Paramount Pictures | Release Date: January 18, 2008
6.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 946 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
597
Mixed:
110
Negative:
239
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
kathrynk.Jan 20, 2008
What a wonderfully thrilling movie experience this film was. I was part of a group of several people, ranging in age from 20 to 62, who saw this movie together and unanimously loved it! I can see how some parts of the movie would be judged What a wonderfully thrilling movie experience this film was. I was part of a group of several people, ranging in age from 20 to 62, who saw this movie together and unanimously loved it! I can see how some parts of the movie would be judged difficult to watch because of the hand-held camera work, but all of us agreed that this just heightened the sense of what we were watching as happening in real time. Anyway, if my sixty-one-year-old mother was able to cope with the camera work, I don't see how anyone else couldn't, and my mother is prone to car sickness! She just closed her eyes at some of the more difficult parts to watch. I say just cowboy-up and go see this film. Don't wait for it to come out on DVD or you'll be robbing yourself of a good time. "Cloverfield" should be enjoyed on a theater screen with a shattering sound system! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HooahJan 21, 2008
This is a great movie!!!!! do not pay attention to the people saying otherwise. GREAT effects! good acting, Great directing, jumped out of my seat MANY times, it kept you thinking what, how, why IF YOU ARE GOING TO SEE A MOVIE SEE THIS ONE!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
c.notasJan 20, 2008
I thought this movie was one of the best movies i have ever seen. I would definetly give this 10/10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeteH.Feb 25, 2008
The second most astonishing experience I've ever enjoyed at the cinema, the first being the original Star Wars when I was five. I was lucky and somehow completely missed the hype, so I went in with only low-level expectations given the The second most astonishing experience I've ever enjoyed at the cinema, the first being the original Star Wars when I was five. I was lucky and somehow completely missed the hype, so I went in with only low-level expectations given the large amounts of negative commentary on the net. For the first twenty minutes some annoying kids were burping and swearing in the cinema (bless - up past their bedtimes) but as soon as things kicked off they sat there in stunned silence, just like everyone else. We all shuffled out of the cinema mumbling and punch drunk. I completely forgot to eat my popcorn and my bloody hands were shaking! When did a movie last do that to me? Er... never, dude. Not even watching Alien on video alone in a large house with the lights out when I was thirteen. Brilliant special effects, even better sound. Totally suspends disbelief, it's horribly, horribly real-feeling. The videocam storytelling technique completely removes the fourth wall, so the audience is right there trapped in New York with the rampaging monsters. Absolute genius, bloody terrifying, short, horrific and sweet as hell. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanPFeb 2, 2008
People who gave this a low score totally missed the point of this movie. This film was near on perfect the characters were introduced well, the action scenes were amazing. The monster had enough coverage and every loss of a character made People who gave this a low score totally missed the point of this movie. This film was near on perfect the characters were introduced well, the action scenes were amazing. The monster had enough coverage and every loss of a character made you feel for the others left behind. It was the quiet scenes like in the subway that provided the most emotional moments and the silence in some parts provided such a tense atmosphere in the cinema. The story was spot on, it didn't need to have an explanation of what the monster was or where it came from as the characters couldn't of possibly found out that information and I'm sure if a monster was chasing you the main thing you would be trying to do would be staying alive not . investigating! The ending was excellent and the skip to the old video was such a good idea. go see it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisC.Feb 8, 2008
Wow! amazing. those people who complain about motion sickness - shutup!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmyA.Apr 1, 2008
I loved this movie, more than any other movie. I cannot understand why so many people seemed to have a distaste for this movie. I will agree that a few things (ie. the phones still working, and Hud still holding the camera, and the camera I loved this movie, more than any other movie. I cannot understand why so many people seemed to have a distaste for this movie. I will agree that a few things (ie. the phones still working, and Hud still holding the camera, and the camera still being intact) didn't make sence, but putting that aside, the movie was incredable. Not to mention the viral marketing was pure genius. I give it a 10/10 because it just blew my mind. I never would have imagined a monster movie leaving me with my jaw dropped the way it was, but Cloverfield produced it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonE.May 3, 2008
This movie deserves far more praise than it gets. My only hope is that it goes the way of Wizard of Oz, It's A Wonderful Life, and Blade Runner before it - polarizing critics and audiences when it comes out, but considered a classic This movie deserves far more praise than it gets. My only hope is that it goes the way of Wizard of Oz, It's A Wonderful Life, and Blade Runner before it - polarizing critics and audiences when it comes out, but considered a classic down the road. I, for one, think that it's the most creative, realistic, original, exciting, and personal stories told on screen. Absolutely brilliant in every way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatrickM.Jul 8, 2008
People expected too much from this movie and got disappointed. They wanted a typical Hollywood movie with a typical Hollywood ending and they didn't get one so they weren't satisfied. This was different and not in a bad way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShelbyJ.Jan 18, 2008
It was really good and intense. it was scary in the sense that it was somewhat realistic. mainly because it was filmed in the first person by a main character and the fact that the actors werent well known. and because it was set inIt was really good and intense. it was scary in the sense that it was somewhat realistic. mainly because it was filmed in the first person by a main character and the fact that the actors werent well known. and because it was set in manhattan, a place that most people know of, rather than some random small town in texas that noone has heard of. compared to most horror and/or action films today, it was very well done. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LuiS.Jan 18, 2008
It was a great ride and a terrifying reminding of that day in September.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
ChrisW.Jan 19, 2008
After reading some of these reviews, I have to wonder if they are actually seeing this movie in an actual movie theatre or on their Sony DVD player in their car? This movie was perfectly scarry. If you have ever seen any of the original After reading some of these reviews, I have to wonder if they are actually seeing this movie in an actual movie theatre or on their Sony DVD player in their car? This movie was perfectly scarry. If you have ever seen any of the original B-scarry movies in the fifties... this is an instant throwback to it. This is a must see movie for the sound alone. I was trembling the entire way through it. Loved it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobR.Jan 19, 2008
I don;y rate movies 10, if its really good it gets an 8 or a 9. This movie was amazing, no spoilers from me(its not godzilla). Yes it shows the monster.Yes people die. But the rest is for you to see and experience yourself. The single best I don;y rate movies 10, if its really good it gets an 8 or a 9. This movie was amazing, no spoilers from me(its not godzilla). Yes it shows the monster.Yes people die. But the rest is for you to see and experience yourself. The single best movie i've ever seen. (Also Stay after the credits for a little bonus, its hard to make out but might change the way you look at the movie when its over). Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LolaGJan 19, 2008
Awesome movie on many levels.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AlanHJan 19, 2008
Fantastic Movie! I know we all have an opinion though I find it hard to understand what is not to like about this movie if you have any interest in this genre.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StevenB.Jan 22, 2008
The only reason you shouldn't like this movie is if you weren't warned before going to see it that the camera is really shaky. Other than that, I believe that Cloverfield is definitely the best monster that has been created in a long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DJImJan 20, 2008
Great movie. I don't get why people are giving it low scores. It's a monster movie. And its effective and original. I'm sure all the imitators that come later will be far inferior.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnJan 20, 2008
I thought this was one of the best monster movies I've seen in a long time. I don't know what some of these other people are complaining about.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FrankFrankJan 29, 2008
Brilliant movie. It absolutely felt like I was there, and despite being a monster movie, seemed completely plausible. Will see at least 2 more times.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShaunQ.Feb 12, 2008
This is the best film I've seen for a long long time. If you suffer immensely from motion sickness then be warned but the camera shaking isn't that bad. You get to see plenty of the monster and for all the people that say this film This is the best film I've seen for a long long time. If you suffer immensely from motion sickness then be warned but the camera shaking isn't that bad. You get to see plenty of the monster and for all the people that say this film is rubish then you are just scared of something different. Great film worth watching! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JalexD.Feb 2, 2008
I was actually very surprised by this film. It looked interesting six months before, but I wasn't sure about it when it actually came out. Of course, I just came back from seeing it and not only is it the first 4-star film of the year I was actually very surprised by this film. It looked interesting six months before, but I wasn't sure about it when it actually came out. Of course, I just came back from seeing it and not only is it the first 4-star film of the year (to me), it's also a classic piece of cinema that should be looked back on in a very positive light in the future. I actually became connected with the characters within the short time frame of the film, which was nice to discover. The sheer intensity and amazing pseudorealism of it all really made it fall together. There are a few tiny things that one could nitpick about, but even then only three. A truly great film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronS.Feb 3, 2008
Cloverfield is more of a ride then a film. Seeing the destruction and mayhem of NYC from a first person view is done perfectly. You'll leave the theatre thinking you had just escaped the monster yourself.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimPFeb 9, 2008
Awesome, and believable. Best Monster flick since Jurrasic Park, definitely.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JustinK.Feb 9, 2008
Every movie should be judged by what it attempts to take a shot at - and this one, in my eyes, hits bulls eye! SPOILER WARNING! Some viewers complained about the low quality of filming, or that nothing is explained, or that you hardly see Every movie should be judged by what it attempts to take a shot at - and this one, in my eyes, hits bulls eye! SPOILER WARNING! Some viewers complained about the low quality of filming, or that nothing is explained, or that you hardly see the monster, or that the protagonists die cruelly despite noble efforts. Yes, Cloverfield takes some unusual steps, but not just for the sake of a new artsy or postmodern take on the genre. It is very effective in creating a realistic feel: given the scenario, I think this is pretty much what it would look like. Instead of being just another more-or-less-sophisticated CGI monster, wreaking boring CGI havoc that we've all see before, the realism is the only thing that could have made it scary. Which it does, by the numbers. 9 points! I'll give it a tenth point because I loved the contrast between the "horror present" video, and the nuggets of "good day" past: the shots previously recorded on the tape. This is a just monster movie, but hey, they don't come better than this. If you hate the genre itself, don't bother seeing or reviewing it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VanessaH.Apr 1, 2008
AMAZING MOVIE!! I can't understand why anyone would not love this movie!! I have so far seen it 10 times, once in the theater, and 9 times at home. It's a masterpiece! But if they make a sequal, i will be pissed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JayM.Apr 1, 2008
Honestly, I wish i could give this film an 11, but alas, it is not allowed. Brilliant movie. Stunning! I think some people completely missed the point of this movie. Which is a real shame. They are really missing an insanely amazing movie!! Honestly, I wish i could give this film an 11, but alas, it is not allowed. Brilliant movie. Stunning! I think some people completely missed the point of this movie. Which is a real shame. They are really missing an insanely amazing movie!! I really cannot get over this movie. I have not stopped watching it since i saw it the night it came out. Visualy, it was incredible! Emotionally, it was genius! It really made u wonder what you would have done if you were in that situation. Personally, i would not have gone into the city, but then again, maybe i would for someone i truely cared about. I loved Hud (T.J Miller). I think he was the best part of the movie. He even brought some humor into it. He was the man behing the camera. The movie may have been a bit shakey, but my eyes adjusted to it within the first 10 minutes or so. It was an unbelievable movie, and i did not see a single person get up and leave because they couldn't stand it. I think some people are just being a little dramatic. At the end people were clapping and some cheering. Stunning! There aren't even adequate words to describe this movie. Above all else, this is my new favorite movie of all time!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FrankV.Apr 27, 2008
This was simply one of the most amazing movie experiences in my life. It's thrilling, witty and exhilarating experiment that provided more "wow" moments than any other film and the creature design is very interesting and original.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ConorDJun 21, 2008
Why does everyone hate this!? It's brilliant! I can understand the people who got motion sickness but what's everyone else's problem? @ LEMMOR I'm pretty sure thats going to happen in the sequel!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexJul 19, 2008
One of the greatest monster movies. Pure thrills and an awesome plot make for a great film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DylanB.Jul 2, 2008
a great film, the many logical problems that many people find could easily be attributed to fear and anzxiety, you would not think clearly if something like this happened, and (******SPOLIER*****) the hellicopter was'nt too far off the a great film, the many logical problems that many people find could easily be attributed to fear and anzxiety, you would not think clearly if something like this happened, and (******SPOLIER*****) the hellicopter was'nt too far off the ground and spun out of control, it didn't crash directly into the ground, also, and the impaled girl was able to move due to adrenalin, she had been impaled for atlest a couple of hours and, if she had too, could have ignored the pain and kept moving. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JavierMAug 18, 2008
Great!!! "Cloverfield" is the most amazing film of the year!!!. J.J. Abrams returns to succeed as he did with "Lost" at the moment of mixing action and drama. Very advisable!!!.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenD.Nov 5, 2008
This waz well thought out, the way it is filmed though a video camera is amazzing it has a gr8 entertaining story line, action filled without a boring moment, the could easily lead on to a second film, hope that wont b a flop if they do!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ArthurC.Jan 18, 2008
I had to check my calendar. Yep, it's January, and we've already got one of the best movies of the year. Why is it so good? Not only is it thrilling and at times scary, it is also an interesting character piece as well as I had to check my calendar. Yep, it's January, and we've already got one of the best movies of the year. Why is it so good? Not only is it thrilling and at times scary, it is also an interesting character piece as well as thoughtful movie. It truly feels like a tape that was discovered, thus may upset people since it doesn't follow standard movie formula movements. Nothing is explained, but then, why should it be? It's not about the monster, it's about people trying to survive a disaster. First rate all the way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KenK.Jan 18, 2008
I went into Cloverfield thinking it was going to be a movie, and I got a videotape of what happened. Realizing this, I accepted it for what it was and watched this interesting art piece. The entire movie I was sucked into so much, I forgot I I went into Cloverfield thinking it was going to be a movie, and I got a videotape of what happened. Realizing this, I accepted it for what it was and watched this interesting art piece. The entire movie I was sucked into so much, I forgot I was even in the theater. They did a perfect job making it as real as possible. Not just in the special effects(they were flawless, by the way), but in the way everyone reacted in the movie to everything that went on. It had a great, yet subtle story arc and explained exactly how it would have been explained if this happened and someone had a camcorder. It was a masterpiece of non-mainstream art. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Jan 18, 2008
I didn't expect all that much from a modern-day Godzilla movie, but I was blown away by how well-done this movie was. Fantastic. I also find it amazing how many "professional" critics couldn't get over the shaky camera. I imagine I didn't expect all that much from a modern-day Godzilla movie, but I was blown away by how well-done this movie was. Fantastic. I also find it amazing how many "professional" critics couldn't get over the shaky camera. I imagine the same critics would have been crying foul if the camera didn't seem like it was really being toted around by one of the characters. So well done that it didn't even cross my mind while I was watching it that these were actors and not real people stuck in this situation. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JohnI.Jan 18, 2008
Best movie I've seen in years. It's not godzilla and go see it for yourself! It's action packed and one hell of a thrill.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ReneTJan 19, 2008
Reading the "reviews" (I use the term loosely) from the users here, saying things like, "It suked" (their spelling, not mine) or "save your m$n$y," as though they are texting their friends the review rather than on a public forum that people Reading the "reviews" (I use the term loosely) from the users here, saying things like, "It suked" (their spelling, not mine) or "save your m$n$y," as though they are texting their friends the review rather than on a public forum that people over the age of 18 might actually be reading, just leads me to the conclusion I've held for quite some time. Your average moving-going audience is a bunch of vapid morons. About 5% of the theater we were in actually GOT what a masterpiece this truly is and WHY. The high schoolers, who were there because we forgot they were out early after taking exams, all left talking about it "sucking balls" and other colorful verbage. Nice. I guess that was thanks to its' lack of "in-your-face" footage of everything (thanks, video games!) and lack of neat, tidy little ending they could all talk about directly. Imagination!? What's THAT!? If you're the type of person who thinks the last 10 films you have seen are the most shallow, poorly acted and forgettable films EVER, then this is the film for you. If you understand what I mean by that statement, you'll most likely love it. If you don't, "save your m$n$y." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
catnicJan 19, 2008
JJ is a genius, a thrill of a movie, at least for those of us who "get it"...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HillarynotClintonJan 19, 2008
AWESOME! Reading the reviews of those whining about the shakiness reminds me of people who whime about not be able to "watch" subtitled films because they are always reading! Blergh! I get why some will not like this, you do not get closure AWESOME! Reading the reviews of those whining about the shakiness reminds me of people who whime about not be able to "watch" subtitled films because they are always reading! Blergh! I get why some will not like this, you do not get closure as you do in most mainstram films. Think of all the monster movies thrown at us over the years. You as the viewer follow several people in different locations, and as the viewer, you have the luxury of knowing more details than those involved. Now, imagine if you were in that monster movie. You only know what you are seeing, meaning there is a lot you don't know. I applaud JJ Abrams for not following typical Hollywood suit & giving us a cookie-cutter storytelling & ending. Just like the end of the Sopranos, things go on, we just don't get to see them anymore! Suspend your disbelief, hunker down in the theatre and enjoy!!!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KAJan 19, 2008
Shaky cam is original and suits the movie, spectacular special effects and an awesome monster. A solid film which should not disappointed.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
jodyg.Jan 19, 2008
Can't stop thinking about this movie. I must go see it again/.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NickA.Jan 19, 2008
Very original and daring, unlike anything i've seen before and so much better that i expected. the point of view is so restrictive and yet so effective, you can only expect to see what one person would have seen, and given the scale of Very original and daring, unlike anything i've seen before and so much better that i expected. the point of view is so restrictive and yet so effective, you can only expect to see what one person would have seen, and given the scale of the disaster it is only a very small fraction and yet more than enough to make for a truly engrossing and mindblowing experience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
larrykJan 19, 2008
Seven of us saw this movie together. On Meta Critic's scale of 10, all seven of us gave the movie a 20!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelSJan 19, 2008
I loved the way the film was shot, which was very much like Blair Witch. Also as how you were kept guessing the whole way through. Even at the end, you were still left with questions. The monsters and it's "children" were creepy and I loved the way the film was shot, which was very much like Blair Witch. Also as how you were kept guessing the whole way through. Even at the end, you were still left with questions. The monsters and it's "children" were creepy and scary. I'd recommend this movie to anyone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PickelJan 22, 2008
Lots of people hate this movie very, very strongly. People usually complain about how the people did a crappy job making the movie. The thing with Cloverfield is that the things people complain about are things that they did on purpose. The Lots of people hate this movie very, very strongly. People usually complain about how the people did a crappy job making the movie. The thing with Cloverfield is that the things people complain about are things that they did on purpose. The shaky camera was exactly how it would be if you or I were the ones filming. The people who go only to see the monster will be disappointed, but those people are also very stupid. The thing I love most about this movie is how afterwards, you can talk about it and think about it. They didn't mean for this movie to be everything in the whole story. It's obviously a big story and this movie is meant to be a small piece of it. It's not the beginning or the end of the story. They made exactly the movie they meant to make and I loved it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattJan 22, 2008
Although not for everyone, this movie is service to people like me: people who have loved monster movies / creature features since an early age. It harkens back to the days when monster movies weren't just horror films with monsters in Although not for everyone, this movie is service to people like me: people who have loved monster movies / creature features since an early age. It harkens back to the days when monster movies weren't just horror films with monsters in them. If you're someone who absolutely fell in love with Godzilla/Gojira the first time you saw it, this film will evoke similar feelings. Highly recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaysonLJan 22, 2008
I have to say going into the movie after reading the reviewers off Metacritic i was unsure, but boy i really enjoyed this film. It was without a doubt the most intense movie i have ever seen in my life and i really enjoyed the new idea with I have to say going into the movie after reading the reviewers off Metacritic i was unsure, but boy i really enjoyed this film. It was without a doubt the most intense movie i have ever seen in my life and i really enjoyed the new idea with a camera. The experience truly feels like you are viewing a home video. Worth every penny to watch on the big screen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GabrielleHJan 23, 2008
I still don't understand why people don't like this movie. Maybe everyones just too used to 'Transformer' blabber and impossible cinematic views. So what the camera was shaky? It's THAT kind of movie; told from an I still don't understand why people don't like this movie. Maybe everyones just too used to 'Transformer' blabber and impossible cinematic views. So what the camera was shaky? It's THAT kind of movie; told from an EXPERIENCE. It's a different kind of movie, why can't people open their eyes to different camera angles and techniques. But no, all people want is the cliche, I hope you guys are mighty happy with your Saw IV. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CodyM.Jan 23, 2008
First of all i want to say that the next person that tells me that the camera work was bad is gonna die. What did you expect did you not watch the previews? anyway This movie was awesome it mixed funny parts, scary parts and cool as hell First of all i want to say that the next person that tells me that the camera work was bad is gonna die. What did you expect did you not watch the previews? anyway This movie was awesome it mixed funny parts, scary parts and cool as hell parts into a great movie that leaves a lot up to you the special effects were great the monster looked awesome and i loved how there weren't any famous people cause that would have ruined the real time concept. The most boring part of the movie was the beginning but it was suspenseful because you are waiting for the badass roar and the head off the freaking statue of liberty to come flying into the streets of Manhattan all over this was the best movie i have seen in a long long time. PS. make sure you stay for the credits wait till the end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShschJan 23, 2008
In many ways this movie reminded me of last year's foreign monster hit, The Host. Though unexplained here, unlike in The Host, a monster appears in an urban area, this time Manhattan. The movie is presented as a video being shot by one In many ways this movie reminded me of last year's foreign monster hit, The Host. Though unexplained here, unlike in The Host, a monster appears in an urban area, this time Manhattan. The movie is presented as a video being shot by one party goer who has been assigned to video interview those at a going away party. When catastrophe hits, the videgoer is forced to wander about outside with others, thus rendering the video even more frequently jerky, and at times, not horizontal as the camera is dropped or fallen with. And in an interesting juxtaposition, because the video tape being used had previous images on it, you also see interspersed a record of better times. The movie is like Blair Witch meets Godzilla in New York City; quite implausible, but very exciting. Unlike Blair Witch, which I found to be totally uninteresting (I didn't care for any character, and as a group, found them all to act like some moronic cult on a mission), this movie dealt with a group of more or less normal yuppies who were forced to react to their disturbed environment. This is a very creative and entertaining movie, although those looking for super state-of-the-art technical effects or spectacular color images will be disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkC.Jan 23, 2008
Ok the camera was handheld, and you really didn't get to know the characters, BUT what they have here is really good. All you people that gave this movie a 3 or less tell me something. If something like this happened some sort of Ok the camera was handheld, and you really didn't get to know the characters, BUT what they have here is really good. All you people that gave this movie a 3 or less tell me something. If something like this happened some sort of disaster and it was filmed on a handheld camera and you didn Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanB.Jan 24, 2008
Great movie. makes you feel like you're right there with em.... the shakey cam does get annoying but makes for great realism. feels like a fun ride. and i hope there will be another.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidJan 25, 2008
Fantastic film that uses the style of the shaky real cam (that clearly not everyone likes but it don't deserve a 0). Epic and tense with many great moments throughout. And as i always say ignore the Washington post there snobs.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeWJan 26, 2008
I'm long past the age where every new monster/horror movie is a must see, but something drew me to see this one. As usual, going with my gut turned out the wise thing - this was a great movie! I was actually scared by this movie, I'm long past the age where every new monster/horror movie is a must see, but something drew me to see this one. As usual, going with my gut turned out the wise thing - this was a great movie! I was actually scared by this movie, jumping and flinching often, and I really loved the random, real-life pacing and unexplained moments. A very in your face monster, with no time to wonder what it is, much less WHY it is. Kudos to the movie makers, who took a genre that could not possibly be made new again and made a movie that not only made it new, but scared the #*^! out of me, too! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonathanN.Oct 27, 2008
So so suspenseful!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IgnatiusT.Jan 31, 2008
Excellent approach for this movie! It is necessary to apply this type of shooting matter to bring up this impact. The goal for this shooting style is to portrait as documentary movie which is captured by civilian rather by some great director.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimmyN.Jan 30, 2008
Fantastic visual effects, and breathtaking pacing. But don't expect much depth from it. Just go a long for the ride.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlbinFeb 10, 2008
Excellent for the movie it is. For all those complaining about the camera shot, quit it. That is the point. It is meant to be "footage" and that is what you expect, without it it would not feel as real. And seriously, if you get motion Excellent for the movie it is. For all those complaining about the camera shot, quit it. That is the point. It is meant to be "footage" and that is what you expect, without it it would not feel as real. And seriously, if you get motion sickness from watching a movie, thats pathetic Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KenanH.Feb 1, 2008
This movie was just brilliantly made. The camera just made everything extremely realistic. For sure the best movie of 2008 so far.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshFeb 2, 2008
FINALLY! A movie is not afraid of taking a chance on putting in little effort on a minimal storyline and a random alien monster beating the hell out of NYC. I loved it. The camera action tied in beautifully to the movie and just heightened FINALLY! A movie is not afraid of taking a chance on putting in little effort on a minimal storyline and a random alien monster beating the hell out of NYC. I loved it. The camera action tied in beautifully to the movie and just heightened the effect the movie was aiming for. Well done J.J.! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeniorSalsaFeb 2, 2008
Great movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RoyM.Feb 25, 2008
Excellent and refreshing approach to the "monster eating city" genre. Don't sit too close to the screen, the camera work will make you feel sick!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
joef.Feb 3, 2008
Very good movie. Excellent monster design. Leaves you wanting more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielMFeb 6, 2008
I'll give an 11, but that's actually not possible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShelbyFFeb 8, 2008
HOmiGawd. Seriously. I thought i was going to throw up. I'm a pussy or something.. That was the most scared I've been for a long time. But i am very imaginative and open to new things. I was all with it. I want to see it again and HOmiGawd. Seriously. I thought i was going to throw up. I'm a pussy or something.. That was the most scared I've been for a long time. But i am very imaginative and open to new things. I was all with it. I want to see it again and see it with my pussy assed little brother. Hehe. Piss the bed little boy. I liked the movie. That is my opinion. It warped my mind..for 3 days. I was all paranoid and expecting a gigantic monster to crush me. Ha. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AfoteyA.Apr 29, 2008
Fantastic film. One of the best I've seen in years. Requires some imagination, which most people have sadly lost. Hollywood does NOT need to explain everything...sometimes, the scariest things are the ones you don't see, and in Fantastic film. One of the best I've seen in years. Requires some imagination, which most people have sadly lost. Hollywood does NOT need to explain everything...sometimes, the scariest things are the ones you don't see, and in this case, the unknowns (where did the monster come from? was the military able to beat it? what the hell was that thing that fell into the water @ the very end, and how did that tie into the creature?) allowed me to use my imagination to fill in the blanks. A future classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KeithS.Apr 7, 2008
I really enjoyed this movie, i think the beginning was slow only because they had to introduce all the characters. And also setup the whole plot of the story. I'm guessing the people who said there was no plot didn't watch I really enjoyed this movie, i think the beginning was slow only because they had to introduce all the characters. And also setup the whole plot of the story. I'm guessing the people who said there was no plot didn't watch carefully enough or listen. The plot actually begins to develop after the attack begins, and from that point the plot is very simple they set out to rescue beth. I personally wouldn't have done this if i were him i would have got the heck on a chopper and escaped the area. The ending of the movie is to be expected for this genre, as we all know there was a part two for the Blair witch project and Godzilla. And i've also heard abroad that if could be a second movie in the works. Movies like these you don't want to rush, i also liked how everything was kept secret until the movie actually came out. I hate those movies previews when they have to show everything . As for the origins of the creature its possible the creature was lying dormant this whole time until it was awoken possibly from that oil tanker? Maybe they were drilling deep for oil and woke it up? Anyways if you haven't seen this movie yet i urge you to buy the DVD or seek a copy my some other means and watch it you won't be disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamMay 1, 2008
Thank you Tom and 66goat. You're proof that people that dislike Cloverfield can have a brain. Because, besides yours, some of the complaints I've seen from some of the haters are absolutely horrendous. 1. 'There was no real Thank you Tom and 66goat. You're proof that people that dislike Cloverfield can have a brain. Because, besides yours, some of the complaints I've seen from some of the haters are absolutely horrendous. 1. 'There was no real storyline.' There wasn't supposed to be. It's people running through New York City, running from a monster. You're supposed to feel like you're in the attack, not following a plot. If anything, there was too much plot. 2. 'The Monster shot fireballs!' Whoever posted that is an idiot. It didn't shoot fireballs, it was throwing around exploding debris. 3. 'ZOMG, TOO MUCH SHAKING'. Being chased by a monster. In New York City. With little creatures falling off it. Personally, I'd be running like Hell, and if I'm holding a camera while running like Hell, I'd imagine it'd be shaking quite a bit. 4. The end sucked...it kept you hanging. Yeah. It was supposed to. It kept possibilities open for a sequel and speculation. 5. The Spider things just appeared out of nowhere! ....they fell off the monster. Their origin is unclear because the MOVIE IS THROUGH THE PERSPECTIVE OF 20 SOMETHINGS AT A PARTY. SORRY THAT THEY DON'T KNOW THE ORIGINS OF A 30 STORY MONSTER THAT ATTACKS WITH LITTLE WARNING. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JakeN.May 23, 2008
Honestly, the most amazing and well done movie to come out in recent years. It completely changed the monster movie genre and kicked it on it's side. A great piece of film and a great experiment that got it right. This was incredible to Honestly, the most amazing and well done movie to come out in recent years. It completely changed the monster movie genre and kicked it on it's side. A great piece of film and a great experiment that got it right. This was incredible to see in the theater and it's even better watching it at home. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScottD.May 28, 2008
FANTASTIC! this is without doubt one of my favourite films. it had me on the edge of my seat throughout just waiting for something to jump out. The handheld camera effect gives it this feel in the person's point of view, if it was made FANTASTIC! this is without doubt one of my favourite films. it had me on the edge of my seat throughout just waiting for something to jump out. The handheld camera effect gives it this feel in the person's point of view, if it was made with normal Film cameras that we see today, it would not be as watchable. It also leaves alot to think about, lots of mystery which also enhances the tension and feel of the movie Perfect 10! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaylandM.May 7, 2008
This movie seems to polarize people. Love it or hate it. I was absolutely fascinated by it. It didn't seem like I was watching a movie, performed by actors. It really made me believe that I was watching so called found footage. I can This movie seems to polarize people. Love it or hate it. I was absolutely fascinated by it. It didn't seem like I was watching a movie, performed by actors. It really made me believe that I was watching so called found footage. I can understand why some people didn't enjoy the whole motion sickness inducing shaky cam. It was nice the way they interwove professional fx with really professionally shot camera work made to look like it was a puny home video camera. My one complaint is that when they first run headlong into the monster, the initial shots fired by the army looked a little hokey, but the rest of the fighting was top notch. Exploding babes, squished battletanks, impalements, heavy bombing and wickedly demolished metropolis all combine to provide the kind of theatrical experience that doesn't come along very often. As with transformers, I wish I had seen it in the theater, instead if DVD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarcelP.Jun 5, 2008
Stunningly, and intensely real. Wow
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveK.Jun 8, 2008
A cinematic experiment that paid off fantastically. A bit "hokey Hollywood" towards the end, but I was still gripped to my seat for the entire movie. I look forward to seeing this movie even years from now, as this film will definitely stand A cinematic experiment that paid off fantastically. A bit "hokey Hollywood" towards the end, but I was still gripped to my seat for the entire movie. I look forward to seeing this movie even years from now, as this film will definitely stand the test of time for years to come. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NunoS.Jul 31, 2008
I have just one question to everyone who gave a bad review to this movie... Have you really seen it??? No storyline? Not finished? You all make me laugh!!! This movie is by far the most thrilling idea i've seen in a really long while... I have just one question to everyone who gave a bad review to this movie... Have you really seen it??? No storyline? Not finished? You all make me laugh!!! This movie is by far the most thrilling idea i've seen in a really long while... I never had the dream of becoming an actor but i felt like one... I felt part of the movie! Great special effects, great idea, great story, great movie... absolutely spectacular!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PJKJul 5, 2008
An absolutely amazing movie. It had such a realistic feel. When you see the military running into you shooting their guns in the air and a big monster crushing the entire city while looking trough a normal home camera, you just have to gasp An absolutely amazing movie. It had such a realistic feel. When you see the military running into you shooting their guns in the air and a big monster crushing the entire city while looking trough a normal home camera, you just have to gasp in amazement. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshN.Jan 18, 2008
This movie was hysterical, intense, and even emotional. It's hard not to like it...definitely worth all the hype it's been getting
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BredB.Jan 18, 2008
The single greatest movie i have ever seen!! I was left emotionally drained. The acting is flawless and the tention is through the roof. Cloverfield set new standers of movie viewers!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ALIVERJ.Jan 18, 2008
If you're a thrill-seeker, like crazy shots, or a fan of the documentary, and like reality TV, this movie is for you. I like all movies ranging from sophisticated period-pieces, to action-packed thrillers, and this by far, had me on the If you're a thrill-seeker, like crazy shots, or a fan of the documentary, and like reality TV, this movie is for you. I like all movies ranging from sophisticated period-pieces, to action-packed thrillers, and this by far, had me on the edge of my seat. So much so, at one point, I wanted to get off the ride. After the first 15 minutes, the movie does not stop. I think it will be a 100% success. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JoshW.Jan 19, 2008
Although not cinematically a perfect movie it still merrits a 10. For me the best Horror/Sci-Fi movies are the ones which manages to tap into our modern fears and anxieties. Movies like the Truman Show and The Matrix explored Post-Modernist Although not cinematically a perfect movie it still merrits a 10. For me the best Horror/Sci-Fi movies are the ones which manages to tap into our modern fears and anxieties. Movies like the Truman Show and The Matrix explored Post-Modernist fears of a false and meaningless existence while entertaining. Godizilla (the original) tapped into a nations fragile sense of being after becoming the first (and luckily to this day, the only) people ever attacked by nuclear weapons. Cloverfield is obviously a hyper-real answer to the banality of Post-Modernism in that it shows us real things, terrible things always have consequences. It does so by invoking the fear of 9/11 and by showing us a small personalized persepctive on an unexpected catastrophy. I was utterly taken with how real and immediate the sense of danger was in this movie. Unlike the remake of Godzilla, this monster didn't take care to run between the skyscrapers. And when it smashed into one, debri (and entire buildings) fell, and people the people below had to deal with the unimagineable task of surving that. The movies obvious faults in retrospect, the vertigo it gave me due to the camera work being the main one, in hindsight have become an integral part of the film for me. This is because I honestly believe that had things been done differently the movie wouldn't have stayed with me the way it has, continuing to make me think about my own fragility in a world I usually have little or no say in. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FRinaJan 19, 2008
Those who thought dull are the same ones that want the same old predictable movie and everything spelled out for them...yes the camera was shaky, but had I been filming it wouldve been shakier, so it just added to the realism of this monster Those who thought dull are the same ones that want the same old predictable movie and everything spelled out for them...yes the camera was shaky, but had I been filming it wouldve been shakier, so it just added to the realism of this monster movie... I say go see it!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
rustys.Jan 19, 2008
this movie was amazing. one of the best movies i have ever seen. its character development is sufficient enough to instill empathy for the viewer. they tie in just enough comedy to keep it realistic and remind everybody of their one quirky this movie was amazing. one of the best movies i have ever seen. its character development is sufficient enough to instill empathy for the viewer. they tie in just enough comedy to keep it realistic and remind everybody of their one quirky friend. the movie is overall stunning amazing and brilliantly done. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimmyR.Jan 21, 2008
This is honestly the best movie I've seen in a long time. The camera work was superb. It made me believe that I was watching an amateur recording the whole incident and made me believe that I was in the middle of all the action. The This is honestly the best movie I've seen in a long time. The camera work was superb. It made me believe that I was watching an amateur recording the whole incident and made me believe that I was in the middle of all the action. The monster was intense and original. I saw more of it than I thought I would. This movie, though drawing inspiration from Blair Witch and Godzilla, stays original. I've never seen a movie with this experience before. Truly a great movie. I don't see how anyone could give this movie a low score. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobYouJan 21, 2008
Thought it was really fun, a good scary flick that tried something different and didn't need to venture into torture porn. Also, I don't have a pussy stomach so I don't have to whine about the film style.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesMJan 22, 2008
CLOVERFIELD was a great experience. It felt like I was there because of the video camera. A must see in theaters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DannyL.Jan 22, 2008
This movie, Cloverfield is the most epic movie I've ever watched since The Lord of the Rings. You aren't viewing the action. You are almost part of the whole action which enhances the experience. You learn new things about the This movie, Cloverfield is the most epic movie I've ever watched since The Lord of the Rings. You aren't viewing the action. You are almost part of the whole action which enhances the experience. You learn new things about the monster and the capabilities it has. Many people are complaining that the monster looks like crap but NO ONE can seriously do any better. The monster is fantastic. Other people are saying this movie sucked because it wasn't scary. Those people are known in our society as dumbasses. This movie is not a horror movie but falls under the genre of suspense. However, this is all my opinion and my opinion is telling the world, "Please please please watch this movie. It is an instant classic that actually lived up to the hype it has been receiving before the release. 10/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanP.Jan 22, 2008
People seem to forget about suspending disbelief while watching this movie. Does any great monster movie not take liberties with design and plot? Suspend your disbelief and go see this movie. It is full of action, great special effects, and People seem to forget about suspending disbelief while watching this movie. Does any great monster movie not take liberties with design and plot? Suspend your disbelief and go see this movie. It is full of action, great special effects, and intensity. I think some people were disappointed when they realized it was not a documentary but instead a Godzilla rehash. Any monster destroys city flick is. That doesn't mean that we should stop making them. It is a damn good film and it deserves praise for its accomplishments. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulR.Jan 23, 2008
EXCELLENT!!!!! A great concept on a SciFi Monster film as seen through the eyes of the victims. Did not need high budget actors and a lot of big FX shots. It kept me riveted to my seat not wondering what was going to happen next. You really EXCELLENT!!!!! A great concept on a SciFi Monster film as seen through the eyes of the victims. Did not need high budget actors and a lot of big FX shots. It kept me riveted to my seat not wondering what was going to happen next. You really did not need any answers to what and why. Just thoroughly entertaining. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanD.Jan 24, 2008
This is definitely one of favorite movies of all time. I LOVED the shaky camera, but sadly, I realize that people wouldn't have been critical of the movie if it had had smooth video. But that was the art of it! It wouldn't have This is definitely one of favorite movies of all time. I LOVED the shaky camera, but sadly, I realize that people wouldn't have been critical of the movie if it had had smooth video. But that was the art of it! It wouldn't have looked as realistic if they had done normal camera work. I thought it was just amazing. Anyway, I didn't see what people are talking about at the end, so I will have to (gladly) go watch it again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidGGJan 24, 2008
WOW... i was just blown away. The beginning is a little slow but as soon as the jolt hits the city, it becomes one of the best movies of all time. Acting is great, special effects are great, everything about this movie is great. GO SEE IT!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimPrincetonJan 26, 2008
THIS MOVIE IS AMAZING. I can see people loving this movie and i can see people hating it but this is the kind of movie that you cant determine to see it with reviews, you have to just go see it and either love it or hate it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DustinU.Jan 26, 2008
Aside from a slow start. The movie never lets up with the suspense. If you didn't care for the Blair Witch Project this film might not be for you with camera movement. The performances are top notch.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
KevinM.Jan 31, 2008
Cloverfield was a great movie! I thought the cameras was a great idea! A certain scene dealing with nightvision made me jump half out of my seat! Thoroughly enjoyable!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisB.Feb 12, 2008
Wanted to give it 9.5, but it said it was found on a SD card...and you just 'cant' overwrite footage on a SD card!! oh a rebar through shoulder really cripples your ability to lug injured boyfriends around!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CraigMFeb 15, 2008
It has been quite a long time since a movie had me literally on the edge of my seat. (Of course, a lot of the time I was craning my neck one way or the other trying to figure out what I was seeing. Because the first time seeing it I felt It has been quite a long time since a movie had me literally on the edge of my seat. (Of course, a lot of the time I was craning my neck one way or the other trying to figure out what I was seeing. Because the first time seeing it I felt like I was on sensory overload, I saw it a second time and it was just as exciting and the anxiety kicked in just like the first time. I think that the people complaining are just too used to having everything spelled out for them and explained away neatly. I for one enjoyed being kept in the dark, no pun intended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickJ.Feb 17, 2008
I have never felt so excited in the cinema since Back to the Future and I was about 7 years old then. Cloverfield was just such an amazing roller coaster of anxiety and dread. I think you need to let yourself go and you will then be gripped I have never felt so excited in the cinema since Back to the Future and I was about 7 years old then. Cloverfield was just such an amazing roller coaster of anxiety and dread. I think you need to let yourself go and you will then be gripped by this film. I felt like I was being hunted all the way through. Brilliant film making in my opinion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamN.Apr 13, 2008
As a movie, Cloverfield is decent. Writing is passable, acting ok, and overall a passable movie. As an experience, it's intense, ridiculously entertaining, and absolutely unforgettable. @ Matt S. They're being chased by a fucking As a movie, Cloverfield is decent. Writing is passable, acting ok, and overall a passable movie. As an experience, it's intense, ridiculously entertaining, and absolutely unforgettable. @ Matt S. They're being chased by a fucking monster. If anything, it wasn't 'jittery' enough. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LandonLMay 15, 2008
Loved it. thrill, intensity, drama, this movie sparks so many emotions. either a love or hate movie. most people i have spoken with hate d the ending or had gotten motion sickness.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RhysJMay 22, 2008
An amazing movie. One of my favorites of all time. Special effects were immense, it made my heart race when I had seen the explosions. The acting was amazing, for once, actors have actually portrayed their actual selves as if it was actually An amazing movie. One of my favorites of all time. Special effects were immense, it made my heart race when I had seen the explosions. The acting was amazing, for once, actors have actually portrayed their actual selves as if it was actually happening instead of being someone totally different. I also do not understand why people complained about the 'dizziness' there was only a little bit of shaking around, it's not like the whole film was a camera being thrown around everywhere. All & all. If you have a good taste in monster movies - I HIGHLY recommend you see Cloverfield. If you haven't seen it, go buy it on Dvd and have an amazing thrill! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DR.Jun 28, 2008
amazing. different, but firmly hollywood. polarized votes tell you something. at its best it felt like jacking into someone's nightmare vs. watching a movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulLeJul 22, 2008
This is a good movie with monster and horror pack to it. Great fun too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful