Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 154 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 36
  2. Negative: 2 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    May 15, 2014
    100
    Chef is the best thing he (Favreau) has ever done, as writer or director or actor. It's the sort of thing of beauty that filmmakers are ultimately remembered for.
  2. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    May 15, 2014
    88
    An engaged, engaging voyage of (re)discovery that’s too in love with its subject to qualify as food porn. It’s food romance.
  3. Reviewed by: Jeff Baker
    May 22, 2014
    83
    Favreau's a big man who knows how to wield a chef's knife and shoots the food truck scenes with a hectic good nature that's infectious.
  4. Reviewed by: Clark Collis
    May 7, 2014
    75
    The first two thirds of Chef crackle with hunger-inducing imagery and laughter-provoking gags.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    Mar 10, 2014
    70
    The final destination is entirely predictable — right down to the deus ex machina reappearance of an erstwhile antagonist — but the trip itself is never less than pleasant, and often extremely funny.
  6. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    May 8, 2014
    60
    [A] shallow but enjoyable all-American morality play.
  7. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    Mar 10, 2014
    16
    While the more down-to-earth Chef does offer some fascinating autobiographical dimensions, the film is also an overlong, unfunny, largely insufferable bore.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 54
  2. Negative: 1 out of 54
  1. Jun 1, 2014
    10
    Who knew a movie about a food truck could turn into one of the best movies of the year? Of course, that's a rudimentary plot synapsis, but it is the heart and soul of the film. It's sometimes sweet, but sometimes serious. It has a nice blend of wit and humor, and features an amazing script that just feels like everyday conversation. The best part of the movie is what many directors strive for but never fully achieve: it shows how skilled professionals work, and how they feel when they do what they love (or hate for that matter). The food shown in the movie makes you lick your lips and just want to eat all the gourmet dishes Chef Casper prepares. And in some ways, the movie resembles the food he prepares: fresh, irresistible, and easily taken in. I could go on and on about what a good movie this was. Expand
  2. Jun 30, 2014
    10
    I had pretty high expectations for this film, and they were met, I really enjoyed this film from start to finish. Its a believable, down-to-earth, and heartwarming feel-good movie, but it isn't at all cheesy or overly sentimental. The acting is superb, the pacing and length just right and it has some really funny moments. The characters are all very endearing and all very well scripted and acted. The cinematography is superb and the food looks sumptuous. I don't have anything bad to say about this movie, I thoroughly enjoyed it and would definitely watch it a second time. Expand
  3. Sep 23, 2014
    9
    A nice warm feel-good movie with one of the best soundtracks I have heard in a very long time. Might even go as far to say I am adding an extra point to overall score due to quality soundtrack.

    The story is simply a pretentious but miserable and bored chef has a midlife incident as a result of pressure from a restaurant owner scared of change and revered food critic publishing a scathing review.

    There are elements of Hollywood cheese but overall i really enjoyed this.

    Highly recommended.
    Expand
  4. May 12, 2014
    8
    “Chef” is the brainchild and creation of the very talented Jon Favreau who produced, directed, wrote and stars in this film about a chef, his relationship with his son, his ex-wife and the food he loves to cook. In addition to Mr. Favreau, the film also stars Sofia Vergara, Scarlett Johansson, Bobby Cannavale, Dustin Hoffman, John Leguizamo, Robert Downey Jr., and a soundtrack that will make the viewer truly enjoy the intensity of this salsa musical journey. Almost 2 hours in length the film speeds along on its merry way through the spirited and improvisational style of its director who quickly shows us that simple uncomplicated themes well written and performed can make for more than adequate entertainment. This is a film where you simply sit back in your chair, relax and watch this feel good story turn out as predicted but with humor, pathos and culinary delights filling the screen in between. I give the film an 8 and urge that it be seen by vegans and meat lovers alike for food, comedy and music make this film truly an enjoyable experience. Expand
  5. Sep 5, 2014
    8
    Yummy film...!!!!!!!!!!!!!! sweet,tasteful & good feel family film, loved it by my belly , nice timing acting by all actors, sweet screen play make it wonderful ,R D J shines in his little cameo , a perfect film for family's and kid's . i love this chef very much, go for it Expand
  6. Aug 16, 2014
    7
    Apart from dead end character ( characters that weren't necessary ) , Chef provides laughs and heart , some of the best child acting and all of the lead characters were strong. But there were some cringe worthy social media scenes. Expand
  7. Nov 2, 2014
    2
    Chef uses the same tired out story lines I've seen a hundred times in movies. So you would think the comedy would make up for it, not a chance. Chef is overlong and extremely boring, with a main character that i wanted to fail. Not a good recipe for a film. Expand

See all 54 User Reviews

Trailers