Columbia Pictures | Release Date: November 17, 2006
8.5
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1245 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,091
Mixed:
65
Negative:
89
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
BillC.Nov 21, 2006
Just about a perfect film to turn around a series that had grown into a parody of itself. A story that can be followed and action that is not so dependant on outragous gimmicks.Those who doubted Daniel Craigs ability should shut up now. Just about a perfect film to turn around a series that had grown into a parody of itself. A story that can be followed and action that is not so dependant on outragous gimmicks.Those who doubted Daniel Craigs ability should shut up now. Those who feel the film lacks enough comedy have no appreciation for the original series and should stick with Austin Powers on DVD. Bond is back and it's a good thing Brosnan has hung up his license to kill. Bill C. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
[Anonymous]Nov 20, 2006
Good movie. Good action. Good versatility in the sequences of love, casino scenes and action. and that signiture "bond...james bond" was in there which sealed it. i like the old-school classic-ness of the movie without the over-the-top Good movie. Good action. Good versatility in the sequences of love, casino scenes and action. and that signiture "bond...james bond" was in there which sealed it. i like the old-school classic-ness of the movie without the over-the-top futuristic things that plagued the last few bond movies.....BUT...that movie was a little too long...(that's why not a 10). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisNov 20, 2006
The best bond movie ever, without question. The goofiness of the old bond movies are gone. The portrayl of death makes the largest change in this movie. Bond no long kills people like cartoon characters, he murders them brutally. Enough goodThe best bond movie ever, without question. The goofiness of the old bond movies are gone. The portrayl of death makes the largest change in this movie. Bond no long kills people like cartoon characters, he murders them brutally. Enough good things cannot be said about this movie, you simply must go see it. Bond is recreated and is better than ever. And all you closet cases out there need to get over the entire Daniel Craig not being pretty thing. I'm sure he can get a lot more pussy then you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JaneHNov 21, 2006
Great Bond (actor), but the editor must have dozed off watching all the action sequences and forgotten where he put his scissors. Some of the best set pieces make little sense (leaping from cranes/sinking Venetian palazzos). Try consulting Great Bond (actor), but the editor must have dozed off watching all the action sequences and forgotten where he put his scissors. Some of the best set pieces make little sense (leaping from cranes/sinking Venetian palazzos). Try consulting the writer(s) of the Bourne films for tips on integrating thrilling action with logic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisBNov 21, 2006
I used to be a Bond fan, now I'm a reborn Bond fan.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChazG.Nov 22, 2006
This film has every aspect which makes a good film great. I'm glad to see the Bond story taken more seriously than we have seen in the recent film following Goldeneye. Pros: Overall great quality film ie: Script & Cinematography were This film has every aspect which makes a good film great. I'm glad to see the Bond story taken more seriously than we have seen in the recent film following Goldeneye. Pros: Overall great quality film ie: Script & Cinematography were stellar. One of the best "on foot" chase scenes ever! Cons: My only complaint was the lack of some more intuitive & believable gadgets. If you are a fan of the "Old School Bond Movies" this movie is a must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AngelM.Nov 22, 2006
Casino Royale is by far the best Bond film in years, I am extremely happy that the producers decided to take the franchise in this new direction. As for Daniel Craig's James Bond, he has just fit nicely in the shoes of the great Sean Casino Royale is by far the best Bond film in years, I am extremely happy that the producers decided to take the franchise in this new direction. As for Daniel Craig's James Bond, he has just fit nicely in the shoes of the great Sean Connery as the best Bonds on film. By far the best movie I've seen all year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KentE.Nov 22, 2006
As we have seen in Munich and Layer Cake, Daniel Craig has the charm and intensity he needs to be Bond. But Casino Royale has seen him make Bond his own. From the over confident swagger and quick wit to a genuine sense of menace - he got it As we have seen in Munich and Layer Cake, Daniel Craig has the charm and intensity he needs to be Bond. But Casino Royale has seen him make Bond his own. From the over confident swagger and quick wit to a genuine sense of menace - he got it all right. I simply cannot imagine a better Bond than Mr. Craig has given us - contemporary and classic ! That's a real feat ! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RichardSNov 22, 2006
Very good in many ways: Craig, the stunts, the action in general, the dialogue and the brilliant opening credits etc. But it is also flawed: the opening song is absolutely dreadful, even worse than Madonna's abomination. Words cannot Very good in many ways: Craig, the stunts, the action in general, the dialogue and the brilliant opening credits etc. But it is also flawed: the opening song is absolutely dreadful, even worse than Madonna's abomination. Words cannot describe how bad the song is. A few other problems: the repeated use of mobile phone calls to reveal identities becomes grating. Also, the story has too many holes and improbabilities. But overall a success - an excellent start and Craig is superb. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SETHDNov 22, 2006
Rateing a bond movie, or deciding wich one is your favorite is like determining what your soda of choice is. There is no wrong answer its a matter of taste. they are all intrinsically the same. Until now. Casino Royale opens up new doors, Rateing a bond movie, or deciding wich one is your favorite is like determining what your soda of choice is. There is no wrong answer its a matter of taste. they are all intrinsically the same. Until now. Casino Royale opens up new doors, creates a brand new atmosphere and breathes a whole new breath into an otherwise over sweet franchise. I can't regard this film high enough. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KateGNov 22, 2006
Best Bond movie in years, and maybe ever. Daniel Craig does a spectacular job as 007. Very impressive. Eva Green was a sensational a-typical Bond girl, who could actually act! So glad that the story came back down to earth and relied on Best Bond movie in years, and maybe ever. Daniel Craig does a spectacular job as 007. Very impressive. Eva Green was a sensational a-typical Bond girl, who could actually act! So glad that the story came back down to earth and relied on great acting and a smart plot rather than gimmicky special effects and gadgets. Bond is smarter and darker and better because of it. Bravo!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AnonymousMCNov 22, 2006
Best Bond since Goldeneye. The last half-hour was completely unecessary, but all in all a worthy movie. This Bond is stripped of all goofy gadgets and one liners, and armed instead with badass fighting skills and cunning.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RobertxxxNov 23, 2006
though I thought clive owen was the natural choice for the new bond, Craig proves to be sensational in a part that totally redesigns our concept of the master agent...a tad long, but ends with a double bang.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertH.Nov 23, 2006
This has to be my favorite Bond movie yet, and I've watched every one religiously. The new Bond roars with excitement while at the same time showing that he is human and can let down his defenses to the most dangerous of foes, women. This has to be my favorite Bond movie yet, and I've watched every one religiously. The new Bond roars with excitement while at the same time showing that he is human and can let down his defenses to the most dangerous of foes, women. Craig shines in Casino Royale, proving that even though he doesn't necessarily look the part, he plays it better than any Bond since Connery. The only bad thing i have to say about it is that the Bond girls weren't quite as good-looking as I'd hoped, but the acting and action make up for it in the end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BilB.Nov 24, 2006
I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. Daniel Craig pulls Bond of flawlessly. While there may not be a lot of suave womanizing in this Bond, there is a genuine roughness about him that is more believable than in any other Bond film. A must see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnonymousMCNov 25, 2006
The only reason you won't love this movie is if you're expecting the usual blow up the secret volcanoe base while still caring about whether or not my drink is shaken and not stirred plot. This is deeper, more exciting, and thereThe only reason you won't love this movie is if you're expecting the usual blow up the secret volcanoe base while still caring about whether or not my drink is shaken and not stirred plot. This is deeper, more exciting, and there isn't just and obvious badguy with a scar and a cat and a maniacal laugh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NeilW.Nov 26, 2006
Finall, there's a Bond who shows us what it means to actually kill: it's brutal, it's very physical, and it devours your soul. Craig is just that. Apart from that, we finally get to see some true acting (just think of Pierce Finall, there's a Bond who shows us what it means to actually kill: it's brutal, it's very physical, and it devours your soul. Craig is just that. Apart from that, we finally get to see some true acting (just think of Pierce Brosnan's "I have only one facial expression" stance...). One point deducted for extremely annoying Sony product placement. But still - go and see it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KerryNov 26, 2006
I must admit, I went into this with quite a strong prejudice against Daniel Craig, but sadly he was not the main problem with this movie. Don't get me wrong, his lack of timing, delivery and style were awful and with an actor more I must admit, I went into this with quite a strong prejudice against Daniel Craig, but sadly he was not the main problem with this movie. Don't get me wrong, his lack of timing, delivery and style were awful and with an actor more suited to play Bond, perhaps the film could have scored a five. The violence is too graphic. Bond is a fantasy, to bring reality in to the portrayal of the story is ridiculous. It was too long and then when it finally did end there was no resolution to the plot. Equally annoying was the blatant product placements for sony, google, Body Worlds (which btw is even dumber than this film) and about 5 000 other products. Then there was the whole set up to show us 'why Bond can't commit to a woman'. Actually the entire premise of seeing what made Bond the way he is was handled in such a heavy-handed way that you could almost see Freud and Jung standing at the corners of the screen with pointers to ensure that it wasn't too subtle. The line about Bond not caring if the martini was shaken or stirred made me want to slap the writers. Whoever was responsible for the script was given too much freedom and not enough editing. Moneypenny wasn't even mentionned! You could practically see Judi Dench cringing through her scenes. Craig made the best of a script where Bond morphed into the Terminator, relying solely on brawn and ignoring his brain. And to be blunt, I could have done without all the scenes of him in a speedo (or less). I get it, the man is in good shape. That's not the point of a Bond film. Lastly, to add insult to injury, THERE WERE NO GADGETS! This was not a Bond movie. In fact, based on this dreck, I will see another Bond film even if Daniel Craig is in it, because there is no way it could be worse than this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
PhiloR.Nov 26, 2006
it was too long, got boring towards the end. initial chase seem was great, but downhill after that. i would not recommend.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GeorgeC.Nov 26, 2006
The name
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
R.R.Nov 26, 2006
A very smart, sophisticated action film with better (albeit uneven) scripting and acting than the previous efforts... but is it Bond? I was horrified from the beginning to hear that Craig got the part, and I have to admit to being more than A very smart, sophisticated action film with better (albeit uneven) scripting and acting than the previous efforts... but is it Bond? I was horrified from the beginning to hear that Craig got the part, and I have to admit to being more than pleasantly surprised. His physical style, a little ungainly if effective, is a take on the character that's pretty close to Fleming's original vision. This James Bond is just starting out, and he's sorting out things as he goes along. The action scenes are all intelligently done, some of the repartee (vide the scene on the train) is brilliant and funny, the dialogue frequently examines and challenges the comfortable Bond myths, and Eva Green is a godsend. And yet, a "true" Bond film requires all of the following: inspired, cutting edge gadgets that, yes, have to be a little on the little-boy-toy side, a gargantuan bad guy whose scope is beyond petty cash (and who preferably owns a base of operations beneath the ocean), and, need I say this, Q and Moneypenny. Seeing as the film shows us Bond's beginnings, I am desperately hoping that its open end, with Bond finally giving us his calling card "My name is...etc. etc.", points to a future film more in the classic vein. Summing up: a refreshingly taught reinvention of a classic that hopefully won't forget its roots in future installments. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AnnaNov 27, 2006
Craig is impressive as Bond. And finally a Bond story worth telling is brought to the screen. N,o he's not Connery, but he's close.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
HélèneNov 27, 2006
This is exactly what Bond didn't need: more "realism". Or actually more violence I should say. Now let us proceed to the examination of the ten points that make a good James Bond movie, and rate the film accordingly. 1) The gun barrel This is exactly what Bond didn't need: more "realism". Or actually more violence I should say. Now let us proceed to the examination of the ten points that make a good James Bond movie, and rate the film accordingly. 1) The gun barrel sequence: has been removed (!!!) Shame. A very clumsy attempt to include it at the end of the flashback introduction, but in very poor taste. 2) The "Bond, James Bond" line. Last line of the movie. OK. 3) The "vodka martini, shaken not stirred" line. It appears, but in a very iconoclast way. Let's count half a point. 4) The Moneypenny scene. No trace of her in the whole movie. Shame. 5) The hotel scene (someone, girl or enemy, awaits for Bond in his room): well let's say it's there - quite a lot happens in hotels. 6) The casino scene. No problem for that point, the main plot being Bond playing against the bad guy. 7) The Q briefing. No trace of Q nor R in this film. Shame. 8) The bit of nonsense: the Medipac scene is quite enjoyable in that respect but we can feel in general that the producers fear that things appear too unrealistic, whereas it is precisely the point in Bond movies. We want unbelievable, cheesy things! 9) The funny lines: eternal shame on Eon Prod for having given birth to a humourless James Bond. No funny line AT ALL. 10) The "James Bond will return" quotation at the end of the credits: doesn't appear, and I sincerely hope this James Bond will NOT return! Total: 4,5/10, which I round up to 5 because I'm good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisH.Nov 27, 2006
I loved this movie, acion scenes were great. Bond got his ass kicked but still saved the day..almost. Daniel Craig is the man. Go all in and see this movie while it is still in theatres.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
NatyN.Nov 28, 2006
As a Bond Movie fan, very dissapointed. A new human Bond??? Who asked for it???? We Bond fans are still fans for the gadgets, the women, the funny lines.....very dissapointed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RaphaelNov 28, 2006
This is one of the best Bond-Movies ever to hit the big screen. For me it is right up there with Goldfinger, Goldeneye and a view to a kill. Daniel did a great job, and wore his tux just as nicely as Sean would do!! And whoever mentions the This is one of the best Bond-Movies ever to hit the big screen. For me it is right up there with Goldfinger, Goldeneye and a view to a kill. Daniel did a great job, and wore his tux just as nicely as Sean would do!! And whoever mentions the lack of gadgets again, is an utter fool! BOND IS NOT ABOUT GADGETS, BUT ABOUT PURE ACTION AND THRILLING MOVIES! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RachitS.Nov 29, 2006
Not bad for a new bond movie. I really like the action. its pretty raw. But the ending is a little wiered.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RoyG.Nov 29, 2006
The gadgets and plots of the previous Bond movies were over the top and cartoonish. Craig's Bond is more believable, the stunts realistic, the double and triple crosses dizzying and the conclusion left me wanting more. Great movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BMRNov 29, 2006
Lot's of shiny cars and beautiful locales but not much of a compelling storyline. Worst of all; the main character is misogynistic, unsympathetic and one dimensional. If you' re between the age of 13 and 21 and you enjoy watching Lot's of shiny cars and beautiful locales but not much of a compelling storyline. Worst of all; the main character is misogynistic, unsympathetic and one dimensional. If you' re between the age of 13 and 21 and you enjoy watching the hero beat everyone's asses and spout off cheesy on liners, than you MIGHT enjoy this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DerekG.Nov 29, 2006
This was EXACTLY what Bond needed. I always thought the newer ones were kind of cheesy. This new one is exactly the de-cheesing the franchise demanded to stay alive. The way the book imagined him.
0 of 0 users found this helpful