Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: February 11, 2011
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 84 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
58
Mixed:
22
Negative:
4
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JacksonBFeb 21, 2011
Usually today's movies are either crude for the male audience or sweetly romantic for the female. Somehow this sleeper of a hit manages to provide solid gross jokes while making you something for the lead characters. Ed Helms (Hangover) playsUsually today's movies are either crude for the male audience or sweetly romantic for the female. Somehow this sleeper of a hit manages to provide solid gross jokes while making you something for the lead characters. Ed Helms (Hangover) plays the perfect naive small-town guy thrust into the "big" world of a convention in Cedar Rapids. John C. Reilly is the obnoxious agent with a touching story driving the smokescreen, Anne Heche is the party agent escaping a dull, dead marriage, and Isiah Whitlock Jr. (The Wire) surprises us will a small, quiet yet critical performance. The innocence and coming of age without seeming stupid or dumb really makes this movie shine. The the twist at the end provides you with a reason to come back and see it again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MarcDoyleFeb 14, 2011
I don't watch The Office, but I like Ed Helms - especially in The Hangover. However, John C.Reilly dominates this movie, and he's hilarious. Absolutely makes the film. Anne Heche is also terrific - her career has been on a great path. LoveI don't watch The Office, but I like Ed Helms - especially in The Hangover. However, John C.Reilly dominates this movie, and he's hilarious. Absolutely makes the film. Anne Heche is also terrific - her career has been on a great path. Love to see her in the more supporting roles. She handles them with nuance. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
MatteoFeb 13, 2011
It takes fifteen minutes to get going, but when it does, you're gonna laugh your butt off. I loved this movie and will probably go see it again before it leaves theatres. Great script, great actors, and flat out hilarious. Go see this movie today!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
movieboyMay 28, 2011
With John C.Reilly at full bore wacky hilarious you know you can't help but love this movie. I was so pleasantly surprised at how funny it is. One of the best comedies of the year that toys with Hangover territory and had me cracking up. It'sWith John C.Reilly at full bore wacky hilarious you know you can't help but love this movie. I was so pleasantly surprised at how funny it is. One of the best comedies of the year that toys with Hangover territory and had me cracking up. It's a little slow getting in gear, but once John C.Reilly bursts on the scene all hell breaks loose in the extremely repressed world of star Ed Helms. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
penfifteenJul 22, 2011
What's brown and sticky? A stick. Great movie. Ed Helms is his amazing self and John C takes on more of a lovable role. Very pleasant and definitely worth a watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Chaseyo2Jun 30, 2012
Great Funny movie. Really enjoyed it. Overall it's a great, fun movie to watch. A. . .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
lovemusicJul 5, 2011
great movie. i enjoyed it. it was very funny. John C Reilly and Ed Helms are funny as hell. its a good solid movie. this surprised me. it was hilarious. some scenes will have you crying.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AkutoSep 11, 2011
The TV ads painted an unflattering picture, but I decided to give this one a shot. This was a fun little comedy with a talented cast playing their usual roles. Loved the cameo from Rob Corddry.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
TheMudDoctorAug 30, 2011
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ShiiraMar 31, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Judging by the insurance salesman's reaction to his roommate, racial diversity must not be one of Brown Valley's strong suits. Intruder is the salesman's first instinct. Via cell phone, he tells his lover Macy(Sigourney Weaver), "There's an Afro-American man standing in my room." A black insurance salesman, imagine that. Tim Lippe(Ed Helms) is certainly not in Wisconsin anymore. Sent as a replacement for a dead colleague to the annual Two Diamonds Convention in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, in short order, the country mouse boards his first airplane, unknowingly gets propositioned by a hooker, and meets Ronald Wilkes(Isiah Whitlock Jr.), the aforementioned Afro-American who inspires fear and trepidation in the provincial conventioneer. Slow to make eye contact, Ronald's friendly comportment soon dispels the negative media images of African-Americans that may have collected in Tim's mind over his lifetime which would make the country bumpkin feel ill at ease without any provocation. Taking no offense to Tim's perceivable discomfort with the rooming arrangements, Ronald establishes common ground with the ignorant, but innocent naif, by reminding him that they're members of the same profession, showing him his billboard advertisement on the computer in a voice that would make Bryant Gumbel proud. Sounding more like Wayne Brady than Flava Flav, Tim settles down, realizing for the first time that not all black men are gangstas. Later in the film, similar to Brady's famous turn as a murderous pimp on Comedy Central's "Chappelle Show", Ronald puts on a little minstrel act when he emulates Omar from HBO's "The Wire" in order to rescue his white friend from further injury in a party brawl. Employing a "blacker" voice, Ronald says menacingly, "I always keep one in the chamber," just like how Brady broke away from his white-friendly speaking delivery with gusto, delving into ghetto-speak with a vengeance, popping off such memorable bon mots as, "Riverside, mothaf*ckers!" and, "Is Wayne Brady gonna have to choke a b*tch?" During their getaway, Tim's previously misguided preconceptions about black people turns up when he comments that Ronald was talking like a "gangsta person". By watching Ronald play a character, Tim(and the moviegoer) gains some valuable insight to the social pressure that black people face from their brethren to be more "ethnic", or risk ostracization if they're deemed "too white" and educated for comfort. This masquerade of "keeping it real" works because those Anglo-American partygoers are confronted by(and believe in) the media's image of the black person, and not Ronald himself, who is as suburban as the next guy. It's a real possibility that he hangs around exclusively with a white crowd. Also in the fleeing car, along for the ride with this merry band of bacchanal agents(including a very funny John C. Reilly) is Joan Ostowski-Fox(Anne Heche), a married woman with two children, whom Tim has a brief fling with. Joan's ability to compartmentalize the ribald times she has in Iowa from her boring domesticated life back home recalls Alex(Vera Farmiga), the frequent flier with baggage who seduces the light traveler Ryan Bingham(George Clooney) in Jason Reitman's "Up in the Air". Ironically, Tim, despite being hopelessly naive and unworldly, practically a virgin when it comes to flying, is able to walk away from his one-night stand with the seasoned adulteress, whereas Ryan, the cynical and jaded world traveler, who logs more miles than can be counted, meets his match and is never the same again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
LynJun 25, 2011
I'm not sure the world needed one more "clueless naive guy gets stoned for the first time and goes bonkers!" scene in a movie. However, the overall spirit of this film is winsome and appealing. The supporting actors, especially Reilly andI'm not sure the world needed one more "clueless naive guy gets stoned for the first time and goes bonkers!" scene in a movie. However, the overall spirit of this film is winsome and appealing. The supporting actors, especially Reilly and Heche, do a great job of making some basically sleazy behaviors seem not just amusing, but endearing, because people's hearts are in the right place. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
jdrandall38Aug 23, 2011
Cedar Rapids hits and misses but most of the time it is a hit. What brings this movie down from a 9 to a 7 is the obvious plot change at the 3/4 mark of the movie. It was hard to follow, but John C. Reilly was the glue with hisCedar Rapids hits and misses but most of the time it is a hit. What brings this movie down from a 9 to a 7 is the obvious plot change at the 3/4 mark of the movie. It was hard to follow, but John C. Reilly was the glue with his obnoxiousness and comedy. Ed Helms played his role perfectly and surprisingly never got the show stolen from him by Reilly. Solid Film and worth a watch, and a few laughs. 7/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CBZFeb 20, 2011
Its an Ok movie to go on a sunday. Don't expect it to blow your mind, the plot is not very elaborate, but at the same time you dont feel like the movie is going nowhere. It has fun parts and quiet parts making an overall decent movie. I didntIts an Ok movie to go on a sunday. Don't expect it to blow your mind, the plot is not very elaborate, but at the same time you dont feel like the movie is going nowhere. It has fun parts and quiet parts making an overall decent movie. I didnt feel like i wasted my time or money watching it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FDT44Jul 6, 2011
Bringing more smiles than disorderly cachinnation, "Cedar Rapids" is a film whose low-key, ordinariness makes for a comedy that is innately delightful; braced by solid performances that welcome you at the door, show you around, and 'Got You'Bringing more smiles than disorderly cachinnation, "Cedar Rapids" is a film whose low-key, ordinariness makes for a comedy that is innately delightful; braced by solid performances that welcome you at the door, show you around, and 'Got You' when you need them. Selling insurance never sounded so good! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
bighead6000Jul 3, 2011
In my opinion this is an overall good movie. The story is great, and very funny through out the whole movie. I also think the acting is great, especially Ed Helms, and John C. Reilly. If you are a fan of comedy, you should definitely see this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
j30Sep 20, 2011
The cast is great in this film, John C. Reilly is particular is dynamite. I'm usually not a fan of his more comedic stuff like Talladega Nights and (the horrible) Step Brothers. When you have a great cast, you can make an average, predictableThe cast is great in this film, John C. Reilly is particular is dynamite. I'm usually not a fan of his more comedic stuff like Talladega Nights and (the horrible) Step Brothers. When you have a great cast, you can make an average, predictable story very entertaining. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Tss5078Jul 19, 2015
I really hate all these dry office comedies that are common place today. Films like Office Space and shows like The Office and Community, make me wonder if the people who watch this stuff are truly brain dead to what real comedy is anymore. II really hate all these dry office comedies that are common place today. Films like Office Space and shows like The Office and Community, make me wonder if the people who watch this stuff are truly brain dead to what real comedy is anymore. I assumed that Cedar Rapids would be another of these films, but there is a difference, Ed Helms. Even before he was in films like the Hangover, I thought this guy was hilarious, and I am a great admirer of his work, so I gave this film a shot. Helms plays Tim Lippy, an insurance agent who went right from High School to being an insurance agent. He has never been anywhere, never done anything, and is completely oblivious to the world outside his office. That all changes when Tim is sent to represent his firm at a Midwest insurance conference in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. Alone and exposed for the first time in his life, Tim has a hard time just fitting in an letting loose, so he does what every insurance agent does, and turns to drugs, alcohol, and prostitutes. Cedar Rapids is the second film from Miguel Arteta, whose first film, Youth In Revolt, also surprised me. Neither of these films are the type of comedy I enjoy, but somehow Arteta has the magic touch. Cedar Rapids had me laughing to the point of tears, something that almost never happens, and for once, I saw how these ordinary, everyday situations could be funny. As for the star, Ed Helms, he was just amazing, his extreme anxiety and taking every emotion to it's absolute extreme just gets me every time. Cedar Rapids isn't your typical comedy and even after seeing the preview, I was convinced that it would be terrible, but the combination of Miguel Arteta and Ed Helms make this film a must see comedy classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews