Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 91 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: With John's social life at a standstill and his ex-wife about to get remarried, a down on his luck divorcee finally meets the woman of his dreams, only to discover she has another man in her life – her son. (Fox Searchlight Pictures)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 38
  2. Negative: 1 out of 38
  1. A dulcetly crazy, certifiably hilarious and eerily mysterious little comedy.
  2. 88
    Here is a film that uses very good actors and gives them a lot of improvisational freedom to talk their way into, around and out of social discomfort. And it's not snarky. It doesn't mock these characters. It understand they have their difficulties and hopes they find a way to work things out.
  3. 83
    How pleasant to report, then, that a new romantic comedy -- small, smart, funny, tender and dear -- should emerge from a pair of filmmaking brothers still in their 30s and with a distinct indie film pedigree that informs, while not dominating, their work.
  4. 80
    As the furiously passive-aggressive title character, Jonah Hill delivers a craftier comic performance than anything in his box-office hits (Superbad, Get Him to the Greek), but what really elevates the story above its shticky premise is the combined neuroses of all three characters.
  5. Don't be fooled by the casual style. There is nothing casual about these emotions, or about the talent of these two filmmakers.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    70
    Think of Cyrus as the Duplasses for the masses, as the keenly observant sibs upgrade their scrappy, relationship-based formula to work with movie stars and a Fox Searchlight-size budget without sacrificing the raw, naturalistic feel of their first two features, "The Puffy Chair" and "Baghead."
  7. 25
    It still has a long way to go before the term Mumblecore (which sounds like a Harry Potter major at Hogwart's) can be confused with the term Class Act.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 19
  2. Negative: 6 out of 19
  1. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    This film is best described as a romantic drama not a comedy. there a couple of funny moments. but if your expecting a film like stepbrothersThis film is best described as a romantic drama not a comedy. there a couple of funny moments. but if your expecting a film like stepbrothers or superbad (like i was) The lol silly joke comedy films. then your not expecting the right thing. john c reilly is great in this film. so are the other two main characters. its such a strange film. and you might find it ridiculous how they overplay emotions etc and i couldn't argue with that.(matter of opinion) but its a deep film in a way, mainly focused on emotions it was such a different film i was glued to the screen the whole time trying to figure out the characters. and what was gonna happen. if your a thinker you might love this film. you really cant tell what is gonna happen next and that's something i really liked. the main character is really like-able and maybe you can relate to him. i think cyrus might act the way he does because of an over sensitive mother who doesn't put her foot down and no father in the picture? anyway i enjoyed this film i can understand why some people wouldn't like it. but i found it great. took me out of reality for 91 minutes. Expand
  2. Oct 12, 2010
    9
    I loved this movie. It was funny, quirky, weird, and even suspenseful at times. Impeccably cast, and the acting superb. John C. Reilly, MarisaI loved this movie. It was funny, quirky, weird, and even suspenseful at times. Impeccably cast, and the acting superb. John C. Reilly, Marisa Tomei, and Catherine Keener are always a delight but I have a new respect for Jonah Hill's acting ability. Expand
  3. Jun 26, 2013
    8
    A near-perfect balance of comedy and drama.

    Many people do not like this film, and this is due to the fact that it was marketed as a
    A near-perfect balance of comedy and drama.

    Many people do not like this film, and this is due to the fact that it was marketed as a laugh-out-loud comedy. Which it is not. Cyrus is a story of how a lonely man meets a lonely woman, who can't let go of her 21 year old child, who wants to stay at home forever. It is actually quite a dark and sad tale, that may seem like fun from the outset, but as the story progresses, the truth gets out in some heartbreaking scenes.

    In a dramedy, the comedy has to hit as much as the drama, and it really does- especially in the first half, where the film focuses much more on that aspect- and it it's quite fun. But then as things start to go wrong, the performances suddenly turn up a notch, and you suddenly realize that these people are not just caricatures, but are people. There does seem to be a running theme of 'damaged goods', and how people sometimes don't need to be fixed etc.

    The only problem I had with the film was that I wished it was a little longer, although I loved the ending, I thought it would have been nice to get a little more depth to some of the characters- especially Marisa Tomei's character, to get some insight into her past, and why the son and Mother are so inseparable.

    This is not a comedy, but a small scale movie about moving on, and the difficulties of growing up, whatever age you are.
    Expand
  4. Aug 12, 2010
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. He calls her "mommy"; he is Frank Booth(Dennis Hopper), a very bad man who calls Dorothy Valens(Isabella Rosselini) mommy during a game of sexual role-playing. Frank is the "baby", and "baby wants to f***", to Jeffrey's horror as he peers through the closet slats, while the gas-huffing baby exerts his will on Dorothy. Jeffrey(Kyle McLachlan) is privy to the secret pecadillos of men and women he was never meant to see. While Molly(Marisa Tomei) may not wear blue velvet, she wears the burden of being manipulated by a man with psycho-sexual tendencies; her son Cyrus(Jonah Hill), a twenty-two-year old man who tricks his mother into thinking he's still a baby. Does baby want to f***? Maybe. As a visitor(or by the son's estimation, an interloper), John(John C. Reilly) can only hazard a guess as to the man-child's motivations when Cyrus slips into the bathroom while his mother showers. At some level, albeit a non-sexual one(we think), this familial unit fosters an intimacy that promotes the potential for transgressive conduct between adult and adult child, as demonstrated when Molly, prior to the uni-sex occupancy of the lavatory, looks more like Cyrus' lover than mother when she dances her way through the front door, unaware of John's presence on the couch. Molly is Cyrus' muse; she inspires his music and photography. The main reason that Molly goes to the party may be her realization that their close relationship could be on the verge of consumation. At the park, passersby probably see Molly as a "cougar", especially when John and his girlfriend(played by Catherine Keener) sit down for a picnic with their new friends, who seem more in love than anybody else in the movie. If only "Cyrus" had the intestinal fortitude of a film like David O. Russell's "Spanking the Monkey". Molly's heart-to-heart with her son could have turned into an admission that he led him on(that's what the moviegoer sees, but "Cyrus" doesn't acknowledge), but as its written, the mother merely takes responsibility for Cyrus' arrested development. Cyrus, after all, is in love with Molly. The last time we see the young man, he's headed for the garage, the potential site of a suicide attempt, like in Billy Wilder's "Sabrina". Expand
  5. Mar 19, 2012
    4
    Usual American Indie affair that lacks any of the charm or natural humour of the films it is so desperately trying to imitate. It's such aUsual American Indie affair that lacks any of the charm or natural humour of the films it is so desperately trying to imitate. It's such a strange story to tell that it makes you wonder whether it's worth telling at all. It is nicely edited, with a good performance from John C Reilly (who is never bad, in anything) but it starts off dull and continues to be so throughout. Expand
  6. Oct 29, 2012
    3
    I thought this was more on the quirky drama side than dark comedy. I didn't find Jonah Hill believable here which was a bit of a let down.I thought this was more on the quirky drama side than dark comedy. I didn't find Jonah Hill believable here which was a bit of a let down. Overall drab, and and kind of annoying. Much like its lead actor. Expand
  7. Apr 2, 2012
    0
    A horrific nightmare is just the start. The movie was boring with a lazy script that seem to be made in 2 days. Not funny at all and I couldA horrific nightmare is just the start. The movie was boring with a lazy script that seem to be made in 2 days. Not funny at all and I could barely get through this movie. Good thing it is a short movie because it was begginning to give me a headache. Expand

See all 19 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best and Worst Director Duos

    Ranked: The Best and Worst Director Duos Image
    Published: July 25, 2012
    This week, directors Jonathan Dayton and Valerie Faris return with a follow-up to indie hit "Little Miss Sunshine." As we see inside, director pairings are increasingly common, though some (like Dayton and Faris) turn out better work than others.
  2. The Best and Worst Movies of 2010

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2010 Image
    Published: January 7, 2011
    In our annual report, we reveal the best- and worst-reviewed movies of 2010 in a variety of categories.