Che

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 51
  2. Negative: 8 out of 51

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. MarianoA.
    Jan 10, 2009
    10
    Outstanding performance by Benicio del Toro (Cannes winner for this one). Great movie, tells you about the Che Guevara´s revolutionary life, the guerrilla fights and the Cuban revolution. I think you have to watch the film first and then comment something about it, ussually the conservators talks crap about any attempt to show the real deal about Che Guevara (objective way, like Outstanding performance by Benicio del Toro (Cannes winner for this one). Great movie, tells you about the Che Guevara´s revolutionary life, the guerrilla fights and the Cuban revolution. I think you have to watch the film first and then comment something about it, ussually the conservators talks crap about any attempt to show the real deal about Che Guevara (objective way, like Soderbergh did ). And this attempt is ambitious and worthy. Expand
  2. WC
    Feb 8, 2009
    10
    Excellent film! It's fascinating to watch the ideologues, like those at the New York Post come out of the woodwork to get their digs in...oh well, they wouldn't be the Post if they were objective!
  3. Tyrone
    Apr 27, 2009
    10
    Unparalleled in execution and unbiasedness , a truly un-hollywood picture uncompromising and meticulously realized. there will never be another like it or not .
  4. MC
    Jan 4, 2009
    10
    Fantastic and inspiring. Captures the idiolistic feelings and hopes of a reveloution in the first part and in the second it tears them apart.
  5. BillyS.
    Feb 1, 2009
    9
    Epic Filmmaking in every sense. Soderbergh has crafted his Godfather for the new century. Amazing in every detail with a brilliant Benicio Del Toro as Che. Don't talk about Oscar snubs for The Dark Knight and WALL-E, nothing for Che is just plain ignorant!
  6. AndyB.
    Feb 12, 2009
    9
    Utterly different to normak Hollywood fare- Engrossing, as it builds towardsa crescendo.
  7. BecquerM
    Feb 20, 2009
    9
    Captivating for Benicio Del Toro
  8. BenderA.
    Dec 16, 2008
    10
    The movie tells you about the life of Che Guevara, the guerrilla warrior who made the revolution in Cuba. But this time is the Che´s point of view (it´s based on a book wrote by himself). So you won´t see the typical american movie against Cuba, you´ll see one latin american movie (it´s in spanish) trying to tell Guevara´s revolutionary life in 4 hours The movie tells you about the life of Che Guevara, the guerrilla warrior who made the revolution in Cuba. But this time is the Che´s point of view (it´s based on a book wrote by himself). So you won´t see the typical american movie against Cuba, you´ll see one latin american movie (it´s in spanish) trying to tell Guevara´s revolutionary life in 4 hours (starts when he know Fidel Castro and finish when he dies excecuted). The work of Benicio Del Toro is great, he´s just like che Guevara in person, even with the same accent and look (the best choice for the character). He won the best actor award in Cannes for this performance. Steven Soderbergh made an ambitious film, and he got it right. A little long, but in the rest of the world is splitted in 2 parts. In USA is a 4 hours movie with limited distribution (unfortunally, maybe for the language or the explicit -revolutionary- content of the movie) Expand
  9. CEP
    Dec 18, 2008
    10
    Great film!
  10. [Anonymous]
    Jan 17, 2009
    10
    'Che' is an amazing journey, and is Soderbergh's masterpiece!
  11. JohnM.
    Dec 17, 2008
    10
    FYI, the TV Guide review you put up is actually for a 1969 movie called "Che!" starring Jack Palance. Thought you might want to fix that.
  12. Jan 6, 2012
    7
    This is strangely dull for a biopic of such an interesting historical figure. I didn't hate it. The pace could be described as languid, and it goes on for 5 hours (in two parts on DVD; 'The Argentine', 'Guerilla'). Well shot and has the tinge of authenticity. More edifying than entertaining. I'm glad i watched it but i don't need to watch it again
  13. Mar 6, 2014
    10
    Bidragstagare är vi allihopa, allihopa, allihopa
    Bidragstagare är vi allihopa, allihopa, JAG MED
    Du med Och jag med. Arbete har ju ingen av oss, ingen av oss ingen av oss Arbete har ju ingen av oss, ingen av oss, inte du Inte jag, Och inte du. A-kassa har vi allihopa, allihopa, allihopa. A-kassa har vi allihopa, allihopa, JAG MED Du med Och jag med Blodlund fick arbete men
    Bidragstagare är vi allihopa, allihopa, allihopa
    Bidragstagare är vi allihopa, allihopa, JAG MED
    Du med
    Och jag med.
    Arbete har ju ingen av oss, ingen av oss ingen av oss
    Arbete har ju ingen av oss, ingen av oss, inte du
    Inte jag,
    Och inte du.
    A-kassa har vi allihopa, allihopa, allihopa.
    A-kassa har vi allihopa, allihopa, JAG MED
    Du med
    Och jag med
    Blodlund fick arbete men pengar icke, pengar icke, pengar icke
    Blodlund fick arbete men pengar icke, pengar icke, inte alls
    Inte alls,
    Nej, inte alls.
    Staten finansierar ingen forskning, ingen forskning, ingen forskning
    Staten finansierar ingen forskning, ingen forskning, den drogs in
    Den drogs in,
    Ja den drogs in
    Utan nobelpris saknas pengar, saknas pengar, saknas pengar,
    Utan nobelpris saknas pengar, saknas pengar, helt klart
    Helt klart,
    Ja, helt klart.

    Musiken gav inte Edvin några pengar, några pengar, några pengar
    Musiken gav inte Edvin några pengar, några pengar, Inga pengar
    Inga pengar,
    Inga pengar alls
    Inte ens Gustav fick nå’ pengar, fick nå’ pengar, fick nå’ pengar.
    Inte ens Gustav fick nå’ pengar, fick nå’ pengar, bidrags dags
    Bidrags dags,
    Ja, bidrags dags.
    Expand
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 24
  2. Negative: 2 out of 24
  1. If this earnest, two-part biopic with a total running time of 268 minutes sometimes lacks cinematic flair, the straight-ahead, chronologically-driven film will inform and, to a somewhat lesser extent, excite viewers everywhere.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    60
    If the director has gone out of his way to avoid the usual Hollywood biopic conventions, he has also withheld any suggestion of why the charismatic doctor, fighter, diplomat, diarist and intellectual theorist became and remains such a legendary figure; if anything, Che seems diminished by the way he's portrayed here.
  3. 80
    Every Bolivian sequence has its Cuban parallel, which is why Che's two parts are best seen together. Guerrilla may be the more realized of the two--and could certainly stand on its own--but it is only comprehensible in the light of The Argentine. Elevating Guerrilla to tragedy, The Argentine puts some hope in hopelessness--and even in history.