User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 260 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 66 out of 260

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 30, 2012
    2
    Notwithstanding its much improved 3-D effects over its predecessor, "Wrath of the Titans" does what people do everyday: looking at a computer screen. What audiences see, even in 3-D, are multi-limbed and headed CGI creatures, "unanimated" and lifeless, being rigidly juxtaposed to real-life people who take swing after swing to their unhuman counterparts, and miss time after time; apparently, as long as a computer image has the appearance of falling and dying onto the ground, the need for the same animated creature looking as if he had "been hit" is not important. Much like a Rocky-Creed bout (only without the use of computers), the punches here don't connect. Essentially, what the audience sees in 'Wrath' is an exhausted use of expensive, yet poor quality, effects that fills the entire length of the film; in the past such effects were used on occassions to "add to" scenes, not to "fill" runtimes. But, don't feel bad because your inexorable sense of exhaustion was surely shared by the actors of the film; you think watching this is bad, what about the actors who had to wave swords against air? With that in mind, it almost makes you feel better doesn't it? Oh, you're right, there's no recovering that wretched theater ticket, popcorn, and drink. Honestly, though, you had to have seen this coming... Expand
  2. Apr 5, 2012
    4
    I did not walk into the cinema expecting much, nor did it fulfill much. It was quite a good watch, but it wasn't a good film. It is full of cliches and quite crummy acting, but it wasn't boring, and although I could guess what was going to happen next, it didn't make me fall asleep. So overall, I think it was not a good film, but if you are just going there to waste time or to do something with friends, you'll enjoy it if you don't expect much. Collapse
  3. Mar 30, 2012
    3
    Fans of the original will find continuity between the two films, but also contradictions. The running time is filled with random creatures popping out for no reason other than to showcase CGI effects and lifeless, seen-it-before action set pieces. Wrath of the titans lacks the stunning fight choreography of the similarly plotted Immortals. The action scenes are shot with the camera too close to the action, and with the combatants too close to each other. Since the shots have no depth, the 3D format is wasted. While the drama between the gods is interesting, and is clearly the focus of the film, the humans are like wind-up toys, mechanically marching through a play-set world. Full review on my blog. Expand
  4. Apr 11, 2012
    3
    This film is garbage, just like the original. Why bother making a sequel to such a failing concept? I won't even go over the cateogories- as it follows up the original with a simular "suck level." I cannot recommend this film.
  5. Apr 6, 2012
    4
    Advertised as a 'fantasy' film I couldn't help but chuckle whilst watching this movie, considering that perhaps it should have instead been advertised "Greek Panatheon Family Drama." The plot seemed focused on resolving the conflict within between family members as a cheap attempt at preaching morality but instead was laughable. Characterization was almost non-existant - Oh, don't misunderstand me, there was of course we all the formulaic characters; The reluctant hero, the family traitor, the flawed but ultimately redeemed father. The dialogue was appalling - several lines seemed ripped straight out of Star Wars ("I know there's still good in you.) And of course when it comes to historical accuracy, well, Hollywood is notorious for being weak in that department. The greatest delight of this film was it's visual effects, which were thrilling to the eye and I quite enjoyed the architecture of the labyrinth. The action was dull, the ending predictable, and overral Wrath of the Titans was an unstirred, messy flop of a film. Save your money, and if you must watch it, wait until its DVD release. Expand
  6. Aug 2, 2012
    3
    I came into the movie not expecting much, and boy did it succeed in being one of the worst movies i've ever seen. The only real good acting was by Bill Nighy and Liam Neeson. Some of the actor's accents really put me off. The CGI looked like it was made by a 12 year old uploading a test render to Youtube. There were a couple good moments but that wasn't enough to fix an overall bad movie.
  7. Apr 2, 2012
    2
    This movie has been very disappointing, without managing to sympathize with any personage who composes it. A simple history, without content, which will cause you nonchalance. Sincerely, the worst movie of the year for the present.
  8. Apr 5, 2012
    2
    The problem with this movie is that it is boring.
    I can forgive plot holes. I can forgive not developing characters very much. I can forgive having little explanation as to the motives of characters.

    However, this movie moves at a plodding pace, drags on too long, and has too little reward for staying the entire time.
  9. Apr 3, 2012
    0
    Wrath of The Titans is too silly than any Michael Bay's movies? I got no problem with the 3D but the script is already silly, all casts looks bad either. Wrath of The Titans' sequel? Good luck.
  10. Jul 2, 2012
    2
    this movie is awful, and there is no sense, because Zeus have sword and not a cane, and for me Cronos isnt lava, so this movie isone of the wost film i ever see
  11. Mar 30, 2012
    4
    A tad better than the Clash of the Titans but still.
    Nice CGI and fights yet... why Hollywood wants to rape Greek Mithology so badly? Is it so hard to make a movie that is not completely trivial or with characters who are as flat as pancakes? I don't expect Citizen Kane set in ancient Greece but I'd like something more than random action scenes stuck together through a story that is as
    good as the one of Clash of the Titans (which was bad, if you don't know already). Expand
  12. Mar 30, 2012
    0
    Wow avoid at all cost, it's worst than the first movie and that's saying a lot. The 3D is not great like the first, heck I even walked out of the cinema half way, I could go on but I don't want to waste my time I just wanted to warm everyone AVOID AT ALL COST.
  13. Apr 2, 2012
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The only reason you'll feel any wrath is because you shelled out 12 bucks for this steaming bucket of half-baked plot, cliched dialogue and disappointing 3-D special effects. Expand
  14. Apr 5, 2012
    0
    This movie is awful - we almost walked out. Sure the acting isn't horrible, it's merely charmless. The CGI is fine, but lifeless. The story is vaguely coherent, but idiotic all the same. The writing is the laziest kind: characters who are brothers call each other by name for no reason as a way of letting us know who is who. The labyrinth we're told is impossible is solved on accident in 5 minutes after they lose the map. Men with spears stand in a line as if they're going to be able to fight a fire god the size of a mountain. Boo on this movie. Expand
  15. May 12, 2012
    0
    People who hope too see this film, i say abandon your plans as this is the worst film i have ever seen. Couldn't be less boring with stupid story line. To be honest, the people who made this annoying film should be sacked now as there not going to make any decent films if they've made this film.Overall this film is a disaster and i regret going to see it as that's 2 or so hours of my life wasted.
  16. Jul 6, 2012
    0
    Complete and utter guff, a total waste of time and money! I'm so annoyed I created this account purely to complain about this trash! Speaking of trash, it's littered with cliches and almost the entire film was created using bog standard, lazy, sat on their arses CGI effects! Feels like it took them a weekend to do. My advice, don't bother with this, and don't bother with the first remake either, quite clearly a con to pull America out of the crises!... DO however, watch the 1981 original and classic adaptation directed by Desmond Davis, it knocks the socks of this modern day **** Expand
  17. Apr 19, 2012
    1
    The problem with making a movie that takes place in a world of "gods" is that the rules in such a world aren't going to make any sense. So right from the beginning you're already starting with a flawed premise. How do all of these magical weapons work? How were they made? Why are Gods invulnerable one minute, but the next minute they can be killed? It's futile to try to translate such a preposterous world into a good movie, because such a movie will always be held down by the ridiculous world in which it takes place. The plot is completely incoherent. There's no explanation for why or how anything happens. The "rules" of this universe just seem made up on a whim. The way the people in this movie react to things doesn't match the situation. It's hard to care about what's happening when the people behave stupidly and things taking place happen for no reason and without any reasonable explanation. I give it one point for the effects, which were impressive...but if a studio is going spend millions of dollars on a CGI movie, they should spend it on a movie that has a coherent plot and believable characters. There must be better ideas out there that could've been made into movies, yet this is what they chose to make? Expand
  18. Apr 10, 2012
    3
    The ancient Greek mythological realm is ready made for Hollywood script writers. There are seething rivalries, petty jealousies, jilted lovers; pretty much every conflict known to man is already pre-packaged with at least a few immortal deities to go along with it. Even with all of this rich material, Wrath of the Titans chose â
  19. Apr 4, 2012
    4
    Très difficile que de donner son avis sur La Colère des Titans lorsqu'on veut se montrer humble. D'une part que cette suite se montre bien plus rythmée (grâce à une plus faible durée : 1h27) et ne se prend que trop rarement au sérieux. Après, lors des moments justement plus sérieux, on s'enfonce dans une niaiserie rarement atteinte, l'ensemble manquant encore plus de scénario que le film précédent et un casting toujours aussi inégal. De même, La Colère des Titans est très efficace, mais on a tout de même l'impression qu'il manque ne serait-ce qu'une once de spectaculaire... On sent la volonté de bien faire pour livrer un divertissement de bonne facture mais on sent également que le tout est bâclé. Alors que dire? Finalement, je pense qu'il faut trancher ainsi : La Colère des Titans n'est qu'un blockbuster américain de plus, qui ne cherche qu'à divertir les spectateurs avides de ce genre de spectacles, sans pour autant casser la baraque. En somme, même s'il se montre différent du premier sur quelques points, La Colère des Titans ne vaut guère mieux que son prédécesseur, sans être pire non plus. Expand
  20. May 24, 2013
    1
    While it actually makes use of 3-D in this film, It's a god awful movie. Terrible script, Horrible acting outside of Neeson and Fiennes (who are the stars of the film as Zeus and Hades and imo are the best part of the film). Action scenes are often cluttered (too much going on at once) and poorly done. Don't see how anyone can like it, Let alone give it a positive review.
  21. Jun 6, 2012
    4
    Since Clash of the Titans came out in 2010, people realized that the film was nothing more than a popcorn flick: subsequently, when Wrath came out two years later, audiences' expectations were already low, and that's probably the only thing the sequel has going for it.
  22. Apr 2, 2012
    4
    I fell asleep. Battle after battle made this a not very exciting movie. To be fair, special effects bore me. It is probably a good movie for kids, and it will probably make a good video game (particularly the labyrinth) but it really isn't all that exciting.
  23. Apr 1, 2012
    4
    I was so excited, the trailers looked excellent and my boyfriend and I were so happy when we got to the cinema and the movie started. When we walked out we both turned to each other and said 'it wasn't as good as i thought it would be.' The first one was better. It was a bit of a 'let down.'
  24. Oct 19, 2012
    4
    I have never seen the first movie, so all I knew this movie was bad and it was. Its been a bad year for films this year and this review is just lowing the average. Wrath of the Titans 4.1/10
  25. Apr 15, 2012
    2
    The movie was a total disaster,no characters depth,more explosions than the first one,no acting performances,but great CGI,visual effects cannot possibly overshadow the shallow and without substance approach nonexistent script and the horrible direction.
  26. Apr 18, 2012
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Films with the best 3d effect this year, but the plot is predictable, so boring the viewers who watched
    I hope Warner Bros. films bring back a better quality than this film
    Expand
  27. Jan 29, 2013
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What is wrong with this movie you may ask. everything is wrong with this movie. None of the charm from the first movie is in this one. The plot is a joke, and the gods just disappear at the end of the movie and people are happy with that. The gods are not treated as gods in this movie but expendable action heroes. There were no memorable additions to the movie except for the navigator which we barely got to hear talk through out the movie. I can see the continuity between the rebellion against gods and the death of gods, but that should not be possible. It is an outrageously bad idea to just kill them off, and even put some of the supposedly good gods i as bad gods. Ares turns evil and Hades turns good. This movie is not worth watching no matter what Expand
  28. May 20, 2012
    3
    This movie was pretty crappy. With that out of the way, let's move on to the special effects. Great special effects. To be honest, the story was not really that good. Even Liam Neeson and Ralph Fiennes couldn't save its wishy washy story. Greek gods dying off and losing their powers--yeah that should happen right? Even poster boy Sam Worthington wasn't that great in this movie. His acting was more wooden than Keanu Reeves, but Reeves has actually done more than one good film. A sequel to Clash of the Titans? Laughably. If you want a dumb, CGI fest, see this movie. If not, save your money. Expand
  29. May 31, 2012
    3
    Another Boring Action Movie..
    We Have Seen This Over And Over Ever Every Year.. Give Us Somthing New For Got Sake...
  30. Aug 6, 2012
    0
    Wrath of the Titans is an overall headache-inducing experience. It has amazing visuals that are ugly and assault the eyes, sets that look completely staged, and a sense of no joy whatsoever. As far as a comparison to it's predecessor, the two are almost indistinguishable. They are both loud, emotionless, painful, and do nothing to leave their cultural mark on anything. Sadly, though, with a franchise this widely seem, they will leave several marks, closer to scars than beauty spots. The only reason I can give to see this film is the visuals, but for their technical wizardry, not their beauty. There is also a single moment of humor near the end that catches you off guard because the rest of the movie is so horribly serious. You will feel the wrath, that's for certain. Expand
  31. Jul 9, 2012
    4
    The 3D is ok,but Wrath of the titans has bad performances,a bad script and a horrible director.Despite an improvement on the first film ,this movie sucks.
  32. Jul 18, 2012
    3
    A very mediocre film, and maybe even a little less. Wrath of the Titans has good special effects, and that's about it. The characters are shallow and the story is not that interesting, making the final product very boring.
  33. Nov 15, 2012
    1
    The first was cheese and we restrained from hating it, but this one isn't self-aware. It thinks its something serious, something worthy of our contemplation, and it's not. Like the first, it's just cheese. Moldy cheese at that.
  34. Dec 5, 2012
    3
    Clash of the Titans was certainly a flawed film but I enjoyed it and was highly entertained. I enjoyed this sequel, sort of, but it isn't all that entertaining. The CGI was fantastic, but I had no idea what the point of the story was or who any of the characters were.
  35. Jul 29, 2013
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Wrath has less than The Clash in all respects. Acting hammy no story only one titan no real wrath I cannot really contain my wrath they just used the same sequences as the first. Really and the ending was the same as first why Expand
  36. Dec 12, 2013
    2
    Like its predecessor, this unnecessary, box office hauling sequel hurls at us tiring action sequences, bland characters, a lame storyline and a false portrayal of Greek Gods. Its only "pro" is that it is slightly better than its dreadful predecessor.
  37. Dec 8, 2013
    4
    The only chance for you to end up liking this movie is if you are watching an action movie for the first time. Not even worth your time let alone your money.
  38. Jun 24, 2014
    3
    Such a dull movie the only reason this film isn't a 1 is because of the VFX. I honestly don't know why Sam Worthington keeps getting work with wooden acting like this
  39. Jul 30, 2014
    1
    "Wrath of the Titans" is an unneeded sequel to a film that felt unneeded anyway. It features a stupid plot, and its mediocre CGI effects are further downgraded by Liebesman's pathetic direction. It is good if you want to watch something visually striking, but you could also watch "300" for this. It's a must-see for fans of the particular genre, though.
Metascore
37

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 32
  2. Negative: 10 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Mark Holcomb
    Mar 31, 2012
    30
    What it lacks are the very elements that made the first movie such a surprise: wit and nerve.
  2. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Mar 31, 2012
    67
    An imagined conversation between Liam Neeson and Ralph Fiennes, after the premiere of Wrath of the Titans...
  3. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Mar 31, 2012
    50
    For those with a burning curiosity to know how "The Lord of the Rings" as directed by Michael Bay might look, Wrath of the Titans provides an idea. This is epic fantasy for teenage boys as only Hollywood can do it: with plenty of grotesque monsters and big explosions replacing characters and narrative.