Columbia Pictures | Release Date: November 17, 2006
8.5
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1245 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,091
Mixed:
65
Negative:
89
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
JOES.Aug 31, 2007
Casino Royale was meant to be a more down to earth bond film. Too bad it sucked. If the directors really wanted to make a more realistic bond, they should have made a more From Russia with Love type realistic. A bond movie shouldn't be Casino Royale was meant to be a more down to earth bond film. Too bad it sucked. If the directors really wanted to make a more realistic bond, they should have made a more From Russia with Love type realistic. A bond movie shouldn't be totally fake and stupid, (cough Die Another Day cough!) but it shouldn't be so realistic that bond goes through cardiac arrest. Also, Craig just plain sucks! If they wanted a more "realistic" bond, anybody would have been better! (Clive Owen anybody?) The movie is way to long. It is the first time I was actually bored during a bond film. Mads Mikkelsen is simply unimposing and anti-climatic. I think that my 8-year-old-brother could have beat the crap out of him. Also, the casino scene is SOOOOOOO LOOOONG! Bond plays Baccarat, not poker, but that's not important. Daniel Craig mumbles for the whole movie. Also, if they wanted a more plausible film, why then, put in some jamacan guy who has been bitten by a radioactive spider! I know this review is very inconsistent, but the film is so bad that i don't know where to start! Oh, yeah, the only good part was when Bond met Mr. White. Hopefully the next one will be better. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
NeilV.Nov 17, 2006
Im not sure where all these "A" reviews came from...it truly baffles me! If anyone out there is a true Bond fan, there is no way in hell that this movie could be appreciated. Daniel Craig is the worst Bond I have ever seen...I think the Im not sure where all these "A" reviews came from...it truly baffles me! If anyone out there is a true Bond fan, there is no way in hell that this movie could be appreciated. Daniel Craig is the worst Bond I have ever seen...I think the people that casted him were on crack. Everyone knows 007 is a tall, dark hair, sophisticated, sauve gentlemen. Daniel Craig looks like a beaten up english pauper. This movie was absolutely rubbish. The storyline did not make sense, nor did it flow well at all. Even the opening song was lousy. From the very get go, it was straight up action, with very little dialogue, and feeble storyline. This is an insult to Mr. Sean Connery...the greatest, and only true Bond... Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
DerrickHDec 11, 2006
I am a James Bond fan and this was the lamest Bond I have ever seen!!! Where were the gadgets, the cars, the suspense. Wait for the DVD, better yet, tv. I could have saved my 9.50.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
jwt7000Nov 20, 2012
Loved the stunts, loved the theme song, but did not love the overall scenario of the movie itself. A long boring card game in the middle of the movie and the action scenes are mostly dealt with chasing one enemy at a time. I expect moreLoved the stunts, loved the theme song, but did not love the overall scenario of the movie itself. A long boring card game in the middle of the movie and the action scenes are mostly dealt with chasing one enemy at a time. I expect more excitement and the gadgets this time but there's nothing more than just some pointless scenes. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
Tss5078Feb 23, 2013
I've never been a fan of James Bond. Probably, because I grew up with Pierce Brosnan as 007 and he sucked. I decide to give the series another shot, not because of Bond, but rather Daniel Craig. I have been a fan of Craig's for some time,I've never been a fan of James Bond. Probably, because I grew up with Pierce Brosnan as 007 and he sucked. I decide to give the series another shot, not because of Bond, but rather Daniel Craig. I have been a fan of Craig's for some time, having seen several of the films from overseas. I knew then that he would be a huge action star and now he's 007. As for my first Bond movie, it was pretty good. Craig was fantastic and avoided much of the cliché Bond moments that most of us have come to loath. The film was entertaining, but also pretty predictable and much longer than it needed to be. I was also very unimpressed by the bad guys. I thought Bond villains were supposed to be classic, but these guys were rather forgettable. I'm not in love with the Bond character, but this film did open my eyes a little bit and I probably will check out Quantum of Solace in the near future. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
OfficialSamDec 23, 2012
Best Bond movie ever, those who don't agree obviously don't know a good movie. To all of those guys who hate this movie ( luckily there aren't many, u mad brooooooo?)
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
vikesh2206Nov 9, 2014
Casino Royale rejuvenates the Bond franchise with a beautifully crafted film complete with wit, emotion, plot and of course, enthralling action sequences.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
BenJ.Dec 1, 2006
Hats off to Daniel Craig for brining the right amount of (much needed) grit to the role. However his achievements, coupled with some great set pieces, are runied by a ridiculous running time, and a terribly hammy final quarter. Drop the Hats off to Daniel Craig for brining the right amount of (much needed) grit to the role. However his achievements, coupled with some great set pieces, are runied by a ridiculous running time, and a terribly hammy final quarter. Drop the drawn out ending, shave 40 minutes off the films length and you'd have a great film. Sadly, this is only average. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeffM.Mar 4, 2007
Casino Royale is the best Bond film ever and Daniel Craig, as Bond, was awsome. I only wish we can see more of him as Bond in remakes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
R.NicholsApr 8, 2007
Best Bond movie by far. Comparisons to Bourne Supremacy are right. Finally a Bond that's not a wimp, but a killer. Craig is the right actor for the role. Great casting. Hope the next Bond movie keeps with this new approach to Bond.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MaryD.Jan 26, 2010
I enjoyed the action in this movie to make him more of a human event instead of a computer role. Thanks Daniel for your energy throughout the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
NancyH.Nov 20, 2006
A different kind of Bond...more real. Great action sequences but I think the Eva Green lacks the umph to catch Bond. They should have used the married woman in the movie as the lead female. Movie moves along nicely until 2/3 of the way in A different kind of Bond...more real. Great action sequences but I think the Eva Green lacks the umph to catch Bond. They should have used the married woman in the movie as the lead female. Movie moves along nicely until 2/3 of the way in when we take a pause to watch Bond fall in love...not so believable especially knowing what he was recovering from. Good vein on the re-styling of Bond movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SeverianNov 20, 2006
I defnitely much prefer the intense, engaging and more personal Daniel Craig to the previous pretty boy Bond. The storyline is fine. (but the self help defibrillator bit is ludicrously unbelievable though). A good and refreshing facelift for I defnitely much prefer the intense, engaging and more personal Daniel Craig to the previous pretty boy Bond. The storyline is fine. (but the self help defibrillator bit is ludicrously unbelievable though). A good and refreshing facelift for the franchise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DrewF.Nov 20, 2006
Best Bond film since "The Living Daylights" (So that's nearly 20 years!) I admit to being less then enthused when i first heard that Daniel Craig was selected to be the new Bond. I revoke ANY negativity i previously expressed. This guy Best Bond film since "The Living Daylights" (So that's nearly 20 years!) I admit to being less then enthused when i first heard that Daniel Craig was selected to be the new Bond. I revoke ANY negativity i previously expressed. This guy is easily the best Bond since Sean Connery. Film has some sparkling banter between Bond and M, and Bond and Vesper. Movie starts off with one of the most exciting action sequences that the series has ever seen. Great performance by Mads Mikkelsen as the most believable and sympathetic Bond villain to come along in awhile. Great entry in the series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesN.Jan 1, 2007
More realistic than the previous Bond movies which have been too much like cartoons. Daniel Craig does a great job as Bond and the story and intro are great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
VeraR.Mar 4, 2007
Brilliant! Absolutely loved it! Loved Daniel Craig's Bond - and that after I had been such a firm Pierce Brosnan-Bond fan. The opening scene was great and the action in Uganda was so tense. The Madagascar action was also brilliant! The Brilliant! Absolutely loved it! Loved Daniel Craig's Bond - and that after I had been such a firm Pierce Brosnan-Bond fan. The opening scene was great and the action in Uganda was so tense. The Madagascar action was also brilliant! The only thing I really found extremely irritating and tedious were the initial "bickering" scenes with the accountant - she came across immature, too young and the age gap between them was just too big. The blond girl was also very forgettable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CharlesT.Apr 10, 2007
The best James Bond movie ever made. It is a great fresh movie. It shows the series by doing something something i would not have ever thought of in my whole life and that is creating Daniel Craig into the best Bond ever and making it a great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RichardK.Apr 1, 2007
Waiting for this movie to come out on DVD is my mistake. I wish I saw this one on the large theatre screen. The most impresive Bond Movie in decades. Daniel Craig brings 007 back to someone we respect & love. This change in style was exactly Waiting for this movie to come out on DVD is my mistake. I wish I saw this one on the large theatre screen. The most impresive Bond Movie in decades. Daniel Craig brings 007 back to someone we respect & love. This change in style was exactly what the Bond franchise needed to save itself. I can't wait to see the next one, this time at the Theatre . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisFMay 14, 2007
As a massive Bond fan this recent remake of the original book of Fleming's series fits the overall storyline extremely well. All of those who ive low ratings for no plot or a stop-start sequence, you are contradicting yourselves in your As a massive Bond fan this recent remake of the original book of Fleming's series fits the overall storyline extremely well. All of those who ive low ratings for no plot or a stop-start sequence, you are contradicting yourselves in your reviews, the film needed the slower poker sections to add tension and depth to the characters and the story, but adds the fast-paced action sequences to bring about the necessary climax to each event. And for all those whining about the lack of the "usual" bond plot items, ie, the moneypenny scene, the gadgets, the corny one-liners; again these are not part of the plot, nor is it the bond of the story that is being told in this film, and for those that claim you are bond fans, you should understand this and appreciate it for what it is, even if it doesn't cover your checklist. For those complaining about the violence, it's unnecessary, it's too dark, too gory, etc; since when have we NEVER seen bond bleed? See Dalton, or Pierce, however, what we do see is an invincible Craig coming back to the table after a huge fight and again a poisoning! And then we see the suave, but still too young and inexperienced to be charming, coming back to match wits against his evil and over-the-top adversary, with plenty of glib comments, "that last hand almost killed me". How anyone could be blind enough to give this film less than 5 is beyond me, especially so-called "bond fans". The only thing left to say about the movie to prove all these confused nay-sayers wrong, is that people voteed with their wallets, making this film one of the top 40 (at least) ranked global grossing films of all time, leaving us with little to doubt, BRING ON BOND #22! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanS.Jan 9, 2008
Best Bond film since Goldfinger.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
GaborA.Nov 17, 2006
A couple of good ideas are lost in a muddle of contradictions and flaws. The new Bond is interesting, but too bad he doesn't have an adversary. The film tries to make up for this with forced twists. For the first time a Bond movie has A couple of good ideas are lost in a muddle of contradictions and flaws. The new Bond is interesting, but too bad he doesn't have an adversary. The film tries to make up for this with forced twists. For the first time a Bond movie has metaphorical significance and a darker side, but also for the first time Bond has nothing to do but get lucky in poker in this plotless, paceless entry. Its a shame considering the brave decisions, but at least I'm curious to see where this goes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
RobM.Nov 18, 2006
No action at all in this movie compared to ones with Peirce. Trhs movie is not very characteristic of a bond film. It is often slow at times and goes on for lengthy periods with out adding to the plot. Do yourself a fvor and wait till it No action at all in this movie compared to ones with Peirce. Trhs movie is not very characteristic of a bond film. It is often slow at times and goes on for lengthy periods with out adding to the plot. Do yourself a fvor and wait till it comes out on video. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DanB.Nov 19, 2006
It's pretty good, and I enjoyed it, but, all the emotions--I think it's very hard to get emotions to work, in a Bond movie, and they didn't really succeed, here. Not for lack of acting--Craig is just dandy fine--but, something It's pretty good, and I enjoyed it, but, all the emotions--I think it's very hard to get emotions to work, in a Bond movie, and they didn't really succeed, here. Not for lack of acting--Craig is just dandy fine--but, something was missing. Also. Could've used a few more snappy lines--not necessarily on Bond's part but, in general, a bit sharper dialogue. But overall it was pretty good (not that you could get much worse than the last one with the diamond-faced dude) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JadaG.Dec 1, 2006
This film action packed from beginning to nearly end then end. There was one moment that lasted a good 5 minutes that was too long, but everything else meet or exceeded standards. Go and see for yourself.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AbiA.Dec 1, 2006
Excellent action by cast and in particular by Craig. He has graduated handsomely into 007 slot
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HeathQ.Dec 18, 2006
Although Daniel Craig is not who I would say was the obvious choice (Clive Owen), he plays a kick ass Bond. Dark, mysterious, evil, and all while he is still learning the ropes. What everyone has to remember is that this story was written as Although Daniel Craig is not who I would say was the obvious choice (Clive Owen), he plays a kick ass Bond. Dark, mysterious, evil, and all while he is still learning the ropes. What everyone has to remember is that this story was written as the ORIGINAL Bond Story, before he became a double 0 agent. Yes, Bond is a suave character in the films we have all grown to love, but this is the unexperienced Bond, lover of women, but night quite as slick as he is yet to become. Great film, can't wait for Bond 22. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VitusP.Dec 28, 2006
This is a James Bond that introduces the stark duality of humanity into the series. Throughout the series of movies we see some very good acting, but next to Craig's bond, everyone else just looks like a comic book character. Another This is a James Bond that introduces the stark duality of humanity into the series. Throughout the series of movies we see some very good acting, but next to Craig's bond, everyone else just looks like a comic book character. Another exciting aspect about this bond movie is that it IS more dependant on the plot and the characters than the gadgets, 2 bit sex scenes, and myriad of explosives. Just to point out, I think the opening ("You Know My Name", appropriately enough) is the first Bond movie not to feature dancing females' nude silhousettes. This suggests that Bond films are becoming more than just toy commercials for middle aged men. Also, it's about time we saw another Bond film based on Ian Flemming's novels. Praise be that they got the first one right. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AzaE.Dec 3, 2006
Great, but where was Q?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GauthamSDec 7, 2006
Raw, formidable and absolutely humane ! One of the best James Bond Movie .
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JonM.Dec 7, 2006
What a return for Bond, what a debut in the franchise for Daniel Craig. The movie is excellent, dramatic set pieces, tension building plot and clever scripting. This only misses a strong 9 due to slightly overlong love story in the last What a return for Bond, what a debut in the franchise for Daniel Craig. The movie is excellent, dramatic set pieces, tension building plot and clever scripting. This only misses a strong 9 due to slightly overlong love story in the last third of the film. Craig is genius, bettering Brosnan's comic caricature of Bond. His physical presence, charm and wit mean the chases flow, fight scenes crunch like no bond before, and his vocal sparring with enemies and love interests is as sharp as knives. Gone is the Brosnan-Moore cheese fest, a new era of Bond has finally arrived to save the legend! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful