User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 147 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 147

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 23, 2011
    10
    Just when you think you've had enough of Martin Scorcese's gangster movies, comes this captivating new thrill - Casino! Scorcese has Robert de Niro subtle, meticulous, and ruthless, Joe Pesci is every inch the tough-guy gangster who never backs down, but has a temper that is rather too immature and loose. Sam Rothstein (de Niro's character) is efficient and serves his bosses well - he's always sending the goodies back home! Sharon Stone's Ginger is a wreck, drug-induced, unstable, irrational, and apparently, very stupid. Now, how did she lure Rothstein's cool cat personality to fall for her? That's everyday life for you - the smart, cool ones do fall for those types - beautiful, with a personality and body to match, until the gold sheens off the statuette day by day. Pesci's fight scenes are brutal, but real. There is no pretence in these scenes - there is enough violence in the world to disguise such brutal depictions on celluloid. I enjoyed the desert scene, when Rothstein captures the essence in his narration as Pesci's character races through the desert - you didn't know what you could get from Pesci's character. Casino is just a magnificently handled subject, Scorcese has not gone over the top or over-done it, it's impeccably handled, the actors are just apt in their parts, and it is just fascinating to see how the gulf spreads between de Niro and Pesci's characters. Thumps up for Casino - if I may dare say it, it surpasses Goodfellas in its power and impact, and ultimately overpowers Scorcese's later movie, The Departed. Yes it does, I'm betting on it....with Sam Rothstein's back-from-the-dead character on the line! Expand
  2. Feb 10, 2011
    9
    This is a great movie, not the best in the gangster genre, but still great. Unlike a lot of gangster movies though, this doesn't focus on the mafia nearly as much as it could. As you may have guessed from the title it's about a Casino. This movie is entertaining, intelligent and good doses of violence too.
  3. Aug 22, 2011
    10
    A great movie that manages to be quite the original when it comes to gangsta types. It doesn`t come off as nearly repetitive as "The Godfellas", even though we`ve seen Presci and De Niro in many such films. This is in a huge part achieved by major role by Sharon Stone, who exceeds all expectations. There is nothing simple about her character. She never comes off as simply bad or good. Sometimes you understand her fears, sometimes you condemn her. Nevertheless, she made her own plot in this movie. From others we see the same excellent actor work, though I liked the Rothstein`s character a lot more than in other such productions. This is because he never stopped being human. At some point he even enjoys the gangster life completely, although he always chooses the more in between solutions. Joe Pesci did the rest by creating an excellent villain, though sometimes also a bit confused. The music, the camera work also excellent. Almost 3 hours of sheer virtuosity. Expand
  4. Jun 28, 2012
    9
    Fifteen years after its release, Casino remains one of Martin Scorcese's tightest and most focused films to date. The narrative flows beautifully, driven by misplaced trust, greed, and betrayal. The dialogue is sharp and delivered flawlessly by an absolutely brilliant cast. Robert de Niro gives what I consider to be his finest performance since Taxi Driver, absolutely nailing the role and outshining his co-stars. Joe Pesci also does well, and as usual he and de Niro have great on-screen chemistry. Despite being three hours long, every scene feels natural and necessary, with no real filler. While I don't consider it to be better than Goodfellas, it is still an incredible film in its own right. Expand
  5. Feb 23, 2013
    10
    Scorsese's epic true story about how the mafia build Vegas, is as close to a perfect movie as I have ever seen! The story is just so good and you will be hard pressed to ever find a better pair of performances than the ones by Robert De Niro and Joe Pesci. I love this film, I loved it the first time I saw it, and I loved it the hundredth time I saw it. Casino follows a pair of gangsters who earned their reputations in Las Vegas in two very different ways. De Niro is Ace Rothstein, the man with the plan. He always made money, but since he was Jewish, he was never fully trusted. Pesci is of course, Nicky Santoro, the tough guy who says seven thousand times, while doing things his own way. Everything about this movie is pure genius. It's on my top ten list and I suspect will always have its place. Expand
  6. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    Best movies I've seen in this year is Looper and batman the dark knight rises ,my all time favorite movie's are The Godfather (1972) .Taxi Driver (1976). Carrie (1976). Scarface (1983). GoodFellas (1990) . Raging Bull (1980) .Casino (1995) there masterpiece movies, what i don't like are the silly remakes why a new carrie movie ? this is the 4th movie carrie the made it's just stupid ,Sissy Spacek and Piper Laurie are absolutely perfect ,they both got Oscar nominations out of it, for God sake! Expand
  7. Nov 7, 2012
    9
    Like many of Martin Scorsese's films, Casino is non-formulaic. It shows us snip-its of what's going on, many snip-its. Some are better than others, but Casino's purpose isn't to tell a story, it's to study a group of people, and that it does with professional excellency.
  8. Mar 5, 2014
    9
    Scorsese keeps coming back to the same theme and subject matter_ debauchery and its pitfalls. And he has found himself actors who are able to convey his message effectively. Casino deals with this subject in the business of gambling.

    Sam Rothstein (Robert De Niro) is doing good running a casino for the Mafia in 1970s Las Vegas. Things get tricky as first Ginger (Sharon Stone) and then
    Nicky (Joe Pesci) come into his life. They're both unstable and careless, and have no vision for their futures like Sam has. Their antics get him into trouble time and again.

    Like Scorsese's other movies, the plot takes a backstage to the characters and their personal quirky moments. He instead relies on multiple voice-overs to propel the plot forward. The plot does thicken with time, and not for good. It felt like he wasn't sure if he should concentrate on the characters or the plot development. Goodfellas found that balance ingeniously, so did his later movie The Wolf of Wall Street, both of which deal with the same themes.

    The acting was sufficient, I suppose. De Niro does a decent enough job. Pesci's character is too similar to the one he played in Goodfellas. In essence, he is a character actor. Sharon Stone also did a good job.

    I couldn't feel excited during a single scene in the entire movie. There was no sense of danger and urgency, despite the breakneck pacing. The film was just a scene after scene of greed, violence and narration. It got old after a while.

    The production design, which brought the 1970s to life, did a wonderful job. The same camera angles were used as were in Goodfellas. The camera zooms in on people's faces the same way.

    I found the movie a bit underwhelming. I felt like Scorsese wasn't done with the subject that he started out to tell in Goodfellas, and hence returned to it. He should have just made a single movie about it, or he should have made this one so different from the first that no one could have found any similarities.
    Expand
  9. Jul 19, 2014
    9
    Out of all the gangster films - The godfather, Scarface, Goodfellas, Carlito's Way - none of them managed to get across how frightening it can be to trust some people in the same way. The length is not unnecessary - all of it is used to develop the story and characters with excellent narration and acting. You see a film like Scarface and it's mostly just a montage - a brilliant one, but nevertheless too much jumping around. However, Casino manages to get the story across in a very believable way. The personal issues are so deeply explored, and the fact that Robert De Niro is a "good guy" really adds an extra perspective. In every other film, everyone ends up being a baddy and gets whacked or goes to jail. But in this one, it was interesting to see the story from two perspectives - De Niro's and Pesci's. The two actors suited their characters' roles perfectly, and the pacing was inline with how quickly one can imagine events developed. The rise, the top and the fall all got their relative share of the action according to how long they last. Best of all, the movie was not about doing crime for the sake of it - it was actually mostly about business and not killing people randomly with a few deals being used as a cover-up. The direction and general style of story and development etc. are almost identical to Goodfellas, so if you enjoyed that this is definitely worth watching as well. Expand
  10. Jun 26, 2014
    10
    Casino is one of Scorsese's smartest movies. The action, meticulousness of the storyline and Scorsese's trademark directing and usual actors are apparent throughout the movie. The movie dismantles how a casino works in every detail while being very entertaining simultaneously. One of the best crime dramas made and every actor was at the top of their game in the movie. Casino is equalled by few crime movies and every moment of the movie is fascinating and dazzling as cinematic experiences go, an instant classic. Expand
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. 88
    Several flaws, mostly minor, keep Casino on a plateau slightly below that of the director's best (Mean Streets, Raging Bull, Taxi Driver, Goodfellas).
  2. It's an ambitious film -- but also a scattered, unfocused one.
  3. Simultaneously quite watchable and passionless.