Universal Pictures | Release Date: May 14, 1982
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 84 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
67
Mixed:
15
Negative:
2
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MarkA.Jul 22, 2009
Whenever I tell people that one of my favorite movies is "Conan the Barbarian" they tend to tilt their heads and wonder why. I receive the same reaction when I admit the same thing about "Spirited Away". Both movies stir my imagination to Whenever I tell people that one of my favorite movies is "Conan the Barbarian" they tend to tilt their heads and wonder why. I receive the same reaction when I admit the same thing about "Spirited Away". Both movies stir my imagination to the point of having to love them. I don't care if the acting can occasionally reach cheesy levels, this will continue to be in my top 10. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
6
grandpajoe6191Sep 28, 2011
Although the movie has so many unnecessary parts with a hurried ending, John Millius created "Conan the Barbarian" with a appropriate cast and fantastic visuals, which is why its regarded as a classic.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
CraigP.Jan 20, 2008
Classic...changed my life. "Conan:what is best in life? To crush your enemy, to see them flee before you, and to hear the lamentation of their women."
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
michaelcOct 5, 2007
great style mood and grace, while parts of it are comical the amazing musical score and breathtaking scenery, the first 28 minutes of the movie is without dialog, a testament to how a score can drive a film
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
jediboySep 20, 2011
Epic swash-buckling fantasy adventure in the true sword & sorcery style.
Arnold personifies Robert E. Howard's Conan like no one else could and delivers what the target audience expects. Visceral Combat, One-liners and a camel-punch or two.
Epic swash-buckling fantasy adventure in the true sword & sorcery style.
Arnold personifies Robert E. Howard's Conan like no one else could and delivers what the target audience expects. Visceral Combat, One-liners and a camel-punch or two.
Right up there with "The Princess Bride" and "Ladyhawke."
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
TheQuietGamerJul 27, 2011
This movie has aged very well, while some moments are cheesy, it's still a highly enjoyable movie for fans of fantasy epic movies, a truly unique movie that's a lot of fun to watch.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
bitskullAug 18, 2011
This movie contains much more then most people can understand because it is about power of spirit. Total classic and still one of the best fantasy movies.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
HighwayUKNov 6, 2011
The long drawn out silence and "high adventure" perfectly set the grand scale of the Conan universe, doubtful you'll ever see a better performance from Arnie... the action is done very well, the dialogue is minimal but perfect for the broodyThe long drawn out silence and "high adventure" perfectly set the grand scale of the Conan universe, doubtful you'll ever see a better performance from Arnie... the action is done very well, the dialogue is minimal but perfect for the broody character, the visuals are wonderful, the music is amazing, personally can't find a flaw in this first outing. 10/10 Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
JaredC.Aug 14, 2007
What has Arnold got himself into, this isn't a good movie nor experience.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LionheartedJan 22, 2013
"What is best in life? ..." "the riddle of steel" The gold of Conan the Barbarian isn't really the excellent story telling or Swartzneggers prolifically suited role but in the truth of life we must digest while immersed in this "survival of"What is best in life? ..." "the riddle of steel" The gold of Conan the Barbarian isn't really the excellent story telling or Swartzneggers prolifically suited role but in the truth of life we must digest while immersed in this "survival of the fittest" . The beauty of Conan here is not great acting but rather the story of passion, the fight of good and evil and the triumph of justice and triumph of the human spirit. Conan the Barbarian as a "cultural artifact" is for many the beginning nothing more than slew of meaningless "adventure movies" that proceeded afterwards, for myself though Conan means a kind of "hope" in many respects .. and that hope while imperfect makes up for a lot of the "movie sin". Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
ballpark_frankNov 24, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. With a mix of fantasy, humor, and Arnold's big arms, this flick is one that I think gets better and better with repeat viewings. I haven't read the Howard books, so I can't make any comparison. But until I do read them, Schwarzenegger is my first thought when I hear "Conan" (with O'Brien a distant second). The classic saga of a boy who eventually extracts revenge on the person who was responsible for killing his parents (Holy Batman!), the film traces the training (strength through slavery) Conan receives as a child. This leads to a life as a gladiator, thief, and eventually vigilante. I find the ending to be 'lacking', and rather bland, but the final scene 'promises' more high adventure (re: Conan the Conqueror). As I mentioned, there is actually quite a bit of humor in this film (which helps to maintain the fantasy elements, I believe), with some of the better quotes that I remember. The assorted members of Conan's loose cadre offer various aspects: Valeria (sex), Subota (loyal companion - like a proto-'George Stone' of "The Untouchables"), and The Wizard (start thinking of a Dungeons and Dragons quest party). I've really started to like this movie (since AMC seems to offer it on a regular basis), and though I pretty much know the dialog by heart, it still offers light entertainment. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
jp992751Jan 26, 2011
I love Arnie and even though I love cheesy 80s movies this one just didn't catch me. The plot was lame, the acting terrible, the audio was at times unintelligible, and other than the over-the-top gore there was really nothing to savor.I love Arnie and even though I love cheesy 80s movies this one just didn't catch me. The plot was lame, the acting terrible, the audio was at times unintelligible, and other than the over-the-top gore there was really nothing to savor. Perhaps had I seen it in the 80s I would have had a better appreciation for it, but by somehow missing it I just can't accept giving it anything higher than a 4. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Jailhouse_McGeeFeb 1, 2013
A guilty pleasure, carried by Arnolds brute charisma and his lack of acting. A fantasy tale that is ultimately both enjoyable and very silly. The ending is quite disappointing, though, even with this "Riefenstahlesque" look.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
thvazSep 12, 2014
Don't be fooled - this is a pure art movie. No other like it before or since (not even the sequel - it sucks, by the way)
Amazing soundtrack (how it didn't even got nominated for the Oscar is beyond me)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FranzHcriticJul 10, 2014
'Conan' possesses an eeriness, an unorthodox form of story telling that I doubt we often see. It may not seem like it at first, but in the film there is a philosophical view, of power, vengeance, and loss. Arnold Schwarzenegger gives his'Conan' possesses an eeriness, an unorthodox form of story telling that I doubt we often see. It may not seem like it at first, but in the film there is a philosophical view, of power, vengeance, and loss. Arnold Schwarzenegger gives his deepest role, but the problem was simply his accent. James Earl Jones, in his small yet pivotal role, is the most captivating as the mystical snake priest. The film comes off too eerie for me, but the action and dialogue really pushed me to sit through the whole movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
adpirtleJul 3, 2015
The early 80's were bombarded with a whole slew of 'epic sword and sorcery' films, from the visually splendid "Excalibur" to the ridiculous but inexplicably charming "The Beastmaster." But none of them were responsible for catapulting theirThe early 80's were bombarded with a whole slew of 'epic sword and sorcery' films, from the visually splendid "Excalibur" to the ridiculous but inexplicably charming "The Beastmaster." But none of them were responsible for catapulting their lead to super-stardom like "Conan the Barbarian." Sure, it's cheesy and Arnold Schwarzenegger was an even more limited actor then than now, but the 10 year old me that first saw the film thought it was the greatest thing since Star Wars, and that's all that matters. :P Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
BigZNov 5, 2014
Conan the Barbarian stands as a very different take on fantasy and remains to be challenged as far as musical score and majestic feel. Arnold could not have been more fit for a role in his life, makes sense that this is the one thatConan the Barbarian stands as a very different take on fantasy and remains to be challenged as far as musical score and majestic feel. Arnold could not have been more fit for a role in his life, makes sense that this is the one that practically launched his movie career. There are obvious things that are impressive about this movie. There is a particular attention paid to the overall spectacle of the movie that makes it hard to duplicate. The costumes, the sets, and the props. All the things about the environment make it exclusively the Conan universe. Good job. However, There is a major issue with the minimal dialogue and dominantly brutish nature of just about all the characters. The argument would be that that follows after Conan's character and he doesn't say much...okay maybe that is true, but I think James Earl Jones had a little too little to work with. I think he spoke the most out of anyone. And I was relieved to hear him, its like oh, someone who is coherent, and not just anyone, Its JAMES FREAKING EARL JONES, thank you for that. I think everyone was aware of that and given this was an origin story, it sort of gave the impression of self discovery. So the weight was purposely put more on the visuals and music. which is impeccable honestly, I listen to the soundtrack all the time. Its that good. But overall there was too much testosterone all at once to be a great movie. Blood, brutality, nudity, and primitive behavior is useful depending on what you are trying to convey. Here it was just the whole movie. i never felt like it leveled out and rose up a plain or two. The end fight scene was awesome though and fantasy classic none the less. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
lordbostonDec 14, 2016
This is arguably the greatest movie of all time, starring a man seemingly born to do the role, with one of the most underrated Directors ever to be black listed into oblivion by left wing idiots infesting Hollywood ever. This is not maryThis is arguably the greatest movie of all time, starring a man seemingly born to do the role, with one of the most underrated Directors ever to be black listed into oblivion by left wing idiots infesting Hollywood ever. This is not mary sue star wars or game fo thrones female fanservice nonstop. Quite the opposite!! The man starts with nothing and is white, nuked the trope of the black man starting with nothing. He reaches the top. In fact if you arent racist a black amn could jsut see it as a man not a white blue eyed man. He grinds for years to buidl strength as a salve, then is taught by ornetal weapons temple masters and goes on to defeat the evil pope of his world. An amazing pro capitalism anti authroity movie. Facism and nazi are after all left wing jsu tyoutube yaron brook on that one. Hitler was a democrat fascist. Fasism is communism is socialism. The cure is individualism and freedom with property aka capitalism! Dont start reading the book by robert e howard l sprage de camp lin carter steve perry john maddox roberts and robert jordan because they are so darn good you will be ruined for anything except jack vance ae van vogt michael moorock glen cook eric frank russel lawrence watt evans and paul hogan.
To those who have not seen it I salute you! I wish they brought back the selfish sneeky wiseass turn the tables on you comedy of 80s movies this one exibits.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews