Cosmopolis

Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 35
  2. Negative: 3 out of 35

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Stephanie Merry
    Aug 30, 2012
    50
    It feels like each and every moment bursts forth with urgent dialogue, and yet what does anyone actually say?
  2. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Aug 23, 2012
    50
    There's not really a movie there, nothing that sustains itself from scene to scene and nothing that's worth watching from beginning to end.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark Feeney
    Aug 23, 2012
    50
    The novel is extremely funny. It's hilarious as well as horrific (all sorts of bad things are going on outside the limo - and a few inside of it, too). Yet whenever the movie is funny, it feels like a mistake. Comedy has never been a Cronenberg strength.
  4. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Aug 22, 2012
    50
    Its characters are bloodless, their speech monotone. If there are people like this, I hope David Cronenberg's film is as close as I ever get to them. You couldn't pay me to see it again.
  5. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Aug 16, 2012
    50
    Robert Pattinson must be hellbent on escaping the world of sparkly-skinned undead to take on the starring role in the leaden, obtuse and ultra-pretentious Cosmopolis.
  6. Reviewed by: Keith Phipps
    Aug 15, 2012
    50
    As Pattinson nears the bottom - both of his fortune, and to all appearances, his sanity - Cronenberg has to take the film somewhere, emptying out into a confrontation between Pattinson and a disgruntled former employee (Paul Giamatti) that never fully ties together all that's come before.
  7. Reviewed by: Karina Longworth
    Aug 14, 2012
    50
    To the extent that Cosmopolis functions as a super-literal conceptual exercise, it's simultaneously irritating and fascinating.
  8. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Aug 8, 2012
    50
    The film comes off as an elaborately didactic and overheated lecture.
  9. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Sep 7, 2012
    40
    Alas, in Cronenberg's hands, it just comes across as cold and lifeless and exhausting.
  10. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Aug 16, 2012
    40
    It is a disappointment coming from writer-director David Cronenberg, who has proved such a master at mind games. Cronenberg is perhaps too faithful to the book. The topic is provocative and certainly timely, but the film never achieves the incisive power of his best work, "A History of Violence" for one. Even an A-list ensemble that includes Juliette Binoche, Samantha Morton and Paul Giamatti can't save it.
  11. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Aug 16, 2012
    40
    There are plenty of ideas to gnaw on, given that Cronenberg has adapted Don DeLillo's intense novel of a New York on the verge of dystopian breakdown. But frustratingly bland work from lead Robert Pattinson results in an awfully watery stew.
  12. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Aug 7, 2012
    40
    After a strong run of films during the past decade, David Cronenberg blows a tire with Cosmopolis.
User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 101 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 31
  2. Negative: 14 out of 31
  1. Aug 17, 2012
    2
    It makes me cringe when people mention Videodrome and Cosmopolis in the same sentence (And yes, I did just that... bear with me). One isIt makes me cringe when people mention Videodrome and Cosmopolis in the same sentence (And yes, I did just that... bear with me). One is infinitely entertaining, bizarre and thought-provoking. The other bores me to tears. However, I will say that in my West LA theater, about 20 people got up and left within the first half hour - but a substantial group who made it till the end gave it a hearty round of applause. Then again, they may have just been happy it was over. As a Cronenberg fan, I was so fired up to see this film. Sadly, the last time I was this let down by a filmmaker I love was when I endured David Lynch's Inland Empire. That sucker was a doozy. Full Review »
  2. Aug 17, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. After watching Bel Ami, Robert Pattinson returns in this new Cronenberg movie with Cosmopolis, a movie that be based on the Don DeLilo's book. The story of Cosmopolis is the next, the billionare Eric Parker (Pattinson) rides slowly across Manhattan in his limousine that he uses as his office while on his way to his preferred barber, even though there are traffic jams. The development of the story is very interesting, have much impressive moments. The Pattinson's performance is really amazing, after we watch he on Water for Elephants, Remember Me and Bel Ami we watch that this is his best performance. The screenplay is great. Cosmopolis is an amazing movie. Full Review »
  3. MkM
    Aug 21, 2012
    5
    Actually haven't seen the movie. Just posted this to note that the Onion AV Club actually gave the movie a good review (although they had someActually haven't seen the movie. Just posted this to note that the Onion AV Club actually gave the movie a good review (although they had some things to say about the ending). Either way, they gave it a "B" by their rating system. Now it's been a long time since I attended high school, but from what I remember a "B" was an 80% to an 85%. Yet for some reason Metacritic has them scoring the film a 50%. Just thought it should be addressed. Full Review »