Sony Pictures Entertainment (SPE) | Release Date: December 3, 2004
8.3
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 485 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
397
Mixed:
34
Negative:
54
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JoshDec 6, 2004
Just because the movie is real doesn't mean its bad. This is possibily the most true to life movie I've ever seen. It seems to only have 0-1 or 8-10, with no ratings in between; that should tell you something.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ClintMDec 6, 2004
This is definitely a *love it or hate it* movie. Personally, I loved it. The main reason being that I love to see those *Oscar-Watch* performances/movies that have potential for gold! And I wasn't let down at all by the refreshing turns This is definitely a *love it or hate it* movie. Personally, I loved it. The main reason being that I love to see those *Oscar-Watch* performances/movies that have potential for gold! And I wasn't let down at all by the refreshing turns by any of the four main characters. Clive Owen IS the standout as the reviews have mentioned. But that's not to discredit any of the other three. The only thing I can say negative is that the way the story is told is very *jumpy*; it moves from present time to past memories to future relationships. So if you're not too quick or bright you may have a little challenge keeping on top. But truly the actors and the story were real and alive. And I expect to CLOSER to see some form of Gold next year! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RickDec 6, 2004
Slooooooooooooow going. You feel guilty finding it boring until you finally realize that it IS boring. Everyone is quite attractive and seems to take it all very seriously though so it is relatively painless. Don't go short of sleep Slooooooooooooow going. You feel guilty finding it boring until you finally realize that it IS boring. Everyone is quite attractive and seems to take it all very seriously though so it is relatively painless. Don't go short of sleep though or you might not make it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChuckS.Dec 9, 2004
Outstanding. Real. Anyone wanting happy endings or 'everything explained' should stick to Disney. This is what real life is like. Deal with it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EricMDec 14, 2005
I can understand where moviegoers looking for an escape may be turned off by this movie. However, for those of us whether we are sentimentalists, cynics, heartbreakers or heartbroken this movie speaks to you. In an age where knowing people I can understand where moviegoers looking for an escape may be turned off by this movie. However, for those of us whether we are sentimentalists, cynics, heartbreakers or heartbroken this movie speaks to you. In an age where knowing people exists via chatrooms and notions of true love are scoffed at by those who have actually loved, this movie encapsulates what many of us go through. For those who have loved, who cant love, or who want to.....check this out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MiaG.Jan 23, 2005
One of the most painful films to sit through. You cannot really identify with a character as they're all so cold. You can't cry. Instead you end up with this heavy weight in your chest for the rest of the day.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DocA.Jan 29, 2005
People learn about sex from the movies and Closer is sex ed from hell. I say this as a nationally recognized sex therapist. It comes close to being an exposé of male sexual obsessions and insecurities but turns out to be endorsing People learn about sex from the movies and Closer is sex ed from hell. I say this as a nationally recognized sex therapist. It comes close to being an exposé of male sexual obsessions and insecurities but turns out to be endorsing them. Men really do have to prove how virile they are, the test being to outdo other men at satisfying women who are so unpredictable and untrustworthy that even after four anniversaries a woman may not reveal her real name. These are women who have no need for romance and who passively go with whomever meets their erotic needs. Sex is not for sissies. The writer has no idea what sex is about or what really goes on in heterosexual relationships. No one has commented on the subtext, that straight men are gay underneath. Both women are essentially irrelevant, only vessels through with the men bond and compete, beginning with Jude Law Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DarranL.Jan 29, 2005
A drab dreary film in need of a spark for the four talented actors to work with. One hour and forty minutes of my life that i wont get back.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MackeJFeb 16, 2005
Excellent film that gets better and better even after the cinema closes for the night and you get more time to think it through. A terrible exhibition of human behavior only because it is so true. The scenes in the end brings it up from a Excellent film that gets better and better even after the cinema closes for the night and you get more time to think it through. A terrible exhibition of human behavior only because it is so true. The scenes in the end brings it up from a weak 8 almost to a 9. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MistyS.Feb 16, 2005
Emotionally charging, out of breath, depressing sort of a film. Natalie Portman and Clive Owen's best work to date (and Croupier). Only quirk is that there are a few actors that would have fit Anna's (Roberts) part better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelH.Feb 28, 2005
I fail to see why this movie has engendered such controversy among reviewers here...so what if the characters are not likeable? The acting is great, Julia Roberts is really not bad at all and great to look at, the other actors do a terrific I fail to see why this movie has engendered such controversy among reviewers here...so what if the characters are not likeable? The acting is great, Julia Roberts is really not bad at all and great to look at, the other actors do a terrific job, the dialogue is mostly very fresh and refreshing, the plot is difficult to predict yet is not just an intellectual game... Not a perfect movie, maybe not a masterpiece but a very engaging piece of work. Are we, I assume, Americans, so puritanical even in the "liberal" precincts of the art movie going public, that we cannot stand to look at the uglier side of life even if it is draped in such visual beauty? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
billym.Apr 23, 2005
This movie would be a prime time movie to pick up chicks with, but is really somewhat boring if there are no chicks around. Now, please be aware that you should be prepared to see some extremely hot shots of Natalie Portman as a stripper, This movie would be a prime time movie to pick up chicks with, but is really somewhat boring if there are no chicks around. Now, please be aware that you should be prepared to see some extremely hot shots of Natalie Portman as a stripper, and I would personally say that this would be worth the price of a rental. Clive Owen is awesome, and Portman is also quite entertaining, though Jude and Julia aren't the worst. Also there is a cool Simths song, How Soon Is Now? somewhere alonh the line as well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelSApr 28, 2005
Unusual and unexpected...I enjoyed it completely...I find it hard to believe some found it "pornographic"... Certainly not for the kiddies, but pornographic??? Lighten up, ya prudes!!! Great film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ColbyC.Jun 29, 2005
This is proof that a movie doesn't need to make you feel good to be effect. Its purpose is to make you loathe these people, and hope that you don't become like them. It exposes their weaknesses (smoking as a metaphor here). Films This is proof that a movie doesn't need to make you feel good to be effect. Its purpose is to make you loathe these people, and hope that you don't become like them. It exposes their weaknesses (smoking as a metaphor here). Films this powerful are very rare, and performances like Clive Owen's do not come often, and should be embraced and praised when they do. My favorite film of last year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrentU.Mar 25, 2006
This is definitely a movie that will be either loved or hated. The acting is really outstanding, not hollywood cliche, but powerful and gritty with so much substance that it is easy to relate to each character as they develop through the This is definitely a movie that will be either loved or hated. The acting is really outstanding, not hollywood cliche, but powerful and gritty with so much substance that it is easy to relate to each character as they develop through the film. The story contains an overwhelming amount of raw emotion and honesty, and unfortunately I think this turns alot of viewers away, but the reality of the story is what I really appreciate about this film. If you have ever known love and heartache, this is a must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BarbieL.May 22, 2006
Problematically, Closer feels exactly like a play. Then in the credits I had my suspicions confirmed. The 4-person cast, ostentatious time lapses,and perpetually heady dialogue make a great play but a mediocre film. If only those like the Problematically, Closer feels exactly like a play. Then in the credits I had my suspicions confirmed. The 4-person cast, ostentatious time lapses,and perpetually heady dialogue make a great play but a mediocre film. If only those like the paralleled opening and closing sequences occured more frequently, Closer could truely be called a film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JoelT.Nov 27, 2007
Insufferably pretentious plot, insufferably contrived dialogue, insufferably self-important film. In short: insufferable. A hollow and disappointing offering from Nichols. And Natalie Portman may be purty, but she's a soulless phony. I Insufferably pretentious plot, insufferably contrived dialogue, insufferably self-important film. In short: insufferable. A hollow and disappointing offering from Nichols. And Natalie Portman may be purty, but she's a soulless phony. I don't think that piece of driftwood could act her way out of a paper bag if it had a hole cut it in. Don't get what all the fuss is about over her performance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AbbylJun 28, 2007
Closer was a surprising twist on love. Those who claim it is 'the worst' movie they have ever seen, have obviously never viewed the movies Norbit and Epic Movie. The characters were involved, the only disappointing part was that Closer was a surprising twist on love. Those who claim it is 'the worst' movie they have ever seen, have obviously never viewed the movies Norbit and Epic Movie. The characters were involved, the only disappointing part was that this movie was borderline pornography, not in the visual sense. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IgnatK.Sep 14, 2007
One of the very few movies showing true relations - with uniquely truthful direct speech between the characters, and amazing music selection!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
adant.Dec 17, 2005
One of the best movies I have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
wesker2012Jul 4, 2016
Movie about broken people. Wasn't as good as I remembered in the past. Not very realistic...........................................................
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SpangleDec 21, 2016
There is something about Closer than is entirely off-putting. It is not the fact that it is a film about four people that are, well, unsavory characters. I can handle films about people I do not care for. The problem with Closer is it feelsThere is something about Closer than is entirely off-putting. It is not the fact that it is a film about four people that are, well, unsavory characters. I can handle films about people I do not care for. The problem with Closer is it feels like a 2000s drama that is soulless. I have seen this a few times before (The Reader by Stephen Daldry comes to mind immediately) and there was something about this film that made me feel as though it would not be my cup of tea. This was ultimately the case, even though I did keep an open mind while watching this film. The experience, however, is just far too hollow and director Mike Nichols' cynical look at love just feels surface deep. We all get that love is challenging and messy, but Closer is mostly unengaging and just seems to float by and offer obvious insight into the messy nature of love. That said, there are positives to Closer. As always, it is marvelously well-written for the most part and the acting is terrific. In particular, Natalie Portman steals the show, though Clive Owen turns in a good performance as well.

Showing the romantic lives of Anna (Julia Roberts), Daniel (Jude Law), Alice (Natalie Portman), and Larry (Clive Owen), the film shows the four characters swapping dates pretty consistently. Alice and Daniel sleep together. Daniel and Anna sleep together. Anna and Larry sleep together. Larry and Alice sleep together. Everybody is sleeping with each other in this film. Complementing these scenes are the people finding out their significant other slept with somebody else. Everybody cheats here and the film does have a lot to say about infidelity. For Nichols, infidelity is clearly a common act, but one that needs to be admitted to immediately. Though common, it is still disgusting, but only if you do not admit to it immediately. Case in point, Larry cheats on Anna with a hooker but tells her immediately. Meanwhile, Anna is heavily criticized for sleeping with Daniel for over a year, but never telling Larry until he brought up his infidelity. Moral of the story: cheat on your significant other, but be upfront about it and things will be alright. This is a constant thread as the people consistently want confirmation that their significant others slept with somebody else and then only get mad when they do not admit to it immediately. Other than this, Closer offers insight into how sex can be used as a weapon to hurt others, people's insatiable desire to cheat on their significant other, and how love hurts and can never be enough to keep somebody. Insightful stuff.

Closer is also plagued by its timeline. Jumping forward by years upon years at the drop of a hat, Closer lost me more than once in its timeline. All of a sudden, Daniel and Alice had just met and then, immediately afterward, it was a year later. This is where a large portion of the soullessness I mentioned previously derives from. This desire to speed things along comes at the expense of developing a connection between us and the characters. Yes, there is a lot revealed in the scenes shown, but the process of them falling in and out of love would be a lot more emotional and rewarding if we got to see more than just a highlight reel of their relationship.

This said, Closer has great dialogue. I may mock its relationship insights, but it is hard to deny that its relationships are well created in the moments we are given with them. Here, they can be powerful at times, in particular when Alice and Daniel embrace after he admits to cheating on her with Anna. This scene is very emotional and highlights the tremendous performance by Portman. Throughout, she steals the show and really puts in an emotionally raw performance. No matter the scene, she is the highlight of this film. Similarly, Owen - as a scorned lover and pervert - is brilliant. He has a natural charisma and it really shows here as he able to play such a chilly character with a cool, laid back demeanor throughout. However, he is equally adept at turning it up a notch, such as when he confronts Julia Roberts' Anna about her infidelity. An intense scene, Owen wins the scene by capturing both the anger and the pain that Larry feels in this moment as he presses her for intimate details about Anna and Daniel.

Though disappointing, Closer affords a great opportunity to watch great actors do their thing. Other than a few scenes that were noted above though, Closer lacks the emotion and insight needed to actually pull off a film of this type. None of its takes are revolutionary and instead feel entirely derivative and cliche takes on love, rather than an examination into the lives of these characters.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
moviemaniacAug 17, 2012
I think this movie is not too bad, and I guess there is no joy in this movie but overall the cast in this movie is very good in the act it. This movie is stated about the honesty
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
yesterdayatnoonAug 3, 2015
I don't think I've ever watched a worse movie except for Spawn. I understand the desire to write a movie full of adults who behave the way a high schooler might imagine adults behave, but you spend most of the movie embarrassed for theI don't think I've ever watched a worse movie except for Spawn. I understand the desire to write a movie full of adults who behave the way a high schooler might imagine adults behave, but you spend most of the movie embarrassed for the writer wondering "at what age did they realize how vacuous their notion of social interaction was when they wrote this". I highly recommend it for people who are constantly baffled by a growing distance between friends and family as they are socially marooned by their own social inadequacy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
KivaJul 9, 2013
Closer is a great film. Jude Law, Natalie Portman and Clive Owen were amazing. Julia roberts was good too. The plot was smart and I have to say that it is a funny drama romantic film. It is not like all the american kind of these films.Closer is a great film. Jude Law, Natalie Portman and Clive Owen were amazing. Julia roberts was good too. The plot was smart and I have to say that it is a funny drama romantic film. It is not like all the american kind of these films. Closer is a masterpiece of its kind and i have to admit that I didn't expect it to be such a good film. The screenplay is smart and it has a "twist" which i liked a lot. Thumbs up! The actors should have won the Oscar 8,5/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews