Chandni Chowk to China

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 27
  2. Negative: 11 out of 27
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. VishalG.
    Jan 18, 2009
    10
    Wonderful movie, akshay has proved himself one again that he is the undisputed No 1 of Bollywood.
  2. Irustima
    Jan 18, 2009
    7
    I loved the movie. It's funny and the story moves fast. I even liked the special effects very much. The short quips through out the movie kept me giggling. Must watch despite the critics trying to put the movie down. I believe that there are Bollywood lobbies working to tarnish the Akshay image.
  3. udayp
    Jan 22, 2009
    9
    This is one of the BEST movies indian cinema has ever produced...that I have seen in decades!...This one's a right call to the Oscar's....Right from sleek camera work, enchanting music score & all....the performances by its lead actors - namely akshay kumar & deepika gets your money's worth right away!...what was the name of the film which ran for a decade or so?...sholay This is one of the BEST movies indian cinema has ever produced...that I have seen in decades!...This one's a right call to the Oscar's....Right from sleek camera work, enchanting music score & all....the performances by its lead actors - namely akshay kumar & deepika gets your money's worth right away!...what was the name of the film which ran for a decade or so?...sholay or was it hum aapke hain kaun?...or was it ddlj?....I tell you guysss---this masterpiece makes all the above-named look like horse crap!!!...It's got a phenomenal repeat value which makes it a Super Duper rocking HIT..Right from the word GO!...So you GO!,...& watch the movie of the decade!!!!...worth every penny...sit back...watch..enjoy!...Thanks Nikhil! Expand
  4. dineshs.
    Jan 17, 2009
    10
    Nice movie with action of akshay & deepika, i like it very much.
  5. NookieB.
    Jan 18, 2009
    9
    I have no idea what you guys are talking about. Being some one who speaks hindi and was born in china, this movie is fantastic. It is really fun, the jokes are funnying and you should understand and flying around in the movies are all metaphor. Chainese believe that once you master kung fu you can take energy from the element around you and use it as a force that can vanish your enamies. I have no idea what you guys are talking about. Being some one who speaks hindi and was born in china, this movie is fantastic. It is really fun, the jokes are funnying and you should understand and flying around in the movies are all metaphor. Chainese believe that once you master kung fu you can take energy from the element around you and use it as a force that can vanish your enamies. Therefore you need to understand a little bit of chainese cinema and also chainese culture to appreciate this movie. Expand
  6. IndianGeekGeeks
    Jan 18, 2009
    7
    Hmmm, Its a good movie but not an Excellent one! It actually a comedy and action movie and as Parul has said , Akshays comedy is not very effective this time! He has tried ,many times to make people laugh but never worked! And action is fine ! Though not good as Ghajini! While Comparing CCTC to Ghajini and Rab Ne , I feel Rab Ne and Ghajini is Better and if you haven't seen Rab Ne/ Hmmm, Its a good movie but not an Excellent one! It actually a comedy and action movie and as Parul has said , Akshays comedy is not very effective this time! He has tried ,many times to make people laugh but never worked! And action is fine ! Though not good as Ghajini! While Comparing CCTC to Ghajini and Rab Ne , I feel Rab Ne and Ghajini is Better and if you haven't seen Rab Ne/ Ghajini , go see them first and then see CC2C ,if you have money/time left! If u like comedy genre movies then maybe CC2C is worth watching once! Expand
  7. sakets
    Jan 19, 2009
    10
    Good best comedy and action. it is truly nice akchay is rocking.
  8. StevenB.
    Jun 24, 2009
    9
    Funny Fast and has Kung Fu. Its a little too long the reason why I rated it down one. But apart from that it is a brilliant film. Watch if you like silly comical films but can also put up with length (2hr+).
Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 22
  2. Negative: 5 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: David Chute
    20
    Alas, Chandni Chowk to China, directed by Nikhil Advani, is asymmetrical in the extreme: shapeless, shameless, and slapdash.
  2. 63
    For those with an adventurous and offbeat cinematic appetite, Chandni Chowk to China offers its shares of enjoyments, although there are plenty of "downs" to go along with the "ups."
  3. 50
    It will appeal to the large Indian audiences in North America and to Bollywood fans in general, who will come out wondering why this movie, of all movies, was chosen as Hollywood's first foray into commercial Indian cinema.