Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Reviewed by: Mike D'Angelo
    Jun 17, 2014
    90
    Shot over five nights in a single location, and almost entirely improvised, Coherence is no-budget filmmaking at its most delectably inventive.
  2. Reviewed by: William Goss
    Jul 9, 2014
    89
    Coherence presents a far-fetched premise at the outset, only to slyly smuggle in some remarkably relatable matters of the heart along the way.
  3. Reviewed by: Marc Mohan
    Jul 10, 2014
    83
    If Rod Serling had hired Robert Altman to direct a "Twilight Zone" episode, it might have turned out something like this.
  4. Reviewed by: A.A. Dowd
    Jun 18, 2014
    83
    The result is an uncommonly clever genre movie, reliant not on special effects — of which there are basically none — but on heavy doses of paranoia.
  5. Reviewed by: Clark Collis
    Jun 11, 2014
    83
    The wordy end product may be short on demons and murderous droids, yet Coherence is a satisfying and chilling addition to the ever-growing pal-ocalypse subgenre.
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Oct 8, 2014
    8
    This was an unexpected surprise, as I knew absolutely nothing about it going in. It was recommended to me by a friend who's also a big horror fan and I'm glad I listened to him! So much was done here with such a small budget. I watched it with two others and we were all silent and gripped throughout, yet couldn't stop talking about it afterwards.

    To even say that it's a sci-fi movie is somewhat a spoiler, but unavoidable. It's best to go in knowing as little as possible. One of the most enjoyable and refreshing sci-fi movies I've seen in some time and one that managed to build up quite the sense of dread towards the end. It'll have you trying to guess what's going to happen next, all while doubting everything that you've seen on screen.

    An under-rated little gem of a film.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 29, 2014
    9
    One of the best sci-fi movies I've seen in a while. Some slick storytelling magic that keeps everything just enough out-of-whack to instill a sense of dread. A very dialogue-driven movie, and the dialogue is believable. Has a loose, quick vibe - the actors are all able and for the most part believable, and it seems they were left a little improvisational wriggle-room to make the scenes that much more realistic. The premise is ridiculous and Twilight Zone-worthy, but the way it plays out makes you feel like it's really happening. Comet overhead causes odd things to occur and I'll leave it at that - the story best plays out when you have no expectations of what's to come. As others have said, the fact that this movie gets the blood pumping and tensions rising with no special effects or over-the-top gore, no A-list actors or sweeping cinematography (the camera work is great, though) - is a testament to the power of good storytelling. Full Review »
  3. Aug 10, 2014
    8
    Reminds me a lot of "Primer", but a little more accessible. Very fun and Twilight Zone-esque.

    abcdefghejklmnopqrstuvwxyz

    abcdefghejklmnopqrstuvwxyz
    abcdefghejklmnopqrstuvwxyz
    Full Review »