Sony Pictures Entertainment (SPE) | Release Date: December 3, 2004
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 391 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
345
Mixed:
27
Negative:
19
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
BrentU.Mar 25, 2006
This is definitely a movie that will be either loved or hated. The acting is really outstanding, not hollywood cliche, but powerful and gritty with so much substance that it is easy to relate to each character as they develop through the This is definitely a movie that will be either loved or hated. The acting is really outstanding, not hollywood cliche, but powerful and gritty with so much substance that it is easy to relate to each character as they develop through the film. The story contains an overwhelming amount of raw emotion and honesty, and unfortunately I think this turns alot of viewers away, but the reality of the story is what I really appreciate about this film. If you have ever known love and heartache, this is a must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BarbieL.May 22, 2006
Problematically, Closer feels exactly like a play. Then in the credits I had my suspicions confirmed. The 4-person cast, ostentatious time lapses,and perpetually heady dialogue make a great play but a mediocre film. If only those like the Problematically, Closer feels exactly like a play. Then in the credits I had my suspicions confirmed. The 4-person cast, ostentatious time lapses,and perpetually heady dialogue make a great play but a mediocre film. If only those like the paralleled opening and closing sequences occured more frequently, Closer could truely be called a film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JoelT.Nov 27, 2007
Insufferably pretentious plot, insufferably contrived dialogue, insufferably self-important film. In short: insufferable. A hollow and disappointing offering from Nichols. And Natalie Portman may be purty, but she's a soulless phony. I Insufferably pretentious plot, insufferably contrived dialogue, insufferably self-important film. In short: insufferable. A hollow and disappointing offering from Nichols. And Natalie Portman may be purty, but she's a soulless phony. I don't think that piece of driftwood could act her way out of a paper bag if it had a hole cut it in. Don't get what all the fuss is about over her performance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AbbylJun 28, 2007
Closer was a surprising twist on love. Those who claim it is 'the worst' movie they have ever seen, have obviously never viewed the movies Norbit and Epic Movie. The characters were involved, the only disappointing part was that Closer was a surprising twist on love. Those who claim it is 'the worst' movie they have ever seen, have obviously never viewed the movies Norbit and Epic Movie. The characters were involved, the only disappointing part was that this movie was borderline pornography, not in the visual sense. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IgnatK.Sep 14, 2007
One of the very few movies showing true relations - with uniquely truthful direct speech between the characters, and amazing music selection!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
adant.Dec 17, 2005
One of the best movies I have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
wesker2012Jul 4, 2016
Movie about broken people. Wasn't as good as I remembered in the past. Not very realistic...........................................................
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SpangleDec 21, 2016
There is something about Closer than is entirely off-putting. It is not the fact that it is a film about four people that are, well, unsavory characters. I can handle films about people I do not care for. The problem with Closer is it feelsThere is something about Closer than is entirely off-putting. It is not the fact that it is a film about four people that are, well, unsavory characters. I can handle films about people I do not care for. The problem with Closer is it feels like a 2000s drama that is soulless. I have seen this a few times before (The Reader by Stephen Daldry comes to mind immediately) and there was something about this film that made me feel as though it would not be my cup of tea. This was ultimately the case, even though I did keep an open mind while watching this film. The experience, however, is just far too hollow and director Mike Nichols' cynical look at love just feels surface deep. We all get that love is challenging and messy, but Closer is mostly unengaging and just seems to float by and offer obvious insight into the messy nature of love. That said, there are positives to Closer. As always, it is marvelously well-written for the most part and the acting is terrific. In particular, Natalie Portman steals the show, though Clive Owen turns in a good performance as well.

Showing the romantic lives of Anna (Julia Roberts), Daniel (Jude Law), Alice (Natalie Portman), and Larry (Clive Owen), the film shows the four characters swapping dates pretty consistently. Alice and Daniel sleep together. Daniel and Anna sleep together. Anna and Larry sleep together. Larry and Alice sleep together. Everybody is sleeping with each other in this film. Complementing these scenes are the people finding out their significant other slept with somebody else. Everybody cheats here and the film does have a lot to say about infidelity. For Nichols, infidelity is clearly a common act, but one that needs to be admitted to immediately. Though common, it is still disgusting, but only if you do not admit to it immediately. Case in point, Larry cheats on Anna with a hooker but tells her immediately. Meanwhile, Anna is heavily criticized for sleeping with Daniel for over a year, but never telling Larry until he brought up his infidelity. Moral of the story: cheat on your significant other, but be upfront about it and things will be alright. This is a constant thread as the people consistently want confirmation that their significant others slept with somebody else and then only get mad when they do not admit to it immediately. Other than this, Closer offers insight into how sex can be used as a weapon to hurt others, people's insatiable desire to cheat on their significant other, and how love hurts and can never be enough to keep somebody. Insightful stuff.

Closer is also plagued by its timeline. Jumping forward by years upon years at the drop of a hat, Closer lost me more than once in its timeline. All of a sudden, Daniel and Alice had just met and then, immediately afterward, it was a year later. This is where a large portion of the soullessness I mentioned previously derives from. This desire to speed things along comes at the expense of developing a connection between us and the characters. Yes, there is a lot revealed in the scenes shown, but the process of them falling in and out of love would be a lot more emotional and rewarding if we got to see more than just a highlight reel of their relationship.

This said, Closer has great dialogue. I may mock its relationship insights, but it is hard to deny that its relationships are well created in the moments we are given with them. Here, they can be powerful at times, in particular when Alice and Daniel embrace after he admits to cheating on her with Anna. This scene is very emotional and highlights the tremendous performance by Portman. Throughout, she steals the show and really puts in an emotionally raw performance. No matter the scene, she is the highlight of this film. Similarly, Owen - as a scorned lover and pervert - is brilliant. He has a natural charisma and it really shows here as he able to play such a chilly character with a cool, laid back demeanor throughout. However, he is equally adept at turning it up a notch, such as when he confronts Julia Roberts' Anna about her infidelity. An intense scene, Owen wins the scene by capturing both the anger and the pain that Larry feels in this moment as he presses her for intimate details about Anna and Daniel.

Though disappointing, Closer affords a great opportunity to watch great actors do their thing. Other than a few scenes that were noted above though, Closer lacks the emotion and insight needed to actually pull off a film of this type. None of its takes are revolutionary and instead feel entirely derivative and cliche takes on love, rather than an examination into the lives of these characters.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
moviemaniacAug 17, 2012
I think this movie is not too bad, and I guess there is no joy in this movie but overall the cast in this movie is very good in the act it. This movie is stated about the honesty
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
yesterdayatnoonAug 3, 2015
I don't think I've ever watched a worse movie except for Spawn. I understand the desire to write a movie full of adults who behave the way a high schooler might imagine adults behave, but you spend most of the movie embarrassed for theI don't think I've ever watched a worse movie except for Spawn. I understand the desire to write a movie full of adults who behave the way a high schooler might imagine adults behave, but you spend most of the movie embarrassed for the writer wondering "at what age did they realize how vacuous their notion of social interaction was when they wrote this". I highly recommend it for people who are constantly baffled by a growing distance between friends and family as they are socially marooned by their own social inadequacy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
KivaJul 9, 2013
Closer is a great film. Jude Law, Natalie Portman and Clive Owen were amazing. Julia roberts was good too. The plot was smart and I have to say that it is a funny drama romantic film. It is not like all the american kind of these films.Closer is a great film. Jude Law, Natalie Portman and Clive Owen were amazing. Julia roberts was good too. The plot was smart and I have to say that it is a funny drama romantic film. It is not like all the american kind of these films. Closer is a masterpiece of its kind and i have to admit that I didn't expect it to be such a good film. The screenplay is smart and it has a "twist" which i liked a lot. Thumbs up! The actors should have won the Oscar 8,5/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ZerpnosMar 5, 2017
Dörtlü ilişkiyi çok güzel bir şekilde işleyen ve günümüzde ki ilişkileri gözler önüne seren bir yapım. Ne istediğini bilmeyen ve gönlü iki farklı kızda olan ve kıskanç olan bir adamın ilk önce striptizciyle çıkıp onu beğenmemesi ardındanDörtlü ilişkiyi çok güzel bir şekilde işleyen ve günümüzde ki ilişkileri gözler önüne seren bir yapım. Ne istediğini bilmeyen ve gönlü iki farklı kızda olan ve kıskanç olan bir adamın ilk önce striptizciyle çıkıp onu beğenmemesi ardından fotoğrafçı anna ile birlikte olup kendisinin ortaya çıkarttığı kıskanç olmayan bir adama iki sevgilisini de kaptırmasını anlatan, izlerken insanı gerçeklere dair üzen ve düşündüren bir film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews