Closed Circuit

Closed Circuit Image
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 37 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 39
  2. Negative: 4 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Aug 28, 2013
    75
    The movie is low-key but each scene is packed with information. Full understanding demands full attention.
  2. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Aug 27, 2013
    75
    Not only an intelligent, well-told and deftly acted story, it provides refreshing counter-programming in a season filled with noisy, uninspired sequels and mindless action movies.
  3. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Aug 28, 2013
    70
    The director, John Crowley, handles Steve Knight’s snaky script capably, introducing the characters, their backgrounds and the political stakes in bold strokes.
  4. 50
    Blame it on the weak chemistry of the stars, blame it on the way the script refuses to let them develop chemistry and the perfunctory way the story is dispensed with, but the sparks aren’t there.
  5. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Aug 27, 2013
    50
    This is a well-made, topical thriller with a top-notch cast — but the script and the directorial/editing choices undercut nearly every pivotal scene, and every plot twist we can see coming two scenes in advance.
  6. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Aug 27, 2013
    50
    To Crowley's credit, Closed Circuit is decidedly unflashy. But maybe that's a liability: There's a fine line between restrained and drab, and Closed Circuit falls just on the wrong side of it.
  7. Reviewed by: Tom Huddleston
    Oct 22, 2013
    20
    How Knight and Crowley managed to persuade such upstanding actors – not to mention Jim Broadbent, Anne-Marie Duff, Ciaran Hinds and Riz Ahmed – to take part in this fiasco is destined to remain a mystery. Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Trite.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Sep 6, 2013
    10
    A refreshing change from your over-the-top, absurd dramas, Closed Circuit was Gripping, Conceivable, required the audience to actually think,A refreshing change from your over-the-top, absurd dramas, Closed Circuit was Gripping, Conceivable, required the audience to actually think, featured a constantly and subtly twisting plot and had a firm foundation in the world we live in, and how far people in positions of power will go.
    When I came home after watching it, I actually expected to see a news story about the British Justice system.
    Expand
  2. Oct 24, 2013
    10
    The movie was ok to watch. No real substance. B acting. Never really caught my attention. I just was really hoping for something with aThe movie was ok to watch. No real substance. B acting. Never really caught my attention. I just was really hoping for something with a little drama but it was really bland. Next time I think I'll do a little more research before spending 13$ on a movie. Expand
  3. Aug 31, 2013
    8
    “Closed Circuit” stars Eric Bana, Rebecca Hall and Jim Broadbent in this British courtroom drama involving terrorism, Britain’s MI 5, and a“Closed Circuit” stars Eric Bana, Rebecca Hall and Jim Broadbent in this British courtroom drama involving terrorism, Britain’s MI 5, and a horrendous crime that is the subject of the film. Well written by Steven Knight (“Eastern Promises”, “Dirty Pretty Things”) and ably directed by John Crowley, this film will keep the viewer on the edge of the theater seat from the very first frame as the story unwinds into the intricacies of espionage, terrorism and the legal system under which all of the parties are operating. One of the more positive things about this film is that, although the plot is complicated and extremely involved, excellent writing and editing help make the most difficult of legal concepts and problems easy to understand and follow. This is no small task to accomplish given the intricacies and rules of law being applied. I give this film an 8 for above average acting, writing, editing and directing, all of which make for a very exciting theatrical experience. Expand
  4. Aug 29, 2013
    6
    With a title like this, you'd expect closed circuit TV would play strongly in the narrative…and you'd be wrong. The title could have beenWith a title like this, you'd expect closed circuit TV would play strongly in the narrative…and you'd be wrong. The title could have been "Paranoia," but that movie's already in town. Eric Bana and Rebecca Hall play the attorneys for a man who's been accused of a terrorist bombing in London, but there's more to his defense that it seems. Unfortunately, it's nothing we haven't seen before. While it's interesting to watch it unfold and the performances are good, the suspense is not existent. Adding a few angles shot from surveillance cameras doesn't make it original enough to be memorable. Collapse
  5. Mar 2, 2015
    5
    The film is not too long and is an entertaining watch. People who like thrillers will enjoy it. I had a good time watching it. However, myThe film is not too long and is an entertaining watch. People who like thrillers will enjoy it. I had a good time watching it. However, my rate can not be higher because it is not too original, nothing truly stands out and it feels like we have already seen something similar before. Still, it is ok to have a good time, not every serious films is made to captivate and be praised. You can definitely stream it. Expand
  6. Sep 29, 2013
    5
    This movie is boring, dumb and poorly acted. There is no chemistry between Hall and Bana, when there is supposed to be a lot. Nothing in thisThis movie is boring, dumb and poorly acted. There is no chemistry between Hall and Bana, when there is supposed to be a lot. Nothing in this movie makes sense, including why it was ever made. It's a no-go. Expand
  7. Sep 27, 2015
    4
    After a bomb blows away Borough Market and dozens of human lives, Farrouk Erdogan is arrested. He is the only survivor of the terrorist groupAfter a bomb blows away Borough Market and dozens of human lives, Farrouk Erdogan is arrested. He is the only survivor of the terrorist group that allegedly planned the attack, and he is now at the center of what promises to be the biggest terrorism trial in British history. Forget the John Grisham-style legal thrillers from overseas, though, and expect no “Law & Order” either. This is boring London, with barristers, solicitors, and a lot of technicalities. But there is a catch: in terrorism cases, for reasons ascribed to so-called national security, the Crown Prosecution Service can use classified evidence. Its content can be disclosed neither to the defendant nor to their lawyer, let alone to the general public. This is when a Special Advocate comes into play: a barrister appointed by the State to ensure a fair trial, the sole person authorised to examine the secret evidence and represent the defendant during “closed sessions”. It’s as complicated as it sounds, and given the key role it plays in the film, dialogues are full of ad-hoc explanations, grossly inserted and repeated to ease the audience’s understanding. To make “Closed Circuit” at least a little interesting, the Special Advocate and the barrister, who in theory can’t even talk to each other, are lovers. And they will break all rules to solve the case and defend Erdogan.

    “Closed Circuit” stars Eric Bana as Martin, the defense barrister who likes to go canoeing on the Thames (a perfect excuse to get a shot of Westminster and other characteristic landmarks), and Rebecca Hall as Claudia, in the supporting role of the Special Advocate. The cast also includes the all-but-talented Hasancan Cifci as Erdogan's son, Ciarán Hinds as Martin's mate Devlin, and the great Jim Broadbent as the Attorney General. Broadbent plays the powerful man that loves to blab about how “transparent and fair” the judiciary process is, even if he’s just a tool of the powers that be, who doesn’t hesitate to sacrificy his integrity. His role as Chief Inspector in “Hot Fuzz” immediately comes to mind: looking at him, wide-eyed, always minimising the worst atrocities, it’s impossible not to giggle.

    As the Big Brother is always watching through CCTV, Martin and Claudia’s investigative journey becomes more and more dangerous. Although the trailer warns that “Everyone is being watched” and “every moment is being recorded”, promising psychologically and even politically relevant twists, everything actually dissolves into banal conspiracies and chases through the dark streets of London. But what’s the role of secret services in all this? What does Erdogan's son know that can’t be revealed? Watching “Closed Circuit”’s trailer is enough to answer all these important questions; the film itself doesn’t amount to much. Beyond the first twenty minutes, it’s nothing but an unoriginal collection of the genre’s trademarks. Martin and Claudia’s rush towards the resolution adds very little to a story that already struggles to achieve the right pace and consistency. You find yourself expecting a twist that never comes, and before you notice it, the film reaches the most anticlimactic possible ending. Maybe because real life is boring, and certain things only happen in films. Is this what director John Crowley and talented screenwriter Steven Knight (“Eastern Promises”, “Dirty Pretty Things”) are trying to tell us? If this is the case, I really wonder why someone would choose to watch “Closed Circuit” instead of enjoying real life.
    Expand

See all 16 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  2. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  3. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  4. 25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked

    25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked Image
    Published: July 15, 2016
    We rank over two dozen very good movies featuring very bad protagonists.