Catwoman

Catwoman Image
Metascore
27

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 273 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Sleek, mysterious, dangerous and sexy, Catwoman has never had any trouble captivating fans...or making enemies. A sometime defender of the underdog, she isn't above breaking the law to achieve her own ends. Free to walk in both the dark and the light, she is superhero and arch-villain allSleek, mysterious, dangerous and sexy, Catwoman has never had any trouble captivating fans...or making enemies. A sometime defender of the underdog, she isn't above breaking the law to achieve her own ends. Free to walk in both the dark and the light, she is superhero and arch-villain all rolled into one. (Warner Bros.) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 35
  2. Negative: 24 out of 35
  1. For Friday night this will do just fine. It's definitely a good matchup -- Stone's cynical bravado versus Berry's resilient spunkiness in a world-class cat fight.
  2. The result is not the train wreck one might anticipate from surfing the Net. The catfights, overacting and Berry's swagger in a skimpy, tight, leather outfit that would be right at home at a Hookers Ball make for campy fun.
  3. Wall Street Journal
    Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    40
    Qualifies as top-grade catnip for connoisseurs of trashy camp.
  4. Cinematographer Thierry Arbogast is the real superhero; his homage to noir thrillers compensates for the spotty CGI and rescues the movie from sex-kitten kitsch.
  5. A howlingly silly, moderately diverting exercise in high, pointless style.
  6. Cartoonish effects and overacting make this more corn than catnip.
  7. 0
    Utterly devoid of merit, fantastic or otherwise, a more exasperating descent into the feline world is difficult to imagine.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 82
  2. Negative: 56 out of 82
  1. Apr 20, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I think a lot of the critics just didn't get this movie. Maybe they were disappointed that it wasn't another chapter in the adventures of Selina Kyle. No, it's not: different name, different premise and totally different interpretation of what it might be like to become a Catwoman. What =I= don't get is why there is anything wrong with that? We're talking about a fictional character, people, lighten up! Some of the critics are saying that Halle Berry's performance is too "over the top" after she is transformed. Maybe for a 100% human lady but hey this is a story about a woman brought back to life by a magical Mau on an errand from Bast the Cat Goddess. Halle's facial expressions, voice and moves, especially when toying with her "prey", become verrrry feline which is a good part of the point of the movie. Another point is that Catwoman is both a tribute to female power and independence and also explores the darker side of power in both men and women and methinks some of the critics are a tad uncomfortable with both of these things. Whatever. There's plenty to like in this movie. A mythic storyline of initiation and rebirth, darkly beautiful visuals, a clever Egyptian-inspired cats-and-catwomen through history subplot that starts with elegant title art, solid performances from Sharon Stone, Benjamin Bratt, Frances Conroy and Hembert Wilson and a fine supporting cast both human and feline. Forget the critics. Go see this movie with an open mind and you'll probably enjoy it. And you might even love it as much as I did :-) Expand
  2. Sep 26, 2014
    10
    This film is amazing: Halle berry is perfect as catwoman. The action scenes show adrenaline. This is my favourite version of catwoman. This isThis film is amazing: Halle berry is perfect as catwoman. The action scenes show adrenaline. This is my favourite version of catwoman. This is better than the DC version. Expand
  3. Dec 21, 2015
    8
    This is a good movie: it's fresh take, It give Catwoman a good origin story. the plot make sense. The other characters might not get a lot ofThis is a good movie: it's fresh take, It give Catwoman a good origin story. the plot make sense. The other characters might not get a lot of screen time but this doesn't make them shallow, just not focused on. the outfit might seem crazy, but it actually makes sense: more skin shown symbolizes a brave, confident, catlike character. The shoes actually seem to symbolize the back paws of a cat. Remember Tigra from the west coast avengers, or Wonder woman's villain: The Cheetah. This Catwoman fall's in line with them, but without fur. Including the connection to the Egyptian mau, and the Goddess Bastet was a brilliant decision. The CGI wasn't too bad, and you have to keep in mind they did have a budget. Another good thing is that it doesn't smack you in the face with DC. If you want a movie with bat man it it, go watch a batman film. A lot of DC characters ether have had there powers all there life, or don't have any. This movie shows her finding out she has these new ability's. I also love the idea of a good girl by day, bad girl by night. Coming out of her shell, stepping outside her comfort zone, and embracing it. Another good this is it's not like other DC or Marvels movies, It doesn't have a big die hard sort of action, more of a slick sort of epic. The music is epic. The music in the opening, gives me chills, and her main theme (who's in control) could not fit cat woman more perfectly. The cat pun's might be kind of corny, but that's the kind of stuff cat woman say's normally: being able to make cat pun's sound sassy and bad ass. The ending lines of dialog really sum up what Cat woman is. This is a good movie: it might not be the same Catwomen from the comic's, but that doesn't make it bad, just different. Thank you for you're time. Expand
  4. Mar 20, 2016
    2
    In a New York Times article about the recent spate of movies adapted from Marvel comics, Marvel executive Allen Lipson claimed that one key toIn a New York Times article about the recent spate of movies adapted from Marvel comics, Marvel executive Allen Lipson claimed that one key to the company's success is its policy of retaining approval of how its characters are used in film. Others might consider adopting that plan. Not that fanboy purism should always carry the day, but it would have prevented this scene from Catwoman: Sent to a watery grave, meek graphic designer Halle Berry washes up on an island covered in cats. One of them, of the breed commonly known as "CGI," climbs atop her chest and breathes into her mouth. Rather than getting a whiff of half-digested Cat Chow, Berry is filled with the spirit of the Egyptian cat goddess Bast. Able to leap around with feline grace, wear revealing leather outfits without shame, and improvise cat-themed puns, she is Catwoman, even though she bears little resemblance to the Catwoman from the Batman universe. It's like naming a movie Spider-Man because it's about a guy with eight legs who shoots silk out of his ass.

    Of course, none of that would matter if the movie were any good, but it's not. Mononymical director Pitof cut his teeth on digital effects and music videos, and he directs Catwoman as though he was targeting the attention span of actual cats. He cuts rapidly, keeping the camera in constant motion lest viewers wander off in search of food or a quiet place to nap. It's the least exciting form of excitement imaginable, and the story doesn't prove much of a distraction. After her transformation, Berry sets out to stop her old employer (Sharon Stone) from releasing an addictive, destructive beauty cream called "Beau-line"—surely the most unfortunate product name this side of Go-GURT Portable Yogurt. Meanwhile, when not prancing about, Berry romances sensitive cop Benjamin Bratt and trades quips with horny, hungry sidekick Alex Borstein. In or out of costume, Berry never creates a convincing character, but it's tough to saddle her with too much of the blame; Pitof, on the other hand, seems to draw his inspiration from the Joel Schumacher entries in the Batman franchise.

    Relentlessly gaudy and in love with its PG-13 approximation of kink, Catwoman is essentially an excuse to pose Berry in ever-skimpier outfits. It's all too pre-fab to register as sexy, though, and even the fight scenes look like fashion shoots, complete with anonymous R&B bump 'n' grind musical accompaniment. The film could have turned out worse, but only via the addition of a Tom Green cameo, or an accident in which the actors caught on fire.
    Expand
  5. AnsonG.
    Dec 15, 2006
    1
    Oh my, where do I begin? Well Ii could tell you that this is a well made action movie, but obviously I would be lying my head off. So Oh my, where do I begin? Well Ii could tell you that this is a well made action movie, but obviously I would be lying my head off. So instead, I want to tell you the truth. Are you ready? Here it comes........"DONT SEE THIS MOVIE" Let me tell you why. If you see this movie and are over the age of 16, you will end up hating yourself for letting yourself rot for 104 minutes without getting back, except an increased feeling of wanting to get revenge on Hollywood. They say that it is very hard to get your script into a movie. Well, after seing this movie, I think a one legged monkey could write a better script without either pen or paper. The fact that Halle Berry even uses a male stunt double, makes me lose all respect for both her and this movie. Besides the stunt double, the movie still sucks. The dialog sucks, the acting is not even present and the action looks sloppy and poorly thought through. This movie actually made me like The Core better, which is pretty much impossible. Collapse
  6. TannerJ
    Jun 5, 2009
    0
    I can't believe Halle Berry decided to be in this. A disaster in every way possible. So over the top/overdone. What a joke.
  7. IsamuO.
    Feb 17, 2008
    0
    Halle Berry's worst carnival - "z class" junk movie party of the century.

See all 82 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. DC Comics Movies, Ranked

    DC Comics Movies, Ranked Image
    Published: July 12, 2016
    We rank every DC Comics movie by Metascore.
  2. 24 Roles These Actors Would Rather Forget

    24 Roles These Actors Would Rather Forget Image
    Published: April 25, 2016
    Even good actors have a few duds on their resumes. We look at 24 highly forgettable roles from some of Hollywood's biggest stars.
  3. Comic Book Movies: Marvel vs. DC vs. Indie Publishers

    Comic Book Movies: Marvel vs. DC vs. Indie Publishers Image
    Published: July 26, 2011
    Whose comics make better movies: those published by Marvel, or ones from DC? Or do the best films come from indie comics, like this week's adaptation of Platinum Studios' "Cowboys & Aliens"? Find out inside as we compare the films of each comic book publisher.
  4. Kicking Ass: The Best and Worst Comic Book Movies

    Kicking Ass: The Best and Worst Comic Book Movies Image
    Published: April 12, 2010
    Which comic book movies kick ass, and which deserve to be kicked to the curb? We run through the best and worst examples of films based on comics, from "Superman" to "Howard the Duck."