Miramax Films | Release Date: December 27, 2002
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 176 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
138
Mixed:
30
Negative:
8
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
GabrielJun 12, 2010
One of the best musicals I've ever seen! Acting and singing so great, brilliant story and screenplay. This is one of that films that i never get tired of watching over and over again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JuanC.Jun 7, 2008
This movie is one of the best musical ever made! High energy from the cast to crew makes this sizzle and makes the audience under the Chicago Fever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JayH.Aug 27, 2008
Brilliant musical, one of the best ever made. The cast is amazing, the choreography is impressive, the cinematography, score, art direction - everything is incredible. Mesmerizing and magnificent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
hoops2448Nov 17, 2011
Chicago has all the trappings of a great musical while also working as a truly great film. The main draw of Chicago has to be the way Rob Marshalls direction allows for an exhilarating viewing experience that flows brilliantly. The idea thatChicago has all the trappings of a great musical while also working as a truly great film. The main draw of Chicago has to be the way Rob Marshalls direction allows for an exhilarating viewing experience that flows brilliantly. The idea that there are two different worlds, the real and the musical, was one of pure genius because it allows for not only some thrilling musical numbers but also character development without the loss of momentum with Cell Block Tango introducing the prisoner brilliantly while also injecting some much needed theatricality. The cast works well because they accept the preposterous nature of the story and act as if on stage which sounds ludicrous but it works. Renee Zellwegger shows the evolution of a performer with both flair and naivety with Catherine Zeta-Jones playing off her with equal parts spunk and cynicism. However the real star is Richard Gere who demonstrates different relationships between the two and really manages to infuse some undeniable fun into the proceedings as the larger than life lawyer Billy Flynn.
Chicago is really a story of how a star is born through less ordinary means and thanks to some great music, acting and directing it works brilliantly
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
beingryanjudeAug 25, 2014
Between Rob Marshall and Bill Condon, there was no stopping this adaptation of Bob Fosse's hit Broadway musical. Amongst the cast and amongst the staggering musical numbers, Chicago is one of the best musicals of our time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Trev29Jul 31, 2013
An absolute knockout! I can't claim to know much about musicals, but this one is easily the best one I have seen. Every performance, song, and dance were so spot on. Thoroughly engaging and visionary.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
zied12Mar 2, 2013
One of the best films in history, i loved it i was never into musicals until i saw this movie, absolutely brilliant performances and beautiful songs this is truly an Oscar worthy film
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
survivorfan989Feb 11, 2013
Easily one of the best musicals out there, if not the best. Captivating musical performances and outstanding acting from the three leads made this a very enjoyable film to watch and one of my personal favs. The toe-tapping songs are justEasily one of the best musicals out there, if not the best. Captivating musical performances and outstanding acting from the three leads made this a very enjoyable film to watch and one of my personal favs. The toe-tapping songs are just great and it really does the Broadway production justice! It's also hard to pick a favourite song as they are all fantastic! Overall a thoroughly enjoyable film and one I would strongly recommend. It certainly deserved that Best Picture Oscar as well! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SparklinDiamondApr 27, 2014
As a fan of musicals, this is another of my favourite movies. I love the songs and sing them all the time, they are all really catchy. Renee and Catherine are perfect in their roles, couldn't imagine anyone else playing them. Richard Gere,As a fan of musicals, this is another of my favourite movies. I love the songs and sing them all the time, they are all really catchy. Renee and Catherine are perfect in their roles, couldn't imagine anyone else playing them. Richard Gere, Queen Latifah and John C Reilly (who now when I watch all I hear is Wreck-it-Ralph) are also amazing at their roles. The story is unique to any other I've seen, and is different in the fact it's a slightly darker theme to a musical about murder and death. However, it manages to uphold a light hearted spirit with lots of comedic moments. Overall, I just love it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
nahtan1244Mar 17, 2016
Never have I been so wowd at a movie production of such a beloved musical. Now I like musicals and musical movies. There have been some bad, mamma mia rent high school musical and a few others. Man I went into this movie so cold mr. freezeNever have I been so wowd at a movie production of such a beloved musical. Now I like musicals and musical movies. There have been some bad, mamma mia rent high school musical and a few others. Man I went into this movie so cold mr. freeze wouldn't have been able to survive in the arctic and this movie lifted me off of my feet. This movie however has no flaws and the director is brilliantly able create a bunch of fantastic flashy show stopping numbers while simultaneously pairing a duo of Oscar winning performances by the two main characters and a bunch of songs that will be stuck in your head from the begging to the moment you finish this movie makes this a perfect 10 in every way. Now i just need to see this on broadway Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
PaulF.Feb 4, 2009
I like this musical a lot more than I thought I would. The world has been due for some updated ones. I was surprised to see how well Rene Zellweger could sing. Also even more surprised that Richard Gere could sing even at all. Loved his tap I like this musical a lot more than I thought I would. The world has been due for some updated ones. I was surprised to see how well Rene Zellweger could sing. Also even more surprised that Richard Gere could sing even at all. Loved his tap dancing court scene. The cast was just about perfect for the movie and all the songs I'd love to own for my music library. Reminds me a bit of Madonna in Dick Tracy. I was also impressed at not only the choreography but also the lighting. *WARNING SPOILER* The Jones and Zellweger duo in the end with great with the tommy guns and popping lights. It was all so flashy with piazza. Chicago comes highly recommended in my book. It's one of these movies you can see ever so often and still be entertained. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ragekoiJul 21, 2013
A perfect remastering of the Broadway musical. The movie has an excellent cast, characters, sets, songs, and writing. Being the essential rebirth of the "movie musical", Chicago is a delightful motion picture worth your time and money.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MovieReviewsMar 15, 2014
"Chicago" is actually one of the memorable movies ever made. It has great acting, characters, dark humor and one of the best screenplays. I love the way the film is presented, it has its unique style, great musical score and different musical"Chicago" is actually one of the memorable movies ever made. It has great acting, characters, dark humor and one of the best screenplays. I love the way the film is presented, it has its unique style, great musical score and different musical numbers. "Chicago" is a must see film. It is a masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
GavinC.Jul 26, 2009
A very funny, very entertaining film with an interesting plot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ShahmeerApr 22, 2011
Chicago is a very original movie. And that's what people are looking for these days. Every award they received, including Best Picture, was well given from the Academy. Catherine-Zeta Jones was an excellent supporting actress, and she didChicago is a very original movie. And that's what people are looking for these days. Every award they received, including Best Picture, was well given from the Academy. Catherine-Zeta Jones was an excellent supporting actress, and she did earn her Best Supporting Actress award, but truly, I think Renee Zellweger did a better job as an actress. The cinematography was simply amazing. The transitions between reality and stage were definitely enjoyable. The way the audience saw the stage performances was excellent, and the way they saw reality was interesting as well. And at that fact, the stage performances is what made this film extravagant. No breaking into song in reality. All of the singing was as if they were feeling it, and we were witnessing their feelings. The the songs were real catchy, and definitely masterpieces to listen to. But there were a few flaws in Chicago. One was some of the speech. It was hard to understand without subtitles or going back a few times to hear it again, but not all of it was like that, only some. Then the fact that one of the characters (the innocent and "invisible" one) never got what he deserved. This was the sad point in the film. But I guess that's reality, folks. And the best part of Chicago was... That it was better than the musical. I saw the musical, and it was boring and dull compared to the film. But there is one last flaw. The 1 hour 57 minute film left out a bit from the 3 hour musical. You got to know the characters more in the musical. All in all, I give Chicago an 8 out of 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
HalfwelshmanNov 19, 2011
Chicago is a pretty unique film creation. An adaptation of the satirical musical of the same name, it's energetic and flawlessly choreographed, with well-performed songs and a decent helping of tongue-in-cheek humour. It's not all glitz andChicago is a pretty unique film creation. An adaptation of the satirical musical of the same name, it's energetic and flawlessly choreographed, with well-performed songs and a decent helping of tongue-in-cheek humour. It's not all glitz and glamour though, and it's satisfying to see a bit more going on below the surface than in other musicals - it addresses everything from gender stereotypes to the fragility of celebrity and the fickle nature of a media-consuming public. The cast are strong across the board, but Renee Zellweger and Richard Gere are the real highlights, the former perfectly expressing Roxie Hart's journey from naive and unfulfilled housewife to calculating, image-cultivating celebrity, and the latter stealing every scene he's in with good old-fashioned showmanship. Unfortunately the film does lose a little momentum, and packs a bit less punch in the final twenty minutes or so, but this is more a testament to the knock-out near-perfection of the rest of the film rather than any particular flaw in this part of the film. Perhaps it was inevitable that shining so brightly early on would result in a certain loss of sparkle in the latter parts of the film. Overall, though, Chicago is a joy to behold, and the experience will stay with you long after the credits roll. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Spielberg00Dec 2, 2011
Bottom Line: Two murderesses and a lawyer run away with six Oscars in this flamboyant musical.

Ostentatious musical takes a sarcastic look at the story of two murderesses and their rise (or rises, one could say) to fame on the stage. This
Bottom Line: Two murderesses and a lawyer run away with six Oscars in this flamboyant musical.

Ostentatious musical takes a sarcastic look at the story of two murderesses and their rise (or rises, one could say) to fame on the stage. This was the first musical in 33 years to win Best Picture, the previous being OLIVER! in 1969, and I can now honestly say that this didnâ
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Alexander_FredDec 21, 2011
Chicago is by far on one of the greatest musicals to hit the stage. The songs are sung with such strength by actors whom I never expected to have that skill. The choreography is beautifully orchestrated and the use of parallel montage betweenChicago is by far on one of the greatest musicals to hit the stage. The songs are sung with such strength by actors whom I never expected to have that skill. The choreography is beautifully orchestrated and the use of parallel montage between the songs and the actual story is what truly takes this film from the stage and makes it great for the screen. The only fault is that despite great performances, the songs sometimes get in the way of evoking true emotion from the actual plot. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Mar 25, 2017
Yet another great movie that I regret not seeing sooner. Rob Marshall's "Chicago" is as refreshingly glitzy and nostalgic as it is delightfully slimy and debauched. Featuring a satirically charged narrative, well-rounded performances in everyYet another great movie that I regret not seeing sooner. Rob Marshall's "Chicago" is as refreshingly glitzy and nostalgic as it is delightfully slimy and debauched. Featuring a satirically charged narrative, well-rounded performances in every corner, and an incredibly unique, well-structured musical concept at the heart of it all, this film has very quickly stacked itself up in my list of absolute favorites in the musical genre. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
caporegimeJun 10, 2009
It razzle-dazzled me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
grandpajoe6191Sep 27, 2011
"Chicago" shouldn't have been a good movie if it wasn't for the stylish direction of Rob Marshall and his cleverness of portraying the correct scenes matching with the song and setting. It isn't great, but a good movie with some light-jazz"Chicago" shouldn't have been a good movie if it wasn't for the stylish direction of Rob Marshall and his cleverness of portraying the correct scenes matching with the song and setting. It isn't great, but a good movie with some light-jazz music you'll love to listen. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleFeb 22, 2016
Chicago is a pretty simplistic film narratively and though the acting from Renee Zellweger, Richard Gere, and Catherine Zeta-Jones, is good, it is certainly nothing revolutionary. However, what is revolutionary here is the direction from RobChicago is a pretty simplistic film narratively and though the acting from Renee Zellweger, Richard Gere, and Catherine Zeta-Jones, is good, it is certainly nothing revolutionary. However, what is revolutionary here is the direction from Rob Marshall. The transition from stage to screen is brilliant here and the film simultaneously feels as though it were a play and a film at times. The set pieces and production value here are fantastic as this film feels like a spectacle throughout and it honestly feels like you are watching something quite special at times as a result. The costume design is authentic and, along with the production design, capture the look and feel of old Chicago very well. Finally, the music here is pitch perfect and a true joy to listen to and watch be performed. Overall, Chicago is not outstanding on the whole, but is quite a good film that is incredibly entertaining. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
EdorkJul 29, 2014
Musical numbers are great and the film is very stylish. My biggest problem with it, though, is that ALL the characters are terrible, unlikable human beings who use others and destroys their lives without any real comeuppance or learning aMusical numbers are great and the film is very stylish. My biggest problem with it, though, is that ALL the characters are terrible, unlikable human beings who use others and destroys their lives without any real comeuppance or learning a lesson by the end. Maybe if Roxy at the very least grew to be a less selfish individual by the end I may have cared, but in the end her sentencing outcome meant nothing to me whether she was found guilt or no. I just care what happened to anyone and I'm not sure if that was the intent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
FranzHcriticMar 13, 2014
The ambition and devotion to 'Chicago' is blindsided by a contempt for all the protagonists (the exception being John C. Reily, whose Mr. Cellophane is truly heartbreaking) and a certain modernization of an era that was not nearly soThe ambition and devotion to 'Chicago' is blindsided by a contempt for all the protagonists (the exception being John C. Reily, whose Mr. Cellophane is truly heartbreaking) and a certain modernization of an era that was not nearly so "razzle-dazzle" as the film portrays it to be. I still can't get by the self-obsession of Renee Zellweger and Catherine Zeta-Jones. That's really why I can't give the movie higher than an 8. A 6 is because it wasn't 20's to me. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
chwMar 12, 2015
As far as I know, Chicago is the worst movie of the movies that have won Best Picture. It is completely overrated, more overrated than most bad best pictures...and Frozen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
J-ShapAug 27, 2011
Perhaps Chicago is meant to be self-analytical in commentary on shallowness in nearly everything, but that doesn't forgive the fact that it is indeed shallow. While it's flashy and pretty funny when it needs to be, in the end, Chicago isPerhaps Chicago is meant to be self-analytical in commentary on shallowness in nearly everything, but that doesn't forgive the fact that it is indeed shallow. While it's flashy and pretty funny when it needs to be, in the end, Chicago is still a miraculously vapid movie underneath it all, and that, in the end, makes it boring when it's not belting. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
RonaldBMay 29, 2009
The ladies are pleasant, the leading man replacable, the story forgettable and the musical "numbers" add up to zero. In other words, what we quite rightly expect from a contemporary musical.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
0
IntermissionDec 4, 2005
HOW CAN ANYONE SAY THAT THIS MOVIE IS GOOD. Perhaps the worst musical of all time. Richard Gere puts in his worst performance. And the songs suck.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
csw12Apr 2, 2012
Chicago is the worst movie I have ever seen. Nothing was good about the movie. If I could I would give it 3 zeros. Disgraceful, Horrific, Disgusting, Stupid, and a total mess of a film. You couldn't pay me to watch this film. Worst movie ofChicago is the worst movie I have ever seen. Nothing was good about the movie. If I could I would give it 3 zeros. Disgraceful, Horrific, Disgusting, Stupid, and a total mess of a film. You couldn't pay me to watch this film. Worst movie of the year, worst movie of all time. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews