Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: July 15, 2005
6.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 442 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
265
Mixed:
92
Negative:
85
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
markgunmaMay 2, 2017
Willy Wonka...he's the key to everything. He sparked the excitement and he laid down the rules to the lucky winners. The original had a sense of intrigue about what really would happen to those awful kids. There were lessons to be learned;Willy Wonka...he's the key to everything. He sparked the excitement and he laid down the rules to the lucky winners. The original had a sense of intrigue about what really would happen to those awful kids. There were lessons to be learned; there was redemption for Charlie; there was meaning to those oompaloompa songs. This version was all flash and absolutely no soul, no lessons, no redemptive values. I should have known that when the critics fawn with such great effort, it is likely to cover up their idols' horrendous misplays. I give it 'one' for the technology and 'zero' for everything else. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
ILOVEMOVIES04Jan 13, 2017
The person who said this is an example of a movie that shouldn't be remade is right. I don't care what anyone says or how close this movie is to the book, it was TERRIBLE. The original was way better despite it not being close to the book.The person who said this is an example of a movie that shouldn't be remade is right. I don't care what anyone says or how close this movie is to the book, it was TERRIBLE. The original was way better despite it not being close to the book. The cast was memorable, the songs were memorable. And best of all Gene Wilder brought out the best in Wonka were as Depp made him into a creepy MJ wannabe. I read the book and even though this movie included Charlie's father and his occupation, and the ending with the cast off kids, it still fell short. Especially when they included Wonka's daddy dentist issues. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
beingryanjudeAug 29, 2014
I held higher hopes for Tim Burton on the reigns for this remake. Johnny Depp also gives a disappointingly creepy turn as Willy Wonka. Yes, there are some tasteful visuals but not much more.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
TheGamer31Dec 8, 2012
This movie sucked. It completely changed from the original movie which I love, and the books. I have no idea why this movie was even made. WHY!? WHY DID THEY MAKE IT?!!
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
0
TheQuietGamerMar 26, 2011
Tim Burton takes the original mediocre movie and makes it worse, the acting sucks and the characters and acting is crap there is no reason to see this movie at all.
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
3
KarthXLRSep 3, 2010
I simply can't wrap my mind around how this movie has such high critical scores. Personally, I think Tim Burton is a visionary genius, but he can only work with stories that his type of directing specializes in: outcasts. In this movie, WonkaI simply can't wrap my mind around how this movie has such high critical scores. Personally, I think Tim Burton is a visionary genius, but he can only work with stories that his type of directing specializes in: outcasts. In this movie, Wonka isn't an outcast, he's just weird and even creepy at times. All this balanced out by not-so-great songs and a cast that simply can't beat the original. Not the worst film, but overrated at the very least. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
0
joeJul 29, 2009
Just awful. Depp was the worst he's ever been. It was very hard to sit through the whole thing. Don't watch it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JackB.Mar 29, 2008
A shocking and unnecessary remake. What a complete and utter piece of tripe. Tim Burton and Johnny Depp should be ashamed of themselves.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
RichardCJul 24, 2007
Worst movie ever!!! First off Depp's acting sucked and I mean truly sucked. It was almost like watching a grown man imitate a little boy, but in a perverted way. This is a remake of Willy Wonka, if not it would have been named something Worst movie ever!!! First off Depp's acting sucked and I mean truly sucked. It was almost like watching a grown man imitate a little boy, but in a perverted way. This is a remake of Willy Wonka, if not it would have been named something else like Willy Wonka 2 or something. Plus you can not beat the original movie, because the performances were classic and subtle. Please Please do not waste your time watching this garbage. I would say it is worst then Epic Movie. Those of you who thought it is cute, it is not. The only good thing about this movie is the scenery and special effects. Please don't encourage these Hollywood idiots to remake these movies, instead let's try to make something original that is good. Original pieces are almost always better then remakes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
guy!Jul 14, 2007
Our chocolate is now bitter thanks to this movie. It was so bad, I couldn't bear the first 30 minutes. Glad I had the option of turning it off on TV rather than sitting through it in the theater with my little brother. Seriously, why Our chocolate is now bitter thanks to this movie. It was so bad, I couldn't bear the first 30 minutes. Glad I had the option of turning it off on TV rather than sitting through it in the theater with my little brother. Seriously, why did we try to remake this movie? the old one was 10x better. In this one, the acting was terrible, they cut out vital parts, and worst of all, they wasted J.D. WHY DID THEY WASTE J.D.?!?!?! I mean look at him, what did they do to his face?! Enough said. By all means, avoid this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
LouisH.May 15, 2007
This movie was a freak-show on screen!!! It's movies like this that influence little kids to be like present-day Micheal Jackson when they grow up. It ruined J.D's reputation; I mean what did they do to him in this movie???! He is This movie was a freak-show on screen!!! It's movies like this that influence little kids to be like present-day Micheal Jackson when they grow up. It ruined J.D's reputation; I mean what did they do to him in this movie???! He is now king Dor-quad! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RichieTOct 29, 2006
Burton's worst since Big Fish.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RichardJan 20, 2006
Very disapointing movie. Depp's performance was good. But the mood of the movie was very dark. For the target audience, Kids it think, some of the content was questionable and I am pretty liberal. We had to turn this one off and send Very disapointing movie. Depp's performance was good. But the mood of the movie was very dark. For the target audience, Kids it think, some of the content was questionable and I am pretty liberal. We had to turn this one off and send the kids to bed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MelissaM.Dec 27, 2005
What a horrible remake! . They took no time to develop the characters and it lacked the imagination of the original. Dep came off as shallow and psychotic, whereas Gene Wilder was brilliant, executing a wonderful blend of eccentricity and What a horrible remake! . They took no time to develop the characters and it lacked the imagination of the original. Dep came off as shallow and psychotic, whereas Gene Wilder was brilliant, executing a wonderful blend of eccentricity and character. Do not waste your time on this horrible, horrible remake. And how did this movie get such high reviews? Makes you wonder if the industry doesn Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
PamelaA.Dec 22, 2005
Well what can I say? This movie left a sour taste in my mouth!! Is that Michael Jackson or Johnny Depp playing Willy Wonka? The movie was DARK and depressing and the colorization was totally FAKE and looked cheap. The movie was NOT funny AT Well what can I say? This movie left a sour taste in my mouth!! Is that Michael Jackson or Johnny Depp playing Willy Wonka? The movie was DARK and depressing and the colorization was totally FAKE and looked cheap. The movie was NOT funny AT ALL. The Oompa Loompas SUCKED and the songs were terrible. The ENTIRE time I watched this despicable film I got the same feeling you get when someone scratches their fingernails across a chalk board. This movie is the BIGGEST disappointment of the year to say the very least. I give Charlie and the Chocolate Factory a big thumbs down. Stick with the original with Gene Wilder as Mr Wonka. However, I will recommend Charlie and the Chocolate Factory for anyone who suffers from insomnia as this movie is guaranteed to put you right to sleep that is if it doesn't bore you to death first! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
EricDec 17, 2005
I've tried twice to get through this movie. How in the world did so many critics score this a 100? It is absolutely abyssmal. Depp is completely wrong for the Wonka part, the Oompa Loompas are terrible, the songs are lousy, and the I've tried twice to get through this movie. How in the world did so many critics score this a 100? It is absolutely abyssmal. Depp is completely wrong for the Wonka part, the Oompa Loompas are terrible, the songs are lousy, and the humor is nonexistent. I'm glad I only rented the DVD - if I'd actually paid $8 in a theater to see it, I'd have to consider filing a lawsuit against the theater and/or the filmmaker for both my $8 and pain & suffering. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AmmonL.Dec 15, 2005
Johnny Depp's characterization of Willy Wonka looked bad to me in the previews, so I just saw this on video. Be warned: if you didn't like Depp's Wonka in the trailers, you likely won't like him anymore after seeing the Johnny Depp's characterization of Willy Wonka looked bad to me in the previews, so I just saw this on video. Be warned: if you didn't like Depp's Wonka in the trailers, you likely won't like him anymore after seeing the movie. I've heard Depp's Wonka compared to Michael Jackson in his mannerisms, and that's an apt comparison. They both seem very odd, and like someone you wouldn't want to have your children around- even supervised. Aside from Wonka, the Oompa Loompas aren't fun, the songs are forgettable, the adults are brainless, the children are pretty decent and so are the squirrels, but not enough to make this even an average movie-going experience. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
KurtM.Dec 7, 2005
This movie is so lame and cheesey. Depp is in fact kind of Michael Jackson like in this film. Rent the original.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DV8Dec 5, 2005
Oh my god... I hate Tim Burton's visions of, well, just about everything. I realize that this movie stays closer to the book than Willy Wonka does, but all the symbolism, all the mystery about Willy Wonka are completely obviated, and Oh my god... I hate Tim Burton's visions of, well, just about everything. I realize that this movie stays closer to the book than Willy Wonka does, but all the symbolism, all the mystery about Willy Wonka are completely obviated, and the movie withers as it becomes sentimental and preachy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
FilmgirlDec 2, 2005
What a disappointment! What's with those stupid Oompaloompas???? What's with Johnny Depp? He is one creepy dude.... Miss this one, trust me!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SpiroA.Nov 29, 2005
If you love Tim Burton flicks and haven't read the book or seen the Wilder movie, you will probably like or even love this movie. If you've read the Dahl book, seen the original movie with Wilder, and or dislike Burton flicks (as I If you love Tim Burton flicks and haven't read the book or seen the Wilder movie, you will probably like or even love this movie. If you've read the Dahl book, seen the original movie with Wilder, and or dislike Burton flicks (as I do), you will probably be disappointed or outright disgusted. Burton's perverse rendition is a disjointed freak show that relies on quirkiness and cinematography over character development and plot. The movie does nothing to distinguish itself and pales in comparison to the original. It also assininely changes important storylines from the book and the Wilder flick to it's detriment. The movie left me thinking, "Hmmmm... some of the lines were funny, the sets were neat, and some of the acting was okay, but overall this really sucks". I gave a 2 rating only because of the quirkiness and cinematography (both Burton staples). If you dislike Burton, love Wilder, and/or Dahl, this movie will piss you off and leave you puzzled and empty. Otherwise, rent it and it may amuse you. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
EricS.Nov 14, 2005
Not a very good rendetion. too off base from the orginal. too Tim burtonEY for this show.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BlakeT.Nov 13, 2005
If you have always wanted to see Jack Sparrow try to do Willy Wonka, this is the movie for you. Otherwise, you'd be better off spending you money at the dentist.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ShaneJ.Nov 8, 2005
It just didn't have the same fun factor as the first one. Also, Depp seemed like he was just trying way to hard to be wierd. The movie was just not as good as the orginal.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
PoochNov 7, 2005
This movie was possibly the worst idea to come out of Tim Burtons hatfull of worst ideas. Remaking the classic movie, WIlly Wonka and the Chocolate Facotry, and giving it a new name, trying to knock it off as being different, what a horrible This movie was possibly the worst idea to come out of Tim Burtons hatfull of worst ideas. Remaking the classic movie, WIlly Wonka and the Chocolate Facotry, and giving it a new name, trying to knock it off as being different, what a horrible idea. They tried to make it a little darker by including Wonka's childhood, but that ended up sucking a big one. It was a bad idea to make this movie. Period. The classic movie has now been ruined for me, since I have seen these new cheap knock-offs for Oompa Loompas. The Oompa Loompas used to be my favorite part, and now I just want to slice my wrists open everytime I hear their name mentioned. The music sucked too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KatherineBOct 30, 2005
This movie is still horrendous. I would call it "scum," but I'm too nice of a person. In my earlier review, I pointed out positive aspects of the movie. Well, really, I pointed out aspects of the movie that weren't as devastatingly This movie is still horrendous. I would call it "scum," but I'm too nice of a person. In my earlier review, I pointed out positive aspects of the movie. Well, really, I pointed out aspects of the movie that weren't as devastatingly horrible as Depp's performance. The Oompa Loompas are bad, the writing is bad, the acting is bad, and the aesthetic elements are only enough to entertain those who aren't yet old enough to understand that movies aren't all about pretty pictures and sing alongs. The only reason I give it a 2 now is to appease Nick R. And I do **think about [my] score**. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
BmanOct 28, 2005
Depp aint no Gene Wilder. What a pile of tripe.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
DonaaB.Sep 11, 2005
This movie was disgusting!!! A shameful attempt of a remake! This movie has nothing catchy about and no interesting songs. The old movie is a million times better. This movie was just plain stupid. Don't waste your money.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TheElusivePossomSep 2, 2005
It's no secret that Roald Dahl despised the original book-to-film adaptation of his classic children's novel of the same name, but this rehash of that popular classic would surely make him turn in his grave. Johnny Depp certainly It's no secret that Roald Dahl despised the original book-to-film adaptation of his classic children's novel of the same name, but this rehash of that popular classic would surely make him turn in his grave. Johnny Depp certainly makes the character of Wonka his own, which turns out to be a bizarre and often irritating abomination lacking any of Gene Wilder's aimiable charm. Helena Bonham Carter, however, plays a very lovely mum, and the majority of the film's laughs are gained from Violet Beauregarde's mum's face - every expression is comedy gold! The film's plot seems stunted and wayward, with classic scenes from the original (the bubble room) omitted in favour of visiting a room full of killer CGI squirrels. The film is also littered with unnecessary insights into Wonka's childhood, all of which failing to draw the wacky chocolateer out of being 1-dimensional. On top of all this, the conclusion is extremely poor and overly sugar-sweet. See it if you love Mr Depp; otherwise buy a box of Milk Tray and stay at home. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KenGAug 25, 2005
The story always had a mean-spirited element to it, but Depp's creepy, and charmless performance, magnifies the mean-spirit feel even more, so the movie comes off as nothing but mean-spirited, with a little drabness thrown in. There is The story always had a mean-spirited element to it, but Depp's creepy, and charmless performance, magnifies the mean-spirit feel even more, so the movie comes off as nothing but mean-spirited, with a little drabness thrown in. There is no humor, charm, or sense of wonder, or magic to counter-balance the mean-spiritness, as there was in the Gene Wilder orignal. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful