Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: July 29, 2011
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 342 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
270
Mixed:
59
Negative:
13
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
VagabundoDec 10, 2016
Emma Stone is cute and likeable. The rest of it is trash American culture at its most disgusting. The so-called plot enshrines sick and irrational jealousy as some kind of norm instead of a disease, lies and dishonesty the only lifeEmma Stone is cute and likeable. The rest of it is trash American culture at its most disgusting. The so-called plot enshrines sick and irrational jealousy as some kind of norm instead of a disease, lies and dishonesty the only life strategy, yelling, emoting and washing dirty linen in public as acceptable. And why is the father of every teenage daughter portrayed as foaming at the mouth at the first sign of his girl's sexuality. Sorry, but real, matyre people do not act like this and pretending this is reasonable behavior does a disservice to everyone. The only wise characters are the kids, despite the fact that any moron would know that they are clueless about the subject matter. With role models like these, no wonder our young people are confused and incapable of forming decent relationships. This film does not even cut it as a guilty pleasure, because the plot is absurd. Antidote to this incessant garbage for all Americans: Read Radical Honesty: Transforming Your Life By Telling the Truth. End of rant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleFeb 25, 2016
Crazy, Stupid, Love is no cinematic masterpiece, but it is a master class example of charm and is a film that will leave you with a stupid smile on your face that you cannot remove. The cast is fantastic and does a great job here and reallyCrazy, Stupid, Love is no cinematic masterpiece, but it is a master class example of charm and is a film that will leave you with a stupid smile on your face that you cannot remove. The cast is fantastic and does a great job here and really underscore the charm brought to the table by the film as a whole, which is its major strength. Crazy, Stupid, Love may buy into more Hollywood cliches than I may want it to, but it does do those cliches well and really elevates itself above other romantic comedies by being completely honest. It does end a little conveniently and cliche, but even with that, it brings up many frank discussions about love, marriage, and the desire thereof. It is a film that speaks from the heart and feels endlessly authentic because though it can be a little too Hollywood at times, it does have an honest core to it. This is not a film that buys into the overall classic romance movie nonsense, but rather a film that sees love for what it really is: stupid (and I mean that positively). It is ill-advised and you do not see it coming, but it can be the best thing that ever happened to you. For this, Crazy, Stupid, Love is endlessly endearing and will sweep you into the air like Patrick Swayze with Jennifer Gray in Dirty Dancing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
EpicLadySpongeFeb 24, 2016
Crazy, Stupid, Love is stupidly funny. A great movie designed for idiots to enjoy. The movie's a bit crazy as what the title said it is crazy... and love's the game for this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
csw12Nov 26, 2015
This could have been such a good movie unfortunately Dan Fogleman can't really write dialogue, At least not meaningful or witty dialogue just cliches and platitudes. Clever idea to start with just never really sparks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ydnar4Apr 23, 2015
Crazy, Stupid, Love is one of the best romantic comedies that I have ever seen. The story has a lot more humour than your average rom com and it is composed of several characters that are al dealing with their own romantic issues. Finally allCrazy, Stupid, Love is one of the best romantic comedies that I have ever seen. The story has a lot more humour than your average rom com and it is composed of several characters that are al dealing with their own romantic issues. Finally all the characters are brought together and a few twists that I won't reveal are unleashed. Steve Carell and Ryan Gosling had great chemistry which was such a pleasant surprise because they are the last two people I think to see working together. Julianne Moore was great, Emma Stone was awesome as well, I always enjoy everything she does. I think Crazy, Stupid, Love can be enjoyed by anyone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
lukechristianscFeb 16, 2015
In this movie Steve Carell has the role of a romantic jack ass. This is a wonderful funny comedy it's romantic and the script has the key to it all. The cast is amazing and heart warming and hilarious. Grade B+
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DCEdmondsNov 13, 2014
"Crazy, Stupid, Love" 10 Scale Rating: 7.0 (Good) ...

The Good: It was actually pretty funny and I laughed out loud a few times. The characters were well done and entertaining, especially Ryan Gosling as Jacob. Probably written off by a
"Crazy, Stupid, Love" 10 Scale Rating: 7.0 (Good) ...

The Good: It was actually pretty funny and I laughed out loud a few times. The characters were well done and entertaining, especially Ryan Gosling as Jacob. Probably written off by a lot of people as a "chick flick", but it really isn't.

The Bad: Steve Carell as an awkward guy in his 40s being taught how to pick up women was the central theme for "40 Year Old Virgin", so you've sort of seen it before.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
alpsandpinguOct 29, 2014
I like all movie genres, even the damned romantic comedies, so obviously I wasn't expecting to be blown away by this movie, but still - "Crazy, Stupid, Love" would have been a truly awful film if it hadn't had a surprising twist in itsI like all movie genres, even the damned romantic comedies, so obviously I wasn't expecting to be blown away by this movie, but still - "Crazy, Stupid, Love" would have been a truly awful film if it hadn't had a surprising twist in its climax. That's because even the cheesiest romantic comedies need some sense of realistic behaviour in them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
beingryanjudeSep 2, 2014
There are flaws, but there's something truly special about these characters and how they mend together. Crazy, Stupid, Love will impress with its humor and endearing moments.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Trev29Jan 5, 2014
It was a well made comedy. I would call this high class. It wasn't a cheap comedy with horrible acting and a less than funny story. It was as good as I expected it to be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ZlayaJul 30, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really don't like romantic movies, but this one has Ryan as cool guy who teaches Steve how to pick up girls, great cast and ending where we understand how this world is small. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
KivaJun 11, 2013
Probably the best comedy of the decade. Funny and hilarious actors and great plot actually. I laughed till i cried.It was one of the best comedies. A must-watch
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SuckmybigdickJun 2, 2013
I thought this movie was great the begging was funny and the whole movie i dont get why people are angry that Steve Carell was mostly in the movie he's a comedy legend, also Ryan Gosling oh damn Emma Stone was good to and the fact that theI thought this movie was great the begging was funny and the whole movie i dont get why people are angry that Steve Carell was mostly in the movie he's a comedy legend, also Ryan Gosling oh damn Emma Stone was good to and the fact that the 13 year old son was in love with the 17 year old baby sitter that loved his dad made it interesting but hilarious... This movie deserves a 10/10 and is worth seeing I couldn't stop thinking how much Ryan Gosling has changed since The Notebook, The Notebook might of been on of the best movies he has ever been in, Well i think it was but i still i think this movie was Amazing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TheQuietGamerMay 11, 2013
A great romantic comedy that provides a look into just how much love can hurt. The cast is fantastic and the writing is excellent. Part of what's so great about this movie is how it actually makes you care about its characters and theirA great romantic comedy that provides a look into just how much love can hurt. The cast is fantastic and the writing is excellent. Part of what's so great about this movie is how it actually makes you care about its characters and their relationships with one another. As a guy who doesn't usually get into romantic comedies, unless they have non-stop humor, simply because I can't stand of the lovey-dovey-ness of them I was impressed to show that it's not all about the love, it's also about the hurt. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AutiTakahashiJan 23, 2013
There's a sad routine going on with romantic comedies nowadays. Bad ones, like "Life as We Know It", enjoy a wide release and a fat box office, while good ones, like "Flipped", remain unknown to many. But then, to our surprise, we areThere's a sad routine going on with romantic comedies nowadays. Bad ones, like "Life as We Know It", enjoy a wide release and a fat box office, while good ones, like "Flipped", remain unknown to many. But then, to our surprise, we are introduced to "Crazy, Stupid, Love". Here is a romantic comedy written with intelligence, driven by its story, and delivered with actors who are both competent and charming. And, what do you know, people actually know about it.

The movie is about a set of individuals who have, in their own personal way, lost track of true love. A few of them may have never even experienced it in the first place, but their story is about how they get there. Let me tell you about them real quick. Cal and Emily Weaver (Steve Carrell and Julianne Moore) are a middle-aged couple whose marriage has hit a major bump. Emily has confessed to being guilty with adultery, and is now requesting for a divorce.

Cal, in obvious shock, is swift to break the news to his children. Most affected is 13-year-old Robbie, who is in the middle of his quest of winning the heart of his 17-year-old baby sitter, Jessica. Kids, at the height of their hormones, can be relentless in their romantic pursuits. There is a lot of comedy between their encounters.

Read more here: http://localmoviereview.com/crazy-stupid-love-movie- review/
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
worleyjamersDec 7, 2012
Really good film! Great cast and a good story. I loved the ending...I was not expecting that at all. One of the most satisfying pictures of 2011. Recommended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EssenceOfSugarNov 30, 2012
Well, it
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Andys_ReviewsNov 11, 2012
All the performances were very good with Steve Carell, Ryan Gosling and Julianne Moore taking centre stage. I thought Kevin Bacon was slightly underused, and more could have been made of Emma Stone
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
A_NorthernerNov 11, 2012
Why did I watch it?
Another Mrs Northerner special this one while we were on holiday. I hadn't even heard of this film before watching it.
What's it all about? A romantic comedy that weaves together the romantic entanglements of several
Why did I watch it?
Another Mrs Northerner special this one while we were on holiday. I hadn't even heard of this film before watching it.

What's it all about?
A romantic comedy that weaves together the romantic entanglements of several interlinked characters. To refer to Crazy Stupid Love as a love triangle would be simplifying it grossly. A love triangle dangerously perched on top of a love pyramid would be more accurate. Steve Carell is the soon to be divorced middle-aged guy with no interest in finding another fish in the sea. He meets successful ladies man Ryan Gosling who offers to help reinvent him as a ladies man himself. Meanwhile Gosling meets a girl and begins to question his own lifestyle of fast women while Carrell's young son ambitiously pines after his babysitter, who herself has eyes on a guy herself. Amongst all this, Carrell's wife Julianne Moore continues to date Kevin Bacon, the cause of the divorce.

Should you watch it?
As rom-coms go, Crazy Stupid Love is definitely worth a watch. Steve Carell is pretty funny as always and the same can be said for the plot machinations which culminate in a hilarious farcical scene as the love triangle/pyramid collapses. It also features a pretty large A-list cast which certainly helps things along.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
jzmeOct 22, 2012
One of the best love comedy movie I've ever watched. A film with so much of natural occurrences & coincidences. I am drawn by all of the superb acting skills. The movie has an unpredictable and non-cliche story line. I had an awesome timeOne of the best love comedy movie I've ever watched. A film with so much of natural occurrences & coincidences. I am drawn by all of the superb acting skills. The movie has an unpredictable and non-cliche story line. I had an awesome time laughing myself too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
JTKelleyAug 10, 2012
Outrageous and funny, this is Gosling and Carell's vehicle all the way until a cliche, disappointing finish that wraps things up a bit too nicely with a bow. I expected a tad more from the minds behind "Bad Santa."
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
riversusJul 17, 2012
Finally something that is more than a common comedy. It's a sort of evolution that take the audience to analyse some aspects of their own life even maintaining a positive mood in the people. I gave 9/10 because i found some parts, related toFinally something that is more than a common comedy. It's a sort of evolution that take the audience to analyse some aspects of their own life even maintaining a positive mood in the people. I gave 9/10 because i found some parts, related to the love story of the kid, too much banal. Anyway a very good movie and i hope that it will be the beginning of a new structure for romantic comedy that is more than the usual "and finally they **** and lived happily ever after" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LynnHardyApr 6, 2012
What a great surprise! I thought I was being dragged to another chic-flick girls night out movie, but this was so much more. The humor is great - I had to rent it just so my husband could see it too!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
AwesomeReviewerMar 26, 2012
The movie is basically about overcoming a problem in your life, fixing your mistakes, and about true love. It tells us that even if at times we feel like crap we should pick ourselves up and just move forward and become the best person we canThe movie is basically about overcoming a problem in your life, fixing your mistakes, and about true love. It tells us that even if at times we feel like crap we should pick ourselves up and just move forward and become the best person we can be. And that the only way to move on is to fix our mistakes or accept them as something other than a mistake. Also that true love is real and we all have a special one for us.

Casting was down to a T, the movie got the right actors to portray its characters. It is also wonderfully acted and every character/actor has a level of charisma that shoots the enjoyment level to another high. Julianne Moore plays a cheating spouse, Steve Carell the sympathetic loser, Emma Stone the know it all, hopeful, skeptic, and Ryan Gosling the calm, cool, stud. I couldnâ
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
tigergolf06Jan 19, 2012
Any movie with Steve Carrell in it is going to be at least decent. The big surprise in this one is his matchmaker friend, played by Ryan Gosling, who has the best funny parts in the film. Saw it at the cinema and was very pleased with it.Any movie with Steve Carrell in it is going to be at least decent. The big surprise in this one is his matchmaker friend, played by Ryan Gosling, who has the best funny parts in the film. Saw it at the cinema and was very pleased with it. Slightly above the regular, normal rom-coms. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
sfjcgJan 16, 2012
I really enjoyed the movie. The story was interesting and the acting was really good. The only thing I had trouble believing was that the babysitter was only 17. I think the actress was miscast. Her crush on Carrell was not veryI really enjoyed the movie. The story was interesting and the acting was really good. The only thing I had trouble believing was that the babysitter was only 17. I think the actress was miscast. Her crush on Carrell was not very believable. She did a good job considering though. The movie never mentioned herpes which, no doubt, Gosling's character had to have had after sleeping with 100's of women throughout the years. Steve Carrell's character slept with 9 women in a short space of time - no mention of worrying about herpes from him either. I guess that would make the movie a bit too serious, but for younger viewers watching this, it's not very realistic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
UnsungfilmsJan 12, 2012
I watched this movie three times within a week, two of them during my flight back and forth from London to Athens. Shortly after it had ended for the third time, I realized that if a movie of this mixed genre, comedy-drama-romance still hasnâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
lasttimeisawJan 11, 2012
After their ill-fated director debut, I LOVE YOU PHILLIP MORRIS (2009), duo filmmakers Glenn Ficarra and John Requa comes back with this sleeper hit in the lukewarm summer last year, it is a G-rated rom-com, composed of run-of-the-millAfter their ill-fated director debut, I LOVE YOU PHILLIP MORRIS (2009), duo filmmakers Glenn Ficarra and John Requa comes back with this sleeper hit in the lukewarm summer last year, it is a G-rated rom-com, composed of run-of-the-mill scenarios, but exquisitely draws me head over heels for it. It took 6 years for Steve Carell to upgrade his 40-year-old-virgin status to a 44-year-old-loyal-husband honor, whose sexual object has remained as singular form with his soulmate (then high-school sweetheart, now the wife for 22 years, who is submerging into a quotidian middle age crisis). Steve exudes a tremendous bent of poker-face acting in this film, flavored with a whiff of sarcastic and knowing jokes; it is also a delight to embrace Julianne Moore back to a mainstream rom com since LAWS OF ATTRACTION (2004), her role is well-measured and no one will ever doubt her capacity to be competent for it. Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone pair suffers from a shorter screen time for their corresponding story about an invincible womanizer meets the girl of his life; but Gosling has the qualification to stride swaggeringly in the Hollywood now because his filmography proves that he is the next George Clooney with a much earlier inception (judging fairly by his three films coming in 2010). There are a third love lateral in the film, a 13-year-old boyâ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
savannahrummelDec 31, 2011
Despite my trepidations about watching a potential chick flick, Crazy, Stupid, Love. proved itself a clever, charming film that was well worth the two hours on the couch, and would've been worth the twelve dollar movie ticket. The plot wasDespite my trepidations about watching a potential chick flick, Crazy, Stupid, Love. proved itself a clever, charming film that was well worth the two hours on the couch, and would've been worth the twelve dollar movie ticket. The plot was not the most original plot, yet at the same time, it was not entirely formulaic like every other movie. Anyone who's ever seen a comedy would know where the movie was going, yet there were two or three twists thrown into the mix that spiced up an otherwise lukewarm storyline. Gosling and Carell led the way with stellar performances and their chemistry with Stone and Moore respectively was enough to keep the movie afloat by itself. Though the movie probably found more favor with girls than with boys (mainly because of the scenes where Gosling takes off his shirt), Crazy, Stupid, Love. is not your ordinary chick flick and proved to be a breath of fresh air in a world of stale romantic comedies. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
DongangstarDec 29, 2011
This a great movie. After seeing a lot of comedies from the same genre this is probably one of the best since long.

The plot was original compared to other comedies, this story is new, it shines a new light in the world of romantic
This a great movie. After seeing a lot of comedies from the same genre this is probably one of the best since long.

The plot was original compared to other comedies, this story is new, it shines a new light in the world of romantic comedies. Ofcourse the summit wasn't very spectacular or surprisingly, but in general I think a lot of people will give this movie a high rate. It abandond most of the clichés that are ruining this genre of film. Emma Stone seems to have a lot more potential, I hope to see more from her in the future. Enjoy this piece of entertainment!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews