Cloverfield

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 895 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. WestSider
    Jan 23, 2008
    5
    Cloverfield has many good elements...but the camera work was not one of them. Perhaps they should have used some conventional angles to move the story along and show some of the bigger events in physical perspective? Also the characterization was nil...I agree with the Times review that at a certain point I was rooting for the monster...but that is what you get when you use all of 5-10 Cloverfield has many good elements...but the camera work was not one of them. Perhaps they should have used some conventional angles to move the story along and show some of the bigger events in physical perspective? Also the characterization was nil...I agree with the Times review that at a certain point I was rooting for the monster...but that is what you get when you use all of 5-10 minutes to develop the main characters. Expand
  2. GaryP.
    Mar 1, 2008
    5
    Cloverfield was a big dissapointment for me. The story begins with a farewell party which is extremely dull and gives no insight into the plot. You actually wonder if you came to the correct film. Although it gets much better when the actual action seems to start, it is a poorly executed film in my opinion with too much expensive CGI and absolutely no plot. The idea is good, and the Cloverfield was a big dissapointment for me. The story begins with a farewell party which is extremely dull and gives no insight into the plot. You actually wonder if you came to the correct film. Although it gets much better when the actual action seems to start, it is a poorly executed film in my opinion with too much expensive CGI and absolutely no plot. The idea is good, and the camera work would be realistic to that situation but it is extremely hard to follow the action at times, which defeats the point of watching it. It is basically people running around Manhattan manically trying not to get viscerated by the monster whilst giving you a visual assault on the eyes. It is one of those films that you desperately want to find something to get into story wise because it has some obvious quality, but when it ends you realise that there is no story and know less than you did when the film started. There is no beginning or ending and nothing to follow story wise through the film. A good film must convey it's message to the audience. Cloverfield did nothing. I really wanted to the monster to win because it would have seen some action, such is the lack of plot. Visuals: 9 Entertainment: 6 Plot: 2 Value for Money: 3 I would not recommend seeing this. It is destined for the £2.99 bargain bin at Morrisons. Expand
  3. Ezekial
    Apr 6, 2008
    6
    Blair Witch Project meets Godzilla? It was entertaining but at the end you are left confused and somewhat angry. The movie leaves out way to many pieces of information for my liking. Decent overall though worth a rent.
  4. ChristineM.
    May 24, 2008
    5
    The camera work was very jumpy but that was to be expected. I was very dissapointed that in the end they offered NO explanation as to what happened even after it was obvious they found the video after the fact. It left to uch open to debate as far as what actually happened. I feel like watching this was a waste of my time.
  5. CrisL.
    May 25, 2008
    4
    Visual affects brilliant although the story was very ordinary ,Left in suspense through the film and it just cut off with no ending. The first person's view I did not like.I walked away feeling "what a wast of my time".
  6. Noah
    Jan 18, 2008
    5
    Great monster, but the shaky camera ruined it. I understand that they were trying to make it look like it was shot on someone's home camera, but they couldn't ever keep the camera still for more than 2 seconds. I got motion sickness and had to spend about half of the movie listening with my eyes closed so that I wouldn't puke.
  7. MikeS.
    Jan 19, 2008
    5
    If you have to watch this abysmal film...sit in the very back...the constant shaking camera will make you puke...the monster is awesome...I wish it was filmed in an alternative style more complacent with my stomach cause I might have enjoyed it otherwise.
  8. DarenM.
    Jan 19, 2008
    6
    Simply put, Blair Witch videography meets War of the Worlds alien attack action. If you can handle the nausiating camera angles and swings and the rediculously stubborn characters which will cause you to curse at them for their stupidity, then this is a flick worth seeing simply for it's special effects and occasional creepy shock value. With little gore (PG13) but acceptable Simply put, Blair Witch videography meets War of the Worlds alien attack action. If you can handle the nausiating camera angles and swings and the rediculously stubborn characters which will cause you to curse at them for their stupidity, then this is a flick worth seeing simply for it's special effects and occasional creepy shock value. With little gore (PG13) but acceptable suspense, surprises and alien attacks, it does satisfy a bored movie goer. I would rate this "wait for the DVD" and then watch it at home in the dark with the audio turned way up. "We've got a bite!" Expand
  9. ChrisK.
    Jan 23, 2008
    6
    Being a fan of this sort of thing I went to the opening midnight showing- it was so packed full I was stuck in the second row and after about 20 minutes was getting a headache from the hand held camera work. I stood in the back so I was glad it wasn't too long. This movie is Blair witch meets Godzilla narrated by a nerdy guy helping his friend try to save his girlfriend. If I Being a fan of this sort of thing I went to the opening midnight showing- it was so packed full I was stuck in the second row and after about 20 minutes was getting a headache from the hand held camera work. I stood in the back so I was glad it wasn't too long. This movie is Blair witch meets Godzilla narrated by a nerdy guy helping his friend try to save his girlfriend. If I actually believed this guy loved her then it might have worked. Special effects were OK but not enough monster. Personally I felt this film could've been a lot better if it used traditional filmmaking techniques - you barely see the creature(s?) and there is no soundtrack so much of the drama is missing. Has all the elements for a sequel which could be much better and answer a few questions. I'm glad to see monsters making a comeback instead of psychos like SAW. If I want psychos I can just turn on the news if I want giant creatures causing destruction I go to the movies so for that reason I gave it a 6. Expand
  10. AlbinG
    Feb 3, 2008
    5
    Firstly, Jay G. All the opinions which you dismissed had perfectly valid complaints. Just because it is handcam doesn't mean continuity can be cast aside. And The Blair Witch Godzilla aproject is a very good description of this movie. Home made feel footage but with a monster terrorizing a city. And the fact that you have dismissed all their opinions and pronounced that they Firstly, Jay G. All the opinions which you dismissed had perfectly valid complaints. Just because it is handcam doesn't mean continuity can be cast aside. And The Blair Witch Godzilla aproject is a very good description of this movie. Home made feel footage but with a monster terrorizing a city. And the fact that you have dismissed all their opinions and pronounced that they can't be critics since they don't agree with you is just absurd. Now. I knew what this movie would entail before i got there. Hand held cam style footage of a group of people in the aftermath of a city destroyed bya monster. And i got just that. But it wasn't at all entertaining. Firstly, the only reason the story continued was one guys illogical and unreasonable need to go BACK into the city. I wonder how this will turn out? Couldn't they have stuck with a survival theme? Running from the monster to get out of the city? Instead the monster turns into a foot note in the plot. The camera work was bad. That is all i can say. Just because it's a handycam doesn't mean it can't be pointed at interesting things now and then. Unless one of the miriad plot points that were neglected explanation was that the camera man has a foot fetish. I lost count of the number of times we catch a glimpse of the monster only to have the camera pan and leave it hovering just off screen. Why is the guy carrying the camera to document this stuff if all he films is being scrambling down a roof? Just simple changes like having him pause to let others by and taking that time to record the monster doing something. ANYTHING. The jarring quality of the footage sent 2 of my mates out due to motion sickness. The shacky-cam gimmick became tedious and unnecessary after 10 minutes. The overly long intro did nothing to convince me of the important relationship around which the movie subsequently revolves. I honestly didn't care whether they achieved their goal or not. Nothing is ever answered about the monster. There were some positives. A few good scenes in the streets where we get to see that the monster is nearby and a genuine threat. Only then did i feel an urgency about their running. I can't get scared if i don't know what is happening. It showed that frantic shacky cam can work in short bursts, but not for a whole film. A better choice would have been either a first person perspective, seeing what they see, or film by a news crew, getting both the panic and realism whilst still SEEING enough to feel involved. If you have a phobia of shoes or pavements, you'll be scared out of your seat. Expand
  11. JimC.
    Feb 3, 2008
    4
    There was bad acting and the camera work was terrible. It got annoying after a while, but overall it was okay I guess. I liked the statue of liberty head flying off.
  12. TimW
    Feb 4, 2008
    4
    Cloverfield was not a great movie. I was told there would be scares and jump-out-of-your-seat moments. I didn't jump once. Also, I found the characters unengaging. The party scene at the beginning was way too long and dull, populated as it was by cardboard characters.
  13. PaulJ.
    Feb 4, 2008
    5
    I thought it was ok although I got a bit seasick from the shaky camera. If they had a bigger budget perhaps they could afford a new tripod that has steady legs.
  14. JayH.
    Apr 16, 2008
    6
    Sort of a Blair Witch meets Godzilla in New York. Although I have to admire the originality of the film, the camcorder filming gets nerve wracking. It has it's moments though, but I was never convinced, in spite of it's realistic filming.
  15. MarkD
    Jun 9, 2008
    5
    I can just imagine the discussions between the writers and producers while making this film. ""This film's got no plot, shallow characters and is completly lacking in any original ideas or emotional content. What can we do?"" ""I know why don't we film it in a camcorder style. That should cover up all the shortcomings and fool the reviewers into thinking we're making I can just imagine the discussions between the writers and producers while making this film. ""This film's got no plot, shallow characters and is completly lacking in any original ideas or emotional content. What can we do?"" ""I know why don't we film it in a camcorder style. That should cover up all the shortcomings and fool the reviewers into thinking we're making somthing clever and revolutionary. Well it worked for Blair Which."" Expand
  16. SMc
    Jul 21, 2008
    5
    Biggest pile of shit in my life, got to the point where it could have been a 7/10 then just falls over and dies.
  17. BenC.
    Nov 10, 2008
    4
    Suspenseful, but not enjoyable. Clover itself is a pretty poor monster compared to say, some of the Godzilla movie monsters.
  18. MikeN.
    Jan 18, 2008
    6
    I have a lot to say so I
  19. ChadS.
    Jan 19, 2008
    4
    "Cloverfield" is a retarded art film. To put this ambitious gambit of a movie in perspective, you need to be a movie buff; not a snob(who only watches art-house fare); or a fanboy(who only watches mainstream junk); but rather somebody who has seen it all. And let me tell you: I've seen it all, and "Cloverfield" is something new. It's like watching "Godzilla" directed by "Cloverfield" is a retarded art film. To put this ambitious gambit of a movie in perspective, you need to be a movie buff; not a snob(who only watches art-house fare); or a fanboy(who only watches mainstream junk); but rather somebody who has seen it all. And let me tell you: I've seen it all, and "Cloverfield" is something new. It's like watching "Godzilla" directed by Jean-Pierre and Luc Dardenne("Rosetta", "L'Enfant"); an event film that eschews Hollywood convention for avant-garde disconformity, most notably, the emphasization of form over content. "Cloverfield" is a film you want to cheer for because it brazenly invites audience polarization. We haven't seen a film in wide-release so willing to simulate an amateurish shooting style since "The Blair Witch Project". What "Cloverfield" lacks, however, are characters who act like people(the versimilitude of Heather Donahue's performance in the Eduardo Sanchez & Daniel Myrick film made the Sundance fave from 1999, an artistic and financial success). Paper-thin characters hamper this film's attempt to conjure up the 9/11 tragedy from a you-are-there perspective. We can take only so much of, "Oh, my God! Oh, my God!" Expand
  20. wutung
    Jan 19, 2008
    6
    This movie is a mashup of godzilla, 28 weeks later, starcraft and the blair witch, all the events woven together in some cheesy love story. The monster/disaster movie from 1st person handcam idea works, but instead of reworking the cliches, it should have at least tried to be original.
  21. JC
    Jan 21, 2008
    5
    Plot was horrible. Who would go back into a city with an undefeatable monster to save someone. Action was pretty good, but the camera sucked. This movie had way too much hype. The first 30 min at the party were absolutely terrible. I don't recommend seeing this movie
  22. BobbyE
    Jan 23, 2008
    5
    Interesting idea to have the whole movie from a camcorder point of view buts thats about it. Entertaining but only for a see it one time type of flick. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone who is trying to watch a good movie or anyone trying to watch a scary movie because it falls short in both of those categories. At the end of the day, if your just trying to pass time its not a bad Interesting idea to have the whole movie from a camcorder point of view buts thats about it. Entertaining but only for a see it one time type of flick. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone who is trying to watch a good movie or anyone trying to watch a scary movie because it falls short in both of those categories. At the end of the day, if your just trying to pass time its not a bad idea to go ahead and watch this movie but don't be upset if you are happy at the end because it will not meet high expectations which this movie had for some reason. Expand
  23. Thekgv
    Jan 31, 2008
    4
    I went with 3 friends to this movie expecting to either love it or hate it, and instead came out of the theatre feeling underwhelmed by the experience. This feeling was also shared by my friends as well. Now before you decide to classify us as 1) uncultured philistines (because we don't love the movie) or 2) Sundance Diretor wannabes (because we do love the movie) I should let you I went with 3 friends to this movie expecting to either love it or hate it, and instead came out of the theatre feeling underwhelmed by the experience. This feeling was also shared by my friends as well. Now before you decide to classify us as 1) uncultured philistines (because we don't love the movie) or 2) Sundance Diretor wannabes (because we do love the movie) I should let you know that as a group, we have seen movie of all genres and have had dissenting opinions of movies, so we aren't clones and individually we do have different tastes in movies. All 4 of us felt that the camcorder thing was way overdone (maybe a little more steadiness?) and none of the 5 w's regarding the monster were answered (even if they had answered three of the five w's it would have satisfied us). Expand
  24. ChrisJ.
    Feb 2, 2008
    6
    Overall little substance but this film does manage to evoke a range of emotions including dizziness from its sledgehammer approach. There are also a few genuinely creepy moments. Overall enjoyable but can't help but think it could have been better.
  25. SeanC.
    Mar 31, 2008
    5
    Pretty cool idea but the camera style is annoying. Two reasons for that is it creates a false sense of action especially when no real plot development is evident. The second reason, the movie made half the theatre so sick they couldn't even watch most of the film. Not so cool when you pay 9 bucks for a film. The sequel, which is already in development, better not be anything like the Pretty cool idea but the camera style is annoying. Two reasons for that is it creates a false sense of action especially when no real plot development is evident. The second reason, the movie made half the theatre so sick they couldn't even watch most of the film. Not so cool when you pay 9 bucks for a film. The sequel, which is already in development, better not be anything like the camera style in the first one. Expand
  26. ModestusQ.
    Apr 23, 2008
    6
    I knew within the first 5 minutes of 'Cloverfield' that this would be the kind of entertainment that truly polarized audiences. The opening party scene is forgettable and doesn't really do anything to give the main players more than one dimension. However, once the action explodes...um, literally, 'Cloverfield' becomes a fascinating experiment, despite the fact I knew within the first 5 minutes of 'Cloverfield' that this would be the kind of entertainment that truly polarized audiences. The opening party scene is forgettable and doesn't really do anything to give the main players more than one dimension. However, once the action explodes...um, literally, 'Cloverfield' becomes a fascinating experiment, despite the fact that it's also a bit frustrating. I'm not sure that the actors truly sold a significant "I'm here! This is happening!" perspective. Rather than implanting an impression of realism and reactive instinct, I found the performances to be too self conscious and modulated, more theater than verismo. The premise is fantastic. The 'things left unseen' approach works for most of the film. And, I think the action was accessible enough to carry the film through the lulls. Whether the 'camcorder' photography remains a novel or gimmicky approach, it's a bit of a toss up. Despite the flaws, including a deep lack of story momentum, I found the film entertaining. And, that is that! Expand
  27. PaulW.
    Apr 6, 2008
    4
    What could have been a great contribution to the film's genre, is frankly wasted almost right from the start. Once again (like in War of the Worlds) some ill conceived group of people, who are so unlikable, air-headed and preposterously good looking, you could swear they were from another movie, is thrown at the audience as if to say: 'Hi folks, these are your protagonists for What could have been a great contribution to the film's genre, is frankly wasted almost right from the start. Once again (like in War of the Worlds) some ill conceived group of people, who are so unlikable, air-headed and preposterously good looking, you could swear they were from another movie, is thrown at the audience as if to say: 'Hi folks, these are your protagonists for this evening's entertainment. We apologize for any inconvenience.' Why do we once again have to suffer through the most impressive collection of jawdroppingly dumb yuppies, whose existence somehow seems to revolve around spewing the most vapid conversation around like if it was a sport. Cloverfield has some very impressive and convincing CGI, but when are we finally going to get treated to this art-form in a movie together with a great story and on par dialog? Transformers, another CGI wonder, was nearly unwatchable for the exact same reason. I realize that it's a cliché when I say that this movie could and should have been SO much better. Not in gritty realism, it covers that bit quite well (although I would have preferred some sort of mix of steady-cam and not-steady-cam footage, but rather through a decent plot, a decent (and relevant) build-up and a feasible script. Expand
  28. Chris
    Jan 25, 2010
    4
    To summarise the movie in one sentence: Godzilla, but without any closure. Slightly longer review would be that it has its moments; there are a fair few exciting parts which I think were done well and the acting overall was quite good, however it has more cons than pros. As much as people like the camera work, it really does get annoying after a while. Even if it is "more realistic", we To summarise the movie in one sentence: Godzilla, but without any closure. Slightly longer review would be that it has its moments; there are a fair few exciting parts which I think were done well and the acting overall was quite good, however it has more cons than pros. As much as people like the camera work, it really does get annoying after a while. Even if it is "more realistic", we don't necessarily want realism the entire time (hence why we're watching a film about a big alien invading NYC (on that note, why is it ALWAYS NYC?)), and it just gets really annoying having to look at the floor for 20% of the film. So, camera work aside, the film essentially has the exact same plot as Godzilla so it gets no marks for originality there. Still working with the Godzilla comparison though, Godzilla had a better ending at least: Cloverfield just tails off. Expand
  29. Carrie
    Jan 19, 2008
    4
    If you do not get motion sickness easily, this is the movie for you. My friend and I had to not watch half of the movie because we felt sick to our stomache. The monster is like a half whale half godzilla, and the special effetcs are great, just bring a puke bag with you incase
  30. Marcus
    Jan 21, 2008
    5
    This movie was a bust, over hyped the camera work was very bad. The monster looked kool but the story and direction of this movie was very bad. The only people that will like this movie are people who like weird dumbass movies....
  31. MattR
    Jan 22, 2008
    5
    I had high expectations and..... By far the biggest disappointment in a long time. Story was corny, not in depth at all. Just overall a huge disappointment. IF you see this movie wait till its on vidoe ot at the cheap theater. If you wait for video you wont get as bad a headache watching it.
  32. ED.
    Jan 22, 2008
    6
    The concept was good, but the home movie scenario definitely was not a plus. The party segment was way too long and very boring. The characters in the movie were tedious to say the least. By the end of the movie I would have liked to have killed them myself. It is a shame they didn't have decent cinematography, and maybe included a military look at trying to destroy the monster. The concept was good, but the home movie scenario definitely was not a plus. The party segment was way too long and very boring. The characters in the movie were tedious to say the least. By the end of the movie I would have liked to have killed them myself. It is a shame they didn't have decent cinematography, and maybe included a military look at trying to destroy the monster. Overall: a missed opportunity to make a good horror movie. Expand
  33. DennisS.
    Feb 16, 2008
    6
    1/6 shaky boredom, 5/6 shaky tenseness. Nice effects, shallow story. It's probably a Marmite-film and you'll either hate or love it.
  34. 66Goat
    Apr 27, 2008
    4
    If you watch the special features on the DVD you will appreciate the tremendous effort that went into this film. They really wanted it to be something special. And it was except for the camerawork. Such a shame. In their zeal to make it realistic, the audience is subjected to near torture. Most of the time the action is at a 45 degree angle. If they wanted to make it that realistic, why If you watch the special features on the DVD you will appreciate the tremendous effort that went into this film. They really wanted it to be something special. And it was except for the camerawork. Such a shame. In their zeal to make it realistic, the audience is subjected to near torture. Most of the time the action is at a 45 degree angle. If they wanted to make it that realistic, why not just have the hero drop the camera and show a curb for an hour? Makes about as much sense. This would have been a 10 if only they showed a bit of amatuerish camerawork to give the idea, they film it more or less normally. Expand
  35. TimC.
    May 22, 2008
    5
    The concept was good, however, the first 15 minutes was very annoying and there was no shock value in the film at all ... meaning that every event could be seen from miles away by anyone with a brain stem. The last 20 minutes was passable and even cool but all in all the mixture of Blair Witch / Godzilla and 9-11 was unimpressive and did not bring the concept justice. I don't quite The concept was good, however, the first 15 minutes was very annoying and there was no shock value in the film at all ... meaning that every event could be seen from miles away by anyone with a brain stem. The last 20 minutes was passable and even cool but all in all the mixture of Blair Witch / Godzilla and 9-11 was unimpressive and did not bring the concept justice. I don't quite think it was a waste of time but I'm glad I only payed $1.08 to see it. Expand
  36. TiagoM.
    Jun 26, 2008
    4
    The idea is look realistic, very realistic. But the action and the caracters are unreal. Very unreal.
  37. HughM.
    Jul 17, 2008
    5
    Wow, I LOVE reading all the comments on this movie. People, it's make believe! Don't take it so seriously! I've seen plenty better, but also a lot worse movies this year. It's ok, acting is fine, special effects are really good, story line is so-so. Camera work grates at times, but is central to the story. Makes an alright dvd night in.
  38. DaveM.
    Nov 28, 2009
    5
    Cloverfield is a Blair Witch version of a monster flick featuring a very silly looking monster. The viral marketing campaign was far more clever than the movie itself. Enough with these shaky-cam films already!
  39. Oct 16, 2010
    6
    The effects and story are really good and this could of been the perfect monster movie if it hadn't been spoilt by some bad acting. It is really sensationalist and completley unbelieveable. The Movie gets a 6 for effects alone but better casting would of been nice.
  40. Jun 25, 2011
    5
    This JJ Abrams directed sci-fi / disaster movie has an interesting bent: the film is wrapped within the context of the a top-secret federal body reviewing hand-held documentary evidence - the body of the film. As such the medium itself becomes a plot device. Through the narrow shaky lens of a handycam horrors are half glimpsed, footage cuts out, it feels quite real. Unfortunately I couldThis JJ Abrams directed sci-fi / disaster movie has an interesting bent: the film is wrapped within the context of the a top-secret federal body reviewing hand-held documentary evidence - the body of the film. As such the medium itself becomes a plot device. Through the narrow shaky lens of a handycam horrors are half glimpsed, footage cuts out, it feels quite real. Unfortunately I could not feel for the central characters - annoying mid / late 20's New Yorkers with *sigh* relationship problems. And bad taste in music. Things get hairy - it's all just sturm und drang from there on - I assume - I could not be bothered with the end. A bit weak Expand
  41. Nov 19, 2011
    6
    Eh it was ok. Really just a typical movie if you look past the whole Shakey Cam thing. It was interesting and entertaining enough to keep you watching though so thats a plus but thats about it. Also its rather boring in the begining.
  42. Mar 19, 2011
    5
    Clover field is what I call ok and boring. Its cliched and not that scary I mean the first 30 minutes of the movie was just love and drama. Although It does borrow some scary elements like not showing the monster it doesn't work. Rather than being creepy its annoying.
  43. Sep 7, 2011
    6
    Overall, this is a decently enjoyable movie. The biggest problems are the slow start (although it does make the movie more exciting when things do start happening) and the abrupt ending. It is too short, and there is no resolution (not that that's surprising in a JJ Abrams movie). However the action sequences are very well done, and it has a very real feel to it, mostly due to theOverall, this is a decently enjoyable movie. The biggest problems are the slow start (although it does make the movie more exciting when things do start happening) and the abrupt ending. It is too short, and there is no resolution (not that that's surprising in a JJ Abrams movie). However the action sequences are very well done, and it has a very real feel to it, mostly due to the often-criticized, purposefully shoddy camera work. Also, the easter egg at the end was pretty cool: see if you can catch it. Expand
  44. Sep 17, 2011
    5
    I admit the movie was a crazy, thrilling ride. However, just because "Cloverfield" was filmed in first person perspective doesn't mean it is a good movie.
  45. Mar 7, 2012
    6
    When I first watched it, I really liked it. However thinking about the film in my head above, I cant help but think how overrated it is. The cast is average at best, The whole shakey cam adds to the film a bit but its overrated. It was an interesting monster film that offers a bit of suspense and excitement. Worth checking out imo.
  46. Apr 2, 2012
    6
    I'm not sure how I felt about all the camera work, but I suppose that added to the creativity. I kind of wish I didn't see that big stupid green monster at the end, but it was still dark and scary at times.
  47. Jan 12, 2013
    5
    No surprise in this film that is not a masterpiece.
  48. Dec 27, 2012
    4
    While there is a good premise, and although I do understand the reason why they shot the film the way they did - all in all, this is at best, a late-night movie and not a grand cinematic experience what could expect. Diagnosis: You're not missing much if you pass it, and you might like it. The effects are terrific!
  49. Mar 6, 2016
    6
    There are choices in 'Cloverfield' that work, but there are a lot more which don't. It's disappointing movie from many standpoints, and whilst the thrilling action scenes with the monsters are awesome! They are brief, and instead we are caught up in an uninteresting story. However, I'd give this movie the benefit of the doubt because of its replay-ability, for there are definitely elementsThere are choices in 'Cloverfield' that work, but there are a lot more which don't. It's disappointing movie from many standpoints, and whilst the thrilling action scenes with the monsters are awesome! They are brief, and instead we are caught up in an uninteresting story. However, I'd give this movie the benefit of the doubt because of its replay-ability, for there are definitely elements in this movie that you may have missed. Expand
  50. Jul 10, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Cloverfield wasn't a bad movie, but I wasn't head over heels in love with it either. The action and special effects were very good. I thought the monster and its little "Parasites" looked very realistic. The bombing sequences were captured very nicely. The movie was very suspenseful throughout. I loved how they captured it with the video camera. I've seen that aspect used in a similar sci-fi film "Chronicle". The plot was very unique for a sci-fi/thriller.
    The bad points were that there was absolutely no character development what so ever. I couldn't relate or get attached to these characters lives and what they were going through. I think they could have done a better job when it came to showing more of the characters back stories and what they had to lose.
    Another bad point was that it was very predictable. I think most people could predict that everyone would die in the end. It was overall a decent sci-fi/thriller. It may seem boring at the very beginning, but if you watch it until the end, I think you'll be satisfied.
    Expand
  51. Jun 19, 2016
    6
    Basically an updated version of "The Blair Witch Project" with a giant monster attacking New York City instead of a mysterious ghost attacking kids in the woods. While it does provide you with some suspense and jumps here and there, its almost immediately undone by the lack of meaningful plot with so much shaky cam you'll be sick with a headache by the end of the film. The monster wasBasically an updated version of "The Blair Witch Project" with a giant monster attacking New York City instead of a mysterious ghost attacking kids in the woods. While it does provide you with some suspense and jumps here and there, its almost immediately undone by the lack of meaningful plot with so much shaky cam you'll be sick with a headache by the end of the film. The monster was cool, however but like I said theres no backstory on where the monster came from, how it got there why its there and what the monster even is or if it got defeated in the end. The monster is literally just there, like a giant plot device. Expand
  52. Aug 29, 2015
    6
    Cloverfield is one of the few found footage films that I can tolerate watching. There is a lot of talent behind this film in Matt Reeves, who went on to direct Dawn of the Planet of the Apes, and JJ Abrams, who is directing the new Star Wars movie. Cloverfield is not as scary as I hoped although the acting is better than your average found footage movie, there are some actors that you mayCloverfield is one of the few found footage films that I can tolerate watching. There is a lot of talent behind this film in Matt Reeves, who went on to direct Dawn of the Planet of the Apes, and JJ Abrams, who is directing the new Star Wars movie. Cloverfield is not as scary as I hoped although the acting is better than your average found footage movie, there are some actors that you may recognize from tv or other films like TJ Miller and Lizzy Caplan. This film really falls into a lot of the same problems that other found footage movies have. I really liked the look of the monsters in this film but the reveal was a long time coming. Expand
  53. Mar 19, 2015
    4
    The idea for this movie is intriguing but man this movie is going to receive a poor score for me.
    I'm not even going to go into music man but if there was a musical aspect that I'd like to fix it'd be the damn antagonist. Boring, unoriginal, can we try again??
    Like I said, this movie has an intriguing way of making it all from the viewpoint of a camcorder but sigh...for all my motion
    The idea for this movie is intriguing but man this movie is going to receive a poor score for me.
    I'm not even going to go into music man but if there was a musical aspect that I'd like to fix it'd be the damn antagonist. Boring, unoriginal, can we try again??

    Like I said, this movie has an intriguing way of making it all from the viewpoint of a camcorder but sigh...for all my motion sickness friends, you're going to wonder who picked this movie and how you can get them back.

    Look, you'll be entertained and interested bits and pieces throughout the film, but I promise there is nothing that makes you go "OH wow I appreciate that". They even cut off alot of the interesting parts. Like how are you going to do that to me JJ Abrams (producer)?? Im watching you really hard for Star wars 7.

    I always see if they did their homework on background/setting/historical context. and yeah it was cool seeing New York again but how many times do we want to see the same things over and over again in a monster film. Anyway, this review is to tell you the truth so if you want to watch a movie just like this, go on ahead and skip this to check out "I Am Legend" featuring Will Smith.

    Word to describe this movie: Despair. You're sitting there more figuring out what is going on and trying to find a reason to enjoy the movie..but you cant, it's a trap.

    Dont watch this alone because you'll end up feeling really guilty and have no one to share the pain with. If you do watch this with friends, get another movie when renting/streaming this ready. Recommend this to anyone to end friendships. I'm also willing to fight anyone who gives this a rating above 7
    Expand
  54. Apr 4, 2016
    6
    Cloverfield has ups, and has downs too. The film has a lot of action involved, and keeps you on the edge of the seat most of the time, but it can be boring, and it can be very long too.
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 37
  2. Negative: 4 out of 37
  1. 75
    Cloverfield's gritty, in-your-face style is uncompromising. If you're looking for a nice, clean movie filmed with a steadycam, you'll have to look elsewhere.
  2. Think "Godzilla Unplugged" -- with chillingly effective results.
  3. Cloverfield, a surreptitiously subversive, stylistically clever little gem of an entertainment disguised, under its deadpan-neutral title, as a dumb Gen-YouTube monster movie, makes the convincingly chilling argument that the world will end -- or, at least, Manhattan will crumble -- with a bang and a whimper.