Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 27 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 39
  2. Negative: 4 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Aug 28, 2013
    75
    The movie is low-key but each scene is packed with information. Full understanding demands full attention.
  2. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Aug 27, 2013
    75
    Not only an intelligent, well-told and deftly acted story, it provides refreshing counter-programming in a season filled with noisy, uninspired sequels and mindless action movies.
  3. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Aug 28, 2013
    70
    The director, John Crowley, handles Steve Knight’s snaky script capably, introducing the characters, their backgrounds and the political stakes in bold strokes.
  4. 50
    Blame it on the weak chemistry of the stars, blame it on the way the script refuses to let them develop chemistry and the perfunctory way the story is dispensed with, but the sparks aren’t there.
  5. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Aug 27, 2013
    50
    This is a well-made, topical thriller with a top-notch cast — but the script and the directorial/editing choices undercut nearly every pivotal scene, and every plot twist we can see coming two scenes in advance.
  6. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Aug 27, 2013
    50
    To Crowley's credit, Closed Circuit is decidedly unflashy. But maybe that's a liability: There's a fine line between restrained and drab, and Closed Circuit falls just on the wrong side of it.
  7. Reviewed by: Tom Huddleston
    Oct 22, 2013
    20
    How Knight and Crowley managed to persuade such upstanding actors – not to mention Jim Broadbent, Anne-Marie Duff, Ciaran Hinds and Riz Ahmed – to take part in this fiasco is destined to remain a mystery. Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Trite.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Sep 6, 2013
    10
    A refreshing change from your over-the-top, absurd dramas, Closed Circuit was Gripping, Conceivable, required the audience to actually think,A refreshing change from your over-the-top, absurd dramas, Closed Circuit was Gripping, Conceivable, required the audience to actually think, featured a constantly and subtly twisting plot and had a firm foundation in the world we live in, and how far people in positions of power will go.
    When I came home after watching it, I actually expected to see a news story about the British Justice system.
    Expand
  2. Oct 24, 2013
    10
    The movie was ok to watch. No real substance. B acting. Never really caught my attention. I just was really hoping for something with aThe movie was ok to watch. No real substance. B acting. Never really caught my attention. I just was really hoping for something with a little drama but it was really bland. Next time I think I'll do a little more research before spending 13$ on a movie. Collapse
  3. Aug 31, 2013
    8
    I can't for the life of me figure out why this movie rated to poorly with so many professional critics. I'm seeing that some think the leadsI can't for the life of me figure out why this movie rated to poorly with so many professional critics. I'm seeing that some think the leads have no chemistry. I don't buy that at all. I think their chemistry is palpable.. I also heard the plot would be tough to follow similar to Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy. Not even close. Absolutely accessible and thrilling. Recommended. Expand
  4. Aug 29, 2013
    6
    With a title like this, you'd expect closed circuit TV would play strongly in the narrative…and you'd be wrong. The title could have beenWith a title like this, you'd expect closed circuit TV would play strongly in the narrative…and you'd be wrong. The title could have been "Paranoia," but that movie's already in town. Eric Bana and Rebecca Hall play the attorneys for a man who's been accused of a terrorist bombing in London, but there's more to his defense that it seems. Unfortunately, it's nothing we haven't seen before. While it's interesting to watch it unfold and the performances are good, the suspense is not existent. Adding a few angles shot from surveillance cameras doesn't make it original enough to be memorable. Expand
  5. Sep 1, 2013
    5
    There were some things I liked about this movies and there were others that I didn't like, but in the end, it's satisfying to, but neverThere were some things I liked about this movies and there were others that I didn't like, but in the end, it's satisfying to, but never attempts to amaze. Be sure to check out my YouTube channel "TheMovieManLife" for all things movies. Expand
  6. Jul 6, 2014
    5
    Lame, predictable ending... Interesting premise but not very well executed... low energy for a supposed thriller... just ok if you don't haveLame, predictable ending... Interesting premise but not very well executed... low energy for a supposed thriller... just ok if you don't have anything better to watch... Expand
  7. Aug 29, 2013
    5
    Moviegoers looking for a moody political drama will find Closed Circuit provides some engaging character beats and interesting (albeit notMoviegoers looking for a moody political drama will find Closed Circuit provides some engaging character beats and interesting (albeit not exceptionally deep) thoughts on government oversight. Strong performances from Bana and Hall help elevate Crowley’s film above similarly predictable thrillers and it’s hard not to admire the director for some risky choices (in both the story and the actual filmmaking). That said, plot holes as well as underdeveloped characters undercut the power of the final film and many moviegoers who are attracted to the thought-provoking political thriller genre will, as a result, find Closed Circuit is too divided, between creativity and commentary, to be particularly exciting or insightful. Expand

See all 12 User Reviews

Trailers