User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 277 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 71 out of 277
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 21, 2012
    6
    Its fun for what it is just 90 minutes of fun action with some cool special effects mch like the first one was. Its just popcorn film don't go in expecting a great plot or plot twists just great action and some real nice visaul effects and the bare minumem of every thing els.
  2. Apr 28, 2012
    6
    I'm not going to argue the point on the story as i am in agreement with most other people on this site that the story was very sub standard but i didn't go to see for the story and i was impressed with the special effects and 3D which i felt made up for the poor story at least in part.
  3. Apr 6, 2012
    4
    Advertised as a 'fantasy' film I couldn't help but chuckle whilst watching this movie, considering that perhaps it should have instead been advertised "Greek Panatheon Family Drama." The plot seemed focused on resolving the conflict within between family members as a cheap attempt at preaching morality but instead was laughable. Characterization was almost non-existant - Oh, don'tAdvertised as a 'fantasy' film I couldn't help but chuckle whilst watching this movie, considering that perhaps it should have instead been advertised "Greek Panatheon Family Drama." The plot seemed focused on resolving the conflict within between family members as a cheap attempt at preaching morality but instead was laughable. Characterization was almost non-existant - Oh, don't misunderstand me, there was of course we all the formulaic characters; The reluctant hero, the family traitor, the flawed but ultimately redeemed father. The dialogue was appalling - several lines seemed ripped straight out of Star Wars ("I know there's still good in you.) And of course when it comes to historical accuracy, well, Hollywood is notorious for being weak in that department. The greatest delight of this film was it's visual effects, which were thrilling to the eye and I quite enjoyed the architecture of the labyrinth. The action was dull, the ending predictable, and overral Wrath of the Titans was an unstirred, messy flop of a film. Save your money, and if you must watch it, wait until its DVD release. Expand
  4. Apr 5, 2012
    4
    I did not walk into the cinema expecting much, nor did it fulfill much. It was quite a good watch, but it wasn't a good film. It is full of cliches and quite crummy acting, but it wasn't boring, and although I could guess what was going to happen next, it didn't make me fall asleep. So overall, I think it was not a good film, but if you are just going there to waste time or to do somethingI did not walk into the cinema expecting much, nor did it fulfill much. It was quite a good watch, but it wasn't a good film. It is full of cliches and quite crummy acting, but it wasn't boring, and although I could guess what was going to happen next, it didn't make me fall asleep. So overall, I think it was not a good film, but if you are just going there to waste time or to do something with friends, you'll enjoy it if you don't expect much. Expand
  5. Mar 30, 2012
    5
    Although it is a bit of an improvement on the first one, it is still the same damn thing.
  6. Apr 9, 2012
    5
    Wrath of the Titans has no life what so ever . the whole movie is a total disappointment even if u have no expectations . i thought it will be at least better then Clash of the titan but it wasnt at all . It was the worst Greek Myth story ever. The dialogues were so foolish and funny(in a sarcastic way) . When the Gods says "Lets have some fun" its not hard to get how dumb the movie is .Wrath of the Titans has no life what so ever . the whole movie is a total disappointment even if u have no expectations . i thought it will be at least better then Clash of the titan but it wasnt at all . It was the worst Greek Myth story ever. The dialogues were so foolish and funny(in a sarcastic way) . When the Gods says "Lets have some fun" its not hard to get how dumb the movie is . Jonathan Liebesman's Direction made the film even more worst .Most of the scenes were so lame . Sam's acting went to hell comparing with the first film . Ralf & Liam had the power but some foolish dialogues made their character so silly . Rosa was beautiful and good at first but through the movie she fell down and downer but still was better then the others . Toby was good and seems the only maintaining character in the film. Ã Expand
  7. Mar 31, 2012
    5
    The plot is simply boring, just like a written project in high school that you submit "for the purpose of compliance". The visual effects are acceptable enough to the gut. The characters are more-than-dull, can not find the exact word for it. I thought it was "Wrath of the Titans", more appropriate would have been "Sway of the Titan". Overall, this one's disappointing. The prequel "ClashThe plot is simply boring, just like a written project in high school that you submit "for the purpose of compliance". The visual effects are acceptable enough to the gut. The characters are more-than-dull, can not find the exact word for it. I thought it was "Wrath of the Titans", more appropriate would have been "Sway of the Titan". Overall, this one's disappointing. The prequel "Clash of the Titans" was way better.

    movienotesbook.blogspot.com
    Expand
  8. Dec 4, 2012
    5
    Wrath of the Titans may have more suspense and has slowed down to make a more emotional do, but is missing clash's overall feel and well-done camera angles, it pointlessly adds more characters, including Aires, who truly comes out of nowhere, really, when he first appeared, it was out of nowhere, appearing like the viewer knows him, but actually has no idea of who the heck he is! TheWrath of the Titans may have more suspense and has slowed down to make a more emotional do, but is missing clash's overall feel and well-done camera angles, it pointlessly adds more characters, including Aires, who truly comes out of nowhere, really, when he first appeared, it was out of nowhere, appearing like the viewer knows him, but actually has no idea of who the heck he is! The acting in this film is worse than it is in the first installment, and is more cheesy than ever; also, the dialogue tries to be funny, but instead you want to walk out of the room over pure bore dumb. The CGI and special effects have seemed to lose there charm, looking more computerized and lifeless as ever, the action is also lifeless, due to the awful acting and lack of the predecessor's charm... While you watch this film, you think how it could have been so much better, and how it could have been a better experience to watch, but there's no way of changing it now, it will always remain as a high budget Hollywood movie trailer that just trails on for too long and fails to excite, so I give this film... 4.7/10. Expand
  9. Mar 31, 2012
    5
    If I can say one good thing about the movie it's that it has amazing special effects. The best special effect is how they got A-listers like Worthington, Neeson, and Fiennes to do what is essentially a B-movie script. Once you see the headstone of a Greek grave enscribed in perfectly legible English, you know the target audience for the film. Just suspend your knowledge of how GreekIf I can say one good thing about the movie it's that it has amazing special effects. The best special effect is how they got A-listers like Worthington, Neeson, and Fiennes to do what is essentially a B-movie script. Once you see the headstone of a Greek grave enscribed in perfectly legible English, you know the target audience for the film. Just suspend your knowledge of how Greek mythology really played out, pat yourself on the back for paying only matinee ticket prices, and enjoy! Would be a great movie for father-son pairs to watch and probably could have been released around Father's Day to maximize the ticket sales--fatherhood is essentially the moral theme. Pray they don't try to milk this any further. With the ending they had, I doubt a trilogy is possible anyway. Expand
  10. Mar 30, 2012
    6
    I went without expectations into the cinema and was content to the end with the film. It offered good, simple maintenance, fantastische Special Effects and cool monsters to me - exactly as with the first part! Who more expected by such a film, should itself be conscious, that " Popcorn Entertainment" means, undemandingly, but to be well maintained!
    That is it, which just as good this film
    I went without expectations into the cinema and was content to the end with the film. It offered good, simple maintenance, fantastische Special Effects and cool monsters to me - exactly as with the first part! Who more expected by such a film, should itself be conscious, that " Popcorn Entertainment" means, undemandingly, but to be well maintained!
    That is it, which just as good this film makes, like its predecessor: Good Entertainment and nothing more!
    And by the way a fantastic Bill Nighy in the Role of Hephaistos, as well as Ralph Fiennes as Hades!
    Expand
  11. Mar 30, 2012
    4
    A tad better than the Clash of the Titans but still.
    Nice CGI and fights yet... why Hollywood wants to rape Greek Mithology so badly? Is it so hard to make a movie that is not completely trivial or with characters who are as flat as pancakes? I don't expect Citizen Kane set in ancient Greece but I'd like something more than random action scenes stuck together through a story that is as
    A tad better than the Clash of the Titans but still.
    Nice CGI and fights yet... why Hollywood wants to rape Greek Mithology so badly? Is it so hard to make a movie that is not completely trivial or with characters who are as flat as pancakes? I don't expect Citizen Kane set in ancient Greece but I'd like something more than random action scenes stuck together through a story that is as good as the one of Clash of the Titans (which was bad, if you don't know already).
    Expand
  12. Apr 1, 2012
    5
    Wrath of the Titans is better then Clash of the Titans with its visual affects and action scenes but there were a lot of gaps in the story. The beginning of the movie felt more like the middle of the movie. So you are left wondering why are certain things happening. 3D was good! Bubo the mechanical Owl finally makes a brief appearance but that's all.
  13. Jul 1, 2012
    5
    If you didn't like the first one, your not going to like this one. It has the same formula as the first movie, Perseus needs to save the world he gathers a team with a hot girl and another guy who you know will be the only ones to live till the end. They fight three enemies before the mail bad guy, it finishes exactly as you think it will (for one exception). Sam Worthington gives the sameIf you didn't like the first one, your not going to like this one. It has the same formula as the first movie, Perseus needs to save the world he gathers a team with a hot girl and another guy who you know will be the only ones to live till the end. They fight three enemies before the mail bad guy, it finishes exactly as you think it will (for one exception). Sam Worthington gives the same performance ans CotT. Rosamund Pike, who is normally good, gives an average performance. There aren't any stand out acting wise. I found the story a little harder to believe than the first movie, since Perseus wants nothing to do with Zeus, he doesn't even pray to him. But then he suddenly wants to save him, not the world since his motivations seem to be that his father is in trouble so he needs to save him. It was just a little strange. Some of the fight scenes are drawn out and by the end your be bored. In an it's exactly the same level of quality as the first film. 5/10/. Expand
  14. Mar 31, 2012
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Finished watching this movie on yesterday,and it was kinda half-cooked story.The some of the 3D animations are look great,some are so-so.The Fighting Scenes are good,but less impressing.The ending is kinda simplistic,grab the weapon,kill the Kronos just one stab weapon inside him and dead,THE END.Oh come on man,i thought the ending was so epic at all,but this is what i gonna said,the story is average.3D effects are kinda improved from last story they made.So thats all i wanna say about this movie. Expand
  15. Apr 1, 2012
    6
    Wrath of the titans was a big improvement over Clash of the titans. It still surely has its flaws, the acting and the dialogue got very cheesy and corny at times but it was certainly a fun movie. The plot had a few holes and it wasn't all that good to begin with but it seemed to work out well in the end though. Although i am a huge fan of him, Sam Worthington is not the best actor in theWrath of the titans was a big improvement over Clash of the titans. It still surely has its flaws, the acting and the dialogue got very cheesy and corny at times but it was certainly a fun movie. The plot had a few holes and it wasn't all that good to begin with but it seemed to work out well in the end though. Although i am a huge fan of him, Sam Worthington is not the best actor in the world either. On to the positives, the biggest improvement was the 3d. The 3d was very good for this film. I saw this with my cousin and it was funny because multiple times he tried to dodge what was coming at him in the film. This comes as a bit of a surprise to me because this along with Clash were both converted into 3d which means they are filmed in 2d but converted to 3d afterwards which usually comes up with very poor results such as what happened with Clash, but Wrath of the titans was very good 3d wise, and action wise. The action was fun and very entertaining, and there was some surprising comedic relief as well. Good action film, great 3d film, but poor plot-wise and the majority of the acting as well. Overall i'll give Wrath of the titans a 5.5/10 Expand
  16. Apr 5, 2012
    6
    Angels: I have always loved reading Greek Mythology, and I am fascinated by the stories. As a kid I can still remember how much I enjoyed the special effects of say Jason & the Argonauts. (Though by today's standards these effects appear so primitive.) Well I loved the special effects of this 'Titans' movie, especially the whirling dervish double torso sword fighting makhai (?). TheyAngels: I have always loved reading Greek Mythology, and I am fascinated by the stories. As a kid I can still remember how much I enjoyed the special effects of say Jason & the Argonauts. (Though by today's standards these effects appear so primitive.) Well I loved the special effects of this 'Titans' movie, especially the whirling dervish double torso sword fighting makhai (?). They alone were worth the price of admission. It was also fun to see those fine actors, Liam Neeson, Ralph Fiennes, and Bill Nighy getting paid-without having to work too hard. I suppose that is why I only give this a 6. The dialogue and character development were minimal, and the exciting special effects did not compensate for that.
    Still, I would rather have paid to watch this movie than stayed at home (and saved my money).
    Angels: the sun is only a pale reflection of your beauty.
    Expand
  17. Apr 2, 2012
    4
    I fell asleep. Battle after battle made this a not very exciting movie. To be fair, special effects bore me. It is probably a good movie for kids, and it will probably make a good video game (particularly the labyrinth) but it really isn't all that exciting.
  18. Apr 1, 2012
    4
    I was so excited, the trailers looked excellent and my boyfriend and I were so happy when we got to the cinema and the movie started. When we walked out we both turned to each other and said 'it wasn't as good as i thought it would be.' The first one was better. It was a bit of a 'let down.'
  19. Apr 1, 2012
    5
    I watched this flick yesterday, and went in with rather low expectations, which this movie did live up to. The acting is cheesy at best, with Ralph Fiennes being the one notable exception, the story had a few plot holes and Greek mythology gets heavily abused. That being said, the CGI effects were decent and the action scenes were believable enough. It's a true turn-off-your-brains typeI watched this flick yesterday, and went in with rather low expectations, which this movie did live up to. The acting is cheesy at best, with Ralph Fiennes being the one notable exception, the story had a few plot holes and Greek mythology gets heavily abused. That being said, the CGI effects were decent and the action scenes were believable enough. It's a true turn-off-your-brains type action movie. I wouldn't recommend this film to anyone, but it's not as poor as professional critics imply. Expand
  20. Sep 5, 2012
    6
    I'm a pretty big fan of Greek mythology action movies like this one, and when I saw the trailer for this one I was expecting a super awesome action packed movie with almost non-stop fighting. Unfortunately that isn't what I got, what I got is a decent movie with slightly lackluster action, simple plot, and cliche dialog. On the plus side the acting is good. Even though it's not really thatI'm a pretty big fan of Greek mythology action movies like this one, and when I saw the trailer for this one I was expecting a super awesome action packed movie with almost non-stop fighting. Unfortunately that isn't what I got, what I got is a decent movie with slightly lackluster action, simple plot, and cliche dialog. On the plus side the acting is good. Even though it's not really that great of a movie I still enjoyed it, mostly due to the Greek mythology fan in me, and in the end I realized that there are worse movies I've wasted my time on. Worth a rental. Expand
  21. Apr 4, 2012
    4
    Très difficile que de donner son avis sur La Colère des Titans lorsqu'on veut se montrer humble. D'une part que cette suite se montre bien plus rythmée (grâce à une plus faible durée : 1h27) et ne se prend que trop rarement au sérieux. Après, lors des moments justement plusTrès difficile que de donner son avis sur La Colère des Titans lorsqu'on veut se montrer humble. D'une part que cette suite se montre bien plus rythmée (grâce à une plus faible durée : 1h27) et ne se prend que trop rarement au sérieux. Après, lors des moments justement plus sérieux, on s'enfonce dans une niaiserie rarement atteinte, l'ensemble manquant encore plus de scénario que le film précédent et un casting toujours aussi inégal. De même, La Colère des Titans est très efficace, mais on a tout de même l'impression qu'il manque ne serait-ce qu'une once de spectaculaire... On sent la volonté de bien faire pour livrer un divertissement de bonne facture mais on sent également que le tout est bâclé. Alors que dire? Finalement, je pense qu'il faut trancher ainsi : La Colère des Titans n'est qu'un blockbuster américain de plus, qui ne cherche qu'à divertir les spectateurs avides de ce genre de spectacles, sans pour autant casser la baraque. En somme, même s'il se montre différent du premier sur quelques points, La Colère des Titans ne vaut guère mieux que son prédécesseur, sans être pire non plus. Expand
  22. Jun 13, 2012
    5
    Some pretty good effects can't hide the fact that Wrath of the Titans is a sequel nobody really wanted to see. The first film was considered by many as a 'fluke', the first '3-D' blockbuster that debuted after AVATAR. Audiences, thirsting for more spectacle flocked and was then generally disappointed. 'Wrath' improved a bit in comparison. Nevertheless, like Liebesman's previous effort,Some pretty good effects can't hide the fact that Wrath of the Titans is a sequel nobody really wanted to see. The first film was considered by many as a 'fluke', the first '3-D' blockbuster that debuted after AVATAR. Audiences, thirsting for more spectacle flocked and was then generally disappointed. 'Wrath' improved a bit in comparison. Nevertheless, like Liebesman's previous effort, Wrath feels a bit 'off', like you are watching somebody else playing a 'video game'. Not a bad rental, but don't expect anything more than that. Expand
  23. Jun 18, 2012
    5
    The first film was very disappointing. Instead, this sequel I liked a little more. It will be because I went to see it with low expectations but I found better than the first. Meanwhile, the 3D and special effects in comparison to the first are much improved (especially the 3D which in the first had also hurt my eyes and I had brought a headache). The rest, however, the plot is veryThe first film was very disappointing. Instead, this sequel I liked a little more. It will be because I went to see it with low expectations but I found better than the first. Meanwhile, the 3D and special effects in comparison to the first are much improved (especially the 3D which in the first had also hurt my eyes and I had brought a headache). The rest, however, the plot is very simple and obvious, and I saw Sam Worthington a little distracted during the movie. So a movie better than the first but that does not say just back Expand
  24. Jul 14, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was ok... I guess. The acting was still poor and the action was blurry but I felt like it did improve on some parts. The biggest upgrade for me was the final 20 minutes. In Clash of the Titans, the Kraken showed up sent out some little demons things that just kinda flew around and were annoying, then the Kraken roared and died. It was stupid, a terrible ending to an otherwise decent movie. This was about the opposite, the movie itself wasn't as good but the ending did hit hard. Chronos destoryed a few villages and got some heavy hits on main charaters before he died. Also his two sided warriors were cool. The movie got the action the only thing it's missing is any resemblence of a story line! Everything seems broken and disjointed, I really didn't care or have any feelings for anyone that died, including Hephaestus and he was more or less a main character. I don't understand why most of the Gods died, and it did a poor job at explaining why they did that. All in all, the action was great, but the movie was terrible. I think that warrants and even 5. Expand
  25. Jun 6, 2012
    4
    Since Clash of the Titans came out in 2010, people realized that the film was nothing more than a popcorn flick: subsequently, when Wrath came out two years later, audiences' expectations were already low, and that's probably the only thing the sequel has going for it.
  26. May 28, 2012
    5
    Really cool movie. Tons of fun special effects, awesome monsters and really good fight scenes. However there is no story at all. They could have really made a cool story with this and than it would have been in the green. But for me it was just a fun thing to watch in 3D.
  27. Aug 31, 2013
    5
    Wrath, clash, smash, bash, it's all the same for Sam Worthington as he returns as Greek demigod Perseus. Wrath is very similar in style, plot and well just about everything else to Louis Leterrier's 2010 Clash of the Titans. It treads the same ground, impressive visuals, monsters, battles, the reluctant hero, nothing is new.

    The film certainly doesn't score any points for it's dialogue.
    Wrath, clash, smash, bash, it's all the same for Sam Worthington as he returns as Greek demigod Perseus. Wrath is very similar in style, plot and well just about everything else to Louis Leterrier's 2010 Clash of the Titans. It treads the same ground, impressive visuals, monsters, battles, the reluctant hero, nothing is new.

    The film certainly doesn't score any points for it's dialogue. Somebody needs to explain to me why writers continually load scripts with cheesy lines. Point in case being Perseus looking up at the cyclops towering over him for the first time and saying to himself, 'You gotta be kidding me'. WHY, WHY, WHY, doesn't anyone from the directors to the actor themselves resist spouting garbage like this.

    I struggle to comprehend why the likes of Ralph Fiennes, Liam Neeson and Bill Nighy, making his first appearance of the franchise, bother with this type of mediocrity.

    Wrath of the Titans is not going to win any awards for originality, script or its acting. I guess that no-one watches this film with those kind of expectations, however for mindless, action blockbusters there are better options.
    Expand
  28. Oct 19, 2012
    4
    I have never seen the first movie, so all I knew this movie was bad and it was. Its been a bad year for films this year and this review is just lowing the average. Wrath of the Titans 4.1/10
  29. Apr 18, 2012
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Films with the best 3d effect this year, but the plot is predictable, so boring the viewers who watched
    I hope Warner Bros. films bring back a better quality than this film
    Expand
  30. Jun 15, 2012
    5
    I know the movie was supposed to be all about the effects. The effects were very good. I just could not find myself caring too much for any of the characters. I paid the same amount of money to see this movie as I did Avengers. Didn't get my moneys worth on this one.
  31. Jul 9, 2012
    4
    The 3D is ok,but Wrath of the titans has bad performances,a bad script and a horrible director.Despite an improvement on the first film ,this movie sucks.
  32. Jul 17, 2012
    5
    A film that seems to only use the names of Greek gods and goddesses for the potential, yet withered benefit of the film rarely awards it viewers with the satisfaction of knowing that they're in for a treat with this lackluster sequel. I'm not hammering the film, yet it seems to have a few more pros than cons this time round after the mediocre attempt at Clash of the Titans remake in 2010.A film that seems to only use the names of Greek gods and goddesses for the potential, yet withered benefit of the film rarely awards it viewers with the satisfaction of knowing that they're in for a treat with this lackluster sequel. I'm not hammering the film, yet it seems to have a few more pros than cons this time round after the mediocre attempt at Clash of the Titans remake in 2010. Take the 3D, for example. In 2010's installment, the 3D was horrific and hurt the viewer's eyes, however this time round in Wrath, the 3D seems so much more tidy, and I wasn't as disappointed with it as I was in Clash. Also, this time, I find Sam Worthington to more a believable Perseus, after seeming rather weak and lifeless in Clash. I think it's his curly locks... The verdict: watch Wrath for the visual enjoyment alone, not the plot, not the characters. It's not worth it. Expand
  33. Nov 23, 2013
    5
    Still rather inaccurate in terms of mythology, but that was to be expected given that the first one was also inaccurate. More monsters and action than the first one, with the as-expected excellent special effects, and that makes me give it about the same score as the first, otherwise this would've gotten a 4. As one reviewer said the fight choreography was subpar and that same reviewerStill rather inaccurate in terms of mythology, but that was to be expected given that the first one was also inaccurate. More monsters and action than the first one, with the as-expected excellent special effects, and that makes me give it about the same score as the first, otherwise this would've gotten a 4. As one reviewer said the fight choreography was subpar and that same reviewer pointed out that it was extremely similar plot to Immortals (and he's right!). I'd say the acting is actually better in this one. Standard reluctant hero and family betrayal/drama/redemption plot so nothing new there. Not terrible, but I wouldn't say it's good either. Expand
  34. Jul 21, 2013
    6
    Epic movies have been around for several years now. Simply throwing action and graphics at a movie can no longer make it great. Epics have been pulled down to the level of an average movie. We must care about the characters. The dialogue must be worthwhile. The storyline cannot be linear and bland. Wrath of the Titans, although enjoyable, did not get the memo.
  35. Dec 8, 2013
    4
    The only chance for you to end up liking this movie is if you are watching an action movie for the first time. Not even worth your time let alone your money.
Metascore
37

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 32
  2. Negative: 10 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Mark Holcomb
    Mar 31, 2012
    30
    What it lacks are the very elements that made the first movie such a surprise: wit and nerve.
  2. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Mar 31, 2012
    67
    An imagined conversation between Liam Neeson and Ralph Fiennes, after the premiere of Wrath of the Titans...
  3. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Mar 31, 2012
    50
    For those with a burning curiosity to know how "The Lord of the Rings" as directed by Michael Bay might look, Wrath of the Titans provides an idea. This is epic fantasy for teenage boys as only Hollywood can do it: with plenty of grotesque monsters and big explosions replacing characters and narrative.