Bond feel to it that is mesmerizingly good.
  6. Apr 20, 2014
    9
    Perhaps the best Bond film ever, and one of the best action films I've ever seen. It's grittier and more violent than the previous films, but it is purely entertaining.
  7. May 22, 2014
    10
    OK Better than Sky fall. You can see this movie. this is one of my first movies with torture. First bond movie with a longest poker game in the movie.
  8. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    Easily one of the best, is not the best, Bond films since the days of Connery. The dark and gritty tones are a welcome change of pace, and the story still manages to infuse humor in the right places, and in my opinion also in the right quantity. Easy 10.
  9. Sep 24, 2011
    8
    The movie is a revolution to the Bond franchise. Mark Campbell presents to the audience that James Bond is not a hero who kills the bad guys and gets laid with girls using his gadgets and slick words. Using Daniel Craig, he presents a Bond that actually gets hurt and looses the ones he love. Through this change of portrayal, Bond has become a stronger character and a worthy franchise toThe movie is a revolution to the Bond franchise. Mark Campbell presents to the audience that James Bond is not a hero who kills the bad guys and gets laid with girls using his gadgets and slick words. Using Daniel Craig, he presents a Bond that actually gets hurt and looses the ones he love. Through this change of portrayal, Bond has become a stronger character and a worthy franchise to watch. Kudos Campbell (and you too Craig)!!! Expand
  10. Feb 23, 2013
    7
    I've never been a fan of James Bond. Probably, because I grew up with Pierce Brosnan as 007 and he sucked. I decide to give the series another shot, not because of Bond, but rather Daniel Craig. I have been a fan of Craig's for some time, having seen several of the films from overseas. I knew then that he would be a huge action star and now he's 007. As for my first Bond movie, it wasI've never been a fan of James Bond. Probably, because I grew up with Pierce Brosnan as 007 and he sucked. I decide to give the series another shot, not because of Bond, but rather Daniel Craig. I have been a fan of Craig's for some time, having seen several of the films from overseas. I knew then that he would be a huge action star and now he's 007. As for my first Bond movie, it was pretty good. Craig was fantastic and avoided much of the cliché Bond moments that most of us have come to loath. The film was entertaining, but also pretty predictable and much longer than it needed to be. I was also very unimpressed by the bad guys. I thought Bond villains were supposed to be classic, but these guys were rather forgettable. I'm not in love with the Bond character, but this film did open my eyes a little bit and I probably will check out Quantum of Solace in the near future. Expand
  11. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    Best Bond movie ever, those who don't agree obviously don't know a good movie. To all of those guys who hate this movie ( luckily there aren't many, u mad brooooooo?)
  12. Nov 9, 2014
    9
    Casino Royale rejuvenates the Bond franchise with a beautifully crafted film complete with wit, emotion, plot and of course, enthralling action sequences.
  13. JeffM.
    Mar 4, 2007
    10
    Casino Royale is the best Bond film ever and Daniel Craig, as Bond, was awsome. I only wish we can see more of him as Bond in remakes.
  14. R.Nichols
    Apr 8, 2007
    9
    Best Bond movie by far. Comparisons to Bourne Supremacy are right. Finally a Bond that's not a wimp, but a killer. Craig is the right actor for the role. Great casting. Hope the next Bond movie keeps with this new approach to Bond.
  15. MaryD.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    I enjoyed the action in this movie to make him more of a human event instead of a computer role. Thanks Daniel for your energy throughout the movie.
  16. NancyH.
    Nov 20, 2006
    7
    A different kind of Bond...more real. Great action sequences but I think the Eva Green lacks the umph to catch Bond. They should have used the married woman in the movie as the lead female. Movie moves along nicely until 2/3 of the way in when we take a pause to watch Bond fall in love...not so believable especially knowing what he was recovering from. Good vein on the re-styling of Bond movies.
  17. Severian
    Nov 20, 2006
    8
    I defnitely much prefer the intense, engaging and more personal Daniel Craig to the previous pretty boy Bond. The storyline is fine. (but the self help defibrillator bit is ludicrously unbelievable though). A good and refreshing facelift for the franchise.
  18. DrewF.
    Nov 20, 2006
    9
    Best Bond film since "The Living Daylights" (So that's nearly 20 years!) I admit to being less then enthused when i first heard that Daniel Craig was selected to be the new Bond. I revoke ANY negativity i previously expressed. This guy is easily the best Bond since Sean Connery. Film has some sparkling banter between Bond and M, and Bond and Vesper. Movie starts off with one of the Best Bond film since "The Living Daylights" (So that's nearly 20 years!) I admit to being less then enthused when i first heard that Daniel Craig was selected to be the new Bond. I revoke ANY negativity i previously expressed. This guy is easily the best Bond since Sean Connery. Film has some sparkling banter between Bond and M, and Bond and Vesper. Movie starts off with one of the most exciting action sequences that the series has ever seen. Great performance by Mads Mikkelsen as the most believable and sympathetic Bond villain to come along in awhile. Great entry in the series. Expand
  19. JamesN.
    Jan 1, 2007
    10
    More realistic than the previous Bond movies which have been too much like cartoons. Daniel Craig does a great job as Bond and the story and intro are great.
  20. VeraR.
    Mar 4, 2007
    8
    Brilliant! Absolutely loved it! Loved Daniel Craig's Bond - and that after I had been such a firm Pierce Brosnan-Bond fan. The opening scene was great and the action in Uganda was so tense. The Madagascar action was also brilliant! The only thing I really found extremely irritating and tedious were the initial "bickering" scenes with the accountant - she came across immature, too Brilliant! Absolutely loved it! Loved Daniel Craig's Bond - and that after I had been such a firm Pierce Brosnan-Bond fan. The opening scene was great and the action in Uganda was so tense. The Madagascar action was also brilliant! The only thing I really found extremely irritating and tedious were the initial "bickering" scenes with the accountant - she came across immature, too young and the age gap between them was just too big. The blond girl was also very forgettable. Expand
  21. CharlesT.
    Apr 10, 2007
    10
    The best James Bond movie ever made. It is a great fresh movie. It shows the series by doing something something i would not have ever thought of in my whole life and that is creating Daniel Craig into the best Bond ever and making it a great movie.
  22. RichardK.
    Apr 1, 2007
    10
    Waiting for this movie to come out on DVD is my mistake. I wish I saw this one on the large theatre screen. The most impresive Bond Movie in decades. Daniel Craig brings 007 back to someone we respect & love. This change in style was exactly what the Bond franchise needed to save itself. I can't wait to see the next one, this time at the Theatre .
  23. ChrisF
    May 14, 2007
    9
    As a massive Bond fan this recent remake of the original book of Fleming's series fits the overall storyline extremely well. All of those who ive low ratings for no plot or a stop-start sequence, you are contradicting yourselves in your reviews, the film needed the slower poker sections to add tension and depth to the characters and the story, but adds the fast-paced action sequences As a massive Bond fan this recent remake of the original book of Fleming's series fits the overall storyline extremely well. All of those who ive low ratings for no plot or a stop-start sequence, you are contradicting yourselves in your reviews, the film needed the slower poker sections to add tension and depth to the characters and the story, but adds the fast-paced action sequences to bring about the necessary climax to each event. And for all those whining about the lack of the "usual" bond plot items, ie, the moneypenny scene, the gadgets, the corny one-liners; again these are not part of the plot, nor is it the bond of the story that is being told in this film, and for those that claim you are bond fans, you should understand this and appreciate it for what it is, even if it doesn't cover your checklist. For those complaining about the violence, it's unnecessary, it's too dark, too gory, etc; since when have we NEVER seen bond bleed? See Dalton, or Pierce, however, what we do see is an invincible Craig coming back to the table after a huge fight and again a poisoning! And then we see the suave, but still too young and inexperienced to be charming, coming back to match wits against his evil and over-the-top adversary, with plenty of glib comments, "that last hand almost killed me". How anyone could be blind enough to give this film less than 5 is beyond me, especially so-called "bond fans". The only thing left to say about the movie to prove all these confused nay-sayers wrong, is that people voteed with their wallets, making this film one of the top 40 (at least) ranked global grossing films of all time, leaving us with little to doubt, BRING ON BOND #22! Expand
  24. RyanS.
    Jan 9, 2008
    10
    Best Bond film since Goldfinger.
  25. DanB.
    Nov 19, 2006
    7
    It's pretty good, and I enjoyed it, but, all the emotions--I think it's very hard to get emotions to work, in a Bond movie, and they didn't really succeed, here. Not for lack of acting--Craig is just dandy fine--but, something was missing. Also. Could've used a few more snappy lines--not necessarily on Bond's part but, in general, a bit sharper dialogue. But It's pretty good, and I enjoyed it, but, all the emotions--I think it's very hard to get emotions to work, in a Bond movie, and they didn't really succeed, here. Not for lack of acting--Craig is just dandy fine--but, something was missing. Also. Could've used a few more snappy lines--not necessarily on Bond's part but, in general, a bit sharper dialogue. But overall it was pretty good (not that you could get much worse than the last one with the diamond-faced dude) Collapse
  26. JadaG.
    Dec 1, 2006
    9
    This film action packed from beginning to nearly end then end. There was one moment that lasted a good 5 minutes that was too long, but everything else meet or exceeded standards. Go and see for yourself.
  27. AbiA.
    Dec 1, 2006
    8
    Excellent action by cast and in particular by Craig. He has graduated handsomely into 007 slot
  28. HeathQ.
    Dec 18, 2006
    9
    Although Daniel Craig is not who I would say was the obvious choice (Clive Owen), he plays a kick ass Bond. Dark, mysterious, evil, and all while he is still learning the ropes. What everyone has to remember is that this story was written as the ORIGINAL Bond Story, before he became a double 0 agent. Yes, Bond is a suave character in the films we have all grown to love, but this is the Although Daniel Craig is not who I would say was the obvious choice (Clive Owen), he plays a kick ass Bond. Dark, mysterious, evil, and all while he is still learning the ropes. What everyone has to remember is that this story was written as the ORIGINAL Bond Story, before he became a double 0 agent. Yes, Bond is a suave character in the films we have all grown to love, but this is the unexperienced Bond, lover of women, but night quite as slick as he is yet to become. Great film, can't wait for Bond 22. Expand
  29. VitusP.
    Dec 28, 2006
    10
    This is a James Bond that introduces the stark duality of humanity into the series. Throughout the series of movies we see some very good acting, but next to Craig's bond, everyone else just looks like a comic book character. Another exciting aspect about this bond movie is that it IS more dependant on the plot and the characters than the gadgets, 2 bit sex scenes, and myriad of This is a James Bond that introduces the stark duality of humanity into the series. Throughout the series of movies we see some very good acting, but next to Craig's bond, everyone else just looks like a comic book character. Another exciting aspect about this bond movie is that it IS more dependant on the plot and the characters than the gadgets, 2 bit sex scenes, and myriad of explosives. Just to point out, I think the opening ("You Know My Name", appropriately enough) is the first Bond movie not to feature dancing females' nude silhousettes. This suggests that Bond films are becoming more than just toy commercials for middle aged men. Also, it's about time we saw another Bond film based on Ian Flemming's novels. Praise be that they got the first one right. Expand
  30. AzaE.
    Dec 3, 2006
    9
    Great, but where was Q?
  31. GauthamS
    Dec 7, 2006
    9
    Raw, formidable and absolutely humane ! One of the best James Bond Movie .
  32. JonM.
    Dec 7, 2006
    8
    What a return for Bond, what a debut in the franchise for Daniel Craig. The movie is excellent, dramatic set pieces, tension building plot and clever scripting. This only misses a strong 9 due to slightly overlong love story in the last third of the film. Craig is genius, bettering Brosnan's comic caricature of Bond. His physical presence, charm and wit mean the chases flow, fight What a return for Bond, what a debut in the franchise for Daniel Craig. The movie is excellent, dramatic set pieces, tension building plot and clever scripting. This only misses a strong 9 due to slightly overlong love story in the last third of the film. Craig is genius, bettering Brosnan's comic caricature of Bond. His physical presence, charm and wit mean the chases flow, fight scenes crunch like no bond before, and his vocal sparring with enemies and love interests is as sharp as knives. Gone is the Brosnan-Moore cheese fest, a new era of Bond has finally arrived to save the legend! Expand
  33. Marlowe
    Dec 8, 2006
    7
    It was good, full of action. But I'm still not sure where it ended. Was it the torture scene, or final scene in the movie? Maybe I just need to see it again to understand it, but it just seemed like they ended it, because they were running out of time. When M, mentions about the girl; it reminded me of the Austin Powers 2 line, "we knew all along sadly (about Ms. Kensington)." And It was good, full of action. But I'm still not sure where it ended. Was it the torture scene, or final scene in the movie? Maybe I just need to see it again to understand it, but it just seemed like they ended it, because they were running out of time. When M, mentions about the girl; it reminded me of the Austin Powers 2 line, "we knew all along sadly (about Ms. Kensington)." And there were a lot of long, quiet moments, I found myself wondering into my A.D.D. world during them. But it was good, worth a matinee. Expand
  34. Oriel
    Dec 9, 2006
    10
    Captivating. Casino Royale hearkens back to the early days when Bond, played by Connery, was Ian Flemming's creation. Over the years, the Bond franchise had been reduced to fluff with irrelevant but money-making sequels. A huge thanks to the filmmakers who helped bring an old childhood friend back.
  35. DougM
    Jan 18, 2007
    10
    In looking over the reviews, one thing that keeps coming up is a list of by the numbers Bond cliches that are missing that allegedly make this a bad movie. In "The Living Daylights" commentary, the director mentions that what has kept Bond alive for so long is that he changes with the times. The Bond movies were dying. The Brosnan movies were close to the bottom of the pile in terms ofIn looking over the reviews, one thing that keeps coming up is a list of by the numbers Bond cliches that are missing that allegedly make this a bad movie. In "The Living Daylights" commentary, the director mentions that what has kept Bond alive for so long is that he changes with the times. The Bond movies were dying. The Brosnan movies were close to the bottom of the pile in terms of total number of tickets sold amongst Bond movies (not how much money made as a movie ticket costs three times what it did in Connery's day but actual number sold). It was dying. The new Bond is exactly what was needed to reinvent Bond for 2006 and onward. Expand
  36. BarryS.
    Jan 2, 2007
    9
    As a youngster, I loved the Bond films and particularly ones starring Connery. In the years since, I had been growing tired of the cartoonish Bond, the man who could never lose at anything and who, when all else failed, would simply use a gadget to extricate himself from his dilemma. In fact, from the moment each gadget was issued to him, one could envision just when that life-saving As a youngster, I loved the Bond films and particularly ones starring Connery. In the years since, I had been growing tired of the cartoonish Bond, the man who could never lose at anything and who, when all else failed, would simply use a gadget to extricate himself from his dilemma. In fact, from the moment each gadget was issued to him, one could envision just when that life-saving device would come in handy. Everything about Bond had become stale and predictable. Casino Royale is not perfect. The villains roles and their relationships to each other could be better defined and the movie drags in small bits. But the overall product is the first Bond film worth seeing in years. Craig does a great job as the pre-quel Bond. Here's hoping Craig returns and builds on what he has started. With more experience and a growing reputation Bond is poised to act more cleverly and even be outfitted with some state of the art gadgetry, some of which he may not use despite having it. If you like a more realistic Bond and a story that was not simply re-written and repackaged, then you will like the new Bond. I look forward to what is in store for 007 now that he has someplace to go other than cartoon land. Expand
  37. MarkB.
    Jan 3, 2007
    9
    Chomp, chomp, (choke), gulp. That's the sound of a good many 007-watchers, myself included, who spent the last two years or so moaning about Daniel Craig's casting as "the first blond Bond' eating our words. While I'm still rooting for Clive Owen to take his turn in a few years once the Craig/ Broccoli connection inevitably dries up, I've seldom been so happy to Chomp, chomp, (choke), gulp. That's the sound of a good many 007-watchers, myself included, who spent the last two years or so moaning about Daniel Craig's casting as "the first blond Bond' eating our words. While I'm still rooting for Clive Owen to take his turn in a few years once the Craig/ Broccoli connection inevitably dries up, I've seldom been so happy to be wrong: Craig gives Bond a rawness and intensity that, for all of Pierce Brosnan's undeniable charm in the role, has been missing ever since the vastly underrated Timothy Dalton strapped on the Walther PPK for two money-losing late 80s installments. Craig makes Martin Campbell's fully honorable attempt to rebuild Bond from the ground up an unqualified success; if you sat through The Sum of All Fears, the disastrous 2002 attempt to redefine Tom Clancy's Jack Ryan as a single Ben Affleck rather than a married-with-children Harrison Ford, you know what a dicey endeavor that reinventing an established character can be. Amazingly, Casino Royale, like Peter Jackson's brilliant do-over of King Kong from a year before, manages the heady task of both honoring its predecessors and correcting their mistakes: after Goldfinger in 1965, most of the Bond films--good, bad or indifferent--have been as ritualistic as Japanese kabuki theater (28 minutes into the flick? OK, time for the obligatory repartee with Moneypenney!) and have been, even at their best, relentlessly bloodless enterprises in both senses of the word. Over a quarter of a decade ago, Steven Spielberg pitched Indiana Jones to George Lucas by describing everyone's favorite fighting archaeologist as "better than Bond"; the result was three films that were "must-see moviegoing" rather than the "it's-there-and-it's-the-latest-so-what-the-heck" that such mediocre, by-the-numbers efforts as The Man With the Golden Gun and Moonraker had relegated the 007 films to being. Indy was no superhero...he was vulnerable, and felt pain, and Casino Royale's genius is that its Bond is still learning, makes BIG mistakes, and actually bleeds. (And bleeds, and bleeds. Make no mistake, parents, this isn't a PG-13 film at all but a hard R. If you haven't seen the documentary This Film Is Not Yet Rated, whose thesis is that the MPAA is far more lenient toward big studio efforts than small independent movies, this will convince you.) Eva Green is hands down THE best Bond girl of all time precisely because she's not a girl at all but a real woman... intelligent, multidimensional and able to give Bond as good as she gets, and I loved how this film, while remaining in the present day and being firmly rooted in the War on Terror rather than the Cold War, works as Bond's "origin story", explaining everything from his casual/ cruel attitude toward women (007 somehow qualifies as both the honorary president of the Playboy Club AND the He-Man Women-Haters Club) to his special fondness for Aston-Martins to even where the film series' famous "bloody iris" trademark comes from. (And the movie answers a few relevant fan questions, too. If you ever wondered whether Judi Dench's M has any kind of personal life, you'll find out...if you look closely.) Nearly everything works, including the risky Texas hold-em poker sequence that takes up a substantial part of the running time, but for many the most memorable sequence will be Bond's torture scene, which recalls memories of Goldfinger's legendary "laser bit" but turns up the intensity; if men in the earlier movie's audience crossed their legs in discomfort, they're likely to twist them like pretzels during THIS variant. Two more elements that place Casino Royale on the same rarified plateau as Goldfinger and its predecessor From Russia With Love is that all three are the only films in the entire Bond series that are viable Ten Best entries for their respective years, and all three of them, to refer to a very funny play that Casino Royale makes on one of 007's signature lines, are the Bond films virtually guaranteed to leave their audiences both shaken AND stirred. Expand
  38. JakeP.
    Jan 30, 2007
    9
    Very good, a bit more gadgetry could have been added, but overall a great addition to the Bond collection!
  39. LoberG.
    Jan 3, 2007
    8
    It was a good film, but I did not like the actor who played James Bond.
  40. RM.
    Feb 26, 2007
    7
    I've been a Bond fan since Goldfinger. I was disappointed by the confusing doublecrosses and plot twists, most of which were toward the end of the film. Who was blackmailing Vesper? Why did the Angolans want money from LeChiffre? He supposedly was paid for weapons but the film never explained the transaction. Who shot Mathis? Craig of course was good. I knew he would be. The I've been a Bond fan since Goldfinger. I was disappointed by the confusing doublecrosses and plot twists, most of which were toward the end of the film. Who was blackmailing Vesper? Why did the Angolans want money from LeChiffre? He supposedly was paid for weapons but the film never explained the transaction. Who shot Mathis? Craig of course was good. I knew he would be. The pre-credits were so-so, the title sequence was cartoonish. The song was boring. The tone of the film was great, more serious. Expand
  41. MikeN.
    Mar 13, 2007
    7
    It's better than any recent Bond movie. But it still isn't great. It is, I suppose a "good" movie. But lets face it. James Bond is dead. And he's not coming back, unless they find another Sean Connery to play him. Daniel Craig is good, but just not good enough.
  42. Javier
    Mar 21, 2007
    9
    I actually enjoyed Bronsan as Bond, especially in Goldeneye, but Die Another Day was "Batman and Robin" bad. This movie in my eye resurrects the franchise. While no one can top Connery's Bond, both dashing and brutal, Craig's interpretation recalls those qualities. People forget how ammoral Connery's Bond could be. Eva Green is riveting, rewatch her scenes with Bond and you I actually enjoyed Bronsan as Bond, especially in Goldeneye, but Die Another Day was "Batman and Robin" bad. This movie in my eye resurrects the franchise. While no one can top Connery's Bond, both dashing and brutal, Craig's interpretation recalls those qualities. People forget how ammoral Connery's Bond could be. Eva Green is riveting, rewatch her scenes with Bond and you will see how nuanced her performance is. The early action scene at the construction site is amazing, but the movie doesn't rely on overblown chase scenes to create tension. The movie is a tad too long, but at least the length allows Craig and Green to convey a real realtionship. I highly recommend this movie (Who ever said MI3 was better is nuts or is Tom Cruise - which may be the samething) Expand
  43. NickA.
    Mar 23, 2007
    7
    This was a good film but not a great one! Perhaps I'm being a bit sentimental here but after watching this I wanted to get out one of my favourite bond films, Live And Let Die and see what the true point of Bond was, loads of gadgets, loads of explosions and a film that didnt take itself so seriously. In a way this resembles the way Batman Begins goes in re-inventing the franchise, This was a good film but not a great one! Perhaps I'm being a bit sentimental here but after watching this I wanted to get out one of my favourite bond films, Live And Let Die and see what the true point of Bond was, loads of gadgets, loads of explosions and a film that didnt take itself so seriously. In a way this resembles the way Batman Begins goes in re-inventing the franchise, however that works brilliantly this somehow left me feeling a bit underwhelmed. As a film its not bad and there are some great action sequences however too much time was spent in the casino scenes and this part dragged on for too long. So it was a good attempt at trying to bring Bond upto date but not quite there. Daniel Craig really wasnt the problem here even though Judi Dench stole every scene they were in together! Perhaps with time the director will manage to get the right blend of gadgets, wry humour and action sequences whilst still being gritty and dark at times. Expand
  44. JimmyLoneWolf
    Mar 24, 2007
    9
    I really can't believe some of the comments I'm reading on here...what stupidity! First off, this movie BLOWS Spy Game out of the water, to the idiot who said this was trying to be like that film by making us "feel" for a spy. Second, I get a HUGE kick out of the girl who claims this movie "seemed to be all about FX" when the movie that came out right before it was Die Another I really can't believe some of the comments I'm reading on here...what stupidity! First off, this movie BLOWS Spy Game out of the water, to the idiot who said this was trying to be like that film by making us "feel" for a spy. Second, I get a HUGE kick out of the girl who claims this movie "seemed to be all about FX" when the movie that came out right before it was Die Another Day, the worst example of overblown special effects I've seen in years. Finally, a shout out to the guy who says Live and Let Die (with its "gadgets") is "what REAL Bond films are about," conveniently ignoring From Russia With Love and the other SUPERIOR Connery films that wisely held back on overusing the gimmicks. As for Casino Royale, it was exceptionally good, and truly rivals the Connery years. Daniel Craig is perfect in the role, the cinematography is stunningly good, the romance feels real for a change, and the action is as harsh and brutal as it has ever been. People who don't like this movie simply have no idea what constitutes a "classic" film. Instead, they'll take the clunky camerawork and cheesy, pun-laden "humor" of the Brosnan films simply because there's giant lasers and CGI involved. This film will prove to film lovers that the state of cinema is just fine, its the state of mainstream audiences' minds that we should REALLY worried about. This is the best Bond film in nearly 30 years, its just too bad noone watches movies from 30 years ago so they have no idea what a GOOD Bond film is like. Wake up people, this is the real deal. Expand
  45. JamesB.
    Apr 2, 2007
    10
    This movie was absolutely perfect, I don't know why some guys gave it a "1" or a "3". The story is when Bond gets his 00 license and his license to kill. Since this is Fleming's first book on James Bond, there is no "Q" (he didn't debue until from Russia with love). Because there is no "Q" no gadgets. This knew Bond may seem reckless at first, but hey, it's when he is This movie was absolutely perfect, I don't know why some guys gave it a "1" or a "3". The story is when Bond gets his 00 license and his license to kill. Since this is Fleming's first book on James Bond, there is no "Q" (he didn't debue until from Russia with love). Because there is no "Q" no gadgets. This knew Bond may seem reckless at first, but hey, it's when he is young and most energetic of his time. Expand
  46. DeanB.
    Apr 8, 2007
    8
    If you want constant innuendo, one liners, and overall campness - go away and watch one of the Roger Moore, or Pierce Brosnan efforts. However I you prefer a more sophisticated Bond film, thats more serious, and artistic, and not full of gadgets, and over the top special effects (Pierce Brosnan - hang your head in shame), then 'Casino Royale' is for you. Daniel Craig's If you want constant innuendo, one liners, and overall campness - go away and watch one of the Roger Moore, or Pierce Brosnan efforts. However I you prefer a more sophisticated Bond film, thats more serious, and artistic, and not full of gadgets, and over the top special effects (Pierce Brosnan - hang your head in shame), then 'Casino Royale' is for you. Daniel Craig's portrayal of 007, is similar to Timothy Dalton's. He attempts to play the character as intended by original author Ian Fleming (ie: a bit more serious, and with a darker edge, rather than cheesy one liners, and school boy innuendo!!), and personally i think he succeeds. The best (serious) Bond film, since 'Licence To Kill'. Expand
  47. CandyR.
    May 8, 2007
    10
    I must admit that I was one of those skeptical about the new Bond. I doubted I would even go and see it. However, I happened to be at a different movie when the previews came out and in seeing them I began to reconsider. Unfortunately I didn't get to see it in the theater (which is always the best way to watch a new movie), but rented it when it became available. Daniel Craig turned I must admit that I was one of those skeptical about the new Bond. I doubted I would even go and see it. However, I happened to be at a different movie when the previews came out and in seeing them I began to reconsider. Unfortunately I didn't get to see it in the theater (which is always the best way to watch a new movie), but rented it when it became available. Daniel Craig turned out to be the most breathtaking and enigmatic persona I've seen on the screen in a very long time! Imagine, Bond, a real person after all! For those who vastly enjoy the intellectual qualities of a film greater than the mindless and gratuitous sexual content with its childish repartees, this is the REAL McCOY!!! The dialogue is fresh, the action is riveting, and I've never seen anything so wonderful as Bond in a bathing suit! Expand
  48. BrianG
    Jan 5, 2008
    9
    Perhaps the finest Bond film since Goldfinger. I have to agree that the Bond franchise was desperately in need of a "re-boot" given the ludicrous and wholly unsatisfying attempts of the recent films. Daniel Craig gives a superb performance, delivering intense, rugged sophistication. The scene on the train to Montenegro, in which Bond first meets Vesper and they quickly launch into their Perhaps the finest Bond film since Goldfinger. I have to agree that the Bond franchise was desperately in need of a "re-boot" given the ludicrous and wholly unsatisfying attempts of the recent films. Daniel Craig gives a superb performance, delivering intense, rugged sophistication. The scene on the train to Montenegro, in which Bond first meets Vesper and they quickly launch into their subtle verbal sparring provides fascinating insight into Bond Expand
  49. Gerdema
    Feb 15, 2008
    9
    Cunning, great acting performance from Daniel Craig.
  50. TylerC.
    Feb 6, 2008
    8
    Best Bond movie yet? I don't even know if this is a Bond movie, but I loved it.
  51. GaryD
    Jul 14, 2008
    8
    True Brilliance! Really brought the franchise to realism and depth,with more intense 'Jason Bourne' like action, however the really did extend the storyline to long and the poker scene wasn't to great either,Nevertheless it is a MUST SEE!
  52. JimP
    Feb 8, 2009
    10
    Best Bond ever, best Bond film ever. Period.
  53. JocelynE.
    Nov 16, 2006
    8
    The Bond persona needed a change in direction. Away from the character who started to resemble a superhero, and back to the secret agent who uses only his charm and quick wit to get out of tough situations, and into beautiful girls beds. Sure, Daniel Craig is a grittier Bond than we are used to seeing, but he still looks better in a tuxedo than any man should be allowed.
  54. MaxM.
    Nov 16, 2006
    8
    Anyone who doesn't appreciate (at least) that Bond is back and better than he has been in years is just grumpy. Despite being a tad long, this definitely whet my appetite for the next Craig outing.
  55. amicus
    Nov 17, 2006
    9
    Well-crafted movie. A realistic portrayal of a secret agent with the flamboyance and wit only James could deliver.
  56. TimJ.
    Nov 17, 2006
    10
    I never thought there could be a bond like Sean Connery. I was wrong. Peirce B. came close. But Daniel Craig has gone beyond. You get to watch how events change the man and the man becomes Bond. And Daniel Craig IS Bond. I hope he makes a dozen bond movies.
  57. KevinM.
    Nov 17, 2006
    10
    This movie was absolutely amazing. Without question, it was one of the best films of the 20th century, in my opinion. Between the elaborately drawn up plot, extremely humorous typical "Bond" humor, and of course, the absoutely phenomenal stunts & filmography, this movie tops the world's greatest, and also rivals GoldenEye for the greatest bond movie ever. Daniel Craig's acting This movie was absolutely amazing. Without question, it was one of the best films of the 20th century, in my opinion. Between the elaborately drawn up plot, extremely humorous typical "Bond" humor, and of course, the absoutely phenomenal stunts & filmography, this movie tops the world's greatest, and also rivals GoldenEye for the greatest bond movie ever. Daniel Craig's acting is fantastic, and the frequent remarks and humorous quick comments keep viewers on the edge of their seat, if not standing up yelling. Expand
  58. MichaelH.
    Nov 18, 2006
    8
    I enjoyed the movie. Daniel Craig has potential, but it seemed to me they tried to read to much depth in too many disperate directions into the Bond character. Similarly Eva Green adds a lot, but again they made everything a little too tragic for my tastes. I remember before Die Another Day the movie PR folk tried to advertise it as a "psychological thriller" which it totally wasn't. I enjoyed the movie. Daniel Craig has potential, but it seemed to me they tried to read to much depth in too many disperate directions into the Bond character. Similarly Eva Green adds a lot, but again they made everything a little too tragic for my tastes. I remember before Die Another Day the movie PR folk tried to advertise it as a "psychological thriller" which it totally wasn't. This isn't either, but the producers and actors threw more bones at what a tough world it is to be a secret agent. Personally, I'd rather enjoy him as a quick-witted superhero (and not one of the conflicted, brooding Bruce Wayne/Batman ilk) Expand
  59. EricN.
    Nov 18, 2006
    10
    Long time Bond fan here. This one does not disappoint. It's a good bit different from the usual, but to me- that's a good thing. Very little cheese in this one. All the actors are incredible, great writing, great action scenes, great adaption of the original book. The only two flaws I could find were: 1) A cheesy finger-licking scene. 2) It might have run a little long. This was Long time Bond fan here. This one does not disappoint. It's a good bit different from the usual, but to me- that's a good thing. Very little cheese in this one. All the actors are incredible, great writing, great action scenes, great adaption of the original book. The only two flaws I could find were: 1) A cheesy finger-licking scene. 2) It might have run a little long. This was ok for me as a Bond-geek, but my non-Bond-geek companions were getting a little worn out toward the end. Also, I haven't seen my local theater that packed in a long time. Expand
  60. DWilly
    Nov 18, 2006
    7
    Nifty dialog, great locations, nice set pieces, and a servicable lead performance from Craig, appropraitely thuggish but with the limitation that comes with an actor who is emotionally cut playing someone who is emotionally cut off. Never moving (which is possible in a top flight, action film like The Bourne Identity), but always entertaining.
  61. WillW.
    Nov 18, 2006
    9
    The Bond team should be applauded for some excellent decisions - they know they're working with the best of the source material so they stick closely to it. The book isn't the most fast paced so they get Paul Haggis in to beef up the dialogue (and does it show). And they pick a fantastic Bond. Daniel Craig is closer to the Bond of the novels than arguably even Sean Connery, and The Bond team should be applauded for some excellent decisions - they know they're working with the best of the source material so they stick closely to it. The book isn't the most fast paced so they get Paul Haggis in to beef up the dialogue (and does it show). And they pick a fantastic Bond. Daniel Craig is closer to the Bond of the novels than arguably even Sean Connery, and the supporting cast is uniformly excellent. The only slight annoyance is Mads Mikkelson doesn't get enough screen time as Le Chiffre, although he more than makes up for it with the magnetic torture scene. Martin Campbell's saved the franchise again. Expand
  62. BruceC.,CraneTexas
    Nov 18, 2006
    10
    This is the Best Bond film ever to be put on screen! Daniel Craig did Excellent on playing the role Bond. I can't wait to see him again. Daniel Craig brought a new personality to Bond. Which I love how he did it. The main 3 reasons I love this film. Is because there is no gadgets. no Q, or no Moneypenny. But most of all. I love the new Bond!!
  63. JBWocky
    Nov 18, 2006
    7
    Sure, its a very good reboot but the film has two serious problems that trip up its shot at being the definitive Bond flick -for a Bond fan of course. First, Daniel Craig is good, puts in a superb effort and is wonderfully darker but is really not what the character merits. Tux him up to the hilt and he still looks and acts more KGB than MI6, more Spetsnaz than Oxbridge toff. The Sure, its a very good reboot but the film has two serious problems that trip up its shot at being the definitive Bond flick -for a Bond fan of course. First, Daniel Craig is good, puts in a superb effort and is wonderfully darker but is really not what the character merits. Tux him up to the hilt and he still looks and acts more KGB than MI6, more Spetsnaz than Oxbridge toff. The 'working man's Bond' is a problem, especially after Brosnan. Second, by stripping down and subverting every Bond trope - even if it be to pretty good effect too - the film melts the glue that always bonded. Bond is about as real world as Willy Wonka. The Bourne Identity the film can never be. Simply being different, with respect to an admittedly tired formula, makes a movie interesting and good, not great. Expand
  64. AnthonyS.
    Nov 20, 2006
    10
    This is the best Bond movie I've seen in 15 years, I'd have to say Daniel Craig really surprised me here. I was very skeptical about him playing the new bond, but boy was I ever mistaken! He flat out dominates every other actor back to Sean Connery. This film has given me a new hope for the future of Bond!!
  65. KennethK.
    Nov 21, 2006
    10
    Most satisfying movie experiece I've had in quite some time. Daniel Craig is the best Bond of all time. No question.
  66. RedRose
    Nov 21, 2006
    10
    1) This is the best bond film of the last 20 years; 2) Daniel Craig is the best bond since Connery; 3) The pacing is absolutely perfect. 120 mins is just about right. Those reviewers complaining that 120 mins is too long either have ADD or I suspect are very young/immature and do not have the patience to sit through this kind of film as they have most likely been force fed on a diet of 1) This is the best bond film of the last 20 years; 2) Daniel Craig is the best bond since Connery; 3) The pacing is absolutely perfect. 120 mins is just about right. Those reviewers complaining that 120 mins is too long either have ADD or I suspect are very young/immature and do not have the patience to sit through this kind of film as they have most likely been force fed on a diet of Mission Impossible/XXX etc and are used to seeing films run no longer than 100 mins. 4) This is the best film of the year. Vastly superior to the overrated Departed. BRITAINS FAVOURITE SPY IS BACK. 10/10 Expand
  67. JoeyK.
    Nov 20, 2006
    8
    Great movie. I was very doubtful at first, Craig is a surprisingly excellent Bond. The movie is also surprisingly long, but its not bad. Overall, it's a great development of the Bond character, really putting new meaning behind his convictions and behaviors. It focuses on the man, not the gadgets or the villains, and yet the coolness is still there, and the villain element is still Great movie. I was very doubtful at first, Craig is a surprisingly excellent Bond. The movie is also surprisingly long, but its not bad. Overall, it's a great development of the Bond character, really putting new meaning behind his convictions and behaviors. It focuses on the man, not the gadgets or the villains, and yet the coolness is still there, and the villain element is still there. Good Bond movie. Expand
  68. PetroM
    Nov 22, 2006
    9
    Never was a fan of 007 movies, but this fun definitely rocks! Enjoyed it alot. Dench and Craig delivery an excellent performance. Well balanced.
  69. LindaS.
    Nov 20, 2006
    9
    There was trouble with people rating this movie because Metacritic was experiencing difficulties [Ed: thanks for noticing, Linda!]. But the problems of gone and the votes are poring in. For good reason too, this bond is one of the very best. Daniel Craig shows serious pontential as our modern 6th James Bond. A great action packed romance movie all around. Has everything a bond movie There was trouble with people rating this movie because Metacritic was experiencing difficulties [Ed: thanks for noticing, Linda!]. But the problems of gone and the votes are poring in. For good reason too, this bond is one of the very best. Daniel Craig shows serious pontential as our modern 6th James Bond. A great action packed romance movie all around. Has everything a bond movie needs. However, they all need more blood, i say the next one, go for the R Rating. Expand
  70. LoriP.
    Nov 25, 2006
    9
    Not sure how you give it less than 7.5, but not a perfect 10 either. But the movie doesn't have to be perfect to be a must see. I seriously doubted their ability to revive this franchise, but like Batman Begins, going back to the beginning works here with a younger, stonger Bond - did I mention darker?? I love that Bond is dark. He is much more human than his predecessors in that he Not sure how you give it less than 7.5, but not a perfect 10 either. But the movie doesn't have to be perfect to be a must see. I seriously doubted their ability to revive this franchise, but like Batman Begins, going back to the beginning works here with a younger, stonger Bond - did I mention darker?? I love that Bond is dark. He is much more human than his predecessors in that he stumbles, bleeds, falls, etc and at the same time is the back to basics - a stone cold killer. He's an assassin. That's what he is at the bottom line although we're usually glossing that over with sex and witticisms which are are missing here, and I for one did not miss them. The only misstep was the super long ending. The romance really took us down a different path too quickly, to a different Bond, to a different story and just seemed a 15-20 minute setup for the inevitable ending. That said... go see this movie! I know you gentlemen will enjoy the feisty, intelligent new Bond Girl so allow me my moment to say... ladies... ummm, naked Daniel Craig... worth the price of admission. Expand
  71. Dr.Yes
    Nov 25, 2006
    9
    Ah, Russia's Vladimir Putin would be proud!!! Not sure why Time and the Miami Herald are so off in left field on this one. It's more realistic and more violent. The acting is much better too as is the story. He is not suave campy movie Bond...he's real world "I kill people...so part of myself is dying". Not sure how hard of a concept that is to understand. I do have to say Ah, Russia's Vladimir Putin would be proud!!! Not sure why Time and the Miami Herald are so off in left field on this one. It's more realistic and more violent. The acting is much better too as is the story. He is not suave campy movie Bond...he's real world "I kill people...so part of myself is dying". Not sure how hard of a concept that is to understand. I do have to say the end is a downshift, but necessary to advance the Bond character to more depth in future movies. Amazing timing with the real world ex-KGB spy's poisoning in Britain. The world is slowly drawing up sides again, Keep up the REALITY that we got in this movie...so much better. No more spacy laser beam Bond. Amen. Expand
  72. DanS.
    Nov 20, 2006
    10
    I'll say it now, since everyone will be saying it later anyway--Daniel Craig is likely the best Bond ever, and this is certainly the best Bond movie. None of the cheesy lasers and judo chops and bad guys falling over the railing after they get shot. This is fast-paced, dark, suspenseful, and sets a new standard of cool.
  73. RD.
    Dec 11, 2006
    10
    Very good movie. I can't compare it with other Bond movies as I have not seen them. But this is a great entertainer.
  74. Paul
    Dec 1, 2006
    10
    This movie is great. I took my parents last night (my second viewing), and they loved it, too. At the end my pop said "This is the best Bond movie I have ever seen". No disrespect to Mr. Connery, who is the best---I have to agree with my pops. Any movie where you want a repeat viewing is a 10!
  75. GlenC
    Dec 1, 2006
    9
    As young boys back in the Connery days of Dr. No and Goldfinger, we used to exchange James Bond movie cards. Big thing back then. I've been a lifelong Bond fan, but I must confess that the recent films were beginning to lose me. Too many techno gadgets, explosions, and hyperaction left us wondering if we were watching actors on film or video games. Thank God (and Ms Broccoli) for the As young boys back in the Connery days of Dr. No and Goldfinger, we used to exchange James Bond movie cards. Big thing back then. I've been a lifelong Bond fan, but I must confess that the recent films were beginning to lose me. Too many techno gadgets, explosions, and hyperaction left us wondering if we were watching actors on film or video games. Thank God (and Ms Broccoli) for the newest Bond. I must say this already ranks among my very favorites, and IMO, one of the best movies of 2006. Daniel Craig is awesome. His character reminds me of Connery, perhaps a bit more vulnerable and less humorous and charming, but we understand this is the beginning all over again. As for those critics who say the movie was too long, didn't their mothers tell them NOT to smoke crack? God forbid that we should ever be given a 90-minute Bond movie! Expand
  76. Peter
    Dec 14, 2006
    10
    Best James Bond movie to date. Daniel Craig really roughened up Bonds character yet still kept the cool suave aspects that make Bond...Bond.
  77. ThomL.
    Dec 15, 2006
    10
    Most well thought out Bond film since from Russia with Love. Certain people on this post don't know anything. Steve H, just so you know, this is a loyal adaptation to the first Bond novel Ian Fleming ever wrote, so chronologically, it can't be an Austin Powers rip off, and for once, a Bond girl gave a great performance. They took a bold move and threw ridiculous gadgets to the Most well thought out Bond film since from Russia with Love. Certain people on this post don't know anything. Steve H, just so you know, this is a loyal adaptation to the first Bond novel Ian Fleming ever wrote, so chronologically, it can't be an Austin Powers rip off, and for once, a Bond girl gave a great performance. They took a bold move and threw ridiculous gadgets to the curb to make a superb, believeable espionage thriller. Expand
  78. StormG
    Dec 2, 2006
    10
    Outstanding!
  79. KatyaS.
    Dec 23, 2006
    10
    Craig certainly makes his bond debut a splash, this is exactly what the bond movies needed to bring the younger generation back to them.
  80. PatM.
    Dec 24, 2006
    10
    I loved this movie---from the initial graphics to the ending scene!!!
  81. PepitaR.
    Dec 2, 2006
    10
    Fantastic film. One word to describe the new bond and the entire film. "RAW". I loved it. The action, the romance, the mood has lingered with me through the night up to this minute.
  82. KevinD.
    Dec 29, 2006
    9
    This was a new kind of Bond film. Not all that bad. In fact highly enjoyable. It had some old elements such as the opening fight scene and the final scene, with the added effects of the black and white opener and the great lack of MI-6. Sean Connery Bond lovers will love it, Pierce's followers won't as much. Although I was disappointed that he was only with one woman and that This was a new kind of Bond film. Not all that bad. In fact highly enjoyable. It had some old elements such as the opening fight scene and the final scene, with the added effects of the black and white opener and the great lack of MI-6. Sean Connery Bond lovers will love it, Pierce's followers won't as much. Although I was disappointed that he was only with one woman and that she had to die, it was still a solid good ol' action flick. Expand
  83. TomS.
    Dec 31, 2006
    10
    Loved the film. Fab special effects, good story line and lots of twists and turns you would'nt expect. Not like the other Bond films, but that is not a bad thing just different!!
  84. JasonL.
    Dec 3, 2006
    10
    Best Bond movie in years. After watching Craig in action, I wonder why Pierce Brosnan didn't get shafted to the cheese factory years ago. This movie has renewed my faith in the whole Bond franchise, which was starting to go into death throes. Craig has saved Bond from the garbage bin. When I tell my friends this is a good movie, they all moan until they have actually watched it, just Best Bond movie in years. After watching Craig in action, I wonder why Pierce Brosnan didn't get shafted to the cheese factory years ago. This movie has renewed my faith in the whole Bond franchise, which was starting to go into death throes. Craig has saved Bond from the garbage bin. When I tell my friends this is a good movie, they all moan until they have actually watched it, just goes to show you how tired that whole disturbing comedy trash (with John Cleese of all people) was becoming. Thank god for this movie. Expand
  85. LouisM.
    Dec 4, 2006
    8
    One of the best Bond movies ever. Not just a great Bond movie, but an excellent movie, period. Bond is a real person and his well-being comes under threat more than once. Enough to create a true sense of concern and tension. This is something which lacks in most Bond movies. He is an actual 3 dimensional character. The only gripe is that the romance part is too long at a point when one One of the best Bond movies ever. Not just a great Bond movie, but an excellent movie, period. Bond is a real person and his well-being comes under threat more than once. Enough to create a true sense of concern and tension. This is something which lacks in most Bond movies. He is an actual 3 dimensional character. The only gripe is that the romance part is too long at a point when one thinks the movie is wrapping up. Expand
  86. DougM.
    Dec 6, 2006
    10
    I would rate this as second only to "Goldfinger" among Bond movies. If your only criteria is character realism, it is even the best one. Daniel Craig seems, so far, second only to Connery whose performance was so subtly brilliant that people sometimes, unfortunately, took it for granted. Craig is more like Timothy Dalton, playing it completely seriously but the film requires that. I I would rate this as second only to "Goldfinger" among Bond movies. If your only criteria is character realism, it is even the best one. Daniel Craig seems, so far, second only to Connery whose performance was so subtly brilliant that people sometimes, unfortunately, took it for granted. Craig is more like Timothy Dalton, playing it completely seriously but the film requires that. I don't think he is "better" than previous Bonds. If you look at how ridiculous those movies were in Moore's era, it made perfect sense to play them for laughs. But Craig is perfect to play a three-dimensional Bond. Expand
  87. PauletteA.
    Dec 6, 2006
    7
    Daniel Craig topless looked like Popeye and his pouty lips were annoying. Fast energy, interesting twists and turns in plot.
  88. JB
    Dec 7, 2006
    9
    Great job. Film: excellent, if a little over long. Craig: Superb, the best since Connery. I notice that almost all the low marks in the user comments come from people who seem to have missed the point of this film, no gadgets, no Q etc etc. This is a prequal film to all other Bonds after all, did they not even notice the entire start of the film being about him getting promoted to 00 Great job. Film: excellent, if a little over long. Craig: Superb, the best since Connery. I notice that almost all the low marks in the user comments come from people who seem to have missed the point of this film, no gadgets, no Q etc etc. This is a prequal film to all other Bonds after all, did they not even notice the entire start of the film being about him getting promoted to 00 status? As for the person who suggests Steven Segal as a Bond. I mean really. A sadly overweight, aging (he has many years on Brosnan, and people thought him too old) American has-been, it would be charity to offer him a bit part as a hench man, let alone Bond. Well done, with that one suggestion you validate everything else you wrote as coming from someone totally clueless. Hurrah to Craig for reinventing the franchise. Expand
  89. Daz
    Dec 8, 2006
    10
    Probably the best bond movie ever. The biggest compliment I can give the movie is that it reminded me more of the Bourne films than any old Bond flick. Well done Mr Craig!!
  90. A.Martinez
    Dec 8, 2006
    9
    One of the best Bond films. More mature, visceral, overall a great movie.
  91. DonaldR.
    Jan 11, 2007
    10
    Bond had gotten rather bland and portentious for some time. I stopped going to theaters to see them cause well, they bored the hell out of me. But I was curious about this one because of Daniel Craig. I was never one of those who deplored his choice as the new 007. I always found him to be an interesting actor so his effectiveness in the role of James Bond comes as no surprise. What did Bond had gotten rather bland and portentious for some time. I stopped going to theaters to see them cause well, they bored the hell out of me. But I was curious about this one because of Daniel Craig. I was never one of those who deplored his choice as the new 007. I always found him to be an interesting actor so his effectiveness in the role of James Bond comes as no surprise. What did surprise me though was the film's emotional arc. I was actually moved and saddened by the tenderness shown by this man who historically has been nothing but a hunk with a chunk of misogyny in his heart. Now I understand why. That added depth made this film all the better with its great action sequences, strong story line and believable villians. I look forward to the next chapter. Expand
  92. OLuck
    Jan 12, 2007
    10
    Really fantastic, one of the best spy movies ever. It is not getting the respect it deserves becasue fo the franchise. The direction, scripting, acting is superior, really trancends the genre. Fantastic.
  93. OLuck
    Jan 12, 2007
    10
    To tell you the honest truth, I was not ready to take the new Bond movie [Casino Royale] to seriously regardless of the critics. Aside from From Russia with Love, Dr. No and On her Majesty's Secret Service, all of the Bond movies have been gimmicky and silly. As much as I like Pierce Brosnan, all of his Bond outings have been less than spectacular in a sense that none of them wereTo tell you the honest truth, I was not ready to take the new Bond movie [Casino Royale] to seriously regardless of the critics. Aside from From Russia with Love, Dr. No and On her Majesty's Secret Service, all of the Bond movies have been gimmicky and silly. As much as I like Pierce Brosnan, all of his Bond outings have been less than spectacular in a sense that none of them were really genuine Bond films! His movies lacked the suave, sardonic manner of Connery and all of his movies were at times ridiculous (Die Another Day).
    Now lets talk about Craig.
    While Connery was an incredible Bond, he is no Daniel Craig. While the appeal and "smooth" style of Connery as Bond is iconic. Daniel Craig turns Bond into a sadistic, volatile kind of agent of blazing ferocity, kind of like how Fleming would've wanted Bond. Craig alone makes the movie so incendiary, as well as the well-produced screenplay and the other small things (The Chris Cornell song rocks!). This movie made up for the disappointment I underwent when I saw the Departed and It is easily one of the best movies I've seen in a long time.
    Expand
  94. JonathanM.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    I thought it was awesome, it gets better every time i watch it.
  95. RachelL.
    Dec 30, 2007
    9
    The lack of gadgets shows that bond has been brought into the 21st century and is the most believable of all of the Bond movies so far. By having female characters with power rather than put into the movie as a sex object or for decoration it shows the realism of the film. I don't think it should have been a pg13 as many of the scenes would have been unsuitable for a young aged The lack of gadgets shows that bond has been brought into the 21st century and is the most believable of all of the Bond movies so far. By having female characters with power rather than put into the movie as a sex object or for decoration it shows the realism of the film. I don't think it should have been a pg13 as many of the scenes would have been unsuitable for a young aged viewer as they are extremely violent or of a sexual nature. Daniel Craig will improve as this character as he continues to play Bond. He has also bought a coldness to the character, never scene before, but commonly referenced to in the book. Expand
  96. DougN.
    Jan 30, 2007
    8
    The darker psychology compared to previous Bond films improves the experience.
  97. DonW.
    Jan 7, 2007
    7
    I dont mind a blonde Bond, he has the right look. Not the best story to choose for his first but he didn't decide that. I see alot of potential in Daniel Craig for future Bond movies. The girls were not as attractive as previous Bond movies and gadgets were held to a minimum. It's just what I want in a Bond movie and the villian was sub par compared to the rest of the series.
  98. Andy
    Feb 11, 2007
    8
    The best Bond I can remember since License To Kill, and probably better. The cheese factor has been reduced to a bare minimum.
  99. EvertH.
    Feb 13, 2007
    9
    I decided to see it, despite the circumstance that I thought Clive Owen was better fit for the role. I am an avid Bond fan, have seen every movie more than once, and I was sitting on the edge of my chair all the time. Hands down one of the best (if not the best...) Bond-movies that have come out. Gone are the silly gadgets and silly humor (although I hope a little bit more sardonic humor I decided to see it, despite the circumstance that I thought Clive Owen was better fit for the role. I am an avid Bond fan, have seen every movie more than once, and I was sitting on the edge of my chair all the time. Hands down one of the best (if not the best...) Bond-movies that have come out. Gone are the silly gadgets and silly humor (although I hope a little bit more sardonic humor will return), not the typical ending of the franchise that ends up with the pretty woman in some unqiue position, no Q unrealisticly traveling around with all of his equipment and staff. Just down to earth honest action. The only I could see is that Judi Dench was still playing M (how can that be if the series just started over?). I can't wait till the next one (and I understand it's going to be another 2 year wait). Expand
  100. JoelC.
    Mar 14, 2007
    10
    Quite possibly my favorite Bond. I was amazed this movie turned out so good after seeing what Pierce was doing to the Bond franchise. Thank god he's gone!
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Reviewed by: Staff (Not Credited)
    Nov 5, 2015
    80
    Bond 21 is refreshed yet faithful, any grumbles easily quashed by Craig's powerful presence. The suit fits. And he wears it well.
  2. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Nov 5, 2015
    75
    Casino Royale is one of the good ones and not just for the way it wittily recontextualizes several series touchstones.
  3. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Nov 5, 2015
    60
    Casino Royale is just swell when Bond is busting up bathrooms in Prague, busting up embassies in Madagascar and busting a move in Nassau. But when he gets to, well, Casino Royale (here, in the former Yugoslav Republic of Montenegro), the film goes utterly flat.