Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: May 11, 2012
5.7
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 413 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
164
Mixed:
171
Negative:
78
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
5
MagnificentMJun 2, 2012
This was a decent movie, and honestly it was better than I expected. The best part of the movie was the production design, costumes, and makeup. Johnny Depp did well with the material he was given, even if he did come across as ratherThis was a decent movie, and honestly it was better than I expected. The best part of the movie was the production design, costumes, and makeup. Johnny Depp did well with the material he was given, even if he did come across as rather annoying at times. The movie as a whole was funny at times, but at other times I wasn't sure if it was supposed to be a comedy, a drama, or a horror movie. Overall, I think if you're a Johnny Depp or Tim Burton fan, you'll like this movie. If not, you should see something else. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
CultskillJun 17, 2012
You know that feeling you get when you are watching the trailer to a movie and feeling that all the funny parts were most likely just seen? That was Dark Shadows for me. I knew all the laughs that could be had in the movie arrived in that 2You know that feeling you get when you are watching the trailer to a movie and feeling that all the funny parts were most likely just seen? That was Dark Shadows for me. I knew all the laughs that could be had in the movie arrived in that 2 min sneak but I could not resist Depp and Burton. I have definitely seen worst, don't get me wrong, but i felt myself growing bored and considering how uncomfortable my seat was as it droned on. Save it for a home rental. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
kristen58May 11, 2012
It was okay. It started off good, but then there was too many plot lines and back stories, and it kind of fell apart. It was very rushed, and the characters seemed very superficial. It was like they were trying to cram years of a TV showIt was okay. It started off good, but then there was too many plot lines and back stories, and it kind of fell apart. It was very rushed, and the characters seemed very superficial. It was like they were trying to cram years of a TV show into one 2 hour movie. I've never seen the TV show, so I don't know if the movie was merely the same premise, or if the whole plot was straight from the TV show, but it sure seemed like I was watching a soap opera. It was extremely melodramatic and soap opera-y. Yes, it was a former soap opera, but I hopeful that the movie would just be using the same premise to create something better and deeper than that. That didn't really happen.

It seemed like the movie was written 8 hours long, and they just cut most of it out and awkwardly patched the rest together. At the beginning, we got so much of Victoria that it seemed like the movie was being told from her point of view, but then she disappears for much of the rest of the movie. It was weird, and I wasn't really feeling the relationship between her and Barnabas. That being said, it was humorous and fairly entertaining...as much as a soap opera can be.
Expand
8 of 11 users found this helpful83
All this user's reviews
6
sLmJun 18, 2012
There were funny moments in the film, and also scary ones (like that of the child disguised as a ghost) but all as a whole, it was a bit boring, progress was slow, too much speaking sometimes, and characters relationships felt a bitThere were funny moments in the film, and also scary ones (like that of the child disguised as a ghost) but all as a whole, it was a bit boring, progress was slow, too much speaking sometimes, and characters relationships felt a bit superficial, Victoria overall, it was good at first but then she just disappears the whole film, and her relationship with Deep is barely shown. I think the first part and the ending of the film were the best dramatic moments, the rest felt just as filler. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
RedMoonMay 28, 2012
this film was something i was looking forward to see but only got disappointed. this film was great don't get me wrong with that but there was so many things in this film that didn't really seem to make much sense. the story line and thethis film was something i was looking forward to see but only got disappointed. this film was great don't get me wrong with that but there was so many things in this film that didn't really seem to make much sense. the story line and the actors were done well but to be honest i would of rather watched Sweeney Todd instead. the ending was shallow and the finish was too quick. the next film to this would be something to look out for..because i hope it picks its self up. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
4
Knicksfan7May 11, 2012
I don't usually like Tim Burton's movies and Dark Shadows is in between. I liked it but then i didn't like it. Overall it was an ok film, and nothing more. Johnney Depp was his usual strange but comedic self in another one of hisI don't usually like Tim Burton's movies and Dark Shadows is in between. I liked it but then i didn't like it. Overall it was an ok film, and nothing more. Johnney Depp was his usual strange but comedic self in another one of his collaborations with Tim Burton, but he didn't even feel like the main character throughout. This movie was so clustered and packed with different plots and narrators. One of the main storylines which was between Barnabus and Victoria was only granted about one or two scenes and both were very brief at that. I found myself laughing quite a few times which is about the only positive i can think of from this film other than Depps performance. The ending to the film was just plain strange. It moved from one new story, to and old story, to another new story, and then back to the old one. This film was just filled with too many storylines and different narrations. Theres only two reasons why i would recomend this movie and thats if you're a Depp fan or a Tim Burton fan. If not, do not bother with this movie, even if you were a fan of the original tv series. 4/10 Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
6
ZilcellMay 12, 2012
Dark Shadows takes advantage of the interesting premise. The story could have been a bit more organized and the little bit of action could have been better, but it is consistently funny throughout.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
watithink123May 13, 2012
To be honest I thought this was a comedy film. But when I saw it it was just a basic vampire story with a 1970's twist in it. It lacks from a few thing and the ending was silly. But other than that it was okay. Dark Shadows 5.7/10
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
KadeemluvmusicMay 13, 2012
Probably it's not the best collaboration between Tim Burton and Johnny Depp, Dark Shadows was a little more than a disappointment. The laughs were a little funny, but Eva Green sure looks smokin' hot as Angelique. Although some of the scenesProbably it's not the best collaboration between Tim Burton and Johnny Depp, Dark Shadows was a little more than a disappointment. The laughs were a little funny, but Eva Green sure looks smokin' hot as Angelique. Although some of the scenes were too dark with less violent a little bit, but I'm not sure if fans haven't been familiar with the short-lived soap opera cult back in the late 60's. I watched every Burton/Depp movies like Edward Scissorhands, Sweeney Todd, Alice in Wonderland, and Sleepy Hollow. So Dark Shadows is good, but it needs a makeover. I'll wait for a rental. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
FullmetalMay 16, 2012
This movie was interesting, but the delivery was pretty campy. The actress that plays the Witch, Eva Green, had some of the campiest and cringe worthy acting I have seen in a while. I was glad to see that Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter authorThis movie was interesting, but the delivery was pretty campy. The actress that plays the Witch, Eva Green, had some of the campiest and cringe worthy acting I have seen in a while. I was glad to see that Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter author Sean Graham Smith wrote the screenplay, so it had a little bit of oddness to it. Typical Burton film. It is not really worth paying full price to see in theaters, so I would wait for it to come out at Redbox or any other rental place. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
HalfwelshmanJul 26, 2012
With Dark Shadows, Tim Burton reminds us just how good his films can be. It's not on par with Beetlejuice or Corpse Bride, but it's an extremely fun ride and almost makes up for the disappointment of Alice in Wonderland. It's visuallyWith Dark Shadows, Tim Burton reminds us just how good his films can be. It's not on par with Beetlejuice or Corpse Bride, but it's an extremely fun ride and almost makes up for the disappointment of Alice in Wonderland. It's visually sumptuous, with Burton's trademark gothic flair and some pleasing 70s period details, and has a solid atmospheric soundtrack from Danny Elfman, bolstered by an eclectic collection of cheesy rock, pop, soul and disco tunes. It's well-acted across the board, particularly by johnny Depp, Helena Bonham Carter, Jackie Earle Haley and Chloe Grace Moretz, and a gag-laden script by Seth Grahame-Smith and an abundance of camp energy helps to make the film thoroughly enjoyable. The best scenes are in the film's first half, with vampiric aristocrat Barnabas (Depp) adjusting to the 20th century and to his highly dysfunctional family after being forcibly entombed for 200 years. The film does, however have a big problem with maintaining a consistent tone. It's dark, but would probably benefit from being either even darker, and though the horror elements have been toned down because of its low age rating, I would suggest that it's a bit too raunchy to be suitable for some of its intended audience. This raunchiness does result in a very funny supernaturally-powered sex scene between Barnabas and manipulative witch Angelique (Eva Green), but the majority of the implied sexual goings on may result in some awkward questions posed to parents by their children after seeing the film. Also, the special-effects dependent, relatively big-budget finale of the film was presumably meant to be exciting, but comes across as stupid, overblown and belonging to an entirely different film. At other points, there are scenes that appear a bit disjointed and unconnected to those that came before, and Eva Green is guilty of some wooden delivery of her lines, and an accent that alarmingly frequently changes continents. I'm not sure if Dark Shadows says much about anything below its immaculate surface, but the film remains a memorable, funny and light-hearted romp which Burton fans will love, and it proves that there is still afterlife to the relationship between the goths' director and his favourite actor. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
EludiumQ36Oct 13, 2012
"Dark Shadows" is an oft-filmed tale of shunned-love accented by revenge. This version is largely set in 1972 when director Tim Burton was a teen so the soundtrack is basically a best of 70s hits collection. All the principal actors get to"Dark Shadows" is an oft-filmed tale of shunned-love accented by revenge. This version is largely set in 1972 when director Tim Burton was a teen so the soundtrack is basically a best of 70s hits collection. All the principal actors get to dress up in period fashion with lots of flattering makeup and hairstyles which I think really thrills the actresses. But the experience itself is something you've seen many times before unless you're only 13 which, by the way, is the maturity-level of this film. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
csw12Nov 18, 2012
I expect Dark Shadows to be a funny loosely based comedy and what i got was a movie that lacks everything creative. very dull which isn't characteristic of tim burton. Visually okay, acting below par.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
avatar16May 13, 2012
Après le désastre qu'avait été Alice aux Pays des Merveilles, il est heureux de retrouver notre cher Tim Burton dans cet univers gothique (avec monstres et humour noir) qui lui est propre. EtAprès le désastre qu'avait été Alice aux Pays des Merveilles, il est heureux de retrouver notre cher Tim Burton dans cet univers gothique (avec monstres et humour noir) qui lui est propre. Et avec Dark Shadows, le réalisateur reconquiert nos coeurs en nous livrant enfin un film dans lequel on retrouve enfin sa patte (superbes décors, ambiance gothique détendue, maquillages réussis, musique de Danny Elfman...) et un casting à la hauteur du projet (Johnny Depp, Michelle Pfeiffer, Eva Green, Helena Bonham Carter...). Malheureusement, le film déçoit car étant beaucoup moins déjanté que la bande-annonce qui nous laissait espérer un divertissement à la Beetlejuice. Au final, Dark Shadows reste une comédie un peu légère qui ne fait qu'amuser car bien plus sérieuse que prévue et qui peut se montrer incomplet (question personnages et rapidité du dénouement). En espèrant que Burton fasse mouche avec son remake d'animation Frankenweenie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
L4DLegend91May 14, 2012
Much "darker" than expected, Dark Shadows is a pretty good movie. A nice blend of comedy/drama/action, though I do agree with most people about the story and what it was really trying to get across. At close to 2 hours, I don't see why theyMuch "darker" than expected, Dark Shadows is a pretty good movie. A nice blend of comedy/drama/action, though I do agree with most people about the story and what it was really trying to get across. At close to 2 hours, I don't see why they couldn't touch on the love story part of it all. Really, it seems like Barnabus cared more about saving Victoria just because her life was at stake rather than anything to do with love. Other than that giant plot hole, It's a decent movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Odin777May 17, 2012
While I am a big fan of Johnny Depp's work and have always been fond of Tim Burton as a visual director, Dark Shadows fails to hit the mark on several levels. Weak writing and a uncertain direction keep this film from ever really taking off.While I am a big fan of Johnny Depp's work and have always been fond of Tim Burton as a visual director, Dark Shadows fails to hit the mark on several levels. Weak writing and a uncertain direction keep this film from ever really taking off. While there are a couple of pretty funny moments in the film, they do not keep this movie afloat and make it worth the price of admission. Odin's Score: 55/100. Odin's issues: While I have made clear many of the issues that I have there is one moment at the end when I turned to my friend and a shared a mutual face palm moment...I am sure most of you know the moment that I speak...it is this horrible writing moment where the movie lost me completely. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
nguthomasMay 21, 2012
I expect Dark Shadows to be a funny loosely based comedy like 21 Jump Street. However, this movie lacks the sense of humor and it exceeds the gothic tone.

For a full review, search up the user "TNShowbiz" on YouTube, and check out my review
I expect Dark Shadows to be a funny loosely based comedy like 21 Jump Street. However, this movie lacks the sense of humor and it exceeds the gothic tone.

For a full review, search up the user "TNShowbiz" on YouTube, and check out my review on Dark Shadows.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
MattyiceMay 23, 2012
Besides the fact that the movie deserved to be rated R, the movie overall was just not very appealing to anyone. I laughed at some points, but not too much. The acting was great by Depp, but this movie is not exactly worth seeing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
dharmaMay 30, 2012
I don't know about you, but I feel that Johnny Depp is simply just going through the motions. Dark Shadows is a film with many jarring, tonal shifts. It's interesting but it's just too weird for its own good (yeah, even to a Tim Burton fanI don't know about you, but I feel that Johnny Depp is simply just going through the motions. Dark Shadows is a film with many jarring, tonal shifts. It's interesting but it's just too weird for its own good (yeah, even to a Tim Burton fan like me). One of Mr Burton's worst effort. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DarianJun 2, 2012
Although the story is simplistic and cliched, and the funny bits are lame, the film makes up for it with its technical competence and high production values.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ImNoExpertJun 3, 2012
Well, I may just be an uneducated Wichitan according to Johnny Depp, but I was not impressed by this movie. Before I went to see it I thought, "Tim Burton, Johnny Depp, and Helena Bonham Carter. What could go wrong?" Oh, it went wrong. It'sWell, I may just be an uneducated Wichitan according to Johnny Depp, but I was not impressed by this movie. Before I went to see it I thought, "Tim Burton, Johnny Depp, and Helena Bonham Carter. What could go wrong?" Oh, it went wrong. It's very funny, I'll give it that. Depp succeeds in bringing his unique humor to the film. The problem is that I wasn't sure if this film was serious or not. Firstly, the previews did not do a very good job of representing the film as a whole. I was expecting a lot of humor, like enough to be able to take kids to go see. Instead, I found that most of the funny parts were in the previews, and in between them were unexpectedly bloody scenes (I expected a Twilight-level of blood), overly dramatic banter between the characters, and a sex scene that the seven-year-old that was with me when I saw it probably did not enjoy. Overall, I would say this is a wait-for-DVD movie all the way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Spielberg00Jun 7, 2012
Despite all the flaws and difficulties imposed upon DARK SHADOWS, it certainly did have its moments. The movie itself wasnâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
j24vcJun 13, 2012
i thought it wasn't bad, but not awesome either. I love tim burton, but I think we can finally say he is going a little crazy. Although this movie isn't what I expected, it doesn't make me any less excited for his next (Abraham Lincolni thought it wasn't bad, but not awesome either. I love tim burton, but I think we can finally say he is going a little crazy. Although this movie isn't what I expected, it doesn't make me any less excited for his next (Abraham Lincoln vampire hunter). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
JordanMarie23Jun 19, 2012
It started out great and was really enjoyable, and then the downward spiral began. The plot was all mixed up and it felt dragged out. I really love johnny depp and tim burton but this movie was not up to par.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Jefflyn90Jul 4, 2012
One must be clear this movie is great fun. Depp is a great Barnabas and played him with such cherished love that he is the star of the show. But even though there is a great central character there isn't much a central story. There are lotsOne must be clear this movie is great fun. Depp is a great Barnabas and played him with such cherished love that he is the star of the show. But even though there is a great central character there isn't much a central story. There are lots of plot lines but none are given that much prominence. Although there are problems, none could deny the movie's high production values and that a good thing. But all the different genres never satisfy and becomes disjointed in certain parts. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
DarnFilmsJul 6, 2012
Visually appealing and wonderfully shot Dark Shadows benefits from director Tim Burton cinematic brilliance but suffers from a thin plot and a slew of characters that one simply can not keep up with.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Super8mmAug 7, 2012
No, just no. This was the only movie i have ever walked out of. The story was bland, the acting was terrible, and it was just another copy of a vampire movie, it had the same jokes as all of the other ones, and i was very dissappointed in TimNo, just no. This was the only movie i have ever walked out of. The story was bland, the acting was terrible, and it was just another copy of a vampire movie, it had the same jokes as all of the other ones, and i was very dissappointed in Tim Burton. Bad is the only word I have for this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
btzneb92Aug 13, 2012
For the first time in history, I fell asleep during an act in the movie. Not sure if it was the movie's fault or not, but it happened. Well yeah, the movie did have something to do with it in some ways. This is a pretty bizarre movie, butFor the first time in history, I fell asleep during an act in the movie. Not sure if it was the movie's fault or not, but it happened. Well yeah, the movie did have something to do with it in some ways. This is a pretty bizarre movie, but unfortunately, in a rather dismal way as its unconventionality just dosen't hit home compared to other unconventional mainstream films. The movie was mediocre amd utterly forgettable, and the fact that the source material was based on a soap opera was pretty evident, as the script just dosen't work well to translate the soap opera elements to the screen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
RevHeidiOlsenAug 28, 2012
Dark Shadows is yet another ladder rung into the descent of disapointment that has become Tim Burtons career. The only thing this film is good for is a possible attraction at a theme park.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
lahaine2012Aug 30, 2012
Its good seeing something refreshingly campy for the summer, too bad this wasn't good camp. Dark Shadows straddles somewhere between good and bad. It boasts some fine performance and visual style, but is ultimately undone by it uneven scriptIts good seeing something refreshingly campy for the summer, too bad this wasn't good camp. Dark Shadows straddles somewhere between good and bad. It boasts some fine performance and visual style, but is ultimately undone by it uneven script and bipolar direction. Considering the supernatural nature of the film the screenwriter kept things too simple for its own good, constructed under-cooked characters for the screen, and created many devices to fill his laziness in telling a good story. The characters were underdeveloped, and had sparse appearances throughout the movie, due to this we were unable care for many of them, and their revelations, by the films Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
AkkharSep 7, 2012
Being a huge Gothic Fan myself after seeing the film the first thing i wanna say is " Tim's adaption of the cult classic is very well acted , Directed , Effected and was humiliated by the horrible script "
The movie didn't had the much
Being a huge Gothic Fan myself after seeing the film the first thing i wanna say is " Tim's adaption of the cult classic is very well acted , Directed , Effected and was humiliated by the horrible script "
The movie didn't had the much Gothic Tone and the was people dressed and acted that wasn't like 1972 . The basic story was Good but not so good and the script was unfunny was had no power at all . The actors were the best thing in the movie . Johnny's performance was very good but i thing he could do a lot better . Michelle Pfeiffer was lovely as she is always . this also apply for Eva . Chloë did her her role very well but the character was let down like all other character . Tim's Direction was better then his last but not better then his others .
One of the most amazing thing of the movie was its effect . The Cracking Witch was unbelievability Awesome .
Overall Dark Shadows is entertaining but not as funny/Horrifying as u might think !
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
PjdblueOct 9, 2012
I love Johnny Depp & although he's great as usual I was rather disappointed by the film as a whole. Easy enough to watch but feel it needed more comedy elements..
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
TokyochuchuOct 21, 2012
Dark Shadows sees Tim Burton retracing some of his Beetlejuice steps. It's actually pretty funny with laugh out loud moments sprinkled throughout. The movie isn't perfect, however. The tone is a bit uneven; Dark Shadows never seems confidentDark Shadows sees Tim Burton retracing some of his Beetlejuice steps. It's actually pretty funny with laugh out loud moments sprinkled throughout. The movie isn't perfect, however. The tone is a bit uneven; Dark Shadows never seems confident in what it wants to be. The action scenes are underwhelming, too. All in all, though, Dark Shadows is another entertaining effort from Burton & Depp. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
JawsLaxerDramaDec 27, 2012
While the movie did have a good premise, Dark Shadows fails. Not terribly, but enough so that it is only deemed mediocre by myself and by my family. The story isn't rich enough, the screenplay is okay. This screams nothing special. And forWhile the movie did have a good premise, Dark Shadows fails. Not terribly, but enough so that it is only deemed mediocre by myself and by my family. The story isn't rich enough, the screenplay is okay. This screams nothing special. And for that, my diagnosis would be to see it. Just know, this isn't like Sweeney Todd or some other great Burton movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
SummersausageJan 14, 2013
Movies with potential need to stop screwing themselves over. This was interesting and decent for a while but due to lame plot twists and poor story development with bad jokes it turns out a very pretty piece of crap.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Rox22Feb 6, 2013
This movie is a curious one. It can't seem to decide if it wants to be a horror or a comedy. And no, it can't seem to be both, for some weird reason. If anything, this movie would have worked allot better as a pure horror movie. The comedyThis movie is a curious one. It can't seem to decide if it wants to be a horror or a comedy. And no, it can't seem to be both, for some weird reason. If anything, this movie would have worked allot better as a pure horror movie. The comedy just feels forced and out of place. Allot of interesting ideas floating about that just don't get realized. Bottom line, it's poorly written and perhaps Burton's biggest blunder to date. BUT, it does have quite a few saving graces. Some excellent performance from Michelle Pfeiffer Jackie Earle Haley. Depp is also pretty decent, but doesn't really do anything we haven't already seen from him before. Eva Green is just utterly breathtaking and plays her role magnificently. Special effects are, mostly, top notch and some great set pieces. Overall: An OK movie that is generally OK but perhaps a little subpar to Burton's usual standards. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
AlienSpaceBatsMar 2, 2013
I came away thinking this film didn't know what it wanted to be. The trailers painted a different picture; that it was a wacky comedy it isn't, though it did draw a few laughs from time to time. Also I wonder who the target audience is, ifI came away thinking this film didn't know what it wanted to be. The trailers painted a different picture; that it was a wacky comedy it isn't, though it did draw a few laughs from time to time. Also I wonder who the target audience is, if not Depp and Burton's egos? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
LDianeMar 3, 2013
Good special effects, but not much else. I felt like they crammed four hours of dialogue and story into two hours. The story felt rushed, and I got bored. There wasn't much time for plot character development. Enjoyable, but I won't beGood special effects, but not much else. I felt like they crammed four hours of dialogue and story into two hours. The story felt rushed, and I got bored. There wasn't much time for plot character development. Enjoyable, but I won't be watching this again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
sammieteeMar 29, 2013
It wasn't terrible, I guess. This movie was slow and I felt like I was missing some important information about the back story. I also felt this movie was represented as more of a comedy when it wasn't. One thing I did enjoy was Johnny Depp'sIt wasn't terrible, I guess. This movie was slow and I felt like I was missing some important information about the back story. I also felt this movie was represented as more of a comedy when it wasn't. One thing I did enjoy was Johnny Depp's lines. I liked how they kept him proper. In all, this movie is very forgettable and I won't remember most of it in the morning. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
StevenFApr 24, 2013
Haven't watched the TV show, but I think films should be all about their own merit and what they bring to the table, and from the research into the TV show of the same name, it was a classic. This film on the other hand, certainly isn't.Haven't watched the TV show, but I think films should be all about their own merit and what they bring to the table, and from the research into the TV show of the same name, it was a classic. This film on the other hand, certainly isn't.
Dark Shadows begins with a bang, Burton takes cues from his work on his own version of Willy Wonka by showing us a small montage of where it all began, we see how Barnabas Collins (Johnny Depp) is madly in love with Josette (Bella Heathcote), but his recent affair with Angelique (Eva Green) reveals a truth that he may just have never wanted to find, her witchcraft skills manage to see off Barnabas's parents, and when further tragedy strikes, the evil Angelique curses our lovestruck hero, making him a vampire and subsequently burying him.
We fast forward 200 years when the vampire Barnabas is accidentally set free, much to to the dismay of Angelique who has continued to live on throughout the centuries. Unfortunately when Barnabas arrives at his former manor of Collinwood, this is where the true confusion of this flawed film sets in. Its never clear what story is being told, there are small and silly moments of comedy, there is also romance, but throw in some drama, or attempt at a dramatic piece anyway, and you do have quite a layered mess of two hours.
We are introduced to quite the ensemble of a cast, characters that are miraculously left out for the true plot of the film.
Michelle Pfeiffer delivers a convincing turn as the head of the Collins house, but for most of the film she seems to be wandering around with nothing to do. Chloe Moretz plays her daughter, the rebel and typically moody teen who again, is introduced in what could be a major plot development, but is left as an after-thought. There is just the constant feel that the film isn't going anywhere, and feels too clustered for squeezing so many characters but not giving them a story behind them.
Johnny Depp can always be relied on to give a fine performance, but for someone who is consistently a fan of the Burton/Depp collaboration, it does seem to unfortunately be waining.
There are fine sets and typically gothic Burton touches to costumes and make-up which certainly give it his stamp, but the overall pace and writing of the film feels very out of touch and was truly disappointing after the opening 15 minutes.
No amount of 70s jokes or even Barnabas's reaction to his new world could save this film from being a dull and under-developed experience.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
TheCyberDeadMay 17, 2013
The movies starts out with a large focus on a female protagonist named Victoria whom you are thereby inclined to believe is going to be the main character. Then you're introduced to some main characters which are trying to be interesting,The movies starts out with a large focus on a female protagonist named Victoria whom you are thereby inclined to believe is going to be the main character. Then you're introduced to some main characters which are trying to be interesting, forcibly so but to no avail. Then there's some quick history on Depp's character, then he comes to the household. Victoria is then barely if ever seen or heard from again till the end, and she's Depp's forced love interest so there's no development at all, just he sees her he loves her don't question it. There's also an evil witch that cursed Depp with vampirism and sealed him away for 200 years after killing his parents and the woman he loves (don't worry its all explained at the start of the movie, nothings been spoiled) whom did so because she loved him, but he didn't love her.

I could go on but really it's a poorly written, uninspired vampire movie and the only saving qualities are the great art direction, which is to be expected from a Tim Burton film, and Johnny Depp, which is to be expected from a Tim Burton Film. The film seems extremely rushed, like they tried to fit too much plot and character development into a 2 hour movie, and sometimes its just plain stupid as well, at times I felt like I was watching a bad episode of charmed or something in that vein, simply beautified and branded by Tim Burton and starring Johnny Depp.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
McLaughlinViewsSep 1, 2013
Dark Shadows is a fun film, it's not a film that'll change your life or give you any true emotional response which will effect you but it is a good fun movie to pass the time. You can really feel Burton's directorial impulses and feel in thisDark Shadows is a fun film, it's not a film that'll change your life or give you any true emotional response which will effect you but it is a good fun movie to pass the time. You can really feel Burton's directorial impulses and feel in this film which is always good. Acting wise, the entire cast was good I thought Johnny Depp was just his average acting, which is still incredibly high in comparison to other actors. Michelle Pfieffer was very good as was Chloe Grace Moretz, with the rest of the ensemble giving good performances to.

I enjoyed the 1970's setting of the film and the confusion Barnabas feels as he enters this new world. All in all a good film, but it isn't going to be anybody's favorite film of all time.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Iky009Jan 4, 2014
Sombras da Noite possui um estilo visual do mesmo seguimento da linha Burton, também há ótimos efeitos visuais e boas pitadas de humor, porém em si seu roteiro falho deixando muito a desejar nesse quisito, mais pelo menos consegue divertir.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
marcmyworksJan 20, 2014
A pointlessly gloomy film with none of the satirical appeal of its source material. Here we again find Johnny Depp playing a misunderstood character who unfortunately is not supported by an interesting cast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
goopyGoopFeb 12, 2014
This movie is... Amusing?
Not sure what to say about this one. Definitely not one of Burton's best movies. It was ok to watch one time, but I wouldn't repeat it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
oxanaAug 24, 2014
Strong 3 stars, although a bit of a disappointment. Well, the rating is due to that disappointment...

I was looking forward to seeing Johnny Depp on the big screen once again. As the trailer promised, the movie was plenty of fun while
Strong 3 stars, although a bit of a disappointment. Well, the rating is due to that disappointment...

I was looking forward to seeing Johnny Depp on the big screen once again.

As the trailer promised, the movie was plenty of fun while putting a bit of a twist on the familiar vampiric tale - but somewhere around the halfway point of the movie the story started to go downhill fast. I have no idea what caused those ridiculous things. For one, Angelique slowly but steadily ruined to movie by going over to top with her revenge. There were some other family revelations that came out of nowhere, for no apparent reason, and in general the plot just fell apart and killed the enjoyment level of the "big showdown" in the end.

Lots of laughs and fun but they really should have stuck with what they started and not let the story run away the way it did.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews