Daredevil

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 557 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 60 out of 557

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jul 19, 2014
    10
    Daredevil is an excellent marvel comic and superhero movie. The movie received a lot of flak when it was
    released. I don't see why, the movie is terrific. From the acting to the special effects, the movie hits the
    mark. Daredevil deserves the utmost kudos for staying true to the dark themes of the comic book. Daredevil and The Punisher are the truest movies to the comic books and they
    Daredevil is an excellent marvel comic and superhero movie. The movie received a lot of flak when it was
    released. I don't see why, the movie is terrific. From the acting to the special effects, the movie hits the
    mark. Daredevil deserves the utmost kudos for staying true to the dark themes of the comic book.
    Daredevil and The Punisher are the truest movies to the comic books and they both received low reviews.
    The reviews mean nothing because both of the movies are magnificent. Both movies are 100 percent true to the marvel comics, A+ for both movies.
    Expand
  2. Dec 29, 2010
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I know what your thinking. 8 for Daredevil? The original is worth 6 at most, the 8 is for the Directors Cut version, which is better than the original cinematic version. For the Directors Cut, a sub-plot is added where Matt and Foggy Nelson take the case of a murdered prostitute, with a drug addict framed for the murder, played by Coolio. This addition makes the film seem darker than the original cut. Foggy Nelson is given more to do than be just the lawyers sidekick and we get more time with Matt Murdock as a lawyer than a masked vigilante. Also, the reason the cops come for Kingpin at the end seems more believable than in the original cut. The opening origin is extended, focusing more upon Matts catholic upbringing and making us feel more for his relationship with his father, which makes it more tragic when his father is murdered. However, many flaws still remain. The playground fight scene's a big one, and you can't help but feel that Jennifer Gardners casting as Elektra was just stunt casting, due to her being in Alias. I personally liked Colin Farrels portrayal as Bullseye. He plays the character crazy and enjoyable, just like Bullseye. I feel they missed a trick though. When Bullseye asks Kingpin for a costume, that was the right moment for Bullseye to get his Marvel costume. But seeing Ben Afflecks gimpy DD costume and the schoolgirl Elektra, maybe a Bullseye costume was better left undone. Michael Clarke Duncan will always be John Coffey off the Green Mile for me, so I'm not fully convinced as him playing Kingpin. I was convinced in his battle with Daredevil and him talking with Bullseye, but not much else. And Ben Affleck as Daredevil? I honestly didn't mind him. Who would've thought the addition of Coolio would help this become a better film? Still confounded by Ben Urich finding the gasoline/alcohol marked DD which he set on fire... Expand
  3. Jan 20, 2015
    10
    Un ottimo film,personalmente mi è piaciuto veramente tanto.Una storia ben fatta,un cast spettacolare ed un ottima recitazione,mi è piaciuto tanto anche perchè sono un fan del fumetto di Daredevil e adoro Ben Affleck e Jennifer Garner.
  4. Apr 21, 2014
    7
    Real guilty pleasure movie for me, just enjoy the movie for being so, Different, at the time of release it had to go up against the amazing spiderman 2 so, good job for being fun and mindless, this being the main reason why i love the film. The character of Daredevil is very hard to portray and i believe the film did a pretty decent job.
    7/10
  5. Nov 3, 2013
    7
    Daredevil is a great movie, for the Marvel fans (at least.). Ben Affleck is a blind hero by the name of Daredevil who makes his vision by his excellent hearing. The movie is over the top R rated fun. Jennifer Garner is hot, Duncan is funny and Ferrell is awesome and violent. This movie is so boring to normal man and so much fun to Marvel fans. Critics aren't Marvel fans. Daredevil is soDaredevil is a great movie, for the Marvel fans (at least.). Ben Affleck is a blind hero by the name of Daredevil who makes his vision by his excellent hearing. The movie is over the top R rated fun. Jennifer Garner is hot, Duncan is funny and Ferrell is awesome and violent. This movie is so boring to normal man and so much fun to Marvel fans. Critics aren't Marvel fans. Daredevil is so awesome you will cry. It's corny fun. What we want! The guns are used and the blood is shed. Watch the UNRATED version! (If You Dare!) every actor nails it in this film and the pacing is good as well. It's a 7/10 movie for sure. Nothing less nothing more. Expand
  6. (Anonymous555]
    Mar 22, 2008
    10
    I don't understand why people think this is so bad, just remove the terrible music and the crappy fight scene in the park and you have a great movie. I think if they released the director's cut in cinemas it would have made a lot more money. You should watch the director's cut it awesome!
  7. Jul 1, 2013
    7
    A decent superhero flick but compared to the likes of Spider-Man, etc there are just better ones out there to look to instead. I actually enjoyed the Elektra prequel that followed more than this, but enough about the bad because its still a good film with an interesting premise and a good line-up of actors. The problem is it never really grabs you and you don't really fall in love with anyA decent superhero flick but compared to the likes of Spider-Man, etc there are just better ones out there to look to instead. I actually enjoyed the Elektra prequel that followed more than this, but enough about the bad because its still a good film with an interesting premise and a good line-up of actors. The problem is it never really grabs you and you don't really fall in love with any of the characters so I found myself drifting throughout, but still there's enough here for it to be enjoyed. Expand
  8. Sep 26, 2013
    7
    Okay superhero movie, at best. The score and dialogue are pretty unintelligent, but the added imparity of blindness to the protagonist adds for at least a little something extra.
  9. [Anonymous]
    Mar 10, 2003
    10
    Better than Spiderman, even though I prefer Toby Maguire to Ben Affleck. I'm not a lesbian so I have nothing to say about Jennifer Garner exept she did a good acting job. I loved Bullseye!
  10. CP
    Mar 6, 2003
    9
    I give this movie a nine. All the reviews say that affleck did a bad job but he played the part well, for a guy who is not such an action star. Affleck is a great actor; when he has matt damon with him, which is why I'm shocked that he did a good job in this film. As for Garner, they made a great choice. She was able to do most of the stunts herself, and she is knows the martial I give this movie a nine. All the reviews say that affleck did a bad job but he played the part well, for a guy who is not such an action star. Affleck is a great actor; when he has matt damon with him, which is why I'm shocked that he did a good job in this film. As for Garner, they made a great choice. She was able to do most of the stunts herself, and she is knows the martial arts. As for Clarke, I was a little dissapointed not in his acting, but in his part. Kingpin is supposed to be an excellent fighter. He would not have went down that easy. I also do not believe that he was from the Bronx. Expand
  11. SaintHarry
    May 2, 2003
    8
    Well, I was surprised. Ben Affleck makes a good Daredevil. Jennifer Garner makes a sexy Elektra. Colin Farrell is sensational as Bullseye=right on target! Michael Clarke Duncan perfect as Kingpin. A lotta fun! Too violent for the kiddies.
  12. Alissha
    Jul 1, 2003
    9
    While it is a very dark and sometimes serious movie, it was funny in bits with a very good -not confusing- storyline. it is also very modern and deserves 4 stars /5.
  13. KB
    Feb 23, 2003
    8
    Enjoyable. Jennifer Garner is awesome and who doesn't love a super hero movie?!
  14. ErwinG.
    Feb 20, 2003
    7
    The good news: for those people whose complaint about poor translations between books and movies, Daredevil managed to retain most of the Frank Miller elements that made Matt Murdock and Electra the most popular angst couple in the Marvel universe. The movie takes particular pleasure in showing off as to how much Daredevil isn't so much of a superhuman, but just a plain human despite The good news: for those people whose complaint about poor translations between books and movies, Daredevil managed to retain most of the Frank Miller elements that made Matt Murdock and Electra the most popular angst couple in the Marvel universe. The movie takes particular pleasure in showing off as to how much Daredevil isn't so much of a superhuman, but just a plain human despite his amped up abilities. As a whole, Daredevil does a good job in making sure people are reminded comic heroes aren't just for kids and webslingers. The bad news: the movie relies a bit too much on expounding Matt's disability and his broken heart, inevitably failing to produce a solid storyline. It's a disappointment only because all the elements were placed properly to make Daredevil into a great story, even with Ben Afleck at the helm, but because of poor timing, bad transitions, and a few story holes, all that's left is a movie about a really pissed off blind guy with an incredibly defined sense of hearing and vengance. Expand
  15. ShinjiI.
    Mar 29, 2003
    10
    This movie was so good...Affleck did a great job and the action was marvelous :P
  16. TedBear
    Mar 4, 2003
    7
    There were pretty good moments. I enjoyed the movie. The graphics were amazing but they could have been more and of even higher quality. Ya. There was some great acting and it would have been nice to see even more of the childhood of the Daredevil. A great movie altogether.
  17. RobM.
    May 29, 2004
    10
    The hero in this movie has to overcome so many barriers to his life. The only wish I have for this great movie is that the woman lived and fought the good fight with the Daredevil. After all, it just might be a devil that could also save us. A good devil is rare, but they do exist.
  18. [Anonymous]
    May 29, 2004
    10
    Fantastic special effects and heart breaking love between a man and a woman. Their love will live forever. Yes! The scene of her face in the rain of sonic noise was so beautiful. A very good job from the cast.
  19. RyanM.
    Feb 16, 2003
    7
    Sure, it's entertaining enough. But it's a joke. Even with super sound radar sense, a blind guy couldn't do all that.
  20. Phatman
    Feb 16, 2003
    8
    I wouldn't buy this movie, but it's worth watching in theatres. Who cares about the plot? Just watch the special effects.
  21. LeeF.
    Feb 16, 2003
    7
    My girlfriend and I greatly enjoyed this movie. I was a little worried about the darkness of Daredevil to be honest but it wasn't bad. It was a movie about a comic book hero, and, altho X-Men did it better (I was one of the few people in America who didn't like Spider Man ) it gave me what I expected. However, I gotta admit that thankfully Bullseye was in the movie (he was My girlfriend and I greatly enjoyed this movie. I was a little worried about the darkness of Daredevil to be honest but it wasn't bad. It was a movie about a comic book hero, and, altho X-Men did it better (I was one of the few people in America who didn't like Spider Man ) it gave me what I expected. However, I gotta admit that thankfully Bullseye was in the movie (he was great). However, MC Duncan was disappointing as the Kingpin. He looked the part, but wasn't menacing enuff. Otherwise, good movie and the 'tag' during the credits was funny! Expand
  22. GiuseppeA.
    Feb 20, 2003
    10
    Before going to see the movie I read all the critics from several newspapers, and of course I got a bad impression .. well I love Daredevil and I collect all the comic books and I wanted to give it a try. Well in all honesty I liked the movie a lot, probably more then Spiderman, the noir side of the movie is well depicted, the special effect may look too "Spidermanlike", but overall do an Before going to see the movie I read all the critics from several newspapers, and of course I got a bad impression .. well I love Daredevil and I collect all the comic books and I wanted to give it a try. Well in all honesty I liked the movie a lot, probably more then Spiderman, the noir side of the movie is well depicted, the special effect may look too "Spidermanlike", but overall do an excellent job in the fast action sequences (too few in all honesty). The movie is not 100% consistent with the original story (where is Daredevil's master, the guy who teaches him the art of fighting even if blind ?). probably i can criticize the poor characters description as for Kingpin and Bullseye. Affleck plays a decent part and only god knows why they wantred him as Murdok, Electra is electrifying. So I would suggest that if u are a (big) fan of the comic book this movie is really worth to be seen since it leaves several of things to the imagination (knowledge) of the audience, if u are not a fan u might be little bit disappointed especially if u compare this movie to "Spiderman". Expand
  23. TheMan
    Feb 23, 2003
    8
    I went into the theatre expecting a pretty sucky movie, since I thought the trailers were awful. I was plesantly surprised. The movie is much better than Spiderman, the dialogues are a lot deeper and the characters' interactions are actually interesting. Garner did a great job, Affleck wasn't bad either (thats saying a lot coming from me, I hate the guy). Overall, quite an I went into the theatre expecting a pretty sucky movie, since I thought the trailers were awful. I was plesantly surprised. The movie is much better than Spiderman, the dialogues are a lot deeper and the characters' interactions are actually interesting. Garner did a great job, Affleck wasn't bad either (thats saying a lot coming from me, I hate the guy). Overall, quite an entertaining movie, well worth the $7 I paid for it. Expand
  24. TheBamboBear
    Feb 27, 2003
    8
    I thought that this was an alright movie. I enjoyed the large amount of action, and I like the storyline. I thought that, despite how impressive the graphics were, they could have been used more and could have been touched up a little more. I am glad they did not do to many things similar to the Spiderman movie. All in all, it is a very enjoyable movie that I recommend should be viewed by many.
  25. ShawnT.
    Feb 28, 2003
    8
    Hehe my first movie review...here goes. I thought this movie was pretty kewl. Garner and Farrell were wicked. Benny....go join the preschoolers club. I liked this movie a lot especially at the daredevil and electra fights they were awesomeness. Anywho i highly reccomend this to those blood thirsty fight wanters........this is very entertaining. It was boring at some parts so i gave it an Hehe my first movie review...here goes. I thought this movie was pretty kewl. Garner and Farrell were wicked. Benny....go join the preschoolers club. I liked this movie a lot especially at the daredevil and electra fights they were awesomeness. Anywho i highly reccomend this to those blood thirsty fight wanters........this is very entertaining. It was boring at some parts so i gave it an 8. Great movie. THUMBS UP!!!!! Expand
  26. Mr.Know-It-All!
    Mar 15, 2003
    10
    It?s hard to believe what the negative reviews have to say about this masterpiece. This movie was intended to be dark and serious. It is unfair that people are comparing it to Spiderman. Most open minded people would accept the fantastic nature of a superhero action movie. Some people complain that the characters can jump too far. Hell, you could say that about Crouching Tiger Hidden It?s hard to believe what the negative reviews have to say about this masterpiece. This movie was intended to be dark and serious. It is unfair that people are comparing it to Spiderman. Most open minded people would accept the fantastic nature of a superhero action movie. Some people complain that the characters can jump too far. Hell, you could say that about Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon too. These are action movies where this sort of thing is EXPECTED! The movie was good in its interpretation of the Daredevil comics and conveyed the story to newcomers very well. I learned that the motion picture rating board forced the director to cut the movie to remove violence several times in order to avoid a R rating rather than the PG13 rating that was intended. Expand
  27. MatthewR.
    May 11, 2003
    10
    I thought it was a great movie. Wonder if they will make a sequel.
  28. TheElusivePossom
    May 27, 2003
    8
    Quality is always to be delivered with Fox, and "Daredevil" is no exception. It features stunning special effects and an enjoyable romp onto the action scene. Overall, an effective translation to film from comic. One accuracy qualm though: why the hell is the Kingpin black?
  29. HaydenM
    Jun 24, 2005
    10
    Ben Affleck and Jennifer Garner do amazing in this great, dark movie.
  30. TomH.
    Nov 24, 2003
    8
    This is the one of the few times Critics have gotten this movie VERY wrong. The movie not only has much originality and spark to it, it is far exceeds Spider-Man in storyline (which has a million cliches). This is not really an action flick, but more of a character story. Seeing this movie, the characters are real and have true conflict rather than incosequential action sequences. They This is the one of the few times Critics have gotten this movie VERY wrong. The movie not only has much originality and spark to it, it is far exceeds Spider-Man in storyline (which has a million cliches). This is not really an action flick, but more of a character story. Seeing this movie, the characters are real and have true conflict rather than incosequential action sequences. They are not invincible, but rather human and that is the focus of this movie. DareDevil is a man with mystery, pain, and the movie even struts some Shakespearian style. Elektra a person who refuses to be anybody victims, and Bullseye a flashy egotistcal villian. Watching it more than once, I realized great symbolisc and artistic staging missed, and most likely others did. The actors do their roles flawlessly and with passion. They are in a very emotionally absorbing film and I think anybody who cannot see that is emotionally crippled or came in expecting more cheap action like the majority of the American public. While the film has a few missed oppurtunties to expand on its "moral complexity" that the director hoped for, this movie is perhaps the great comic book adaptation (The Hulk possibly tying). I especially disagree with the ignorant critic who said this movie tooks no dares. DareDevil is underelaborated for effect, he often does things which are not logically explained, and the other I will not spoil. That critic was especially off. DareDevil is a very worth wild movie for someone who is willing to open their mind WITH their eyes. Expand
  31. KevinE.
    Feb 19, 2003
    10
    It is cool i love it all the cool effects and the action i want to see this movie again.
  32. Anonymousguy
    Feb 22, 2003
    8
    Why does everyone hate this movie so much? I think it was better than Spiderman and much less childish. Despite what everyone says, I don't think Ben Affleck and Jennifer Garner did a horrible job and Farrell did a great job playing a psycohpathic killer. Duncan did a pretty bad job as the King Pin because he didn't seem threatening enough. Although Daredevil was sometimes Why does everyone hate this movie so much? I think it was better than Spiderman and much less childish. Despite what everyone says, I don't think Ben Affleck and Jennifer Garner did a horrible job and Farrell did a great job playing a psycohpathic killer. Duncan did a pretty bad job as the King Pin because he didn't seem threatening enough. Although Daredevil was sometimes predictable I really enjoyed it. Expand
  33. BrodyK.
    Jun 19, 2003
    8
    I thought that this was a very interesting comic book movie movie that was too underrated. The actors handled the movie very seriously and they came out with a very intriguing film. I'd pass Daredevil, Elektra, and Bullseye over Spiderman, Mary Jane, and the Green Goblin any day. It should have made $140+ million. This movie should not be missed.
  34. BobM.
    Aug 22, 2003
    7
    This movie is fairly decent. Lots of action, intrigue and special effects. I would add it to my movie collection, but probably only watch it upon arriving home from the store,put it back on the shelf and not touch it for a year. Better than X-men and The Hulk in my opinion.
  35. PonR.
    Jul 15, 2005
    7
    Not bad. Expected it to suck, but it actually worked within the parameters of the given story. Good fun.
  36. Sam
    Sep 18, 2005
    8
    I can see how people hated this movie and loved. I for one and none of them, I am one of the people that just flat out enjoyed it. I liked the effects, the dialouge isn't that bad and it was sometimes pretty funny. I liked this movie. In fact, I liked it a lot.
Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 35
  2. Negative: 7 out of 35
  1. Not woeful, not wonderful, merely watchable.
  2. Brought to the screen with a mix of jaunty humor and jagged violence that should have worked more effectively than it does.
  3. 50
    Daredevil the movie strains itself trying to catch up with Sam Raimi's web-slinging megasmash. It's a faceless copy, right down to the muscle-rock groaning on the soundtrack.