Universal Pictures | Release Date: October 23, 2009
5.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 85 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
41
Mixed:
19
Negative:
25
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
TomGNov 3, 2009
I read the book's when I was younger. This film truely let me down. The Darren Shan books are from what I remember a very dark comedy. This is not.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
vladimirkNov 12, 2009
One of the worst movies ever made. Waste of money!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
grandpajoe6191Sep 29, 2011
Uh....the point of the movie?
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
0
Bman2095Jun 3, 2012
This was a movie I was very excited for. I love The Cirque Du Freak novels and Darren Shan's books in general. The books give a mysterious mood and show a more darker side to vampires as compared to 'Twilight' or 'the Vampire diaries.' But,This was a movie I was very excited for. I love The Cirque Du Freak novels and Darren Shan's books in general. The books give a mysterious mood and show a more darker side to vampires as compared to 'Twilight' or 'the Vampire diaries.' But, the movie of Cirque Du Freak is a comedy, having almost no relation to the characters I loved in the novels. I hated this movie, even when not compared to the books the poor acting, plot and digital effects makes it not enjoyable. Hopefully if they make a sequel (which is unlikely because of the poor critical response and box office failure) they will correct their flaws. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
MynameisFrankenMar 15, 2012
This film was OK as it stood but must have had Darren Shan the author cringing. The crap americanisation of the story and condensation of the events was crass and departed so far from the original books to be barely recognisable. Crepsley wasThis film was OK as it stood but must have had Darren Shan the author cringing. The crap americanisation of the story and condensation of the events was crass and departed so far from the original books to be barely recognisable. Crepsley was made out to be an almost joke and nothing like the book's sinister version. Likewise, Mr. Tiny's appearance in the story does not in fact appear until much later in the series and Darrens family never find out about his life as a vampire. All in all, this film takes the Title from Darren's books and little else. It is a typical american destruction of a really good story. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
Jamison12Jan 20, 2014
Although John C. Reily tries hard, he can't overcome a poorly written script, poor dialogue, stale acting, horrid plot transitions, an overabundance use of special effects, and a scattered plot
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
kgmNov 4, 2009
Right from the getgo I wondered, did they actually say this was a battle between vampires and vampaneze? The vampaneze? You could call this a brilliant innovation or you could call it: total crap! It
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KennyNov 4, 2009
I was blown away while watching those who went forth in the movie: John C. Reilly, Ken Watanabe, Salma Hayek, ... but I run into absurd movie, albeit with some entertainment, in a scene. Ridiculous and very freak. Paul Weitz is pointed at I was blown away while watching those who went forth in the movie: John C. Reilly, Ken Watanabe, Salma Hayek, ... but I run into absurd movie, albeit with some entertainment, in a scene. Ridiculous and very freak. Paul Weitz is pointed at the vampire world that is becoming popular because of the garbage that "Twilight", and not only that if it goes beyond that, dares to fool the public with an expired theater tricks. Not worth it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
hollowficationAug 13, 2012
This movie was pile of Garbage vampire assistant who half vampire then whole deal when he fell for monkey girl meh only thing was good was salma heyek was beard woman lol funny

but rest movie pile of rubbish that have rotten
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
THI7Dec 23, 2013
If you want to know how to destroy one of the best book sagas, just ask Paul Weitz.
It isn't a bad movie: great acting, good special effects and music... The adaptation is the mistake.
The prove is that if you haven't read the book, you
If you want to know how to destroy one of the best book sagas, just ask Paul Weitz.
It isn't a bad movie: great acting, good special effects and music... The adaptation is the mistake.
The prove is that if you haven't read the book, you will like the movie; but if you have read them, you will only be able to be disappointed.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
NoraiversenJan 31, 2014
The books are magical, but sinister with a dark, twisted kind of humour. The only thing the books and the film have in common is the title. The films are of a totally different story, and it kind off ruined my feelings for the beloved bookThe books are magical, but sinister with a dark, twisted kind of humour. The only thing the books and the film have in common is the title. The films are of a totally different story, and it kind off ruined my feelings for the beloved book series. The whole thing was very disappointing. The dialogues are bad, the corny comments are bad, the special effects are BAD. The characters are weird only, and have no similarities with the book characters. The director deserves a slap in the face. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
diogomendesJul 6, 2014
I don't know how to review this thing so I'll just say this is f*cccccccccckkkkkkkkkkkkkkkiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiinnnnnnnnnnnnnnngggggggggggg horrible. Insults my wonderful taste in movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews