User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 383 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 56 out of 383
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 29, 2011
    10
    Cowboys & Aliens is very entertaining. Is it art? No. It's just great commercial entertainment. It's an exciting, funny, scary way to spend a couple of hours. It's shot beautifully. The casting is first rate. The faces on the old west guys are worth the price of admission. It's not nearly as good a film as the first Alien movie, but it has a lot of the same scary/entertaining qualities. IfCowboys & Aliens is very entertaining. Is it art? No. It's just great commercial entertainment. It's an exciting, funny, scary way to spend a couple of hours. It's shot beautifully. The casting is first rate. The faces on the old west guys are worth the price of admission. It's not nearly as good a film as the first Alien movie, but it has a lot of the same scary/entertaining qualities. If you want to have a fun ride on a Friday night or Saturday afternoon this the movie to see. Should you see it now or wait until it's available to rent? See it in a theater. The sound and visual effects demand a big screen. You can rent it later. Because you'll want to see it again. Expand
  2. Jul 30, 2011
    10
    Cowboys & too many Aliens...begins well but ends up as a Spielberg cliché

    There is a certain amount of assurance you expect when you know that the film involves Daniel Craig, Harrison Ford, Spielberg and Favreau. The film in the end delivered only that much. Daniel Craig shines out of dirt, looks good and acts very well as a rough & tough cowboy. The initial build up works
    Cowboys & too many Aliens...begins well but ends up as a Spielberg cliché

    There is a certain amount of assurance you expect when you know that the film involves Daniel Craig, Harrison Ford, Spielberg and Favreau. The film in the end delivered only that much.

    Daniel Craig shines out of dirt, looks good and acts very well as a rough & tough cowboy. The initial build up works very well, raises the expectation, raises it further with Harrison Ford in a new befitting character of a veteran cowboy/colonel. Then, enter the aliens, i liked it to begin with but then found my fingers getting crossed. In next 20 odd minutes it made me feel that this cowboys+aliens experiment is now trying to satisfy only the kids in the theater. The initial feel good fizzled into a cliché sci-fi flick. Nevertheless, i enjoyed myself going through the experiment, watching the cowboy part, lovely flying machines & cinematography. To conclude with it could be an amazing film had the aliens part treated as subtly as Daniel Craig in his cowboy avatar. Perhaps the way M Night Shyamlan did in the Signs.
    Expand
  3. Jul 30, 2011
    10
    Wow. This movie was nonstop entertainment. I loved the stories within the story. Loved it!! The critics don't know squat and word of mouth will sell this movie. Very fun!! Must see in the theatre. Don't wait for redbox.
  4. Jul 31, 2011
    10
    I truly hope that the reviews of this movie do not affect its box office performance. This was a wonderfully entertaining summer movie, never intended to win any academy awards (except possibly for SFX) that was the greatest fun I've had with aliens since Independence Day. This movie made me feel like a kid again, and I simply can't wait to see it. Well done to EVERYONE involved in thisI truly hope that the reviews of this movie do not affect its box office performance. This was a wonderfully entertaining summer movie, never intended to win any academy awards (except possibly for SFX) that was the greatest fun I've had with aliens since Independence Day. This movie made me feel like a kid again, and I simply can't wait to see it. Well done to EVERYONE involved in this movie's production. Expand
  5. Aug 1, 2011
    10
    One of the more well thought out and designed alien movies of late. Had surprising depth, a great cast, and no dearth of explosions or action. For what it is, and for what it's meant to be, 10 out of 10. It highly achieves in entertaining and telling a story.
  6. Sep 14, 2011
    10
    I saw this movie with my wife and teenage daughter at the local cinema. At first I was a bit worried if my wife and daughter would enjoy a sci-fi action movie. I knew I would, because I am a huge star trek and star wars fan. For the whole duration of the movie, my wife and daughter never said a word to me. Also, we hardly touched our pop corn or pop soda. Brilliant movie, Great day out.I saw this movie with my wife and teenage daughter at the local cinema. At first I was a bit worried if my wife and daughter would enjoy a sci-fi action movie. I knew I would, because I am a huge star trek and star wars fan. For the whole duration of the movie, my wife and daughter never said a word to me. Also, we hardly touched our pop corn or pop soda. Brilliant movie, Great day out. You also need to see it on a big screen or cinema to appreciate it wholly. Expand
  7. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    As an all round "alien-movie" fan, I must admit my score might be a bit biased. I'm also a huge Lindelof/Orci/Kurtzman fan. The film doesn't dally about getting to the point of the story, which is both a good and bad thing. Good for your average cinema goer and bad if you're fond of the twisted screenplays these guys are known for (MI:3 / Star Trek). The story seldom exhilirates or drivesAs an all round "alien-movie" fan, I must admit my score might be a bit biased. I'm also a huge Lindelof/Orci/Kurtzman fan. The film doesn't dally about getting to the point of the story, which is both a good and bad thing. Good for your average cinema goer and bad if you're fond of the twisted screenplays these guys are known for (MI:3 / Star Trek). The story seldom exhilirates or drives you to the edge of your seat. But that doesn't mean it isn't entertaining. The action and visual effects will keep the analytics glued. As far as acting goes Dan Craig pulls off the cowboy persona quite decently - albeit a bit formulaic. Wylde delivers all you could really expect from her which is nothing to write home about. Some of the best acting in the movie is actually left to the Sheriff Character's Grandson - believe it or not. Credit though, must be given to Ford's performance - as he really delivers one that forces you to attempt remembering who it is you're actually watching.

    The movie is all-round entertaining. But breaks no new ground, in contrast with what we've grown accustomed to from the crew.
    Expand
  8. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    At first I thought, woah, this seems like a pretty ridiculous movie. The aliens would just pulverize the cowboys but I thought hey, it'll be a good laugh i'll rent it anyway. and boy was I surprised, it was actually a pretty good film, the story was pretty good and made you think about it and the fight scenes were also rather well made. I don't see why people are rating it down so much,At first I thought, woah, this seems like a pretty ridiculous movie. The aliens would just pulverize the cowboys but I thought hey, it'll be a good laugh i'll rent it anyway. and boy was I surprised, it was actually a pretty good film, the story was pretty good and made you think about it and the fight scenes were also rather well made. I don't see why people are rating it down so much, it's a good film. Expand
  9. Dec 5, 2011
    10
    my summary, the worst thing about this movie is that I am not going to have my 118 minutes back.... ever. So, my rec. is that if you have anything better to do, for example, watching the flowers grow, don't hesitate.
  10. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    It's about time we had an new and original idea for a western! I admit, I was a bit hesitant - How could they possibly mix the two... but it came together and created what I crave most - something NEW!
  11. Jan 9, 2013
    10
    This movie is one of Speilberg's greatest hits yet! I liked it. What could be better trhan seeing two figures that have a bunch of stories, and mixing them. I give this a ten out of ten because of the creativity that speilberg put into this.
  12. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    I don't care that it's got a silly title. "Cowboys & Aliens" is a straight-up super-sized platter of undiluted entertainment. Jon Favreau deftly weaves together the iconic genres of Western and sci-fi in a seamless plot that has fun with all the cliches and tropes of both worlds while making their mixing feel authentic and honest and it is just awesome. This is the kind of fun-lovingI don't care that it's got a silly title. "Cowboys & Aliens" is a straight-up super-sized platter of undiluted entertainment. Jon Favreau deftly weaves together the iconic genres of Western and sci-fi in a seamless plot that has fun with all the cliches and tropes of both worlds while making their mixing feel authentic and honest and it is just awesome. This is the kind of fun-loving action picture that I just die for. The effects are great, the scenery is spectacular, the vision is huge, the performances are lovely, the music is cool, and it's got friggin' Harrison Ford in a ten-gallon shooting aliens. How the hell can that not be fun? People can whine and moan about how stupid this movie is all they want they're missing the point. My absolute enduring favorite movies are always the ones that take themselves seriously while having total fun with themselves (ahem, "The Mummy" and "The Mummy Returns"). And this flick delivered that in total spades. Expand
  13. Jul 29, 2011
    9
    It's a strange movie when you think about it, but that's why you should like it! I was very impressed by the first 40 minutes of this film, I might say that it's the best 40 minutes of any film this year, thus far. But once the Aliens came the film did what it should have avoided, began a very convoluted plot that not only confuses the audience but slightly angers them, or maybe that wasIt's a strange movie when you think about it, but that's why you should like it! I was very impressed by the first 40 minutes of this film, I might say that it's the best 40 minutes of any film this year, thus far. But once the Aliens came the film did what it should have avoided, began a very convoluted plot that not only confuses the audience but slightly angers them, or maybe that was just me. But Cowboys & Aliens really pulled it together in it final frames and I must respect this film for that very reason. I give the western part 10/10 and the Sci-Fi part 8/10 thus combining for a very respectable 9out of 10. Expand
  14. Jul 30, 2011
    9
    A pure Western to the core! This film is so beautifully filmed and the genre mash-up works very well. The aliens are great and Craig plays an excellent cowboy. Ford is perfect as ever. This film is just plain fun and it is definitely worth price for admission. Yep, this one will be in my blu-ray collection!
  15. FC1
    Jul 31, 2011
    9
    This movie is very much a western with an obvious. very different twist. Watching this movie brought back the feelings and excitement of past western favorites like The Outlaw Josie Wales, and Silverado; mainly due to the slew of great character actors and the atmosphere they bring to all good movies. I know that people will say "too ridiculous" and" why add science fiction?". Well,This movie is very much a western with an obvious. very different twist. Watching this movie brought back the feelings and excitement of past western favorites like The Outlaw Josie Wales, and Silverado; mainly due to the slew of great character actors and the atmosphere they bring to all good movies. I know that people will say "too ridiculous" and" why add science fiction?". Well, the alien aspect IS very different, but I liked that it appears, and is taken by the townsfolk at face value; basically, there's a new villain in town. I say kick back and enjoy it. Aliens did not just appear in the 20th century (or am I getting my history confused?) I like that the movie just "is" and does away with over explanations. It begins right away with interest in the main characters, and continues with the energy and twists that keep it moving. To me, this movie, along with Captain America, and Super 8 allow you to get into the characters and then get involved with the action and special effects; not the other way around. I like it better that way. Expand
  16. Jul 31, 2011
    9
    I listened to Jon Favreau talk about this film last year at Comic Con and he said he wanted to do a classic western with aliens. This film is exactly that; a western with aliens. Great actors, great scenery, hilarious dialogue. Overall if u like western films you should like this one. Don't pay attention to all the bad reviews, those people just didn't get it. When you see this movie justI listened to Jon Favreau talk about this film last year at Comic Con and he said he wanted to do a classic western with aliens. This film is exactly that; a western with aliens. Great actors, great scenery, hilarious dialogue. Overall if u like western films you should like this one. Don't pay attention to all the bad reviews, those people just didn't get it. When you see this movie just sit back relax and enjoy the movie for what it is. A western with aliens. Expand
  17. Aug 2, 2011
    9
    I think that this movie is great fun. There is one minor character who caused some problems for me, but overall this movie was very enjoyable on all fronts. I think that the reason that the rating on this movie is so low is because it is genre bending, and many people do not like that at all.
  18. Aug 20, 2011
    9
    For the genre this is a fun cliched cowboy and Indians movie that just happens up have aliens in it. I lived it, Ford was grumbling and cranky, Craig was hot and tough, and Wilde was smouldering as always... BrainCandy go see it!!!
  19. Aug 31, 2011
    9
    This is also from my Rotten Tomatoes review:
    Well this film was quite a good one. The acting was good, the story was decent and the aliens were quite scary and gruesome. So does it all add up well in the end? Well in my opinion it does and as a result it turns out to be a good watch. It isn't as good as the classic Iron Man is but it's still a very good film. Daniel Craig, Harrison Ford
    This is also from my Rotten Tomatoes review:
    Well this film was quite a good one. The acting was good, the story was decent and the aliens were quite scary and gruesome. So does it all add up well in the end? Well in my opinion it does and as a result it turns out to be a good watch. It isn't as good as the classic Iron Man is but it's still a very good film. Daniel Craig, Harrison Ford and even Olivia Wilde are very good in this movie. This is the best role and acting Olivia Wilde has done in my opinion. Heck even the kid from The Last Airbender was quite good in this which is a huge step forward for him. I hope he gets inroled in better films in the future. Another good thing is that the aliens weren't C.G.I. for 100% of the time even though they were C.G.I. for most of it. So they actually put some effort into everything in this film and in my opinion it is way better than the critics and most of the audience put it. But the only problem I had with this film was that it could have been a little bit longer. But that's not a problem since most of the time you're having good fun. So I'm giving this film a 9/10 for being a good science fiction movie but being a litte bit short as well.
    Expand
  20. Dec 19, 2011
    9
    Most people sitting here reviewing this movie, I think were looking for something incredible intelectually stimulating and emotionally compelling - Which is something you're never gonna get out of a movie like this. As ridiculous as the premise sounds, the film is incredibly entertaining and just damn cool. With good acting from the leads, a storyline that isn't too bad, and action scenesMost people sitting here reviewing this movie, I think were looking for something incredible intelectually stimulating and emotionally compelling - Which is something you're never gonna get out of a movie like this. As ridiculous as the premise sounds, the film is incredibly entertaining and just damn cool. With good acting from the leads, a storyline that isn't too bad, and action scenes that make you go 'God damn, that's cool!' I must say that this is one of my favourite movies to come out this year. Expand
  21. Dec 31, 2011
    9
    As far as genre mashups go, Cowboys and Aliens pretty much takes the cake. The plot is absolutely ridiculous in a fun way, and the novelty of cowboys shooting aliens is unforgettable. Add in some comedic scenes and a wonderful cast mainly dominated by Daniel Craig, and you've got yourself one rollicking good time.
  22. Mar 2, 2012
    9
    A strangely enjoyable movie that can be humorous and action packed, but surprisingly never cheesy even with the fact that it's just one big goofy idea, it succeeds because it takes itself seriously even when it could just give in and be a campy flick, it ca be a bit predictable at times but in the end comes together to be a highly enjoyable movie that I can't help but recommend.
  23. Mar 19, 2012
    9
    This movie was very sad, exciting and thrilling. I would like to watch it again as it is very funny and sad at the same time!
  24. Apr 3, 2012
    9
    First off, this is a 9 out of 10 Movie. Acting is good. Everyone does good. Score is really good. Story is good. This movie has quiet a good story. Also the visual effects, set pieces, and action sequences are really good. Overall, this is a great movie. Title sounds stupid, but it still delivers.
  25. Apr 14, 2012
    9
    This movie was surprisingly good. It had great action and a great mystery unraveling before our eyes, the only thing lacking was character development (not including the main character). It was a crazy cross between Sci-Fi and Western which they pulled off well, if you love westerns or sci-fi you would want to see this movie. Its worth watching.
  26. Feb 14, 2013
    9
    I loved this movie! It`s a much more of an original idea then most of the same old same crap out there.It`s funny how crap like "Cabin in the Woods", get a high rating, but a fun movie like this gets trashed.
  27. Jul 29, 2011
    8
    I really want to write a review for this movie because of such mixed reception.
    If you are able to just sit back, relax, and enjoy a film about Cowboys against Aliens, then you are certainly able to have a ton of fun watching this film. If you are a nosy critic who whines at every historical inaccuracy or takes a heavy sigh every time something doesn't appeal to an Oscar worthy taste, then
    I really want to write a review for this movie because of such mixed reception.
    If you are able to just sit back, relax, and enjoy a film about Cowboys against Aliens, then you are certainly able to have a ton of fun watching this film. If you are a nosy critic who whines at every historical inaccuracy or takes a heavy sigh every time something doesn't appeal to an Oscar worthy taste, then this movie is DEFINITIVELY not for you. I for one, love adventure films and sci-fi films and a thought that Cowboys and Aliens blended the two together well. I had FUN, is what I'm saying. The battle scenes are plenty intense and the action heated up rather well towards the end. The characters in this picture, while thin, are still worth rooting for and each actor gives a solid performance.
    A few people have complained about the aliens, saying that they weren't engaging or interesting enough. I thought that they were rather unique. They were large and intimidating, yet speedy and frightening. If they had given the aliens more intelligence or character, it would've made the movie drawn out and tiring. I believe that they way they had kept it was good enough for the audience. Really, the main problem that I had with the film is that the dialogue tends to fall flat throughout the script. In fact, the whole script could have used another solid draft before making the final cut. The writers clearly have not seen enough "real" westerns like "The Good, The Bad and The Ugly" and "True Grit" to know how to make a truly engaging environment. PLEASE don't take my review as "It was big, loud and dumb but I had FUN so go see it!" There are WAY too many movies like that around nowadays. I also think that the critic reviews were low because of the Christian elements in this film. The pastor character in this film speaks his mind throughout his performance and gives a strong impression to the other characters. This alone is probably why so many critics didn't like the general character interaction within the film. . I seriously thought that this movie had good content and action to compile a great film. But PLEASE don't go into the theater expecting an Oscar worthy spectacle of Cowboys fighting Aliens. With this attitude, you will be disappointed. This is a great film. You just have to have the right attitude going in.
    Thanks for reading!
    Follow me on Twitter @PaulCalebCanyon
    Expand
  28. Jul 29, 2011
    8
    If you're wondering if you should see this movie, think of the title. If you have any doubt or roll your eyes at the thought of the title, don't go see it. If you like the sound of the ridiculous notion of a movie that has cowboys and aliens, and you enjoy action and fun, you should enjoy it. It's a summer action popcorn flick, nothing more.

    Don't try to figure out historical accuracy,
    If you're wondering if you should see this movie, think of the title. If you have any doubt or roll your eyes at the thought of the title, don't go see it. If you like the sound of the ridiculous notion of a movie that has cowboys and aliens, and you enjoy action and fun, you should enjoy it. It's a summer action popcorn flick, nothing more.

    Don't try to figure out historical accuracy, it's a movie with cowboys and aliens.
    Expand
  29. Jul 30, 2011
    8
    Its a western with extreme stereotype characters caught in a series of outlandish and entertaining scenes. Frankly I think if it had less A-listers the expectation would have been lower and the ratings would have been higher. Shame, because it is entertaining thru and thru; good vs. evil, love vs greed, humans vs the cosmos, popcorn action at its best. C&A is funny, entertaining, scary,Its a western with extreme stereotype characters caught in a series of outlandish and entertaining scenes. Frankly I think if it had less A-listers the expectation would have been lower and the ratings would have been higher. Shame, because it is entertaining thru and thru; good vs. evil, love vs greed, humans vs the cosmos, popcorn action at its best. C&A is funny, entertaining, scary, and even daft at times, but again with the intent to entertain. With a better back story to the central character and a grittier ending I would have given it a 10. Expand
  30. drm
    Jul 30, 2011
    8
    When I read Roger Ebert's review of this, it went something like this, "Why couldn't this have just been a western?" At the time, I thought that was kind of a harsh review, since I know of his childhood bias toward western cinema. He's right though. This totally could have stood on it's own without science fiction assistance. Daniel Craig is so f***ing cool in this movie. HarrisonWhen I read Roger Ebert's review of this, it went something like this, "Why couldn't this have just been a western?" At the time, I thought that was kind of a harsh review, since I know of his childhood bias toward western cinema. He's right though. This totally could have stood on it's own without science fiction assistance. Daniel Craig is so f***ing cool in this movie. Harrison Ford is too. It's almost like too many dope actors got trapped in 'ordinary film syndrome'. Please don't misunderstand, I liked this movie, and I had fun watching it. I think people beat up Olivia Wilde too hard. She is very beautiful, but this role didn't really exploit her talents correctly. I could go on and on about the ways modern film makes female leads ineffective, compared to their 20th century counterparts, but that's a whole other thing. Bottom line, this was fun. Go see it. :] Expand
  31. Jul 31, 2011
    8
    The first time I heard the title '' Cowboys & Aliens '' I laugh, because it sounded so ridiculous. After seeing it, I was impressed how it turned out to be. This movie offers cool characters (like Jake Lonergan played by Daniel Craig), great action, great acting and it's ridiculously awesome, since cowboys are fighting against aliens. Yes, it may be silly at first, but it managed to stayThe first time I heard the title '' Cowboys & Aliens '' I laugh, because it sounded so ridiculous. After seeing it, I was impressed how it turned out to be. This movie offers cool characters (like Jake Lonergan played by Daniel Craig), great action, great acting and it's ridiculously awesome, since cowboys are fighting against aliens. Yes, it may be silly at first, but it managed to stay '' serious ''. There were some parts that they were just talking, some people could find that boring. The movie started really well, so well that anyone could get easily captivated by the story. It makes you think about the situation and you just want to find out the truth. The movie really focus on the cowboys, which surprised me. It's great because it still have that small western ambiance. Also, Olivia Wilde locked incredibly hot. She should get arrested for that, because she distracts me. Anyway, it's very enjoyable, definitely worth watching. I might even see it again. Expand
  32. Aug 1, 2011
    8
    I liked the concept for this movie. It was very unique and Jon Favreau made a very solid movie. I thought the movie had a bit more potential, seeing as Iron Man was very well done. Daniel Craig, phenomenal actor in this movie, Harrison Ford did... Eh, but that is besides the point. The cinematography was beautiful, the sounds were great and where the heck can i get myself one of thoseI liked the concept for this movie. It was very unique and Jon Favreau made a very solid movie. I thought the movie had a bit more potential, seeing as Iron Man was very well done. Daniel Craig, phenomenal actor in this movie, Harrison Ford did... Eh, but that is besides the point. The cinematography was beautiful, the sounds were great and where the heck can i get myself one of those bracelets? A very solid movie. Expand
  33. Aug 1, 2011
    8
    The movie has great action, plot, and character growth. The aspect of memory loss in the main character helped the plot grow. It was nice to see a western movie, and alians didn't add a bad touch. In all honesty, i don't believe this movie deserves a 10, but it doesn't deserve anything below a 7
  34. Aug 1, 2011
    8
    Okay. Cowboys and Aliens. One side has high-tec weaponry, the other has six-shooters. Who do you think wins? Well, the side with the guy that has a stolen alien laser-shooting bracelet of course! In this movie, aliens raid a town, steal some people, and flee. Everybody that is left heads out to go and find them. Along the way, the group is narrowed down, but they also end up recruiting aOkay. Cowboys and Aliens. One side has high-tec weaponry, the other has six-shooters. Who do you think wins? Well, the side with the guy that has a stolen alien laser-shooting bracelet of course! In this movie, aliens raid a town, steal some people, and flee. Everybody that is left heads out to go and find them. Along the way, the group is narrowed down, but they also end up recruiting a pack of Indians and ruffians. The movie is pretty good, with the acting very solid. everybody played their roles well. The story was pretty good, as good as a cowboys and aliens story can be, and the script was pretty good. There are some moments of suspense, and a couple startling moments, but nothing that will overly frighten you. The big problem with this film was the issues with continuity. Among other things, at one point all the people are riding into battle together. if you count how many people proceed to get owned by the aliens, you realize they lost more men than they really had. Still, this isn't exactly obvious, you'd have to studiously study the movie to see it. There are a couple good stunts, a couple big explosions, though the best attack is always going to be the initial attack on the town. If you're looking for action, a couple one-liners, some gruff transactions, and some sci-fi mixed in, this is a good movie to see, and I fully recommend it. Expand
  35. Aug 5, 2011
    8
    Thrilling, dazzling, and even a bit tearjerking at times, Cowboys & Aliens is a fantastical western-sci-fi with action-packed sequences and groundbreaking performances from Daniel Craig, Harrison Ford, and Olivia Wilde.
  36. Aug 9, 2011
    8
    Simply put, if you do not like Cowboys or Aliens there is no reason to see this film. If you are, like me, an aficionado of both western films and science fiction, the movie delivers on most fronts. Daniel Craig is appropriately badass in the lead role and Harrison Ford turns in a good performance as well. Olivia Wilde does the best she can with an underwritten role, including one momentSimply put, if you do not like Cowboys or Aliens there is no reason to see this film. If you are, like me, an aficionado of both western films and science fiction, the movie delivers on most fronts. Daniel Craig is appropriately badass in the lead role and Harrison Ford turns in a good performance as well. Olivia Wilde does the best she can with an underwritten role, including one moment that was so ridiculous it made me laugh out loud. Other than the occasional cliche hiccup the film is very satisfying ONLY if you would normally go to a movie called Cowboys and Aliens Expand
  37. Aug 12, 2011
    8
    I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. Daniel Craig and Harrison Ford are fantastic and with a supporting cast including the likes of Sam Rockwell, you can't go wrong. Then there are huge missteps like casting Oliva Wilde, who should stick to mediocre television shows. The plot was lacking in many places, but the fresh concept along with Crag and Ford makes this idea easier to deal with.
  38. Sep 9, 2011
    8
    I liked the trailer. To my surprise gf did too. So we went. And i have to say, this is a great fun movie. Does exactly what it says on the packet. Yes it's a stupid title and a wacky mash-up concept, but I just really enjoyed it. Great cast of attractive ppl, great effects, pretty straight-forward if unusual plot. Good ****
  39. Sep 10, 2011
    8
    Brutal, Brutal, BRUUTTALLL!!!! Okay I just got back from seeing "Cowboys and Aliens" and I have to say, I've seen 3 westerns in my whole life, and this, This tops them ALLL!!! If you could consider it a western, I consider it a Sci-fi Western Horror film. I have to put a warning up right now, this is not for the faint of heart or squemish, because there are a lot of jump moments in thisBrutal, Brutal, BRUUTTALLL!!!! Okay I just got back from seeing "Cowboys and Aliens" and I have to say, I've seen 3 westerns in my whole life, and this, This tops them ALLL!!! If you could consider it a western, I consider it a Sci-fi Western Horror film. I have to put a warning up right now, this is not for the faint of heart or squemish, because there are a lot of jump moments in this film, and there is a lot of human and alien massacres in this film, BLOODILY I might add. Now this film is one of the best films, if not the best film, Jon Favreau has directed, And I love the first and second Iron Man film (2 more than the first.) Daniel Craig, Harrison Ford, and Olivia Wild all do fantastic jobs as the main characters, and the side characters are all well done too, Clancy Brown as the pastor, and Sam Rockwell as the Doctor all do fantastic jobs. But lets talk about the thing everybody loves in these movies, the aliens. The aliens in this movie have similar desires like the aliens in the terrible film "Battlefield Earth" They want gold, why I couldn't figure it out and am not sure if they mention it. The aliens look interesting, and I will say one thing right now that is a bit of a subplot with one of the aliens and Daniel Craigs character. Daniel Craig slashed an alien in the eye with a surgical tool, that was gonna disect him, this alien returns and tries to do the same thing, and what happens to him is the most awesome and satisfying death in any movie I have ever seen. The film starts out pretty slow but once the aliens show up, it speeds on by like nothing and is a definite thrill ride. Also the amount of human and alien blood and jump moments in this movie makes me wonder how it didn't get an R rating. The ending 35 minute action scene is incredible to watch and is very well done. All I have to say is, if you're squemish or very jumpy in horror movies, don't see this, but if you aren't and want a great action sci fi western film, check this out. Expand
  40. Dec 9, 2011
    8
    I confess I rented this DVD with low expectations. This was the summer blockbuster that couldn't get itself arrested, not by Doc, the Sheriff, or Colonel Dolarhyde. If it weren't for the international market, they would have never even covered their budget with the box office sales. I remember Jay Leno asking Daniel Craig, "So what is Cowboys and Aliens about?" and the reply was, "It'sI confess I rented this DVD with low expectations. This was the summer blockbuster that couldn't get itself arrested, not by Doc, the Sheriff, or Colonel Dolarhyde. If it weren't for the international market, they would have never even covered their budget with the box office sales. I remember Jay Leno asking Daniel Craig, "So what is Cowboys and Aliens about?" and the reply was, "It's about cowboys and aliens." That boy needs to have his interviews scripted. As soon as he's out there on the loose, he uses the f-word in every possible grammatical form--adjective, adverb, noun, gerund, and present participle. I expected the real Daniel Craig to be difficult, abrupt, moody, passionate, ... but inarticulate? And he still won't tell the press how he pulled off that secret wedding. (Quote: "I'm not going to f---ing tell you.") But does anyone really care? I don't. In any case, the wonder of it was that this was actually a good movie. There was tension, surprises, spectacular special effects, a love interest, and the bad guys were big, dumb aliens. The title is slightly inaccurate--it's actually, Cowboys and Indians and Aliens. They couldn't have done it without a band of Native Americans fighting at their side. There's even a Message to the Film. What will it take to unite the world and get everyone to stop fighting with each other? An invasion from outer space, of course. It works like a charm. Harrison Ford earned some critical demerits for looking perpetually grim, but it was in keeping with the character. The little boy was a necessary cliche, but it was great to see him grow up in a flash. Even the dog was a good actor. And Paul Dano is a very un-Hollywood type actor and very talented. Daniel Craig as Jake Lonergan, a name which gives a hint about his character (something like Loner-again) is impressively effective as an American cowboy who is a force to be reckoned with. He's certainly not Bond in this film, although he does have one fancy electronic gadget that he wears as a bracelet. Electronic gadgets didn't exist in the Wild West, so obviously he borrowed the trinket from a passing extraterrestrial, if only he could remember who. He's forgotten who he is, which gets him into a lot of trouble, but Ella (Olivia Wilde), who looks too pale and wide-eyed to be human, is convinced he can recall everything if he just tries hard enough. In the end, the film holds your attention, is entertaining, and has good actors. Expand
  41. Mar 31, 2013
    8
    Interesante mezcla de géneros. Western y ciencia ficción. E igual de interesante mezclar a Indiana Jones y James Bond, además de Trece la doctora bisexual de House.
    Entretenimiento y lección al verdadero rol paterno.
  42. Jun 13, 2013
    8
    I love Westerns and I love Science Fiction and movies from both genres that are fun. Conceptually this is a great idea mixing the genres as they have done. My initial review is that it begins very well, sags in the middle, then picks up in the final few acts.

    The special effects are very well done. I really enjoy the design of the aliens. They are menacing and threatening with no regard
    I love Westerns and I love Science Fiction and movies from both genres that are fun. Conceptually this is a great idea mixing the genres as they have done. My initial review is that it begins very well, sags in the middle, then picks up in the final few acts.

    The special effects are very well done. I really enjoy the design of the aliens. They are menacing and threatening with no regard for human life. The acting is very well done. Both Harrison Ford and Daniel Craig offer believable characters that are not one dimensional. Both men are tough, full of pride and though they are on different sides of the issue at the start of the movie it is not so easy to distinguish the typical western good guy from the bad guy. The plot is creative and they way typical adversaries in western movies all come together to battle the aliens flows well into the story and is not forced and artificial.

    Once the aliens arrive and the back story of Daniel Craig's character is explored is when the movie begins to sag. Other things also happen that slows down the pacing of the movie. One event is the revelation of another alien which is used to explain the motive of the invading aliens. I think they could have found another way for exposition and it would have quicken the pacing. The other reason the middle of the movie sags is that many scenes take place in the dark and it is difficult to view what was happening. I wish movie makers would lighten night scenes just a bit so we the viewer could see a bit more of what is going on.

    The final confrontation with the aliens is when the movie come back to life and returns to the pacing and quality story telling that it began with. Although a bit uneven all in all the movie does deliver an exciting, fun and gritty combination of the two genres.
    Expand
  43. Dec 25, 2014
    8
    This movie is an interesting mix of 2 genres that have nothing in common.There is a lot of action and the citing is good,the special effects are really good and the aliens are frightening.
  44. Jul 30, 2011
    7
    I can't believe the mixed reviews from the critics! I think the critics were expecting a movie that would solve our our nations debt problems. What this movie did was not make us think about those problems. Gritty Westerns meets "Aliens" (maybe not as gory) this movie did it well enough that you will be thoroughly entertained. The movie was classic summer popcorn entertainment that blendedI can't believe the mixed reviews from the critics! I think the critics were expecting a movie that would solve our our nations debt problems. What this movie did was not make us think about those problems. Gritty Westerns meets "Aliens" (maybe not as gory) this movie did it well enough that you will be thoroughly entertained. The movie was classic summer popcorn entertainment that blended two great summer movie genres; I mean come on I haven't seen combination like this in a long time.The casting was superb; Harrison Ford played a great villain that by the end of the movie I had huge respect. Of all the characters, I found him the most interesting to watch as his character develops through the story. Daniel Craig - mysterious, stoic, hard tough, kick ass hero - fun to watch. Don't take it super serious, and don't expect a killer blockbuster. Relax. Have fun and enjoy the actors. I don't give it higher than a 7 because the alien kidnapping humans genre we have all seen before; and it was somewhat predictable. Gritty Westerns where you can really see the age of the actors (and raw beauty) with grimy clothes that you can almost smell the grime through the screen is nothing new either. But that doesn't mean I didn't enjoy the scenery. It is not a type of movie that will cause me to deeply reflect on life values or experiences. But if you want to escape into a Western story that is slightly different. Watch this movie. Expand
  45. Jul 30, 2011
    7
    This actually wasn't that bad of a movie. Sure, it lacked in a few minor elements, but overall, it was worth $10.50. The suspense was the only thing that lacked for me. No "edge-of-your-seat" moments. But what was lost there made up for in beautiful landscapes and epic battle sequences. This was one of the better summer movies of 2011.
  46. Jul 31, 2011
    7
    Good movie overall; still have to assume though that some things or some events just happened the way it did; like when the main character went back for more help, that the rest of the group did move away from the alien's ship...though we didn't see that in the film. :)
  47. Jul 31, 2011
    7
    Sometimes movies are not that interesting to me that gives me no pleasure to enjoy every movie that is original or fun, but only one that is so fun that gives you a lot energy to enjoy the pleasure of great popcorn flick. That's what I'm talking about the movie called Cowboys & Aliens is good cowboy movie that shows great special effects (without no 3D, thanks to joy of 2D), the charactersSometimes movies are not that interesting to me that gives me no pleasure to enjoy every movie that is original or fun, but only one that is so fun that gives you a lot energy to enjoy the pleasure of great popcorn flick. That's what I'm talking about the movie called Cowboys & Aliens is good cowboy movie that shows great special effects (without no 3D, thanks to joy of 2D), the characters are badass including Daniel Craig and Harrison Ford, the western action is fun and it brings the old school of western cliches that even in Rango and True Grit could be combine into an awesome flick, and genre stays a perfect script and thanks to Jon Favreau who help this movie to be a best popcorn flick of western pulp fun. Enjoy this decent and clever film that people will not enjoy if they see those dumb movies that they want to enjoy. Expand
  48. Aug 1, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There are some really great elements to this film, and some really weak/boring ones. First, and most importantly, they tried far too hard to make the movie more than it needed to be. SPOILER- The alien space ships, for example, were far too small. When we see one shot down, the alien that comes out of it is bigger than the ship. And grappling hooks to grab the humans? Really? I thought it was a great idea to have the aliens looking for something other than the big 3 alien needs: water, slaves, or land because their planet is dying. But it was never explained why the aliens needed so much gold so badly, except to say it's as rare to them as it is to us. Also, why, exactly, were they taking humans? To find our weaknesses is, in itself weak. They were so advanced, with superior weapons, and they had no problem killing humans. Other then that, I enjoyed the movie quite a but. Craig and Ford are outstanding in their roles. Wilde, and the supporting cast were adequate, and in some cases (the doctor, the sheriff) quite good. I for one loved that it was a western. Seeing aliens in the badlands over 100 years ago was new, and therefore entertaining. The biggest problem I had with the movie was of my own making. The commercials for the movie made me think, for some reason, that it was more of a campy, slightly cheesy comedy. It is not! I kept waiting for the laughs, expecting more from the movie than it delivered, and that took away from it. But as I say, that was my own fault. Still, it's an entertaining film! Expand
  49. Aug 2, 2011
    7
    If you believe in aliens, then you know they have been around and visited the planet in other times, so why not a movie about them visiting earth during the wild west period? Makes sense to me. The movie works because it is played straight up, no camp, no comedy. I liked the first half of the movie better than the second half when it turns into your basic alien shoot-em-up, but it isIf you believe in aliens, then you know they have been around and visited the planet in other times, so why not a movie about them visiting earth during the wild west period? Makes sense to me. The movie works because it is played straight up, no camp, no comedy. I liked the first half of the movie better than the second half when it turns into your basic alien shoot-em-up, but it is still attention grabbing and fun even then. I do get tired of Hollywood portraying aliens as slobbery, dripping beasts with fangs and claws that don't even verbally communicate with one another, but I guess we're stuck with that. You also have to open your mind to other silliness such as the aliens using a lasso to capture their victims while flying in their saucers at high speed. Seems kind of low-tech for such a superior being. Harrison Ford and Daniel Craig are terrific and the supporting cast is at their level as well. Overall an entertaining summer movie. Collapse
  50. Aug 5, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. James Bond meets Indiana Jones, gets close to Olivia Wilde and fights aliens with a wrist band that "Q" didn't give him. Set in 1870s New Mexico, the story has cowboys joining outlaws and Indians to battle evil critters from outer space who have stopped by to do a little gold prospecting and human harvesting. The plot is preposterous and heavy handed but it's still sheer enjoyment to watch 007 and Indy tear up the scenery and beat off the monsters. There are elements of Shane, Rio Bravo, The Magnificent Seven and several other classics blended into this tale of redemption and lost love but the action wins the day. Not shot in 3D, this movie proves that you just don't need it to make a good movie. Order a large popcorn, sit back and just enjoy the fun. Expand
  51. Aug 8, 2011
    7
    Saw this movie last week and to be honest i went into it with high expectations and i walked out of the theatre pleased. This movie was good. It had its flaws here and there, some actine issues and other minor things, olivia wilde is hot but she isnt the best actress and harrison ford seemed, idk, not the harrison ford we all grew to love, i think he was a bit old for his role but he wasSaw this movie last week and to be honest i went into it with high expectations and i walked out of the theatre pleased. This movie was good. It had its flaws here and there, some actine issues and other minor things, olivia wilde is hot but she isnt the best actress and harrison ford seemed, idk, not the harrison ford we all grew to love, i think he was a bit old for his role but he was still good. I mean lets be honest, your going to see a movie titled Cowboys & Aliens with Indiana Jones and James Bond in it, what are you expecting? An academy award for best picture? Not at all, if thats what you were expecting to see then well your clearly an idiot so no need to come on jere and write a review bashing on things the director wasnt going for. I went in expecting an action spectacle about cowboys fighting aliens and daniel craig being a bada$$ and thats exactly what i saw. First film with cowboys and aliens in the same movie and it was successful, more like 7.5/10 for me Expand
  52. Aug 13, 2011
    7
    As a science fiction film, "Cowboys & Aliens" is pretty average - there's nothing too special about the aliens themselves, and the action is standard. But C&A is, more than anything, a Western. The actors play their parts perfectly, and not once did the whole "Aliens in the Old West" thing seem like a gimmick. The film does not rely on cowboy cliches but is actually able to develop theAs a science fiction film, "Cowboys & Aliens" is pretty average - there's nothing too special about the aliens themselves, and the action is standard. But C&A is, more than anything, a Western. The actors play their parts perfectly, and not once did the whole "Aliens in the Old West" thing seem like a gimmick. The film does not rely on cowboy cliches but is actually able to develop the characters, and the setting, in its own way. It's plenty of fun. Expand
  53. Aug 20, 2011
    7
    Cowboys and Aliens needed better aliens to support the cowboys, the pacing was uneven, and there was nothing innovative or new, but Cowboys and Aliens was fun, thanks to fun action, a strong cast, and a script which was much better than I thought it would be. It may not be a Captain America or Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2, but it is better than the sad action movies thisCowboys and Aliens needed better aliens to support the cowboys, the pacing was uneven, and there was nothing innovative or new, but Cowboys and Aliens was fun, thanks to fun action, a strong cast, and a script which was much better than I thought it would be. It may not be a Captain America or Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2, but it is better than the sad action movies this year such as Transformers Dark of the Moon. Expand
  54. Aug 27, 2011
    7
    It's a decent film. It's not bad but it's nothing too special either. The story is good and the representation and setting of the cowboy theme is excellent. You know what to expect if Daniel Craig is in a film and this film definitely has many good fight scenes. There were a few twists but I could predict the ending very quickly, but it is a fun ride nonetheless. So if you like cowboys,It's a decent film. It's not bad but it's nothing too special either. The story is good and the representation and setting of the cowboy theme is excellent. You know what to expect if Daniel Craig is in a film and this film definitely has many good fight scenes. There were a few twists but I could predict the ending very quickly, but it is a fun ride nonetheless. So if you like cowboys, aliens and action and adventure then you will probably enjoy this film. Expand
  55. Aug 29, 2011
    7
    A good if not great summer blockbuster. The very fact that it tries to be a little different is worthy enough of checking this one out. I really liked the western first half and the second sci-fi half was OK. Great cast and the director Jon Favreau does a good job of holding it all together and it looks beautiful. I really liked Daniel Craig and Harrison Ford in this. Worth seeing but IA good if not great summer blockbuster. The very fact that it tries to be a little different is worthy enough of checking this one out. I really liked the western first half and the second sci-fi half was OK. Great cast and the director Jon Favreau does a good job of holding it all together and it looks beautiful. I really liked Daniel Craig and Harrison Ford in this. Worth seeing but I don't expect to see a trend starting from mash-ups like this in future. Expand
  56. Jan 27, 2012
    7
    I liked this movie more than I thought I would. Although it left me feeling like I needed more aliens and much less cowboys. I felt that the aliens weren't well defined. One day you could unload a full revolver into them with no effect and other times one shot could kill them. They stay underground because they don't see well in light but when they come out in bright daylight they killI liked this movie more than I thought I would. Although it left me feeling like I needed more aliens and much less cowboys. I felt that the aliens weren't well defined. One day you could unload a full revolver into them with no effect and other times one shot could kill them. They stay underground because they don't see well in light but when they come out in bright daylight they kill just as good as they do in the dark. Supposedly there's only one scout craft but they find a steam ship "500 miles away from any river big enough to hold it". The flash backs seem out of place and don't give you enough info to actually care about his past. Other than all of that it has the right amount of humor, fights, death, strange drugs, and explosions. Its a pretty good movie after you look past all the things I found wrong with it. Expand
  57. Apr 12, 2012
    7
    Cowboys & Aliens is a good western (with cool sci-fi stuff thrown in), for some reason it reminds me of transformers, I think it's the action in it, stuff explodes, people scream, you know what I mean. Basically, it's a fun western with aliens thrown in, I think anybody that likes those sort of things should watch it, it seems like a Micheal bay film but a bit better.
  58. May 14, 2012
    7
    Cowboys and Aliens is a lot better than I thought it would be. Sure, the mixing of genres doesn't seem ideal, but who are we to judge? Its enjoyable, its fun- what more can we ask of it?
  59. Aug 26, 2012
    7
    I was super excited to see 'Cowboys & Aliens'. I never read the comic book that the film was based on, but I absolutely loved the concept of cowboys duking it out with aliens. The fact that the director of 'Iron Man' was behind the director's chair also had me psyched. While I certainly got a solid movie out of it, I was expecting more. The film never is as fun as you might expect, andI was super excited to see 'Cowboys & Aliens'. I never read the comic book that the film was based on, but I absolutely loved the concept of cowboys duking it out with aliens. The fact that the director of 'Iron Man' was behind the director's chair also had me psyched. While I certainly got a solid movie out of it, I was expecting more. The film never is as fun as you might expect, and that probably has to do with how serious the film is in tone. Harrison Ford and Daniel Craig are great, the special effects are pretty good, and the blending of western and science fiction elements is done well. If the film let itself loose and didn't take itself as serious as it did, it could have been a lot more fun. With that being said, it's a fine film overall. Expand
  60. Mar 25, 2013
    7
    Besides a few corny moments Cowboys & Aliens is a fun interesting ride of two unlikely foes. Jon Favreau mixes classical western and sci- fiction quite well even when the story can at times be dull.
  61. Apr 8, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Being one of Hollywood's top directors today after directing the two successful 'Iron Man' movies, Jon Favreau has now turned his direction to aliens in a western world and 'Cowboys and Aliens' is the product. Cowboys and Aliens is an American Western Science-Fiction movie and starring talented actors like Daniel Craig, Harrison Ford and Sam Rockwell.

    The film's main plot favours simplicity instead of complexity, it is 'grabbing' instead or 'challenging' or to easily put-Cowboys and Aliens never offers much fresh or colossal contents. The story: in the creators' 'creative' imagination, the inhabitants of the invaded town got abducted by Aliens. So Jake Lonergan (Played by Daniel Craig), an amnesiac outlaw, joins up with a posse to rescue the captured people. Heard before? Repetitive? Formulaic much?

    The thing which troubled me the most is the image of the 'alien'. It is neither intelligent looking nor it is interesting to look at; it is just as good as other beasts or monsters in any mediocre films, and it leads to a conclusion that it's intelligence and the looks of the alien, simply doesn't matched. Bloodcurdling or 'smart' looking would be there in my expectations but the aliens in the movie declined to touch me.

    The performances are above-average. Daniel Craig, being a skillful actor, is raw, wild and genuinely appealing. I would not be pleased to mention that his work for this film is admirable or solid, but he is undeniably well equipped with charisma and for any actors, that mentioned skill is hugely important. Harrison Ford's contribution is as important as Craig's in this one. Ford is greatly appealing too, and his skills for acting are very much in evidence here. Other actors and actresses too deliver fine performances but Paul Dano somewhat disappoints me here. After showing somehow a great performance in There Will Be Blood, Paul Dano sells an acting show which I would say, mediocre, and I feel like I'm being hit. I expected more from him.

    I'm very much in love with the settings of this movie. I adore on how the filmmakers captured the beautiful images of the western world and needless to say, the greatest element of Cowboys and Aliens is the sublime shots that the filmmakers have captured.

    Despite being flawed, I believe that this movie is still a fun ride. Formulaic? Yes it is. But sometimes, formulaic stuffs could capture my attention as they are very easy to follow.

    [2/4]

    (http://www.rottentomatoes.com/member/AlexDesmall) (http://facebook.com/alex.desmall) Twitter (@Alex_DeSmall)
    Expand
  62. Sep 9, 2013
    7
    Cowboys and Aliens cannot bother to make you care about the characters, and halfway in you lose all interest to the story whatsoever. Although the action is riveting and quite well filmed. Sam Rockwell is very good as the doctor who can't shoot anything and is undoubtedly the best thing about the film. Cowboys and Aliens has a weak story and annoying characters but makes up for that byCowboys and Aliens cannot bother to make you care about the characters, and halfway in you lose all interest to the story whatsoever. Although the action is riveting and quite well filmed. Sam Rockwell is very good as the doctor who can't shoot anything and is undoubtedly the best thing about the film. Cowboys and Aliens has a weak story and annoying characters but makes up for that by having exciting action sequences and surprisingly good CGI. Expand
  63. Jul 30, 2011
    6
    Cowboy and Aliens is at the very least a typical summer action flick. The main problem I had with it is that it dragged out the film to an unnecessary point. Also the tone shifts in the movie got a little annoying. On the good side all the actors did a great job portraying there respectful characters. None of them were over the top. It is the essence of a popcorn flick, which isn'tCowboy and Aliens is at the very least a typical summer action flick. The main problem I had with it is that it dragged out the film to an unnecessary point. Also the tone shifts in the movie got a little annoying. On the good side all the actors did a great job portraying there respectful characters. None of them were over the top. It is the essence of a popcorn flick, which isn't necessarily a bad thing. Expand
  64. Aug 4, 2011
    6
    The western part of this movie is spectacular. On the other hand, the sci fi part of this movie was way below par. I am a sci fi fan and all but this movie just didn't meet my standards
  65. Aug 16, 2011
    6
    This movie is an excellent popcorn flick. The action sequences and special effects did not disappoint - nor did the beautiful scenery. However, the lack of character development really disappointed me. I found myself caring little about whether any characters lived or died, and if they had bothered to elaborate more on some of the main characters, it would have been a much better movie.This movie is an excellent popcorn flick. The action sequences and special effects did not disappoint - nor did the beautiful scenery. However, the lack of character development really disappointed me. I found myself caring little about whether any characters lived or died, and if they had bothered to elaborate more on some of the main characters, it would have been a much better movie. Also, the reasoning behind the aliens attack is just bizarre. That being said, gorgeous Western scenes and amazing alien technologies keep you interested, and a suspenseful conclusion is satisfactory enough. Expand
  66. Aug 22, 2011
    6
    It's simply good for what it is; simple, uncomplicated, fun.
    The title should set your standards right away so to expect a very extensive storyline is your own fault for setting standards too high.
  67. Aug 22, 2011
    6
    The idea of mixing a western with sci-fi is a good one with some fun potential and while Cowboys and Aliens is more good than bad it does fall short this potential. The movie does look good, and most of its cast are working well together but unfortunately by the end of the movie there are far too many unanswered questions that youre left feeling incomplete. The first half of cowboys isThe idea of mixing a western with sci-fi is a good one with some fun potential and while Cowboys and Aliens is more good than bad it does fall short this potential. The movie does look good, and most of its cast are working well together but unfortunately by the end of the movie there are far too many unanswered questions that youre left feeling incomplete. The first half of cowboys is decent making good use of its characters but the second half drags with too many uninteresting unnecessary scenes. I understand that the western genre loves the horse riding, camp fire conversation scenes but what we get in the movie are boring and not necessary. The third act of the film gets back on track to a fun action movie, and there are some thrilling moments but the sci-fi elements feel too familiar to be really awesome, the aliens themselves are a bit forgettable. There is some fun to be had in this movie, and the cast is good, if only the plot holes were fixed up and more questions werent left unanswered it would have been better. Expand
  68. Aug 24, 2011
    6
    Sure it won't win any Oscars, and the pace is a little choppy as others have mentioned, but overall I still thought this was passable and worth of a 6/10. I didn't regret watching it, and the concept is different. These days its all remakes, reboots and bad sequels, so it was good to see something a little more original onscreen. Daniel Craig was great but his accent was a little all overSure it won't win any Oscars, and the pace is a little choppy as others have mentioned, but overall I still thought this was passable and worth of a 6/10. I didn't regret watching it, and the concept is different. These days its all remakes, reboots and bad sequels, so it was good to see something a little more original onscreen. Daniel Craig was great but his accent was a little all over the place. I wasn't sure if this was a film issue or an issue with the actual lighting during production but the outdoor sequences at times noticeably changed in saturation and exposure. Aside from that what can I say, if you like cowboys and if you like aliens, you'll probably like this. There are some great action sequences and heartfelt moments between with Harrison Ford's character. It's not a must see, but it's not total rubbish either. Expand
  69. Aug 26, 2011
    6
    Franchement, ne vous arrêtez pas en lisant le titre et le concept de ce film, il cache bien son jeu. En effet, Cowboys & Envahisseurs use des clichés du western pour prouver qu'il en est un tout en restant sérieux. Et le moins que l'on puisse dire, c'est que ça marche du tonnerre. Enfin... durant la première heure.Franchement, ne vous arrêtez pas en lisant le titre et le concept de ce film, il cache bien son jeu. En effet, Cowboys & Envahisseurs use des clichés du western pour prouver qu'il en est un tout en restant sérieux. Et le moins que l'on puisse dire, c'est que ça marche du tonnerre. Enfin... durant la première heure. Après, ce western sombre dans le divertissement un peu balourd avec d'autres clichés typiques d'un blockbuster américain. Mais bon, rien n'est parfait. En tout cas, c'est déjà quelque chose qu'un tel film se montre sympathique, avec ses acteurs (chapeau à Sam Rockwell qui n'a jamais été aussi drôle), ses effets spéciaux, ses costumes, ses décors et son humour. Vous voulez passer un bon moment? Regardez ce film assez divertissant bien qu'inégal et peu mémorable. Expand
  70. Aug 27, 2011
    6
    If you've seen the movie poster you already know exactly what to expect; some aliens, a whip, and a light saber. Well, and that vision in assless chaps (Daniel Craig), who has somehow the face of Harrison Ford...
  71. Aug 28, 2011
    6
    Disappointed with this one, the story wasn't original nor entertaining, so I was expecting a little bit better. I mean Aliens invading a Cowboys land, not really my type of film. I liked the effects of the movie, the acting could be better.
  72. Sep 6, 2011
    6
    My advice for watching this movie is simple... don't watch this expecting a really well thought out story or plot. In fact, don't even really watch this unless you really have to see it, because looking back there's nothing really too appealing, or anything that really stood out in this movie.
  73. Sep 7, 2011
    6
    Yes, the movie's plot is PREPOSTEROUS with a f*cking huge "P". The mix of SF and the west was a impossible task for Jon Favreau (since he makes great movies that have shallow depth like Iron man). However surprisingly he succeeds in presenting a great movie thanks to the dark atmosphere with Daniel Craig and Harrison Ford's cool performances. Though I felt the 'Western" part of the movieYes, the movie's plot is PREPOSTEROUS with a f*cking huge "P". The mix of SF and the west was a impossible task for Jon Favreau (since he makes great movies that have shallow depth like Iron man). However surprisingly he succeeds in presenting a great movie thanks to the dark atmosphere with Daniel Craig and Harrison Ford's cool performances. Though I felt the 'Western" part of the movie was significantly stronger than the "SF" and that the director could have just focused on the Western part and make the movie "Cowboys" without the "aliens". Expand
  74. Oct 22, 2011
    6
    Cowboys and Aliens stars Daniel Craig as Jake Lonergan who wakes up in the western dry landscape with no memory of who he is and why he is there and the only thing that doesn't faze him as much as it should is the strange bulky band that is clamped on to his wrist. After Jake walks into a small town he is recognised as a wanted man by the Sheriff for stealing Colonel Dolarhyde's (HarrisonCowboys and Aliens stars Daniel Craig as Jake Lonergan who wakes up in the western dry landscape with no memory of who he is and why he is there and the only thing that doesn't faze him as much as it should is the strange bulky band that is clamped on to his wrist. After Jake walks into a small town he is recognised as a wanted man by the Sheriff for stealing Colonel Dolarhyde's (Harrison Ford) gold and is imprisoned with a little help from Olivia Wilde's character and soon after strange flying ships start attacking the town and stealing the townspeople. Right from the get go we it feels amazingly like a western tale with a long panning shot of the dusty landscape to Craig suddenly popping up in a panic with the famous blue eyes being the only thing that sticks out. Even the scenes following could be plucked from a spaghetti western, weather it be Jake kicking the crap out of a group of outlaws or Jake kicking the crap out the towns resident **** The mood does start to change when Jake begins to blow alien spaceships out the sky with the laser armband thing he is wearing and when the spaceships start to pluck people like ants from their homes and kidnap them. The entire movie tries to balance these two genres and does it surprisingly well. It makes the story not believable to any stretch of the imagination which is a good thing. The acting is decent enough from pretty much everybody that steps in front off the camera and the set pieces are epic with great direction but one of the things that makes me respect this movie more than anything is that the aliens are well thought out and do have more of a place in the story other than to be a punching bag for the main lead. If there is one thing that slightly niggles me about this movie it is the ending, I don't want to give away to much but it leaves the movie off on a sort of on a low note with a "that's it" type of feel. Over all it does bring the amazing action sequences, a few jumps and a good experience. Yes it is a Hollywood cash grab, but it is a good one. Expand
  75. Jan 19, 2012
    6
    I actually read the GN before watching the movie so I would have a good idea of what to expect and could see what did not translate. I don't read many GNs but I have never been so disappointed at the end of one as I was with this GN. So, by comparison, the movie is really good! They basically had an idea to work from, as provided by the GN, and then had to create everything else to makeI actually read the GN before watching the movie so I would have a good idea of what to expect and could see what did not translate. I don't read many GNs but I have never been so disappointed at the end of one as I was with this GN. So, by comparison, the movie is really good! They basically had an idea to work from, as provided by the GN, and then had to create everything else to make the movie. This is one where the movie is actually much better than the original book! Expand
  76. Feb 6, 2012
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It was ok, but hoped it would be better. Daniel Craig plays it really straight and I cared little for his character. Harrison Ford is underused. Aliens are ok, but pretty much what you expect. I felt that the cowboys never seemed to be as terrified of the aliens as they should have been. Why did Daniel Craig's gang volunteer to sacrifice themselves to distract the aliens to save a bunch of people they had never met? And Olivia Wilde emerging from the fire ... once that had happened I figured anything could happen. Expand
  77. BKM
    Feb 11, 2012
    6
    The title tells you right up front how ridiculous this movie will be, so don't get upset if you can't take it seriously. With that being said, I found the movie to be slickly entertaining with strong performances by Ford and Craig in the lead roles. It's pure escapist entertainment despite the efforts of the entire cast to play it as serious as possible and somehow it all works.
  78. Nov 7, 2012
    6
    The plot is preposterous, and at times the performances are a little more serious than they should be, but I still had fun watching it. Favreau is the man for the job here.
  79. Nov 28, 2012
    6
    It's two top-billed actors give it their best, but it's almost not enough to save this movie from the ridiculous elements that run rampant throughout it.
  80. Dec 22, 2012
    6
    Based on a recent graphic novel of the same name, the concept of cowboys battling aliens is certainly a novel one but it doesn't really work for me. I expected more intrigue from a screenwriting team including Damon Lindelof. What you get if you cross a John Wayne film with Independence Day

    I'm not sure if Jon Favreau and Universal Studios were trying to pitch this as a new Indiana
    Based on a recent graphic novel of the same name, the concept of cowboys battling aliens is certainly a novel one but it doesn't really work for me. I expected more intrigue from a screenwriting team including Damon Lindelof. What you get if you cross a John Wayne film with Independence Day

    I'm not sure if Jon Favreau and Universal Studios were trying to pitch this as a new Indiana Jones but Daniel Craig is not nearly likeable enough with his stereotypically surly cowboy. Ford is suitably gritty as the veteran gun-slinger finding his softer side. Granted there are some exciting scenes but overall it falls pretty flat in merging the two polar genres. One scene where Craig carries Olivia Wilde in his arms until he collapses in exhaustion simply made me want to watch True Grit instead.
    Expand
  81. Jan 23, 2013
    6
    It is an entertaining film, has its dull moments, but overall okay.
  82. Mar 17, 2013
    6
    As a western, it works. As a sci-fi, it doesn't. A movie that by its very name you would think would have more fun with the concept. Instead they actually take themselves a bit too seriously trying desperately to merge two genres that usually wouldn't work. It does kind of work, but what we get is a movie that just feels like it can't decide who its appealing to: Fans of Westerns, or fansAs a western, it works. As a sci-fi, it doesn't. A movie that by its very name you would think would have more fun with the concept. Instead they actually take themselves a bit too seriously trying desperately to merge two genres that usually wouldn't work. It does kind of work, but what we get is a movie that just feels like it can't decide who its appealing to: Fans of Westerns, or fans of Sci-fis. Harrison Ford really seams to be not even trying in this movie, but it was kind of fun seeing him play a bad guy for a change. Overall: A movie that boasted more than it could possibly deliver and that perhaps could have been better had they turned up the comedy a bit. Expand
  83. Nov 23, 2013
    6
    The movie has a very interesting concept and some nice actors, but it is pretty boring. Also the events happening along the storyline seem stupid and not logical just like in some B-class Sci Fi movie.
  84. Jul 29, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. [Spoilers within...] I'm a big fan of westerns and of alien movies, but this particular combination of the two just didn't do it for me. What I like about westerns is feeling that hatred of the truly evil antagonist. Harrison Ford initially assumes that role, which is difficult because we identify with him as the good guy in so many films. He eventually redeems himself and makes the good guy conversion. The aliens are not bad enough to make you hate them like you normally would a Western baddie. They didn't engage me in the least. Not nearly as scary as the Alien creatures they looked a bit like. The use of Olivia Wilde was a little too "out there" for my liking. Her resurrection left my head spinning a bit. The movie has some serious pacing problems toward the middle stretch. And the "explosion" at the end - was that meant to look like another very famous explosion from about 1986?? And if so, I'm a little confused about the purpose. Anyway, I wanted to like this movie because Favreau is such a great movie guy and a solid director, but this material just didn't work. And Daniel Craig? Nope. Expand
  85. Jul 30, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First of all the alien abduction at the town was AWESOME! The entire first half of the film was actually very enjoyable! However after leaving the destroyed ship the film went downhill fast for me personally. The whole plot twist of the girl being some kind of weird alien race killed it. I like a movies story to make sense and hers just did not at all, maybe it should have been explained better. Then a few other issues like the Aliens being unstoppable all of a sudden die from headshots and spears and a 6 inch blade! Aside from that Daniel Craig and Harrison Ford did an amazing job together, I wouldnt say avoid this movie but it could have been sooo much better thats why it scores a 5. Expand
  86. Jul 31, 2011
    5
    The concept is unique, but it's mired down in a conventional formula that even includes a little boy and a dog. Daniel Craig (steely-eyed and tough) and Harrison Ford (in a bad guy role) team up to fight the hostile visitors from outer space. Between the slow parts, there are chases, explosions and firefights, but none of them are original or special. The effects are adequate, as is theThe concept is unique, but it's mired down in a conventional formula that even includes a little boy and a dog. Daniel Craig (steely-eyed and tough) and Harrison Ford (in a bad guy role) team up to fight the hostile visitors from outer space. Between the slow parts, there are chases, explosions and firefights, but none of them are original or special. The effects are adequate, as is the movie in general. Expand
  87. Jul 31, 2011
    5
    I have yet to see the movie yet, but it pains me to see that people have no idea what Cowboys & Aliens is? Most people think it was something that was new and made up, but the fact is the Cowboys & Aliens movie is based on the 2006 graphic novel "Cowboys & Aliens" the idea is not original, but I don't want people to think that this was a movie idea that Hollywood put together. I cannotI have yet to see the movie yet, but it pains me to see that people have no idea what Cowboys & Aliens is? Most people think it was something that was new and made up, but the fact is the Cowboys & Aliens movie is based on the 2006 graphic novel "Cowboys & Aliens" the idea is not original, but I don't want people to think that this was a movie idea that Hollywood put together. I cannot accurately rate this movie without seeing it, but I think people are being to harsh. Expand
  88. Aug 26, 2011
    5
    Why not combine western and aliens for once. First off, that's a good idea, something new and refreshing. Though, this movie could have been alot better in that regard. It's starts off quite slowly, getting more interesting near the middle and fails in the end. The story that goes behind the aliens being on earth for a specific reason is just plain simple, too simple for my tastes. It'sWhy not combine western and aliens for once. First off, that's a good idea, something new and refreshing. Though, this movie could have been alot better in that regard. It's starts off quite slowly, getting more interesting near the middle and fails in the end. The story that goes behind the aliens being on earth for a specific reason is just plain simple, too simple for my tastes. It's pretty obvious that they concentrated more in action sequences regarding the aliens than storytelling... basicly you don't know much about them. About the main characters: Harrison Ford and Daniel Graig perform very well. They both have interesting characters that add more feeling to the storytelling. The third main character, played by Olivia Wilde, is not that well written and doesn't realy fit in these bunch of characters, it wouldn't have changed much if they just dropped her out of the picture. In the end, I'm abit disappointed... they could've done much more with this concept. Expand
  89. Aug 31, 2011
    5
    Instead of building up the massive long fight scenes that take up the running time they decided to make up a story that was pointless and didn't do anything to change the overall tone of the movie.
  90. Sep 3, 2011
    5
    Overall this movie gets a 50, I went thinking 'Cowboys...and....Aliens? Really?' and left saying the same thing.... Really? Like 'Football Players and Aliens' or 'Surfers and Aliens', IT JUST DOESN'T MIX. Good special effects, though, but the story is weird. Someone in Hollywood said, lets mix a Western with Science Fiction! Hahaha! An then Favreau (the Director) was like, why not? HowOverall this movie gets a 50, I went thinking 'Cowboys...and....Aliens? Really?' and left saying the same thing.... Really? Like 'Football Players and Aliens' or 'Surfers and Aliens', IT JUST DOESN'T MIX. Good special effects, though, but the story is weird. Someone in Hollywood said, lets mix a Western with Science Fiction! Hahaha! An then Favreau (the Director) was like, why not? How about 'let's don't'. Expand
  91. Sep 30, 2011
    5
    I do not remember. combining cowboys and aliens, not very good idea but the movie was 35% fun, not better, not worse, I do not like daniel Creig reminds me of Vin Diesel, the last total disgust.
  92. Oct 14, 2011
    5
    It started good, then everything ends so bad, george harrison is excelent has always, but Steven Spielberg should stop producing such bad movies i mean he is just gettin a bad rank with movies like this
  93. Dec 1, 2011
    5
    Cowboys & Aliens is certainly a movie. Itâ
  94. Jan 24, 2013
    5
    Very formulatic despite very appealing special effects and acting.
  95. Dec 15, 2011
    5
    Cowboys & Aliens is like a food with dust and yes the dust is the Aliens . Its kinda kinda disappointing . and all that goes to the story . Its really bad and once again proved that Western and Si-Fi doesn't get along at all . Acting was good . Good to see Ford and Craig together . Direction was 50/50 but Jon is better then this . The western part was good . I liked that little town . ButCowboys & Aliens is like a food with dust and yes the dust is the Aliens . Its kinda kinda disappointing . and all that goes to the story . Its really bad and once again proved that Western and Si-Fi doesn't get along at all . Acting was good . Good to see Ford and Craig together . Direction was 50/50 but Jon is better then this . The western part was good . I liked that little town . But The alien part sucked big time. So don't make a Cowboy movie with Aliens . Expand
  96. Dec 15, 2011
    5
    There's only one real problem with "Cowboys & Aliens." It's not very much fun. The characters are developed decently well for a summer movie, Daniel Craig and Harrison Ford excel as cowboy tough guys, and the story has the potential to be a fun summer ride. But director Jon Favreau and his 5 screenwriters squander that fun by not giving the cast much to do. The action is sparse, and whenThere's only one real problem with "Cowboys & Aliens." It's not very much fun. The characters are developed decently well for a summer movie, Daniel Craig and Harrison Ford excel as cowboy tough guys, and the story has the potential to be a fun summer ride. But director Jon Favreau and his 5 screenwriters squander that fun by not giving the cast much to do. The action is sparse, and when there is action, it consists of Craig pointing and shooting at aliens like a live action game of "Area 51." Oh, and there's also some cowboys running away from a series of explosions. I admire the fact that they were wanting to make a serious alien invasion movie, but just because you're making something serious does not mean it can't also be fun. That's what the makers seem to have forgotten. The movie starts out strong when its strictly a western, but once the aliens come to invade, it becomes a dull adventure. Expand
  97. Jan 1, 2012
    5
    It offers great performances from Daniel Craig and Olivia Wilde not so much Ford and it is very entertaining, but sadly the two genres do not blend well thanks to the Director. And offers some just dumb twists along with it. I give this movie 52%.
  98. Jan 21, 2012
    5
    The story line could be great but the actors were bad. Daniel Crag and Harisson Ford acted like a 10-year-old and made the film ridiculous. But I was kinda satisfied with the supporting cast.
  99. Feb 6, 2012
    5
    Seriously, this is one of the rare times I totally agree with the overall critics rating. This movie is boring most the time. The plot is almost not available and the special effects are sometimes reallt bad! Skip it it's not worth the 2 hours...
  100. Apr 20, 2012
    5
    This is by no means an amazing film. The plot is mostly predictable, the dialogue is cliched, the characters are pretty bland. However this does not make it a bad film. The performances from Harrison Ford and Daniel Craig were surprisingly good and the action scenes were mildly exciting. All in all, a film that can provide some light entertainment. However if you're looking for a groundThis is by no means an amazing film. The plot is mostly predictable, the dialogue is cliched, the characters are pretty bland. However this does not make it a bad film. The performances from Harrison Ford and Daniel Craig were surprisingly good and the action scenes were mildly exciting. All in all, a film that can provide some light entertainment. However if you're looking for a ground breaking film, look elsewhere. Expand
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 41
  2. Negative: 5 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Dan Jolin
    Aug 1, 2011
    80
    A simple entertainment in a summer of overcomplicated disappointments. Also much harder-edged than you may have expected.
  2. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Jul 31, 2011
    50
    That is what kids will come away with, together with a dose of wishful thinking: the vague belief that, with good will and a foe from far away, all those feuding parties of the Wild West - the cowboys, the Indians, and the no-good rogues - could have settled their differences and got along just fine. Go tell it to Gary Cooper.
  3. 40
    An agreeable time-killer, but I'll bet a couple of clever kids could make a livelier movie with a Woody puppet and a Predator doll.