Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: August 3, 2012
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 47 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
31
Mixed:
11
Negative:
5
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
MarcDoyleAug 7, 2012
I think you'd be stretching the definition by calling this a Rom-Com, but I enjoyed it. It certainly explored an original premise and played it out, which is nice. Samberg can certainly play the dramatic roles, but Jones is the breakoutI think you'd be stretching the definition by calling this a Rom-Com, but I enjoyed it. It certainly explored an original premise and played it out, which is nice. Samberg can certainly play the dramatic roles, but Jones is the breakout star here. I'd like to see her considered for more leading-lady roles. Incidentally, if you're grossed out by dick jokes and that sort of thing, you might want to skip this. (I'm not, btw. I enjoyed all of it.) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DirigiblePulpJan 31, 2017
I still think this is one of the best pure romantic comedies of this decade. It's a shame it didn't get more attention or a wider release. I don't get it. There's nothing about this that feels too hard or real for a mainstream audience.I still think this is one of the best pure romantic comedies of this decade. It's a shame it didn't get more attention or a wider release. I don't get it. There's nothing about this that feels too hard or real for a mainstream audience.

Genuine laughs and humor coming from characters you like without any obvious archetypes or easy plot contrivances (except the whole pregnant thing, it's necessary but also a bit sudden and contrived).
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Friskytiger81Sep 28, 2012
Enjoyable film though it's something you've seen before in the same setting, but with different characters. Andy Samberg's Jesse is a great subtle change from his scene-stealing on SNL, while this is to Rashida Jones (who co-writes this, asEnjoyable film though it's something you've seen before in the same setting, but with different characters. Andy Samberg's Jesse is a great subtle change from his scene-stealing on SNL, while this is to Rashida Jones (who co-writes this, as well as stars) what "Bridesmaids" was to Kristen Wiig. Jones gives an incredible performance showing incredible range. This is a good date movie, but an even better movie for the brokenhearted. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
beingryanjudeSep 3, 2014
Rashida Jones' writing debut is a breakthrough. She's managed to capture audiences immediately in what I'd like to call a "lo-fi" independent romantic-comedy. Not to mention: she and Andy Samberg are magic together.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RevRonSep 3, 2013
My expectations weren't high for this one but thanks to a great script from Rashida Jones and Will McCormack that takes the tired, same-old-same-old romcom genre and gave it some heart and authenticity, I was pleasantly surprised with thisMy expectations weren't high for this one but thanks to a great script from Rashida Jones and Will McCormack that takes the tired, same-old-same-old romcom genre and gave it some heart and authenticity, I was pleasantly surprised with this one. The only real downside I had for this one was that the supporting characters don't have a large enough presence in the story but the film is touching, funny and Andy Samberg and Rashida Jones are incredible to watch and that easily makes up for any shortcomings the film has. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
lukechristianscApr 11, 2015
Charming,Sweet and heartfelt describes this rom-com. Rashida Jones and Will McCormack's script is touching and original, however the comedy i do not find the humor material funny. Andy Samberg's performance is somewhat good since his otherCharming,Sweet and heartfelt describes this rom-com. Rashida Jones and Will McCormack's script is touching and original, however the comedy i do not find the humor material funny. Andy Samberg's performance is somewhat good since his other comedy roles. Grade A- Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RoraEstJul 5, 2014
It supposed to be a comedy but instead it's not. I love this story. It's actually gave me a great message about relationship. It's pretty awesome. I thought Andy Samberg would be the main point of the universe but it's just about him, in badIt supposed to be a comedy but instead it's not. I love this story. It's actually gave me a great message about relationship. It's pretty awesome. I thought Andy Samberg would be the main point of the universe but it's just about him, in bad ways. I'm proud of this movie. I'm glad. The cinematography also good and they gave lots of scenes and they were all important. Many of love drama or comedy romantic movies, they gave us many scenes but none of them really matter, but this one movie, each of scenes gave me different issues. The movie put the plot as the impressive story line. Made me being moved, actually. 10? #yes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ydnar4Oct 18, 2015
Celeste & Jesse Forever was a surprisingly original romantic comedy that seems to me more common these days after movies like (500) Days of Summer and The Spectacular Now. The cast in excellent in this movie and I really did care about theCeleste & Jesse Forever was a surprisingly original romantic comedy that seems to me more common these days after movies like (500) Days of Summer and The Spectacular Now. The cast in excellent in this movie and I really did care about the two main characters played by Rashida Jones and Andy Samberg. The film is surprisingly emotional at points but can also be quite light hearted and funny as well. Rashida Jones is so great in this movie. I have loved her since Parks & Rec and I thought she was just so easy to latch on to and so easy to love that you just have to keep your eyes on her for the whole run time. This movie would be great for date night. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DCEdmondsNov 13, 2014
"Celeste and Jesse Forever" 10 Scale Rating: 7.5 (Very Good) ...

The Good: A genuinely funny romantic comedy that does things a little differently. A refreshing film as it doesn't fall into the usual cliches that this type of film
"Celeste and Jesse Forever" 10 Scale Rating: 7.5 (Very Good) ...

The Good: A genuinely funny romantic comedy that does things a little differently. A refreshing film as it doesn't fall into the usual cliches that this type of film typically falls victim to. I keep seeing the word "charming" in other reviews for this movie, and that is probably the best word to describe it. Just a very likable movie.

The Bad: Celeste and Jesse are far more entertaining apart than they are together. If I met the two of them in real life I would have to resist the urge to throat punch them as their inside jokes and non-stop quips get old quickly. It is difficult to root for them ever getting back together, though you do root for them to succeed on an individual level. Great supporting cast.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TechnoElfNov 12, 2015
A great rom com with great dialogue and enough funniness to get through the sad moments. Andy Samberg & Rashida Jones work brilliantly together as two best friends who love each other but can't make it work. One of my personal favourite movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews