Cold Mountain

User Score
4.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 265 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Stef
    Feb 5, 2004
    3
    The most unbelievable, boring and uninspired love story I have seen in a long time. The fact that most of the non-American cast struggled through the entire movie with their laughable southern accents was a source of constant irritation. That, coupled with a far-fetched and silly love story between Kidman and Law, who shared not one drop of chemistry, made this the most disappointing The most unbelievable, boring and uninspired love story I have seen in a long time. The fact that most of the non-American cast struggled through the entire movie with their laughable southern accents was a source of constant irritation. That, coupled with a far-fetched and silly love story between Kidman and Law, who shared not one drop of chemistry, made this the most disappointing movie of the year. The few good scenes are definitely not worthy of so much award attention -- although, if re-cut ala Brown Bunny style, maybe mix them together a bit, then we might have something worth watching! Expand
  2. BaileyM.
    Jan 12, 2004
    3
    There is no real love story here, and what is left is a series of skits about the horrors of war as exemplified in the brutality war breeds and brings even off the battlefield. However, once such skit would have made the point. and these skits are connected by a long walk and a series of coincidences such as characters just happening to cross paths in the middle of wilderness. There is There is no real love story here, and what is left is a series of skits about the horrors of war as exemplified in the brutality war breeds and brings even off the battlefield. However, once such skit would have made the point. and these skits are connected by a long walk and a series of coincidences such as characters just happening to cross paths in the middle of wilderness. There is virtually no moral ambiguity or nuance in the film: we know the good and the bad guys in each skit. So, as in one of Auh-nold's films, the main issue is who will get brutally killed and who will survive. Yet the most brutal aspect of the movie is Renee Zellweger's overacting. Her accent sounds like a comedian doing a parady of an actress attempting to sound "southern." The accents of other cast members are nearly as bad. I'd give this movie a lower score than a "3", but Nicole Kidman does inevitably show us her gorgeous fanny, which still ranks a perfect "10." Wisely, this scene is saved for nearly the end of the movie, which provides a small amount of suspense. Expand
  3. John
    Jan 2, 2004
    3
    It was a complete mess from the beginning, possibly the most wildly uneven film to be seen this holiday season. There are a handful of characters who seem to be just thrown into the mix (Jack White from The White Stripes?!? - WHAT?!?) for no real reason, and the film can't quite come to terms with what it is. Is it a love story, a war drama, a comedy (Zellweger's comedic It was a complete mess from the beginning, possibly the most wildly uneven film to be seen this holiday season. There are a handful of characters who seem to be just thrown into the mix (Jack White from The White Stripes?!? - WHAT?!?) for no real reason, and the film can't quite come to terms with what it is. Is it a love story, a war drama, a comedy (Zellweger's comedic character is so out-of-place it is sickening)??? - it was impossible to tell... Worst moment: When Zellweger, completely out of character, degenerates into a sobbing frenzy talking about man creating rain and then it raining....... It makes me laugh just thinking about it. Aside from Kidman's touching performance (I don't think she will ever go wrong), it's a disaster, folks. Plain and simple. Expand
  4. WAKOJAKO
    Dec 30, 2003
    3
    This was a mildly entertaining film until the second half, where it begins to sag badly. There are maybe three or four engaging scenes, mostly featuring a far more potent supporting cast than any of its leads. Having never read the book, I went primarily on the lure of seeing the work of one of my favorite directors, whose "The English Patient" and "The Talented Mr. Ripley" I adore. "Cold This was a mildly entertaining film until the second half, where it begins to sag badly. There are maybe three or four engaging scenes, mostly featuring a far more potent supporting cast than any of its leads. Having never read the book, I went primarily on the lure of seeing the work of one of my favorite directors, whose "The English Patient" and "The Talented Mr. Ripley" I adore. "Cold Mountain," however, failed to fully engage me despite adequate performances from Nicole Kidman and Jude Law. Less adequate was Renee Zellwegger's rather annoying stretch as a mountain woman. And the end is so ludicrous that you regret having wasted some three hours watching a well-made, but emotionally allienating film. Expand
  5. ShannonP.
    Jan 18, 2004
    3
    For all its flaws, the movie does at least effectively demonstrate how ?average? men are so easily exploited and used by war. It also demonstrates how easily morality can be turned upside down in times of war by those leaders who leave the fighting to someone else and personally risk nothing. In the Cold Mountain, men who don?t believe enough in the cause to fight in the war garner power For all its flaws, the movie does at least effectively demonstrate how ?average? men are so easily exploited and used by war. It also demonstrates how easily morality can be turned upside down in times of war by those leaders who leave the fighting to someone else and personally risk nothing. In the Cold Mountain, men who don?t believe enough in the cause to fight in the war garner power and stature by punishing ?deserters? who don?t believe enough in the cause to fight in the war. In a time when Americans leaders have effectively sold the ?average? man on the idea of giving up freedoms to the government so it can protect his freedoms?this type of "message" about war might be timely. At the same time, much of the acting in this move is astonishingly bad. Renee Z?s accolades from Chicago gave her enough self-confidence to go way over the top this time around, and enough stature to prevent anyone from trying to save her from herself. She makes Jack Lemon seem subtle. This is truly horrible: grotesque. Its like something you would have expected for comic relief on Bonanza when Hoss was on vacation. Once Renee Z makes her entrance, you just can?t continue to take the story seriously. It is also note worthy that although this is a film about a war that was principally about slavery?the issue of slavery is virtually absent from the film. There are no substantive scenes involving black actors or actresses. While we learn a great deal about the suffering of southern whites, the plight of blacks is touched upon only incidentally. In one of the film?s more bizarre scenes, Nicole Kidman?s character explains that she is planning on ?taking some Root Beer to the Negroes.? However, it starts raining, so she sends a surrogate with the refreshments. Expand
  6. ShannonP.
    Jan 18, 2004
    3
    For all its flaws, the movie does at least effectively demonstrate how ?average? men are so easily exploited and used by war. It also demonstrates how easily morality can be turned upside down in times of war by those leaders who leave the fighting to someone else and personally risk nothing. In the Cold Mountain, men who don?t believe enough in the cause to fight in the war garner power For all its flaws, the movie does at least effectively demonstrate how ?average? men are so easily exploited and used by war. It also demonstrates how easily morality can be turned upside down in times of war by those leaders who leave the fighting to someone else and personally risk nothing. In the Cold Mountain, men who don?t believe enough in the cause to fight in the war garner power and stature by punishing ?deserters? who don?t believe enough in the cause to fight in the war. In a time when Americans leaders have effectively sold the ?average? man on the idea of giving up freedoms to the government so it can protect his freedoms?this type of "message" about war might be timely. At the same time, much of the acting in this move is astonishingly bad. Renee Z?s accolades from Chicago gave her enough self-confidence to go way over the top this time around, and enough stature to prevent anyone from trying to save her from herself. She makes Jack Lemon seem subtle. This is truly horrible: grotesque. Its like something you would have expected for comic relief on Bonanza when Hoss was on vacation. Once Renee Z makes her entrance, you just can?t continue to take the story seriously. It is also note worthy that although this is a film about a war that was principally about slavery?the issue of slavery is virtually absent from the film. There are no substantive scenes involving black actors or actresses. While we learn a great deal about the suffering of southern whites, the plight of blacks is touched upon only incidentally. In one of the film?s more bizarre scenes, Nicole Kidman?s character explains that she is planning on ?taking some Root Beer to the Negroes.? However, it starts raining, so she sends a surrogate with the refreshments. Expand
  7. EmmaP.
    Dec 18, 2003
    3
    Read the book instead....the southern accents are laughable.
  8. L.Methos
    Dec 26, 2003
    2
    I expected so much more than what was on the screen. The book had a warm passion while the movie is very cold.
  9. DarcyR.
    Jul 3, 2006
    2
    An anti-war movie. Not really. A love story - doesn't really pull that off either. Tragedy - should be, but the heartache does not come over. Could have been made into a good comedy - with the right script So what is it - Oscar fodder - as someone else remarked. Too long. Too predictable and in some ways too twee.
  10. SuzanneD.
    Dec 13, 2003
    2
    Way too long....plays like an expensive soap opera. Zero chemistry between Law and Kidman and Zellweger overacts just about every scene she is in. And if they killed one more animal I would have walked out...disgusting!
  11. JamesC.
    Jan 25, 2004
    2
    We're off to see the wizard!! I think Minghella wanted to do a remake of The Wizard of Oz but made Cold Mountain instead. An embarassing, over-produced, tedious film. The cast of celebs in this turkey is astounding. First, we're off to see P. Seymour Hoffman, then we skip off to Eileen Atkins, and merrily along to Natalie Portman, and finally we meet Mr. White Stripes. If this We're off to see the wizard!! I think Minghella wanted to do a remake of The Wizard of Oz but made Cold Mountain instead. An embarassing, over-produced, tedious film. The cast of celebs in this turkey is astounding. First, we're off to see P. Seymour Hoffman, then we skip off to Eileen Atkins, and merrily along to Natalie Portman, and finally we meet Mr. White Stripes. If this film only had a heart!!! Expand
  12. MichaelC.
    Jul 21, 2004
    2
    What an overrated pile of dogs..t this was. The first half hour is definitely the most tedious part, as it continually switches between two timelines. After that, the timelines converge at some point and leave you with two hours of pure boredom. A very poor film indeed.
  13. WesB.
    Dec 18, 2003
    2
    This could have been soooo much better. There were some great scenes and some good performances, but slow points and an embarrasing performance from Renee Z. utterly ruin it. I had high expectations, so that may have hurt the experience, but I was cringing every scene Ruby was in. It was like they decided to stick Jar Jar Binks in a civil war drama. Yikes.
  14. KatieS.
    Mar 27, 2004
    1
    In a few words... utter crap.
  15. MatthewT.
    Jan 9, 2004
    1
    The worst movie of this year and last. Somewhere between the scene in which Nicole Kidman brings Jude Law a tray of glasses of iced tea and the scene in which she brings him a tray of glasses of hot apple cider, I lost all interest in their love story. As for the war--there is one muddy battle scene, after which the hero goes for a LONG, LONG walk. I wish I had too, but I was with The worst movie of this year and last. Somewhere between the scene in which Nicole Kidman brings Jude Law a tray of glasses of iced tea and the scene in which she brings him a tray of glasses of hot apple cider, I lost all interest in their love story. As for the war--there is one muddy battle scene, after which the hero goes for a LONG, LONG walk. I wish I had too, but I was with friends. By the way, the production design is just awful--overwrought and too-eager, like an A-student sitting in the front row and waving her hand in the teacher's face. As a whole, the movie is unbearable. Expand
  16. ChuckL.
    Jan 10, 2005
    1
    I can't give it a 0. That distinction goes to one of Minghella's other movies, "The English Patient." I thought the book was great, and I read the reviews, so I was stunned at how bad and pathetic this movie was--but not quite as stunned by what is now the standard by which all bad moives should be judged-- "The English Patient."
  17. BrianC.
    Apr 2, 2004
    1
    After seeing the previews I thought this was a Civil War movie. This was a love story. The best things in this movie were R. Zellweger and N. Kidman's butt.
  18. TBNgo
    Feb 26, 2005
    1
    Cold Mountain failed in every aspect that English Patient succeeded in. Waste of a $100 million budget. And a disgrace to Charles Frazier's amazing novel.
  19. AndrewA.
    Dec 18, 2003
    1
    utterly tedious, self-important, nonsense--law and kidman seem like they've never met, and zellweger chews the scenery. Seems to have been assembled from a build-your-own-oscar-movie kit.
  20. JennyO.
    Jan 8, 2004
    0
    My friends and I were looking forward to this movie and were sadly disappointed. The film is poorly paced and directed, and the writing is just plain awful. The actors, particularly Kidman and Law, are mediocre at best. And I can't understand all the acclaim that Zellweger is getting: her performance just made me wince. The story which I loved in the novel, left me indifferent in the My friends and I were looking forward to this movie and were sadly disappointed. The film is poorly paced and directed, and the writing is just plain awful. The actors, particularly Kidman and Law, are mediocre at best. And I can't understand all the acclaim that Zellweger is getting: her performance just made me wince. The story which I loved in the novel, left me indifferent in the movie. In sum, I do not recommend this movie. Expand
  21. EdB.
    Jan 8, 2004
    0
    A big disapointment, just a failure. A cliched ending that is insulting.
  22. Nancy
    Jan 11, 2004
    0
    To call this movie a love story is an insult to love. Heck, to call this a movie is an insult to anyone who has even been involved in making a movie. Stylized and frigid Oscar baiting. Minghella should be ashamed of himself.
  23. EdgarP.
    Jan 1, 2004
    0
    A remarkable movie: full of famous hollywood faces and of horrible acting and writing. And yet it oozes pomposity in every frame. Hats off to those responsible for this narcissistic garbage
  24. Gretchen
    Jan 10, 2004
    0
    Painfully dull to watch.
  25. Maddie
    Jan 28, 2004
    0
    So bad, it will make you laugh. Excruciatingly pretentious and at the same time, cheap and dumb.
  26. Kelly
    Jan 3, 2004
    0
    Pretentious and dull, which does not mean it's meaningful. It's just pretentious and dull.
  27. Loraine
    Jan 6, 2004
    0
    Has a frigid, lacquered exterior and nothing but emptiness underneath. Disappointing and dull.
  28. AllyS.
    Jan 8, 2004
    0
    Bring a pillow. Or better yet, just stay home and stare at the wall. That would be as interesting as this disgrace of a movie is, and it doesn't cost ten dollars.
  29. Heidi
    Feb 1, 2004
    0
    This movie chugs along the sheer arrogance of the actors and director. It's about as subtle as a bludgeon.
  30. GretaW.
    Feb 20, 2004
    0
    Inane, dull, and sloppily made. You might want to see this just to witness the appallingly awful acting and the laughable accents. Then again maybe not.
  31. ValerieL.
    Dec 30, 2003
    0
    A superficial period peice that tries to be deep but is so wound up in appearances that it fails miserably.
  32. JanineS.
    Jan 1, 2004
    0
    Read the book, but don't bother with this terrible movie. With such a production team, this movie could have been so much. But instead it flops in every conceivable way. It moves slowly and awkwardly. It has no substance behind the pretty faces of its cast. It is just plain boring. It leaves you cold and indifferent, if not actually resentful that you just paid money and spent over Read the book, but don't bother with this terrible movie. With such a production team, this movie could have been so much. But instead it flops in every conceivable way. It moves slowly and awkwardly. It has no substance behind the pretty faces of its cast. It is just plain boring. It leaves you cold and indifferent, if not actually resentful that you just paid money and spent over two hours too see it. Expand
  33. TooGoodToBeTrue
    Jan 10, 2004
    0
    Comparing this crap to Gone With The Wind is an insult to one of the greatest romantic epics ever written and filmed. Gone With The Wind is a timeless classic that after more than 60 years STILL awes and inspires. Cold Mountain, on the other hand, is about as romantic and inspiring as having a root canal...without the anesthesia. Nevertheless, it is exactly the kind of movie that usually Comparing this crap to Gone With The Wind is an insult to one of the greatest romantic epics ever written and filmed. Gone With The Wind is a timeless classic that after more than 60 years STILL awes and inspires. Cold Mountain, on the other hand, is about as romantic and inspiring as having a root canal...without the anesthesia. Nevertheless, it is exactly the kind of movie that usually gets an Oscar. Expand
  34. MikeS.
    Jan 1, 2004
    0
    I kept waiting for it to get better, and it only got worse. Don't be fooled by the marquee names: this one's a loser.
  35. Meg
    Jan 14, 2004
    0
    I was shocked to see such wooden acting from such a supposedly talented cast. Except for Zellweger that is. Her performance instead slides to the other end of the acting spectrum with this ham job, whining at the top of her lungs for an award. An astonishingly bad movie.
  36. Dolores
    Jan 15, 2004
    0
    We left the theater disgusted. Complacent, totally pleased with itself, and astonishingly oblivious to the fact that it is moviemaking at its most incompetent.
  37. JaneC.
    Jan 20, 2004
    0
    I wish Jude Law's character had been killed during the war instead of deserting. That way I would have been spared from this miserable excuse for a movie.
  38. GailM.
    Jan 6, 2004
    0
    Watching this movie was an excruciating and painful experience. And I think I was the only one in the theater who suffered through it since everybody else had fallen into a deep slumber.
  39. DeanR.
    Feb 5, 2004
    0
    This movie is pure beef tripe...tasty to some, but still a throwaway.
  40. MeganJ.
    Dec 31, 2003
    0
    I had very high hopes for this movie which were sadly dashed by this ineffectual production. Any virtues that the movie strove for were lost in its self-important tone. It is simply not a good movie. I found it poorly produced and the telling of the story was lackluster and mechanical, mindless and mindnumbing.
  41. DianeS.
    Jan 11, 2004
    0
    Jude Law goes for a long walk. Nicole Kidman looks pretty. Renee Zellweger breaks the world record for hamming.
  42. TylerC
    Nov 28, 2004
    0
    Renee Zellweger did NOT deserve the best supporting actress academy award! Nothing about this movie ever merits an academy award nomination. This movie was just so depressing and dragged on and on. A good movie is supposed to fly by and make a person actually enjoy watching the screen. This did none of that. I cannot believe how overly hyped this stupid movie was. Because of how many Renee Zellweger did NOT deserve the best supporting actress academy award! Nothing about this movie ever merits an academy award nomination. This movie was just so depressing and dragged on and on. A good movie is supposed to fly by and make a person actually enjoy watching the screen. This did none of that. I cannot believe how overly hyped this stupid movie was. Because of how many academy nominations this film got, I highly doubt that the academy knows what a good movie is. Expand
  43. June
    Jan 14, 2004
    0
    Hideously bad. A dull and dull-witted production.
  44. MarieL.
    Jan 16, 2004
    0
    Overhyped garbage.
  45. KarenJ.
    Jan 16, 2004
    0
    I was disturbed at how the established cast and director of this movie obviously thought that their presence alone in this film would make it good. Continually parading recognizable movie stars does not a movie make. The actors make a pathetic effort and the production as a whole is a simpering, self-congratulatory job. There is no meaning, talent, or effort displayed. As a viewer I was I was disturbed at how the established cast and director of this movie obviously thought that their presence alone in this film would make it good. Continually parading recognizable movie stars does not a movie make. The actors make a pathetic effort and the production as a whole is a simpering, self-congratulatory job. There is no meaning, talent, or effort displayed. As a viewer I was insulted and angry at this stereotypical Hollywood hack job. Expand
  46. NicoleG.
    Jan 17, 2004
    0
    I truly despised this movie. Just because there are costumes, accents (cringe-inducing), and a pseudo-intellectual-anti-war message, does not mean that a film has any shreds of intelligence. This one certainly doesn't. The writing stinks worse than Nicole Kidman's awful accent, and the bland acting hardly makes it any better. There is nothing special about this movie, except how I truly despised this movie. Just because there are costumes, accents (cringe-inducing), and a pseudo-intellectual-anti-war message, does not mean that a film has any shreds of intelligence. This one certainly doesn't. The writing stinks worse than Nicole Kidman's awful accent, and the bland acting hardly makes it any better. There is nothing special about this movie, except how remarkably bad it is. Not worth seeing at all. Expand
  47. AllyL.
    Jan 18, 2004
    0
    Laughably awful. Kidman, Law, and Zellweger have done such great work in other movies that I had high hopes for this one. Oh my God. Even bad movies have a little something good going for them. I cannot think of one redeeming quality for Cold Mountain, however. The acting is ineffectual, the script is dull, the story is poorly paced, the directing is lackluster. Almost as if realizing Laughably awful. Kidman, Law, and Zellweger have done such great work in other movies that I had high hopes for this one. Oh my God. Even bad movies have a little something good going for them. I cannot think of one redeeming quality for Cold Mountain, however. The acting is ineffectual, the script is dull, the story is poorly paced, the directing is lackluster. Almost as if realizing that it's got a turkey in its hands, the movie tries too hard, but its aim is badly misguided. The result is amazingly awful. If the movie itself were a little more interesting, I would recommend seeing this if only to see how everything in a promising movie can go completely awry. Expand
  48. JohnE.
    Jan 21, 2004
    0
    This film is a sad example of how conceit can screw up a potentially good movie. It has all the ingredients for a decent if not excellent movie. But it misfires horribly. At the same time, it goes to show that you need more than name-power to make a movie. Those involved actually should make some kind of sincere effort rather than blandly mugging for the camera.
  49. VivanS.
    Dec 16, 2004
    0
    Oh my god this was vomit-inducing bad.
  50. Greg
    Jan 26, 2004
    0
    May this movie rest in the trash can where it belongs. I would have been embarrassed for the actors in this movie if I hadn't seen them on tv fawning over this crap like it was the next best thing to Gone with the Wind. Stupid, overrated, tedious, pompous, boring, mindless, and I would be generous in saying that. Somebody bury this movie under a cold mountain and make sure it never May this movie rest in the trash can where it belongs. I would have been embarrassed for the actors in this movie if I hadn't seen them on tv fawning over this crap like it was the next best thing to Gone with the Wind. Stupid, overrated, tedious, pompous, boring, mindless, and I would be generous in saying that. Somebody bury this movie under a cold mountain and make sure it never sees the light of day again. Expand
  51. Viola
    Jan 28, 2004
    0
    Infuriatingly pompous and pretentious. The book was lovely, but this is just crap. The actors are horrifyingly miscast and also put in their worst performances ever. The stupid script hardly makes it better. Did anyone say these lines out loud before they started shooting? How could a writer write this and not cringe? Minghella is at his soporific best which will probably be most Infuriatingly pompous and pretentious. The book was lovely, but this is just crap. The actors are horrifyingly miscast and also put in their worst performances ever. The stupid script hardly makes it better. Did anyone say these lines out loud before they started shooting? How could a writer write this and not cringe? Minghella is at his soporific best which will probably be most viewer's welcome reprieve from this appalling adaptation. Expand
  52. PatriciaL.
    Jan 3, 2004
    0
    It was so bad I didn't know whether to laugh or cry. I mostly laughed. Especially at Zellweger's unparalleled and hamming. The "it's raining!" line had me rolling on the floor and is worth the price of admission.
  53. George
    Jan 7, 2004
    0
    Oscar bait that is so blatantly formulaic that it's downright insulting to the viewer.
  54. LeeW.
    Jan 7, 2004
    0
    An appallingly bad adaptation of an excellent novel.
  55. FrancoisNewYork
    Jan 9, 2004
    0
    This is so rididculous it made me want to cry. I took my wife in order to reciprocate after taking her to LOTR but we both could not believe it. This movie is bad, the acting is average and the script is terrible. Just don't go and go to see Love actually instead.
  56. Fran
    Feb 1, 2004
    0
    I'd like to give a resounding "BOOOO" to all those involved in making this travesty of a movie. I don't understand why people are saying it was supposedly "snubbed" for Best Picture. It will be sad day when formulaic trash like this gets nominated for anything other than a razzie.
  57. MattT.
    Feb 10, 2004
    0
    Irredeemably, laughably, jaw-droppingly horrible.
  58. TomGrogan
    Dec 26, 2003
    0
    Pretty and meaningless. I want 2 1/2 hours of my life back.
  59. MelissaD.
    Dec 27, 2003
    0
    I loved the book and was eagerly awaited this star-studded adaptation. What a disappointment! Kidman and Law have zero chemistry, and Zellweger is just embarrassing. Not even Miramax can save this turkey.
  60. CathyA.
    Dec 31, 2003
    0
    Laughably bad.
  61. Sandy
    Jan 11, 2004
    0
    Absolutely terrible. Having read the book, I was interested in this production since hearing about it. Quite a failure all around.
  62. Chris
    Jan 15, 2004
    0
    I think that this was the worst movie that I have ever seen. I must have missed the memo. A huge disappointment.
  63. FrankS.
    Jan 17, 2004
    0
    Profoundly and irredeemably flawed. But unfortunately for this movie, it pompously pretends that its faults are virtues. The conceit of the movie's writing and direction indicate that Minghella actually thought it might be good, but I cannot fathom anyone involved in the movie who took a look around and not say: "This movie is crap!" I can't believe he's that stupid, but Profoundly and irredeemably flawed. But unfortunately for this movie, it pompously pretends that its faults are virtues. The conceit of the movie's writing and direction indicate that Minghella actually thought it might be good, but I cannot fathom anyone involved in the movie who took a look around and not say: "This movie is crap!" I can't believe he's that stupid, but then again, he did make this film, so his intelligence is apparently not of the highest order. Such arrogance and stupidity transforms this movie from being merely bad to one of the biggest insults to the movie-going audiences in the history of cinema. Expand
  64. SharonL.
    Jan 19, 2004
    0
    Tedious and stupid. And unlike other people in the theater, I managed through superhuman effort to stay awake through this mess, and therefore can confirm that it is indeed the one of the worst movies in recent memory.
  65. Tracys.
    Jan 21, 2004
    0
    It started out dumb and just got dumber and duller and more annoying. Somebody pull this travesty from the theaters now.
  66. Grace
    Jan 24, 2004
    0
    Paging Anthony Minghella: You dropped your talent while bending down to kiss Harvey Weinstein's massive butt.
  67. Andy
    Jan 25, 2004
    0
    A friend who had seen this movie warned me not to go, calling it "the most overhyped piece of crap in recent cinema." But I am a big fan of both Jude Law and Renee Zellweger and was unable to believe that it would be that bad. Now I know better. I have no excuse: she told me so. But I am angry that Hollywood would dare market this garbage on the star power of its cast. But then again, it A friend who had seen this movie warned me not to go, calling it "the most overhyped piece of crap in recent cinema." But I am a big fan of both Jude Law and Renee Zellweger and was unable to believe that it would be that bad. Now I know better. I have no excuse: she told me so. But I am angry that Hollywood would dare market this garbage on the star power of its cast. But then again, it has nothing else going for it. It's stupid and annoying. It is pretty, I must admit, but in a way that just screams, "Look at me, give me an award!" that makes me want to scream myself. It's pretty scenery only highlights the fact that there is no substance, no talent, or even a good faith effort to make a good movie. It's just a star pageant, and a boring one at that. Don't make my mistake, and pick another movie to spend your money on. Expand
  68. EvelynK.
    Feb 12, 2004
    0
    This insipid romance is movie-making at its worst. Apparently Anthony Minghella thought that he could slap together some well-known actors, an award winning book, some costumes, and some accents and make a movie. He forgot to include any talent or attempt at coherency. Excuse me while I throw up on this piece of crap.
  69. BenJ.
    May 25, 2005
    0
    By far the worst period film I have EVER seen.
  70. RodericR
    Aug 17, 2009
    0
    You are without a doubt, the worst movie I have ever seen. TERRIBAD doesn't begin to describe this steaming pile of crap. It is epic all right, too bad it is epic bad. It may have deserved a 1 instead of a 0 due to the historical scenes, and I will probably use them as documentary-type footage in my 6th grade social studies class. However, the movie itself was so ungodly terrible, You are without a doubt, the worst movie I have ever seen. TERRIBAD doesn't begin to describe this steaming pile of crap. It is epic all right, too bad it is epic bad. It may have deserved a 1 instead of a 0 due to the historical scenes, and I will probably use them as documentary-type footage in my 6th grade social studies class. However, the movie itself was so ungodly terrible, its worth a negative score. Expand
  71. BradW.
    Dec 15, 2003
    0
    I heard they cut about two hours from this film. WELL THEY SHOULD HAVE KEPT CUTTING! Geez, this thing goes on and on and on till you want to SCREAM! Terrible acting, in my opinion. Terrible story. Terrible waste of almost three hours of my time.
  72. ErinS.
    Dec 18, 2003
    0
    Oh my!!!! As a fan ofthe book, I have NEVER been more disappointed in a film :( Shame on Renee Zellwegger for that awful showy "give me an oscar please" performance.
  73. ElliotJ.
    Dec 29, 2003
    0
    Wow I have never seen such blatant oscar bait. Quite an achievement.
  74. Jun 26, 2011
    0
    So so so so bad. I nearly slept for two hours. Incredibly boring. Hopefully I didn't pay to see it. A good advice : DO NEVER WATCH THIS MOVIE (except if you want to lose 2hours of your life)
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. A somber, often downbeat depiction of human savagery and treachery as well as of human kindness. Writer-director Anthony Minghella has meticulously crafted an intimate epic.
  2. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    100
    As he did in “The English Patient,” Minghella artfully weds movie-movie romanticism with a dark historical vision. The man knows how to cast a spell.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    80
    A grim picaresque odyssey across a beautiful scarred landscape laced together by private romantic longing. Handsomely made and vividly acted.