Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: July 29, 2011
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 340 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
269
Mixed:
59
Negative:
12
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
6
TVJerryAug 1, 2011
After 20+ years of marriage Steve Carell & Julianne Moore split up. Stud and seducer Ryan Gosling shows Carell how to adapt to the dating game, while other subplot love stories play out. This film is full of enjoyable performances and someAfter 20+ years of marriage Steve Carell & Julianne Moore split up. Stud and seducer Ryan Gosling shows Carell how to adapt to the dating game, while other subplot love stories play out. This film is full of enjoyable performances and some minor surprises, but it's more about love than laughs. An earnest romantic comedy that entertains without being distinctive. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
csw12Nov 26, 2015
This could have been such a good movie unfortunately Dan Fogleman can't really write dialogue, At least not meaningful or witty dialogue just cliches and platitudes. Clever idea to start with just never really sparks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
j30Nov 8, 2011
A really funny movie with a good heart. It's a bit too lovey dove-y for me, but a tolerable romantic comedy where you're not rolling your eyes the whole time. I definitely recommend this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
smijatovNov 14, 2011
While there are a lot of appealing things about this film, it fundamentally fails to impress. With a stellar cast, with very good performances across the board (and suprising Steve Carell, who somewhat reminds me of Jack Nicholson in "AboutWhile there are a lot of appealing things about this film, it fundamentally fails to impress. With a stellar cast, with very good performances across the board (and suprising Steve Carell, who somewhat reminds me of Jack Nicholson in "About Schmidt"), it is a very good film to watch for the performances. However, just as Carell's character says at one point, as he is left by his wife and it starts pouring rain: "What a cliché!" And that is exactly what "Crazy, Stupid, Love." is. Pointing out a cliché while actually using it is not good writing or directing or anything in between - it is just another cliché. The film tries to be a "fun and smart" comedy, just like "Sideways" was or "Lost in Translation." Well, it is not quite there, or anywhere close for that matter. It is entertaining, but highly predictable in its unpredictability and not very inspired. At the end, as all rom-coms, it has the ever so cheesy happy ending, somewhat camouflaged, but not really. Overall, as I said, rather entertaining, but nothing great. Mediocre to ok, at best. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
CitizenCharlieAug 12, 2011
Crazy, Stupid, Love is naturally about relationships. The one which consumes most of the film focuses on Steve Carell and Julianne Moore who have been married for a very long 25 years. They are stuck in a rut. They look exhausted and seemCrazy, Stupid, Love is naturally about relationships. The one which consumes most of the film focuses on Steve Carell and Julianne Moore who have been married for a very long 25 years. They are stuck in a rut. They look exhausted and seem to just be going to through the motions of their monotonous relationship. In fact, they are getting a divorce. Carell moves out and immediately finds the local bar. It is here that Ryan Gosling notices him as a very sad case of a man and assumes a Fairy Godmother role of personal improvement. He initiates new clothes, a new hairstyle, and a new way of thinking on the newly single and confused Carell.

Most of this seems like a standard run-of-the-mill romantic comedy, which for some part it is. But the script is a bit savvier than to just throw formulaic plot movements at the audience. The chemistry between Carell and Moore works. Carell reminds you of his Dan in Real Life character a bit and both actors really show a weight on their shoulders which their marriage has become. What does not work is the Ryan Gosling situation and how he latches on to Carell. The motivation is lacking and the script really never bothers to explain it. Naturally, the womanizing Gosling meets and falls for Emma Stone and this relationship does not work either although they share a quality late night scene together. In fact, the Emma Stone character dangerously approaches Sweet Home Alabama territory as she throws away a decent guy (Josh Grobanâ
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
ClariseSamuelsNov 3, 2011
Crazy, Stupid, Unrealistic Love

Steve Carell has played this part before, I'm sure of it, but off the top of my head I can't remember where. However, he is refining the role. This time, he restrains himself and tries to truly act rather than
Crazy, Stupid, Unrealistic Love

Steve Carell has played this part before, I'm sure of it, but off the top of my head I can't remember where. However, he is refining the role. This time, he restrains himself and tries to truly act rather than go over the top. And he succeeds in a crazy, stupid way. A married couple is calling it quits because the wife is bored and the husband is so used to her that he pays much more attention to the yard work than he does to her. Indeed, when they are separated, he dreams that the other man is mowing his beloved lawn while his estranged wife relaxes and watches her lover with admiration. For the character called Cal, played by Carell, this is truly a nightmare. Cal sneaks back to his property at regular intervals, not to gaze at his dear wife through the window, but to trim the hedges, prune the roses, and aerate the lawn.

There are so many coincidences in this movie that it may qualify as a comedy of errors, but the errors are outrageous and strain the patience of the viewer. Jacob is so brutally promiscuous and uses women so outrageously that when he accidentally falls in love, it's hard to believe that Jacob the Cad is now Jacob the **** although Ryan Gosling does some good acting in this role. Cal's 13-year-old son is madly in love with the babysitter, who's madly in love with the dad, but the kid pursues the babysitter with such ardor and persistence that he more than qualifies for intense psychotherapy, which for some reason, is never mentioned.

Inappropriate behavior abounds, and the police only show up once (and only to say if you're going to have a brawl, please stay inside the house), and otherwise, the message is no matter how badly one has made a spectacle of oneself, everyone will forget all about it as soon as the incident is over. Of course, everyone forgot about Japan after a couple of months, and they had an earthquake, a tsunami, and a nuclear meltdown, so maybe Steve Carell, the star and the producer, knows whereof he speaks. In any case, if you have ever made a fool of yourself in love, after seeing this movie, you will realize that your case is mild if not positively normal. Score=5.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
JTKelleyAug 10, 2012
Outrageous and funny, this is Gosling and Carell's vehicle all the way until a cliche, disappointing finish that wraps things up a bit too nicely with a bow. I expected a tad more from the minds behind "Bad Santa."
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
RobinsNestDec 6, 2011
Mr. Carell is so difficult to like. He is trying to play it for real but still falls on the goofy unbelievable side; a caricature of what person in this situation would be. Even though it's a comedy there must be some motivation for theMr. Carell is so difficult to like. He is trying to play it for real but still falls on the goofy unbelievable side; a caricature of what person in this situation would be. Even though it's a comedy there must be some motivation for the characters to act as they do. What's the history between Carell & Moore? She is the cheater (why we never find out), why isn't she out of the house? At some points it is interminably bad, I had to fast forward, is this even worth watching? Other times there was a sweet hopefulness. Ms Moore is okay but I just didn't like her. She is ill fitted with Mr Carell and no chemistry present. Ms Stone has a bright screen presence as always. Mr Gosling as usual plays a confident strong character but his story line has too much screen time. Ms Tipton & Mr Bobo lend some fun and sweet innocence. Smarmy Mr Bacon & fiery Ms Tomei offer strong support with only minor screen time. A silly little film with some things to like but not enough to recommend. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
RodrigoBGCOct 28, 2011
Only one thing i can conclude about this movie, there was never a problem, everything was all right all the time, this is unecessary drama, the acting was too bad only steve carrel was ok
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
HfahmyOct 12, 2011
Crazy stupid movie. A middle aged couple decides to separate because of the wife (Emily) infidelity and the husband (Cal) non-care for his appearance and look. Disappointed the husband is picked up in a bar by a womanizer who decides to teachCrazy stupid movie. A middle aged couple decides to separate because of the wife (Emily) infidelity and the husband (Cal) non-care for his appearance and look. Disappointed the husband is picked up in a bar by a womanizer who decides to teach him how to attract women. After the turn of events the womanizer proposes to a girl who is Cal and Emily daughter! Fabricated scenario, passtime acting, non serious movie making. A kind of movie made just to waste viewers time and money. The good thing about this movie is the relaxation it will inflict, no events to unexpect, no tension, just sitting and possibly sleeping. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
LevelsAndGearNov 26, 2011
This review contains spoilers. "Crazy, Stupid, Love" started out strong with an interesting plot and a good set of characters, and while there were several decent laughs to be had, the inability of anyone in the film to recognize anyone else's last name ("Say, are you related to so and so Weaver?") got frustrating and the coincidences, shenanigans, and unanswered questions end up swallowing the interesting premise. I was also bothered that people seemed more than willing to sit quietly and listen to more or less insane rantings from people who had proven to be kind of maniacal, which took some of the immersion out of the film. While I am not unhappy I watched it, the movie deserved better - and I will feel no need to fire it up again. By the way, to any mothers of my children - Should my daughter ever have naked pictures, please do not show them to me. Simply telling me there's a problem will suffice. Collapse
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
meediocreDec 20, 2011
I've always had the cynical opinion that almost all so-called "comedies" aren't actually particularly funny - this being one of them. Carrell is a dork, got it. Gosling is the uber-cool mr playboy, got that. The women leads are ok, but theI've always had the cynical opinion that almost all so-called "comedies" aren't actually particularly funny - this being one of them. Carrell is a dork, got it. Gosling is the uber-cool mr playboy, got that. The women leads are ok, but the best female is Marisa Tomei, who unfortunately isn't in it that much. It's kind of warm-hearted but the central concept of cool guy gives lessons to middle-life crisis guy, well it wears thin quite soon. I had no idea that the rest of the hour would be about a guy trying to sort out his marital difficulties. Yawn. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
franiJul 29, 2011
This could have been such a good movie unfortunately Dan Fogleman can't really write dialogue, At least not meaningful or witty dialogue just cliches and platitudes. Clever idea to start with just never really sparks. The scenes with RyanThis could have been such a good movie unfortunately Dan Fogleman can't really write dialogue, At least not meaningful or witty dialogue just cliches and platitudes. Clever idea to start with just never really sparks. The scenes with Ryan Gosling are nearly all good because he is a talented enough actor to rise above a mediocre script the same can be said for Marissa Tomei she is hilarious from beginning to end. her character is given no respect by the screenplay or her on screen love interest, Steve Carrel. This is not the case with Carrel or Moore they just keep repeating the same facial expressions and lines in hopes we'll start to believe they really are in earnest. I watch this drivel and wondered will Hollywood ever again make a GOOD romantic comedy? Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
6
wouterlrNov 11, 2011
Despite the potential cast, the movie was rather cliché. Before watching the actual scene, you could have predicted what would have happened 30 minutes earlier. This, however, doesn't necessarily make it a bad movie. One of theDespite the potential cast, the movie was rather cliché. Before watching the actual scene, you could have predicted what would have happened 30 minutes earlier. This, however, doesn't necessarily make it a bad movie. One of the funny things was the total awkwardness hanging around Cal. Cal's remarks to women are hilarious and most people would turn the temptation down to face palm him. The acting, on the other hand, was well performed and together with the amount of decent jokes it made the movie enjoyable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
alpsandpinguOct 29, 2014
I like all movie genres, even the damned romantic comedies, so obviously I wasn't expecting to be blown away by this movie, but still - "Crazy, Stupid, Love" would have been a truly awful film if it hadn't had a surprising twist in itsI like all movie genres, even the damned romantic comedies, so obviously I wasn't expecting to be blown away by this movie, but still - "Crazy, Stupid, Love" would have been a truly awful film if it hadn't had a surprising twist in its climax. That's because even the cheesiest romantic comedies need some sense of realistic behaviour in them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews