Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 265 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Frank W. Abagnale (DiCaprio) worked as a doctor, a lawyer and as a co-pilot for a major airline -- all before his 21st birthday. A master of deception, he was also a brilliant forger, whose skill at check fraud had netted him millions of dollars in stolen funds. FBI agent Carl HanrattyFrank W. Abagnale (DiCaprio) worked as a doctor, a lawyer and as a co-pilot for a major airline -- all before his 21st birthday. A master of deception, he was also a brilliant forger, whose skill at check fraud had netted him millions of dollars in stolen funds. FBI agent Carl Hanratty (Hanks) has made it his prime mission to capture Frank and bring him to justice, but Frank is always one step ahead of him, baiting him to continue the chase. (DreamWorks) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. 100
    Part of Spielberg's skill as a filmmaker comes in choosing the right collaborators. Janusz Kaminski's gorgeous cinematography, Michael Kahn's graceful editing, Jeff Nathanson's clever script, and John Williams' score all work well in unison, but the film's masterstroke is the casting of Walken as DiCaprio's utterly decent father.
  2. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    90
    Never less than engaging; all that’s missing is a proper crescendo. The picture moves along briskly, even at two and a half hours, but it seems to be running on cruise control.
  3. 80
    As an actor DiCaprio has long been known for his ardor, not to mention his tiresome self-seriousness, but working for Spielberg, he plays his scenes with a comic deftness I thought he didn't have in him.
  4. DiCaprio could hardly be better. He brings this outrageous character and his demons to life with skill, sympathy and a symphony of small, telling touches.
  5. A pleasant romp through the land of Truth Is Stranger Than Fiction.
  6. 75
    An enjoyable, although not ambitious, holiday outing.
  7. 50
    DiCaprio is far more successfully cast here than in Gangs of New York: His performance is all about acting; it's a mild kick to see how he'll manage to talk his way out of nearly every scrape.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 70
  2. Negative: 5 out of 70
  1. PeterC.
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    Way underrated, this is an exciting, quick, and well built movie with an excellent plot. Leo and Tom together work, but Tom does the better job.
  2. Aug 9, 2013
    10
    Why hasn't DiCaprio gotten an Academy Award? Ever since I saw this film that question has hung over me. "Catch Me If You Can" is brilliant, aWhy hasn't DiCaprio gotten an Academy Award? Ever since I saw this film that question has hung over me. "Catch Me If You Can" is brilliant, a beautifully delivered movie in all ways. This film has it all, great actors, realistic and witty dialogue, amazing cinematography, flawless execution and the list goes on and on. Out of all of Spielberg's films, I have to say that this one is my favorite. A very entertaining and emotionally stimulating film that carries some of the most memorable performances I have seen ever. Expand
  3. RebeccaS.
    Oct 19, 2008
    9
    This movie is smart, witty and plays with the elements of classic 1970's movies; such as one flew over the cukoo's nest. A highly This movie is smart, witty and plays with the elements of classic 1970's movies; such as one flew over the cukoo's nest. A highly entertaining watch. Expand
  4. Sep 4, 2014
    9
    Catch Me If You Can is a breezy, light Spielberg film full o charm and great performances, especially DiCaprio and Walken. Hanks plays theCatch Me If You Can is a breezy, light Spielberg film full o charm and great performances, especially DiCaprio and Walken. Hanks plays the slightly inept FBI agent, and the move closes with a surprisingly fulfilling ending. It is 140 minutes of entertainment, and maybe even some themes in there somewhere. Expand
  5. Apr 21, 2013
    8
    This one is a Steven Spielberg biographic classic. The story of a con-man in the 1960s who conned millions of checks and took the role ofThis one is a Steven Spielberg biographic classic. The story of a con-man in the 1960s who conned millions of checks and took the role of becoming a Pan Am Pilot, a doctor and a legal prosecuter is very interesting to watch. To me, it was interesting to see Frank basically just go all over the place. The movie has some very talented actors like Christopher Walken, Tom Hanks and especially Leonardo DiCaprio. This is easily one DiCaprio's top 5 films of all time. He really plays the role perfectly and has that kid like sense in him that we haven't seen since "What's Eating Gilbert Grape". Plus, Tom Hanks was a great supporting actor. I've never seen him as one of those "side characters". However, he manages to give a great performance as Carl Handratty. As far as storyline goes, it's all over the place. There's just so much to keep up with, but with Steven Spielberg, you're on a great journey with this likeable character. The movie does slow down at the end once Frank gets thrown in prison and eventually starts to work with the FBI, but other than that, the movie sets a good pace. Overall, it's an interesting biography on one of the biggest con-artist's in America. Expand
  6. Dec 31, 2014
    8
    Catch Me If You Can is a very well made film who's greatest strength is its enjoyability. A very easy watch, this one is simply a fun and fastCatch Me If You Can is a very well made film who's greatest strength is its enjoyability. A very easy watch, this one is simply a fun and fast paced film that tells a riveting story that really hooks you in from the get go. Steven Spielberg directs this one brilliantly as usual and really tells the story of Frank Abagnale is a unique and enjoyable way. Leonardo DiCaprio is phenomenal here, as are Tom Hanks, Christopher Walken, Amy Adams, and Martin Sheen. Really great cast on paper and they all did a great job in practice. The film does a really good job painting Abagnale as neither a bad guy or a good guy, rather you just feel sympathy for him since he is so smart, but uses his brains to steal, which is too bad and, plus, his rough home life certainly makes him even more sympathetic. Overall, Catch Me If You Can is a really well told, well acted, and well directed, film, that is just infinitely fun to watch. Expand
  7. Andy
    Jan 20, 2007
    6
    Was entertaining but somewhat disappointing.

See all 70 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Leonardo DiCaprio: All Films Considered

    Leonardo DiCaprio: All Films Considered Image
    Published: July 14, 2010
    The star of this week's "Inception" might be adding another blockbuster to his filmography this week, but will he also be adding another critical hit? We look back at DiCaprio's best and worst films, to see where "Inception" might fit in.