Corpse Bride

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 409 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 409

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. FelixQ.
    Jul 25, 2006
    5
    I feel strongly that The Nightmare Before Christmas was one of the great films of my lifetime, and that the charm and unrepressable... oomph it had cannot be reproduced in any way. Not even, or most specifically by the original director. Yes, Corpse Bride had the same demi-goth elements that have made Tim Burton who he is today, and Danny Elfman didn't do a completely shoddy job with I feel strongly that The Nightmare Before Christmas was one of the great films of my lifetime, and that the charm and unrepressable... oomph it had cannot be reproduced in any way. Not even, or most specifically by the original director. Yes, Corpse Bride had the same demi-goth elements that have made Tim Burton who he is today, and Danny Elfman didn't do a completely shoddy job with the music, but it's no longer a first. Nightmare was just that- comepletely unique and overwhelming. I still get cold shivers up and down my body when I listen to the songs, and the concept, however basic, just fit like a jigsaw puzzle to make a master-piece. Corpse Bride very conciously felt like a rip-off, like Burton wanted desperately to have another go with the medium, and thought somehow he could make another classic by just utilizing the same elements. Nope. Sorry. Didn't work. It wasn't terrible, but it wasn't really good, either. I almost worship the ground Burton and Elfman walk on, and I even loved Big Fish, but I love Burton's films because although each retainting a flavor that very clearly indicating Tim's touch, each movie still remains a completely seperate entity and holds it's own charm. It almost feels like Corpse Bride is a badly disguised sequel to Nightmare, but cops out at the last. Expand
  2. HoobyD.
    Jan 6, 2006
    4
    The animation was beautful. But, like most people, there just wasn't much substance. Barely any story, and Johnny Depp's character is just unlikeable. For some reason, he's unfaithful to his likeable and charming fiancee and decides to marry a dead corpse he found. The audience is wondering why, but half of the audience is already asleep. The men will gawk at all the The animation was beautful. But, like most people, there just wasn't much substance. Barely any story, and Johnny Depp's character is just unlikeable. For some reason, he's unfaithful to his likeable and charming fiancee and decides to marry a dead corpse he found. The audience is wondering why, but half of the audience is already asleep. The men will gawk at all the well-endowed women. BOOO!! Expand
  3. CaptainSpaulding
    Jan 31, 2006
    5
    Not "The Nightmare Before Christmas" or anything like it, by any means. If you were expecting the former, then you will be disappointed. Beautiful animation and the spookiness you expect from Tim Burton, but NO sympathetic characters like the former movie. No one for the audience to hang onto! Beautifully rendered visuals, but no story or emotional ties on the characters. Rent "Nightmare" Not "The Nightmare Before Christmas" or anything like it, by any means. If you were expecting the former, then you will be disappointed. Beautiful animation and the spookiness you expect from Tim Burton, but NO sympathetic characters like the former movie. No one for the audience to hang onto! Beautifully rendered visuals, but no story or emotional ties on the characters. Rent "Nightmare" again and leave this one (along with Charlie and the Chocolate Factory) at the video store. Expand
  4. vixi
    Mar 2, 2006
    5
    It looks beautiful...sadly the characters are boring and hollow and do not capture you in any way to make you feel something from this movie.
  5. NicoV
    Oct 19, 2005
    4
    Having seen A Nightmare Before Christmas maybe I expected too much. I expected more humour, I certainly expected a better plot than the typical "one guy torn between two girls kinda thing", and much better music. The music on this movie was not catchy at all like on "The Nightmare...". I think Tim Burton has been losing it since Charly and the Chocolate Factory, I hope next movie he does Having seen A Nightmare Before Christmas maybe I expected too much. I expected more humour, I certainly expected a better plot than the typical "one guy torn between two girls kinda thing", and much better music. The music on this movie was not catchy at all like on "The Nightmare...". I think Tim Burton has been losing it since Charly and the Chocolate Factory, I hope next movie he does he redeems himself. Expand
  6. AaronG.
    Apr 1, 2009
    5
    I've been looking forward to seeing this movie for a while, but I was really looking forward to not much. The movie, itself, reminds me a lot of Tim Burton's extremely celebrated Nightmare before Christmas. However, I was crushed about halfway into the rather short movie by boring, uninteresting characters, a twist ending that only an idiot couldn't see coming, and music I've been looking forward to seeing this movie for a while, but I was really looking forward to not much. The movie, itself, reminds me a lot of Tim Burton's extremely celebrated Nightmare before Christmas. However, I was crushed about halfway into the rather short movie by boring, uninteresting characters, a twist ending that only an idiot couldn't see coming, and music that just doesn't quite hit the high note. It makes me very sad to say this movie was very "ok", but the fact is that it's just too much like it's main character. Short, timid, and vaguely uninteresting. If there's one thing I have to praise, it's the excellent atmosphere and animation. Otherwise, I have not much but disappointment for this movie. Oh, and it was really fun watching the blu ray disc freeze up. I sent for another one, but that one froze up too. Coincidence? Expand
  7. chuck
    Oct 1, 2005
    5
    Cute but blah.
  8. gabersh.
    Oct 6, 2005
    4
    Don't get me wrong I loved Sleepy Hollow, Nightmare before Christmas, and Big Fish. This was predictable, not clever, and not worth Tim Burton Johnny Depp or Helena. No good and when the end hits you its like, that was it? Not worth 5 buck.
  9. eyebrow
    Oct 8, 2005
    4
    Pros: visually stunning, wonderful cast. Cons: aimed too much towards children 6 and under, bland plot. Overview: It can't match Tim Burton's earlier work, but i guess i just expected too much.
  10. ChadS.
    Oct 19, 2005
    6
    Like "Mulan", "Corpse Bride" would've been a better film without the music. Danny Elfman's songs don't measure up to his work on "The Nightmare Before Christmas", but the allusion to one of Elfman's better known compositions with his former incarnation as lead singer of Oingo Boingo is mildly amusing. Another problem is that the corpse bride (Helena Bonham-Carter) Like "Mulan", "Corpse Bride" would've been a better film without the music. Danny Elfman's songs don't measure up to his work on "The Nightmare Before Christmas", but the allusion to one of Elfman's better known compositions with his former incarnation as lead singer of Oingo Boingo is mildly amusing. Another problem is that the corpse bride (Helena Bonham-Carter) never quite engages us like Victoria (Emily Watson) does. The way Victor captures Victoria's heart with his prowess at the piano is the film's highlight, and it's the ultimate failure of "Corpse Bride" that there's no scene which equally enchants, involving the groom and corpse. Victor's fatalistic love towards Victoria also has to be more convinving in a crucial scene, so his drastic action feels more organic than a requirement of the screenplay to create suspense. Expand
  11. BrianL.
    Sep 25, 2005
    5
    Yeah, saw it last night . . . Don't get me wrong, it's cute. I liked it okay, and everything. But ultimately, not memorable. 5, average.
  12. GarrettH.
    Sep 25, 2005
    6
    Well its ok.. Its no Nightmare Before Christmas... It has several flaws. To start the songs are like your typical Disney movie songs. They aren't really necessary and advancing the story they are just kinda thrown in there just to be in there. On top of that half the songs are impossible to understand. And they are not good songs either. I still sing NIghtmare before chistmas songs Well its ok.. Its no Nightmare Before Christmas... It has several flaws. To start the songs are like your typical Disney movie songs. They aren't really necessary and advancing the story they are just kinda thrown in there just to be in there. On top of that half the songs are impossible to understand. And they are not good songs either. I still sing NIghtmare before chistmas songs as so many of them are just great tunes... These songs are not I just got out of the movie and i've basically forgotten most of it already. Another big flaw was that fact that I just didn't feel any kind of connection to the charachters. They didnt' captivate me at all and I really could care less what happened to them. I was fairly bored throughout the movie. My final verdict is that I would have been perfectly content renting but, I don't feel its worth theater prices. Its not bad... It just not even close to great. The reviews are just to nice to this movie. Expand
  13. TracyR
    Sep 25, 2005
    6
    Not bad, but a little over-rated for what is not much more than a short film. The animation is brilliant and the jokes aren't bad, but the story is beyond flimsy and really not all that interesting if one is over 10 years of age. Felt like something you'd see at an Animation Show rather than a full length feature film. Probably most appealing to children, animation geeks and Not bad, but a little over-rated for what is not much more than a short film. The animation is brilliant and the jokes aren't bad, but the story is beyond flimsy and really not all that interesting if one is over 10 years of age. Felt like something you'd see at an Animation Show rather than a full length feature film. Probably most appealing to children, animation geeks and Hard-core Burton fans. Expand
  14. DestroyAllGenres
    Sep 27, 2005
    4
    This movie was half-baked and formulaic. The songs where boring and the jokes were infantile. My four point rating breaks down like this: 1 for exposing children to dark themes in a sweet light, 1 for the few, but genuinly good, chuckles, 1 for the first five minutes of goodness, and 1 for taking the time to make a stop-motion mivie in a world of CGI. Minus six points for execution. The This movie was half-baked and formulaic. The songs where boring and the jokes were infantile. My four point rating breaks down like this: 1 for exposing children to dark themes in a sweet light, 1 for the few, but genuinly good, chuckles, 1 for the first five minutes of goodness, and 1 for taking the time to make a stop-motion mivie in a world of CGI. Minus six points for execution. The world of the dead lacked even a hint of the imagination that went into the world of Nightmare Before Christmas. Any half awake goth could have written the script. Tim Burton has officially lost any kind of original vision. Expand
  15. NikiC
    Oct 2, 2005
    4
    Akward music inserts and the lack of plot make this hard to bare at times. The only thing going for it is that it brings new lighting to animation and is truely original.
  16. MikeG.
    Oct 10, 2005
    6
    All of the credit in the world for the animation and the look and feel for the movie. But the plot was paper thin and the only plot "twist" in the entire movie was obvious from the second it was not-so-subtly introduced. Enjoyable for the animation, but that's about it.
  17. MarkB.
    Oct 10, 2005
    6
    The "HARRYHAUSEN" logo on the grand piano that nervous would-be bridegroom Victor (voiced by Johnny Depp) practices on may pay tribute to stop-motion animation pioneer Ray Harryhausen, but Tim Burton's lightly macabre animated romance really owes a lot more to the 1930s cartoons of Ub Iwerks and, like his earlier effort The Nightmare Before Christmas, to those 1960s Rankin-Bass The "HARRYHAUSEN" logo on the grand piano that nervous would-be bridegroom Victor (voiced by Johnny Depp) practices on may pay tribute to stop-motion animation pioneer Ray Harryhausen, but Tim Burton's lightly macabre animated romance really owes a lot more to the 1930s cartoons of Ub Iwerks and, like his earlier effort The Nightmare Before Christmas, to those 1960s Rankin-Bass Christmas TV specials...as well as the one-dimensional cartoons and illustrations of Charles Addams, Ronald Searle and Arnold Roth. Burton's reputation for making the classic horror material and settings he obviously loves palatable for family audiences may have finally caught up with him here; Corpse Bride is unquestionably handsome and heartfelt--and I really liked Burton's depiction of BOTH of Victor's potential wives, Victoria (Emily watson) and Emily (Helena Bonham Carter) as sympathetic, appealing and attractive characters (even the dead one)--but the movie is STILL a frustrating, tantalizing near-miss. Danny Elfman's songs aren't bad, and add to the atmosphere, but they seem tossed off and aren't nearly as long as they need to be; the instant one of the musical numbers begins to envelop the audience, it's over. Ironically, that's the opposite problem of the rest of the movie; even at only 78 minutes, it's frequently as draggy and slow-moving as a George A. Romero walking zombie. Most problematic of all is that despite the morbid subject matter and vivid visuals, the humor is nowhere near as bracingly edgy or "sick" as you'd expect; it's tempting to blame the PG rating, but The Nightmare Before Christmas was a perfect entertainment of its kind that wasn't at all hampered by it. I don't have the heart (or spleen or intestines) to try to talk anyone out of seeing this, and I wish I could get my very own Scraps the Dog at a McDonald's or Burger King mear me, but in all honesty, this movie's current rival, Wallace & Gromit: The Curse of the Were-Rabbit, has all its virtues plus a much faster pace and a far more successful humor-horror blend that leaves Corpse Bride...well, buried. Expand
  18. SangheeJ.
    Nov 9, 2005
    5
    A good film, but none of the genius of 'Nightmare Before Christmas'. it was entertaining, but not too memorable, but a good movie nonetheless, but I guess I expected more.
  19. SeamusS
    Nov 15, 2005
    5
    I normally love Tim Burton movies, but never has he crossed soo far into style over substance. This one gets really boring after all the jokes fall flat and the songs lose their schtick.
  20. Clay
    Nov 20, 2005
    6
    Disappointing but not unexpected. Burton hasn't made a decent flick since Ed Wood, and I believe we are now seeing the decline into mediocrity of he who was once Hollywood's rebel. Corpse Bride was flat, the voice acting was dull (why would you get Depp to voice act? Give me a break), the music was forgettable (and annoying at the time) and the story never really got going. The Disappointing but not unexpected. Burton hasn't made a decent flick since Ed Wood, and I believe we are now seeing the decline into mediocrity of he who was once Hollywood's rebel. Corpse Bride was flat, the voice acting was dull (why would you get Depp to voice act? Give me a break), the music was forgettable (and annoying at the time) and the story never really got going. The animation itself was fine, but too clinical. Mr. Burton, your time is up. Expand
  21. RichardJ.
    Nov 29, 2005
    6
    Definitiely not Tim Burtons finest (see Nightmare before Christmas). The story was slow with only a couple of scenes a joy to watch e.g. the marriage speech. OK for children?!
  22. EthanM.
    Mar 5, 2006
    6
    This movie, while looking like a movie that would leave a mark for many years, sadly fell quite short of what I had been expecting. It was a bland, heapless mess with good animation.
  23. Velour
    Jan 13, 2007
    4
    This movie, like Burton's " Nightmare Before Christmas" has a familiar style, but the storyline doesn't intrigue me enough to watch 75 minutes. I found it to be less capturing than Nightmare. But, it is better than the title suggest's.
  24. Jun 30, 2013
    6
    Corpse Bride is good not great. Joyfully brilliant animation and wonderful music are unfortunately muddled by a boring plot and depressing and empty characters.
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. A wondrous flight of fancy, a stop-motion-animated treat brimming with imaginative characters, evocative sets, sly humor, inspired songs and a genuine whimsy that seldom finds its way into today's movies.
  2. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    90
    An endearingly schizoid Frankenstein of a movie, by turns relentlessly high-spirited and darkly poignant.
  3. 88
    It's warped and wonderfully effervescent. Ditto the songs by Danny Elfman, who sings the role of Bonejangles, the frontman for a skeleton jazz band at a swinging underworld club. Best of all is the love story.