Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 36
  2. Negative: 2 out of 36
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Angie Errigo
    Jun 23, 2014
    60
    Eat well beforehand or you’ll be in tummy-rumbling, tongue-hanging-out agony as the merry band cook their way across America. Good fun and happy, filling fare.
  2. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    May 8, 2014
    60
    [A] shallow but enjoyable all-American morality play.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    May 8, 2014
    60
    Scenes of Favreau at the grill bantering with Leguizamo and Cannavale could almost sustain an entire movie.
  4. Reviewed by: David Ehrlich
    May 7, 2014
    60
    It may not be for all tastes, but there’s genuine value in a feel-good film that works this well without making viewers feel bad first.
  5. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    Mar 10, 2014
    60
    The easygoing comedy keeps a familiar story going despite minor plot hiccups.
  6. Reviewed by: A.A. Dowd
    May 7, 2014
    58
    For anyone who’s followed Favreau’s career since the mid-’90s, the temptation to read Chef as veiled autobiography will be overpowering.
  7. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Mar 9, 2014
    58
    By its later scenes, Chef only finds respite from its bland qualities through the scrumptious-looking dishes constantly on display. As self-indulgent vanity projects go, this one's pretty innocuous, if only because it's always easy on the eyes.
  8. Reviewed by: Amy Nicholson
    May 1, 2014
    50
    Chef is so charmingly middlebrow that it's exactly the cinematic comfort food it mocks: Favreau has made not a game-changing meal to remember, but a perfect chocolate lava cake.
  9. Reviewed by: Inkoo Kang
    May 8, 2014
    40
    Personal or not, this lazy fantasy doesn't offer many more pleasures than an Instagram account.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 237 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 69
  2. Negative: 4 out of 69
  1. Jun 1, 2014
    10
    Who knew a movie about a food truck could turn into one of the best movies of the year? Of course, that's a rudimentary plot synapsis, but itWho knew a movie about a food truck could turn into one of the best movies of the year? Of course, that's a rudimentary plot synapsis, but it is the heart and soul of the film. It's sometimes sweet, but sometimes serious. It has a nice blend of wit and humor, and features an amazing script that just feels like everyday conversation. The best part of the movie is what many directors strive for but never fully achieve: it shows how skilled professionals work, and how they feel when they do what they love (or hate for that matter). The food shown in the movie makes you lick your lips and just want to eat all the gourmet dishes Chef Casper prepares. And in some ways, the movie resembles the food he prepares: fresh, irresistible, and easily taken in. I could go on and on about what a good movie this was. Full Review »
  2. May 19, 2014
    8
    CHEF is a total delight! I was expecting a forced attempt by Hollywood veterans to make a "charming" and "heartfelt" indie. Instead, ICHEF is a total delight! I was expecting a forced attempt by Hollywood veterans to make a "charming" and "heartfelt" indie. Instead, I discovered a truly genuine film that is both charming and heartfelt for real with no unnecessary plot points (OK, the end is a bit rushed and tagged on). This is the best film since SINGIN IN THE RAIN to depict the pleasure and fun of hard work, friendship, and camaraderie. CHEF has a great spirit that is never forced and every performance is truly perfect. Just spot on in every way. Favreau really shows what a great director of actors he is in the direction of Emjay Anthony. This is a real kid, not a movie kid.

    CHEF will surprise you in the best way! Work hard, appreciate what you've got. A great message.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 28, 2015
    0
    Pointless, boring waste of time. Never struck an emotional chord at all. I'd rather do dishes than watch this movie. As a matter of fact, atPointless, boring waste of time. Never struck an emotional chord at all. I'd rather do dishes than watch this movie. As a matter of fact, at one point I did. I had to. The movie was killing me! Full Review »