Columbia Pictures | Release Date: November 17, 2006
8.5
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1249 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,095
Mixed:
65
Negative:
89
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
LouisM.Dec 4, 2006
One of the best Bond movies ever. Not just a great Bond movie, but an excellent movie, period. Bond is a real person and his well-being comes under threat more than once. Enough to create a true sense of concern and tension. This is One of the best Bond movies ever. Not just a great Bond movie, but an excellent movie, period. Bond is a real person and his well-being comes under threat more than once. Enough to create a true sense of concern and tension. This is something which lacks in most Bond movies. He is an actual 3 dimensional character. The only gripe is that the romance part is too long at a point when one thinks the movie is wrapping up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DougM.Dec 6, 2006
I would rate this as second only to "Goldfinger" among Bond movies. If your only criteria is character realism, it is even the best one. Daniel Craig seems, so far, second only to Connery whose performance was so subtly brilliant that people I would rate this as second only to "Goldfinger" among Bond movies. If your only criteria is character realism, it is even the best one. Daniel Craig seems, so far, second only to Connery whose performance was so subtly brilliant that people sometimes, unfortunately, took it for granted. Craig is more like Timothy Dalton, playing it completely seriously but the film requires that. I don't think he is "better" than previous Bonds. If you look at how ridiculous those movies were in Moore's era, it made perfect sense to play them for laughs. But Craig is perfect to play a three-dimensional Bond. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PauletteA.Dec 6, 2006
Daniel Craig topless looked like Popeye and his pouty lips were annoying. Fast energy, interesting twists and turns in plot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JBDec 7, 2006
Great job. Film: excellent, if a little over long. Craig: Superb, the best since Connery. I notice that almost all the low marks in the user comments come from people who seem to have missed the point of this film, no gadgets, no Q etc etc. Great job. Film: excellent, if a little over long. Craig: Superb, the best since Connery. I notice that almost all the low marks in the user comments come from people who seem to have missed the point of this film, no gadgets, no Q etc etc. This is a prequal film to all other Bonds after all, did they not even notice the entire start of the film being about him getting promoted to 00 status? As for the person who suggests Steven Segal as a Bond. I mean really. A sadly overweight, aging (he has many years on Brosnan, and people thought him too old) American has-been, it would be charity to offer him a bit part as a hench man, let alone Bond. Well done, with that one suggestion you validate everything else you wrote as coming from someone totally clueless. Hurrah to Craig for reinventing the franchise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DazDec 8, 2006
Probably the best bond movie ever. The biggest compliment I can give the movie is that it reminded me more of the Bourne films than any old Bond flick. Well done Mr Craig!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
A.MartinezDec 8, 2006
One of the best Bond films. More mature, visceral, overall a great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DonaldR.Jan 11, 2007
Bond had gotten rather bland and portentious for some time. I stopped going to theaters to see them cause well, they bored the hell out of me. But I was curious about this one because of Daniel Craig. I was never one of those who deplored Bond had gotten rather bland and portentious for some time. I stopped going to theaters to see them cause well, they bored the hell out of me. But I was curious about this one because of Daniel Craig. I was never one of those who deplored his choice as the new 007. I always found him to be an interesting actor so his effectiveness in the role of James Bond comes as no surprise. What did surprise me though was the film's emotional arc. I was actually moved and saddened by the tenderness shown by this man who historically has been nothing but a hunk with a chunk of misogyny in his heart. Now I understand why. That added depth made this film all the better with its great action sequences, strong story line and believable villians. I look forward to the next chapter. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OLuckJan 12, 2007
Really fantastic, one of the best spy movies ever. It is not getting the respect it deserves becasue fo the franchise. The direction, scripting, acting is superior, really trancends the genre. Fantastic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OLuckJan 12, 2007
To tell you the honest truth, I was not ready to take the new Bond movie [Casino Royale] to seriously regardless of the critics. Aside from From Russia with Love, Dr. No and On her Majesty's Secret Service, all of the Bond movies haveTo tell you the honest truth, I was not ready to take the new Bond movie [Casino Royale] to seriously regardless of the critics. Aside from From Russia with Love, Dr. No and On her Majesty's Secret Service, all of the Bond movies have been gimmicky and silly. As much as I like Pierce Brosnan, all of his Bond outings have been less than spectacular in a sense that none of them were really genuine Bond films! His movies lacked the suave, sardonic manner of Connery and all of his movies were at times ridiculous (Die Another Day).
Now lets talk about Craig.
While Connery was an incredible Bond, he is no Daniel Craig. While the appeal and "smooth" style of Connery as Bond is iconic. Daniel Craig turns Bond into a sadistic, volatile kind of agent of blazing ferocity, kind of like how Fleming would've wanted Bond. Craig alone makes the movie so incendiary, as well as the well-produced screenplay and the other small things (The Chris Cornell song rocks!). This movie made up for the disappointment I underwent when I saw the Departed and It is easily one of the best movies I've seen in a long time.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonathanM.Nov 5, 2007
I thought it was awesome, it gets better every time i watch it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RachelL.Dec 30, 2007
The lack of gadgets shows that bond has been brought into the 21st century and is the most believable of all of the Bond movies so far. By having female characters with power rather than put into the movie as a sex object or for decoration The lack of gadgets shows that bond has been brought into the 21st century and is the most believable of all of the Bond movies so far. By having female characters with power rather than put into the movie as a sex object or for decoration it shows the realism of the film. I don't think it should have been a pg13 as many of the scenes would have been unsuitable for a young aged viewer as they are extremely violent or of a sexual nature. Daniel Craig will improve as this character as he continues to play Bond. He has also bought a coldness to the character, never scene before, but commonly referenced to in the book. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DougN.Jan 30, 2007
The darker psychology compared to previous Bond films improves the experience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DonW.Jan 7, 2007
I dont mind a blonde Bond, he has the right look. Not the best story to choose for his first but he didn't decide that. I see alot of potential in Daniel Craig for future Bond movies. The girls were not as attractive as previous Bond I dont mind a blonde Bond, he has the right look. Not the best story to choose for his first but he didn't decide that. I see alot of potential in Daniel Craig for future Bond movies. The girls were not as attractive as previous Bond movies and gadgets were held to a minimum. It's just what I want in a Bond movie and the villian was sub par compared to the rest of the series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AndyFeb 11, 2007
The best Bond I can remember since License To Kill, and probably better. The cheese factor has been reduced to a bare minimum.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EvertH.Feb 13, 2007
I decided to see it, despite the circumstance that I thought Clive Owen was better fit for the role. I am an avid Bond fan, have seen every movie more than once, and I was sitting on the edge of my chair all the time. Hands down one of the I decided to see it, despite the circumstance that I thought Clive Owen was better fit for the role. I am an avid Bond fan, have seen every movie more than once, and I was sitting on the edge of my chair all the time. Hands down one of the best (if not the best...) Bond-movies that have come out. Gone are the silly gadgets and silly humor (although I hope a little bit more sardonic humor will return), not the typical ending of the franchise that ends up with the pretty woman in some unqiue position, no Q unrealisticly traveling around with all of his equipment and staff. Just down to earth honest action. The only I could see is that Judi Dench was still playing M (how can that be if the series just started over?). I can't wait till the next one (and I understand it's going to be another 2 year wait). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoelC.Mar 14, 2007
Quite possibly my favorite Bond. I was amazed this movie turned out so good after seeing what Pierce was doing to the Bond franchise. Thank god he's gone!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonSMar 18, 2007
One of the best Bond movies ever!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
IsaacB.Mar 18, 2007
This is a good movie, not perfect. Lots of action, but this is NOT James Bond.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EricY.Mar 19, 2007
I haven't seen a James Bond movie in a long time, but this was a choice on my flight to Europe. I thought that the action was awesome from the beginning and I really enjoyed it. Poker is huge right now, so kudos to the filmmaker for I haven't seen a James Bond movie in a long time, but this was a choice on my flight to Europe. I thought that the action was awesome from the beginning and I really enjoyed it. Poker is huge right now, so kudos to the filmmaker for cashing in on that as well. What a great movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SylviaR.Mar 19, 2007
Worst Bond I've ever seen. There is no slight humor of the other Bonds, no special effects, a lot of violence. It's just a very hard, everyday cops and robbers movie. No Bond theme, no Bond-gets-the-girl ending. It was VERY Worst Bond I've ever seen. There is no slight humor of the other Bonds, no special effects, a lot of violence. It's just a very hard, everyday cops and robbers movie. No Bond theme, no Bond-gets-the-girl ending. It was VERY disappointing as a Bond movie. Have been loyal Bond watchers of ALL the movies but don't know if we'll watch another one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
SteveK.Mar 21, 2007
This movie was just weird for me. [***Mild Spoilers***] I think they achieved the goal of psychoanalyzing Bond how he became a cold-hearted emotionally aloof badass, but as for the story, it had too many holes and the whole movie was weirdly This movie was just weird for me. [***Mild Spoilers***] I think they achieved the goal of psychoanalyzing Bond how he became a cold-hearted emotionally aloof badass, but as for the story, it had too many holes and the whole movie was weirdly paced. It went from heart-stopping action to a really bizarre torture scene that seemed like a first-grader made up and then it turned into some sappy love story only to thrust you back into action with hardly any explanation. I like that they tried to make a grittier, cold-blooded Bond but it was just a little weird for me. And when the end came ultimately, it wasn't very satisfying. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JakeE.Mar 22, 2007
I never thought it possible that this series could be rejjuvenated that way that it was, but drawing on, and in the process updating, the original book Ian Fleming Bond novel of Casino Royale re-created the character as Fleming originally I never thought it possible that this series could be rejjuvenated that way that it was, but drawing on, and in the process updating, the original book Ian Fleming Bond novel of Casino Royale re-created the character as Fleming originally saw him. And for all those Daniel Craig doubters, he does more than silence the critics as a more rogue Bond. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KeithA.Mar 29, 2007
It had several very good scenes but it's not as great as the critics make it out to be. Craig did a good job, but he's much more intimidating than any previous Bond which takes away the character's subtle charm. The action It had several very good scenes but it's not as great as the critics make it out to be. Craig did a good job, but he's much more intimidating than any previous Bond which takes away the character's subtle charm. The action sequences and dialogue are top-notch but the plot isn't that interesting (not to mention a predictable twist), it was too long, and the villian goes down like a PUNK. It's the best bond since GoldenEye, but it could've been better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DARMar 30, 2007
Thought this was the best Bond movie in the series to date. From what I can tell, those who really didn't like this movie prefer the "formula" that Bond films have followed for the most part - diabolical villain with a doomsday device Thought this was the best Bond movie in the series to date. From what I can tell, those who really didn't like this movie prefer the "formula" that Bond films have followed for the most part - diabolical villain with a doomsday device and/or plan for world domination, to be thwarted by a 007 who cheats death and injury while holding a gun in one hand and a beautiful woman in the other. While those films have their own entertainment value, elements of suspense and a plot that leaves you with unanswered questions were not their hallmarks. Casino Royale takes a much different turn, one which I think is for the better, by being a smarter Bond film in that regard - devoid of the run-of-the-mill sequences that didn't set the previous Bond films apart from any other action flick. And, aside from MoneyPenny and Q not being present, all of the other standard Bond film elements that make the series unique are still in place, albeit more subtlely introduced than most Bond fans are used to. Craig played the role as well as Connery ever has, presenting a much more well-rounded character than we're used to seeing. All in all, a fantastic 007 film, perhaps only topped (or equaled, I should say) by From Russia with Love, Goldfinger, and On Her Majesty's Secret Service. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HaggApr 13, 2007
Well I have read all of the negative comments here. I going to attempt this drunk! LOL The people complaining are lost, this is telling of how he became who he was in other movies. So of course no toys and since he is always scared, of love Well I have read all of the negative comments here. I going to attempt this drunk! LOL The people complaining are lost, this is telling of how he became who he was in other movies. So of course no toys and since he is always scared, of love in the connery movies of course no get the girl ending. As for charming that is learned not given trust me. Also for the person saying no American cars in Europe you have never left your city. In my military time I have been all over and fords and opels(gm overseas) are everywhere. Read the books and understand what you are being shown before making ignorant remarks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RussW.Apr 7, 2007
I entirely agree with JimmyLoneWolf's review. At least somebody has half a brain out there. 1, 2, or 3 stars? What the hell is going on with you people? Don't you know what a good film is? Jesus Christ! Casino Royale rocked... Eva I entirely agree with JimmyLoneWolf's review. At least somebody has half a brain out there. 1, 2, or 3 stars? What the hell is going on with you people? Don't you know what a good film is? Jesus Christ! Casino Royale rocked... Eva Green was, and remains, one of the only Bond girls I have ever been able to believe (the only other one being Pussy Galore, despite the name). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MartinS.Apr 8, 2007
This is the James Bond that Ian Fleming had in mind.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LenR.May 5, 2007
A worthy new Bond. The action grabs you from the beginning and and keeps going.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
lousyJun 6, 2007
Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish,Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Rubbish, Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BrentRJul 13, 2007
0 of 0 users found this helpful