CJ7

Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: March 7, 2008
5.5
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 25 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
12
Mixed:
5
Negative:
8
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
MegWhiteleyApr 9, 2012
Ok, the movie is good, have some good effects, but no is the better japan movie, some moments are boring and stupid, the characters are regular, the story is good, but this movie is really strange for me.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
JayH.Aug 10, 2008
A strange film, I think it would be more appreciated in China than elsewhere, but it was curiously fascinating. The acting isn't too bad. Ultimately, it didn't quite work.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
VahndDMar 5, 2008
The movie is touching my heart the relationship between father and son is very touching.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
[Anonymous]Mar 8, 2008
I enjoyed this movie on several fronts. It took place in a very interesting cultural setting, and I found the class differences very interesting. This was not at all a Hollywood movie where you knew what was coming next. If you never like I enjoyed this movie on several fronts. It took place in a very interesting cultural setting, and I found the class differences very interesting. This was not at all a Hollywood movie where you knew what was coming next. If you never like foreign movies, you obviously won't like this. If you sometimes like movies with a twist, watch the trailer. It gives you a good sense of the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
E.H.Sep 25, 2008
I am a fan of Stephen Chow's works. However, CJ7 was highly offensive due to the fact that the space alien "dog" was severely and continuously abused throughout it's short life! This was totally unnecessary and was not the kind of I am a fan of Stephen Chow's works. However, CJ7 was highly offensive due to the fact that the space alien "dog" was severely and continuously abused throughout it's short life! This was totally unnecessary and was not the kind of viewing that is "just for fun" viewing! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChadS.Mar 7, 2008
"E.T." beget "The Last Mimzy" beget "Cheung Gong 7 hou"(American title: "C7"). It was a matter of time before this filmmaker turned his attention towards the sky. His live-action cartoon style is a natural for science fiction. The physical "E.T." beget "The Last Mimzy" beget "Cheung Gong 7 hou"(American title: "C7"). It was a matter of time before this filmmaker turned his attention towards the sky. His live-action cartoon style is a natural for science fiction. The physical laws that govern time and space are ignored repeatedly in "Shaolin Soccer" and "Kung Fu Hustle". In "Cheung Gong 7 Hou", sci-fi is out of the closet. Ironically, the socio-economic status of Dicky and his father(Stephen Chow) suggests an affinity for Ken Loach films. Ti works as an unskilled laborer at a construction site so Dicky can attend a fancy private school. If "Riff-Raff"(Loach's best film) had a sci-fi component, it might look something like "Cheung Gong 7 hou". The alien that Dicky(a name that operates an inside joke; like "E.T.", the male owner presumes his new friend is a boy, but where's the genitalia?) cares for has the bloated head of an ugly bird that's seemingly grafted onto an elastic body. It's sort of cute, but you're always aware that C7 is a special effect, or an expensive toy. Dicky and the alien seem more like "Calvin & Hobbes" than Elliott(Henry Thomas) and the extra-terrestrial. Because C7 never truly feels alive, Dicky gets away with behavior that would raise the ire of the Humane Society. Dicky has a surprising cruel streak. He's not entirely sympathetic. In fact, he's whiny; sometimes exasperatingly so. In other words, he's like a real kid. Dicky uses C7 to improve his life, which is why the final act packs a surprising emotional wallop. The alien loves the boy more. Dicky just wanted to be the cool kid with the cool stuff at school. He used C7 to be popular. When it's too late, he finally learns to be a true friend. "Cheung Gong 7 hou" reminds me of the tamagotchi fad from last century. C7 is more virtual pet than alien. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BellinoPMar 7, 2008
Mr. Chow is one of the best under rated Directors of all time. This is a great film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AdamNAug 11, 2008
Seriously underrated. If you're a fan of Stephen Chow this is an instant must-have. Just because its no Kung Fu Hustle 2 and instead a movie that may look like Flubber at first glance the critics automatically dismissed it. I'm 26 Seriously underrated. If you're a fan of Stephen Chow this is an instant must-have. Just because its no Kung Fu Hustle 2 and instead a movie that may look like Flubber at first glance the critics automatically dismissed it. I'm 26 and I was laughing throughout the movie and was glued from start to finish. Flubber was a disaster, CJ7 is a brilliant film for all ages. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
NateHSep 1, 2008
I actually really enjoyed this movie. I can understand how many wouldn't though. It is very much geared towards the inner child as most of it is very light and full of heart. The switch to tragedy towards the end gives a bit of meaning I actually really enjoyed this movie. I can understand how many wouldn't though. It is very much geared towards the inner child as most of it is very light and full of heart. The switch to tragedy towards the end gives a bit of meaning and resonance to the whole story, a father-son pic at the very core, but some of the cliche scenes of "haha you're poor" felt a bit forced. The whole scene in the middle was great, as the young kid has CJ7 "help" him in class. The imagination of Stephen Chow is something to marvel at. This is a completely different type of movie from Kung Fu Hustle though, so don't see this hoping for anything like that. Still a very good film. Just don't set your hopes for something it's not. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
OfficialMar 8, 2014
What surprised me most is how well Xu Jiao, a young girl, portrayed her character, a young boy. The film has some good father-and-son relations, but the ultimate problem is the storyline - the pacing is not well done, and the plot itself justWhat surprised me most is how well Xu Jiao, a young girl, portrayed her character, a young boy. The film has some good father-and-son relations, but the ultimate problem is the storyline - the pacing is not well done, and the plot itself just seems strange. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
CineAutoctonoDec 19, 2015
The family film Made in China, was acceptable , good for the script, funny and dramatic at the same time , but think it is the ET Chinese, are wrong , because it 's been a bit boring , but do not discount the imagination of a child , as theyThe family film Made in China, was acceptable , good for the script, funny and dramatic at the same time , but think it is the ET Chinese, are wrong , because it 's been a bit boring , but do not discount the imagination of a child , as they had not even Steven Spielberg. but that's what they say. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
choomtabi31Feb 17, 2016
Cute and fun. I thought that the Dad was a bit mean but overall a good family romp!

Watch it here for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-7657-CJ7-Cheung-Gong-7-hou-online-free
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews