Columbia Pictures | Release Date: November 17, 2006
8.5
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1289 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,128
Mixed:
69
Negative:
92
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
WalterJul 22, 2007
Outstanding. A new face to what had become a ubiquitous and BORING character. To all the traditionalists panning this new, more aggressive, more human Bond, I say "please realize that the old Bonds were tired (looking), too soft, and too Outstanding. A new face to what had become a ubiquitous and BORING character. To all the traditionalists panning this new, more aggressive, more human Bond, I say "please realize that the old Bonds were tired (looking), too soft, and too worried about their perfectly quaffed hair to kick as!" This Bond is tough, athletic, and cares not about the people he kills. Relentless, youthful, and invested with a mean streak, this Bond is finally refreshing and full of action. WELL overdue. Watch, take it in, and enjoy the much-needed overhaul. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ZackShannonOct 21, 2008
how the hell does this movie have universal acclaim? this killed bond for me. horrid story line and lets talk about that for a second. how the hell is it about when bonb first started and it takes place in fkin 2006? so i guess all the otherhow the hell does this movie have universal acclaim? this killed bond for me. horrid story line and lets talk about that for a second. how the hell is it about when bonb first started and it takes place in fkin 2006? so i guess all the other bond filmsd ont count? also he is the worst bonb i have seen yet.. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JGrossOct 30, 2008
What makes this film great IS the lack of gadgets, ridiculous villians and stupid plots. It has a gritty realism that allows you really to get into the film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KrisK.Feb 5, 2008
This was one of the best movies ever made! Thank God for Casino Royale!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AllenT.Feb 5, 2008
Yes! They resurrected the Bond franchise!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesCoolFeb 5, 2008
This is one of the best movies I've ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
TomLJun 27, 2008
Terrible film, it detracts from what made all of the other James bond films great, gadgets and cars feature far more minorly than in the other films, gunplay seems less dramatic except for the opening scene which as far as I'm concerned Terrible film, it detracts from what made all of the other James bond films great, gadgets and cars feature far more minorly than in the other films, gunplay seems less dramatic except for the opening scene which as far as I'm concerned was the only part of the dreary fil worth watching, and most seriously of all, Daniel Craig just does not act like a true Bond actor should. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DavidDJun 8, 2008
I am not a huge Bond fan even though i have seen almost all the films. I thought Pierce B. was a great Bond but the action in his films sucked so bad. They were so unbelievable. In this film, it was like, finally, a film that you can believe I am not a huge Bond fan even though i have seen almost all the films. I thought Pierce B. was a great Bond but the action in his films sucked so bad. They were so unbelievable. In this film, it was like, finally, a film that you can believe the action could happen. Not too much CGI and the stupid camera movement of so many action films these days was steady, not moving around all the time. The bad in the movie was the main woman. She is not good looking at all!! Even with all that make up. Also, the poker games were just stupid. Not once have i ever seen those scenarios in a poker game. Too unbelievable. But overall, it was a very good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattRDec 29, 2009
Finally, a Bond movie to actually get the character of Bond right. Not even Sean Connery played Bond so accurately as Daniel Craig, who played him as Ian Flemming visioned... cold, broken, yet witty and clever. A lot of these negative Finally, a Bond movie to actually get the character of Bond right. Not even Sean Connery played Bond so accurately as Daniel Craig, who played him as Ian Flemming visioned... cold, broken, yet witty and clever. A lot of these negative reviews state that they've gotten rid of the cars, gadgets, Q, Moneypenny... good! That's the best part about this movie - it's fresh, exciting, unpredictable. The last several Bond movies have followed a formula that made them feel like the same movie each time. Other negative reviews say that the plot made no sense, but that's far from the film's fault, it says more about those people than the film. The way the plot comes together at the end is amazing and is story-telling mastery that the series has never been able to achieve in the past. Action scenes were incredible, particularly the parkour chase in the beginning and the Venice shootout at the end. Acting was great, especially Eva Green (playing Vesper Lynd) and Daniel Craig. I really grew close to the characters, making the plot twist all the more shocking. The one negative thing I have to say about this movie is that it feels like it drags on a little in the middle, and all the more if you don't understand how poker works. It's still completely engaging and entertaining all the way through, but the action-drought in the middle may slightly bother some. Only a very minor complaint. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
jtJan 7, 2009
Very good movie overall. Starts over with bond from the beginning. It humanizes bond in a good way. Howeverwhen i thinik of bond danieal craig is the last image that comes to mind. if this movies was done with connery or brosnan it would be Very good movie overall. Starts over with bond from the beginning. It humanizes bond in a good way. Howeverwhen i thinik of bond danieal craig is the last image that comes to mind. if this movies was done with connery or brosnan it would be so much better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
NilramN.Aug 31, 2009
Plot was Choppy hard to follow. How could Bond have Just been promoted?????? that is on of the many things in this film that Bothered me. Craig was way to serious and without emotion. In Jokes if there were any were hard to catch. Hated it. Plot was Choppy hard to follow. How could Bond have Just been promoted?????? that is on of the many things in this film that Bothered me. Craig was way to serious and without emotion. In Jokes if there were any were hard to catch. Hated it. wont be watching the next one till it makes it to TV....I wont Pay to see this crap again..not even on DVD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobertBAug 3, 2009
Great movie! Best Bond in a long time. This is how Bond should be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillwSep 6, 2009
One of the best James bond movies. I love the plot, Daniel are very cool and i think he is the real James bond.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WesterlyQuetinNov 14, 2006
In a film where Daniel Craig is praised as the best Bond ever... Eva Green steals the film and dominates cinema history with a flawless performance, surpassing performances like Liv Ullmann in Scenes from a Marriage or Meryl Streep inIn a film where Daniel Craig is praised as the best Bond ever... Eva Green steals the film and dominates cinema history with a flawless performance, surpassing performances like Liv Ullmann in Scenes from a Marriage or Meryl Streep in Sophie's Choice.

If she is not at least nominated, she flat out deserves to win, for an Oscar... there will be hell to pay.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BaqirT.Nov 15, 2006
Superb! Thrilling action, especially in Madagascar and at Miami Airport. Bond Girls are lovely (as usaul), especially Caterina Murino.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
VladA.Nov 17, 2006
Totally new direction for Bond and I like it a lot. I knew Daniel Craig was the right man for the job since Layer Cake, but he managed to exceed my expectations. He added layers upon layers of humanity to the character which, in the hands of Totally new direction for Bond and I like it a lot. I knew Daniel Craig was the right man for the job since Layer Cake, but he managed to exceed my expectations. He added layers upon layers of humanity to the character which, in the hands of a good director, should keep the series fresh for as long as he is still Bond. Btw, Jojo C., by more qualified, do you mean better looking or better actors? Yes, it's a rhetorical question. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JanSchollNov 17, 2006
I am not a Bond fan-and my tickets were free-but I had a pretty good time other than the snake/ferret scene. The ending was a bit odd--so I am assuming the next two films will clear up the whole thing with Ellipsis? Might buy it come dvd time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DebbieY.Nov 18, 2006
Amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BrianP.Nov 18, 2006
This is the worst Bond ever. There was no class to this new Bond, No humor, dark, dark, dark!! Too much violence just for violence sake. I was really disappointed. And I don't want to see any gross torture scenes in the movies any more. This is the worst Bond ever. There was no class to this new Bond, No humor, dark, dark, dark!! Too much violence just for violence sake. I was really disappointed. And I don't want to see any gross torture scenes in the movies any more. Enough said. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StarfoxNov 18, 2006
Welcome Back Mr. Bond. Like an old friend who has been gone for far too long, James Bond is back - darker, more realistic and more fun than he has been in a long long time. This is a fantastic reboot to the series and demonstrates a bold new Welcome Back Mr. Bond. Like an old friend who has been gone for far too long, James Bond is back - darker, more realistic and more fun than he has been in a long long time. This is a fantastic reboot to the series and demonstrates a bold new direction (and continuous storyline) for films to come. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AnonymousMCNov 18, 2006
I can't believe the raving critiques for this film. This was not only the worst James Bond I ever saw, it was also one of the worst film I saw. Everybody over-seriousness, plotless story, gratuitous violence, incomprehensible dialogues.I can't believe the raving critiques for this film. This was not only the worst James Bond I ever saw, it was also one of the worst film I saw. Everybody over-seriousness, plotless story, gratuitous violence, incomprehensible dialogues. An utter waste of (over-long) time and money. I actually feel cheated and robbed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
halbNov 18, 2006
"One of the best films of the 20th century"...? Please. First of all, we're now in the 21st century, last time I checked my calendar. Secondly, it is merely a good film, one of the better in the 007 franchise, but not a great film."One of the best films of the 20th century"...? Please. First of all, we're now in the 21st century, last time I checked my calendar. Secondly, it is merely a good film, one of the better in the 007 franchise, but not a great film. Flawed by an early false climax and not-totally-unexpected plot "twist" a good 30 minutes before the true climax -- which wasn't really all that satisfying, in my opinion, just a set up for the next film. Craig is truly excellent as Bond. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FantasyNov 18, 2006
Wow! Finally, a Bond movie that takes off the kid gloves and portrays 007 as a "cold blooded" fearless assasin. His only job is to take care of the bad guys at all costs, using crude, but unconventional ways of acheiving his objective. As Wow! Finally, a Bond movie that takes off the kid gloves and portrays 007 as a "cold blooded" fearless assasin. His only job is to take care of the bad guys at all costs, using crude, but unconventional ways of acheiving his objective. As for Daniel Craig, the blonde ruggedly handsome actor who portrays the new 007, don't worry about accepting him as Bond, James Bond. After about 5 minutes into the film CRAIG IS 007, and he may be the best of all time, with all due apology to Sean. He takes away the cartoon fluff of the character and instead portrays the hardness that a real agent must have wheter he works for the CIA or Brittish Intelligence. And the plot of the movie is fast paced and ends with the audience begging for the adventure to continue. Having seen every Bond film ever made from the beginning this is such a welcome holiday treat. Kudo's to all for a great production and to Daniel Craig who may be one of the best actors in the world? With this performance and also his character in INFAMOUS the Truman Capote film now playing, it won't be long before he catapults to Superstar status. Go see and enjoy! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MichaelP.Nov 19, 2006
This film seems to lack focus--it felt like a "too many cooks in the kitchen" situation, as if the director and others couldn't quite agree on how things should be. I don't think the movie holds up well compared to many of the This film seems to lack focus--it felt like a "too many cooks in the kitchen" situation, as if the director and others couldn't quite agree on how things should be. I don't think the movie holds up well compared to many of the older classics. While the dialogue is quite good in places, it's flat in others. The stakes are vague, and the climax is also fuzzy. Furthermore, there is not much there in terms of Bond punishing the villian, not much sense of any justice. I think the choices for the two lead actors (Bond and his love interest) could have been better. This particular James Bond lacks the class and finesse of Sean Connery. The only thing that consistently shines in this film are the awesome action scenes. Without them, I'd only give it a 3 or 4. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MegW.Nov 19, 2006
Sean who? Daniel Craig is EXCELLENT as the new James Bond. He's suave, arrestingly gorgeous but believable as a cold blooded killer. The stunts and action scenes in the film are the most realistic a Bond film has had in years and the Sean who? Daniel Craig is EXCELLENT as the new James Bond. He's suave, arrestingly gorgeous but believable as a cold blooded killer. The stunts and action scenes in the film are the most realistic a Bond film has had in years and the women were stunning. it was nice to see non-Hollywood actors in the film and the color of the movie took you back to the early Sean Connery Bond films. I got lost in the first few scenes thinking what decade it was set in. Clever and by far the best Bond films since the first 3. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BlueManNov 19, 2006
Best Bond since the begining of the series. Something for all in this one. Great action, believable characters, and interesting story line. Bond is back, with a vengeance!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BenSmithNov 19, 2006
This is a very enjoyable movie, and well worth it to see. This takes a turn away from the flashy, glitzy other Bond films and takes on a more gritty air. Great fun to watch. I'd love to give this a 10, and it almost deserves it, but the This is a very enjoyable movie, and well worth it to see. This takes a turn away from the flashy, glitzy other Bond films and takes on a more gritty air. Great fun to watch. I'd love to give this a 10, and it almost deserves it, but the ending tends to drag on just a littl bit. Go watch it! You won't be disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChaseM.Nov 19, 2006
Far and away the best Bond picture in 20 years. Craig has a chance that no other actor since Connery has had in adding to the James Bond character- and he does so superbly. With a great story and a wonderful supporting cast, Casino Royale Far and away the best Bond picture in 20 years. Craig has a chance that no other actor since Connery has had in adding to the James Bond character- and he does so superbly. With a great story and a wonderful supporting cast, Casino Royale easily jumps into the top 3 Bond movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
PatrickW.Nov 19, 2006
Horrible. Absolutely horrible. The movie's too long, boring, has no "enemy," and Craig will never be Brosnan or Connery...Ugh.. Just got the chills thinking about this "movie."
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonSNov 21, 2006
One of the best Bond movies ever!
0 of 0 users found this helpful