Metascore
40

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Reviewed by: Todd Gilchrist
    Apr 16, 2011
    70
    If you're a fan of upper-crust New England intellectuals or one of them yourself, Ceremony is probably your perfect movie.
  2. Reviewed by: Sheri Linden
    Apr 7, 2011
    60
    If the scenario is unconvincing, debuting writer-director Max Winkler has a feel for the dynamics of this kind of ritualized yet informal social gathering, and his affection for his characters is clear.
  3. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    May 12, 2011
    50
    By the time Ceremony reaches its admittedly clever finale, you're too wrung out from Angarano's tiresome antics and Winkler's unconvincing dialogue to care who ends up marrying whom.
  4. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    Apr 21, 2011
    50
    Like its protagonist, Ceremony is as smart as it is exasperating.
  5. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Apr 21, 2011
    50
    The offbeat comedy is not entirely devoid of charm, but its derivativeness is almost embarrassing.
  6. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Apr 7, 2011
    50
    In its mixture of the quirky and the downbeat, Ceremony aspires to be a hybrid of Noah Baumbach's "Margot at the Wedding" and Wes Anderson's "Rushmore" but falls far short.
  7. Reviewed by: Keith Phipps
    Apr 14, 2011
    42
    Trouble is, it feels like a film going through the motions, never finding mooring in believable human feelings.
  8. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Apr 8, 2011
    40
    A story that never finds a reason for its own existence.
  9. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Apr 6, 2011
    40
    Ceremony passes by quickly and painlessly, its annoyances easily forgotten. On the plus side, Thurman and Angarano do work up a sweet odd-pair chemistry.
  10. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Apr 5, 2011
    40
    Ceremony is a callow movie: Winkler exhibits no comprehension of the class anxieties he addresses, and extends precocity into adulthood. That callowness is Ceremony's subject scarcely makes it funnier.
  11. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    Apr 4, 2011
    40
    Sporadically funny though less effective at selling its melancholy undercurrents.
  12. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    Apr 4, 2011
    40
    Despite a few grace notes and mildly clever twists, this handsomely produced indie is such a grating turnoff throughout its first third that its minor virtues may be discovered only by insomniac latenight cable viewers.
  13. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Apr 8, 2011
    25
    At its best, the movie is an unbearably precious slice of stale imitation Wes Anderson. But at its worst, it's dull and strangled by its own would-be jaunty deadpan.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 3 more ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Oct 30, 2011
    7
    Okay, so this was flawed. Maybe that's why it worked so well for me. At times it was awkward and disjointed, but this mirrored the subjectOkay, so this was flawed. Maybe that's why it worked so well for me. At times it was awkward and disjointed, but this mirrored the subject matter really well. First time I've seen Michael Angarano and I thought he was great. His naive play for Uma Thurman rang so true. Lee Pace was also great, and the way he made Whit seem so cringeworthy was hilarious. Not sure about Thurman's role - I think all she had to do was turn up as there wasn't much to her character. Another reviewer mentioned that her relationship with Angarano's character was not credible. I would argue that in real life, the basis for most of our relationships doesn't really hold up to much scrutiny. We are hardly rational all the time, and Ceremony caught that really well for me. Fabulous soundtrack too. I'll be looking out for Winkler's next project. Full Review »