Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 169 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 36
  2. Negative: 2 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    May 15, 2014
    100
    Chef is the best thing he (Favreau) has ever done, as writer or director or actor. It's the sort of thing of beauty that filmmakers are ultimately remembered for.
  2. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    May 15, 2014
    88
    An engaged, engaging voyage of (re)discovery that’s too in love with its subject to qualify as food porn. It’s food romance.
  3. Reviewed by: Jeff Baker
    May 22, 2014
    83
    Favreau's a big man who knows how to wield a chef's knife and shoots the food truck scenes with a hectic good nature that's infectious.
  4. Reviewed by: Clark Collis
    May 7, 2014
    75
    The first two thirds of Chef crackle with hunger-inducing imagery and laughter-provoking gags.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    Mar 10, 2014
    70
    The final destination is entirely predictable — right down to the deus ex machina reappearance of an erstwhile antagonist — but the trip itself is never less than pleasant, and often extremely funny.
  6. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    May 8, 2014
    60
    [A] shallow but enjoyable all-American morality play.
  7. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    Mar 10, 2014
    16
    While the more down-to-earth Chef does offer some fascinating autobiographical dimensions, the film is also an overlong, unfunny, largely insufferable bore.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 56
  2. Negative: 1 out of 56
  1. Jun 1, 2014
    10
    Who knew a movie about a food truck could turn into one of the best movies of the year? Of course, that's a rudimentary plot synapsis, but itWho knew a movie about a food truck could turn into one of the best movies of the year? Of course, that's a rudimentary plot synapsis, but it is the heart and soul of the film. It's sometimes sweet, but sometimes serious. It has a nice blend of wit and humor, and features an amazing script that just feels like everyday conversation. The best part of the movie is what many directors strive for but never fully achieve: it shows how skilled professionals work, and how they feel when they do what they love (or hate for that matter). The food shown in the movie makes you lick your lips and just want to eat all the gourmet dishes Chef Casper prepares. And in some ways, the movie resembles the food he prepares: fresh, irresistible, and easily taken in. I could go on and on about what a good movie this was. Expand
  2. Jul 9, 2014
    9
    An all-around fun film which doesn't bore all of time or go overboard on the comedy. The jokes are correctly deployed while leaving room forAn all-around fun film which doesn't bore all of time or go overboard on the comedy. The jokes are correctly deployed while leaving room for what films are meant to do: Tell stories. Expand
  3. May 9, 2014
    9
    This is absolutely one of the better movies of the year and I think John Favreau deserves a hell of a lot of credit for putting it altogether.This is absolutely one of the better movies of the year and I think John Favreau deserves a hell of a lot of credit for putting it altogether. Probably the biggest joke of this movie's release is the fact that it has achieved an R rating simply because it has one too many F bombs in it. The last time a great family movie with virtually no adult aspect to it got an R rating was the classic win-win. I think the MPAA or whoever does these ratings needs to pull its head out of his own ass and start reading movies appropriately. One final mention of John Leguizamo. He is outstanding in this film and pretty much makes every movie he's in better. Casting directors get this guy in more movies. Expand
  4. Sep 5, 2014
    8
    Yummy film...!!!!!!!!!!!!!! sweet,tasteful & good feel family film, loved it by my belly , nice timing acting by all actors, sweet screen playYummy film...!!!!!!!!!!!!!! sweet,tasteful & good feel family film, loved it by my belly , nice timing acting by all actors, sweet screen play make it wonderful ,R D J shines in his little cameo , a perfect film for family's and kid's . i love this chef very much, go for it Expand
  5. Jun 9, 2014
    7
    Funny, smart, interesting, full of Latin music but too long and sometimes unemotional. The portrayal of Favreau is good and the simplestFunny, smart, interesting, full of Latin music but too long and sometimes unemotional. The portrayal of Favreau is good and the simplest interpretation of Vergara was enjoyable. I was a little lost in the Robert Downey Jr scene, for me, totally unnecessary. But, I had a good time seeing this movie. I recommend it. Expand
  6. Jul 6, 2014
    7
    There's a lot to like in Chef besides the fact that it's a summer movie without any monsters in it. Certainly the relationship between theThere's a lot to like in Chef besides the fact that it's a summer movie without any monsters in it. Certainly the relationship between the dad, Jon Favreau, and his son was well done, as was the portrayal of our current obsession with food, celebrity chefs, and the power of the media.

    But I really do not know how I'm supposed to believe that beautiful women like Scarlett Johanssen and Sofia Vergara, the girlfriend and ex-wife of the Favreau character, are in love with or attracted to a guy who is a lot older, heavier, and, well, at best average looking. No way. It was really a distraction every time they were on the screen.

    I think it's a screenwriter/director's conceit or maybe just wish fulfillment. Not reality.
    Expand
  7. Nov 2, 2014
    2
    Chef uses the same tired out story lines I've seen a hundred times in movies. So you would think the comedy would make up for it, not aChef uses the same tired out story lines I've seen a hundred times in movies. So you would think the comedy would make up for it, not a chance. Chef is overlong and extremely boring, with a main character that i wanted to fail. Not a good recipe for a film. Expand

See all 56 User Reviews

Trailers