Triumph Releasing Corporation | Release Date: February 10, 1982
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 142 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
99
Mixed:
5
Negative:
38
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
pgmarkDec 16, 2010
Absolutely the best sub movie of all time.... I could actually imagine the smells and rotten food. Terrific performances... terrific everything!!!!!!!

This is a must see or you have truly missed something great!
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
MustisTheCatAug 2, 2011
This movie would have been awfully boring it wasn`t as scary as it is. The first time I watched it I had to take breaks because I couldn`t take the tension. The claustrophobia of this film is something really special. We sit in half- darknessThis movie would have been awfully boring it wasn`t as scary as it is. The first time I watched it I had to take breaks because I couldn`t take the tension. The claustrophobia of this film is something really special. We sit in half- darkness most of the time anticipating hull sounds. The story is simple, though it`s just secondary to the main part and that is the Uboat. This tin coffin reminds us of everything we`d like never to experience in our lives. And yet there were real poeple volunteering to serve onboard of those coffins. Right to the end that history showed most of them were destroyed in action. For some reason the German actors really play it well. I mean this couldn`t have been done so good if they were average. Everything is believable here - the effects (as few of them as there are) are great, the submarine external views underwater are outright scary, the music perfectly goes with the atmosphere. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
DaveC.Sep 24, 2005
Four hours edge-of-your-seat suspense. I didn't avert my eyes for a second. The audience is never asked to either sympathise or condemn these characters. Das Boot is instead a haunting testament to the futility of war.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JDAug 17, 2007
Probably the best war movie ever made. Forget garbage like 'Saving Private Ryan'. This movie truly captures the futility of war no matter what side you are on. Claustrophobic, non stop action that literally had me cringing Probably the best war movie ever made. Forget garbage like 'Saving Private Ryan'. This movie truly captures the futility of war no matter what side you are on. Claustrophobic, non stop action that literally had me cringing throughout the long (nearly 4 hours) journey. You get so absorbed into the movie, you get to know the characters so well. Great acting, filming, dialogue and music. A masterpiece. 10/10 Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
AndrewH.Jun 28, 2006
One of the most suspensful movies I've ever seen. Great pacing. Simple story. Amazing.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PatC.Mar 28, 2007
Just too drawn out, even though that's necessary to a point to develop the tension of the underwater attacks. But still rates a 10 as the best submarine warfare movie ever made. One of those rare movies that, once viewed, is never forgotten.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MadDadMay 7, 2017
Intelligent, thrilling, accurate.I saw the director´s cut and it was a "nailbiting" event. Probably the best (Anti)War movie made! Absolutely the best Submarine movie.
A Must see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
LouisaAndrewsNov 13, 2012
Wolfgang Petersen creates a wonderful and exciting film in Das Boot. I had never watched the film until today. I watched the equivalent aviation version 'Shady Lady' which was compared to Das Boot and hence my late arrival at the time.

Das
Wolfgang Petersen creates a wonderful and exciting film in Das Boot. I had never watched the film until today. I watched the equivalent aviation version 'Shady Lady' which was compared to Das Boot and hence my late arrival at the time.

Das Boot is so powerful, wonderful characters and tension. An excellent 9/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MovieGuysMay 2, 2014
The Das Boot Director's Cut, a whopping 3h 28m, doesn't have much of a plot line, but instead is more of a documentary on U-boat life. It is so accurate in its happenings, and doesn't hold anything back. It doesn't sugarcoat the filth or theThe Das Boot Director's Cut, a whopping 3h 28m, doesn't have much of a plot line, but instead is more of a documentary on U-boat life. It is so accurate in its happenings, and doesn't hold anything back. It doesn't sugarcoat the filth or the fear that encompasses the ship. Petersen and company have crafted a fine film just short of a modern classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
moviematthewMar 6, 2015
I consider Wolfgang Petersen to be one of my favorite film directors, and "Das Boot" is probably my most favorite of his career. "Das Boot" portrays life on U-96, as accurate as possible, leaving no room for creative liberties, even if theI consider Wolfgang Petersen to be one of my favorite film directors, and "Das Boot" is probably my most favorite of his career. "Das Boot" portrays life on U-96, as accurate as possible, leaving no room for creative liberties, even if the submarine sank later in the war. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AkashVijayJan 21, 2015
Brilliantly Gothic, Chillingly Sincere and Deeply Spiritual. Wolfgang Peterson has presented the audiences with one of the most brutally moving war movies ever made. The plot comes second, the exhaustive and asphyxiating battle comes, first.Brilliantly Gothic, Chillingly Sincere and Deeply Spiritual. Wolfgang Peterson has presented the audiences with one of the most brutally moving war movies ever made. The plot comes second, the exhaustive and asphyxiating battle comes, first. This is what every war movie should aim to be. True to its characters and true to the war. Poetry and Repugnance walk hand-in -hand here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
VinceRocks123Apr 30, 2015
An Epic among epics, its one of the most important submarine films that must be take into account.

based on a heart pounding biography of life on a German U-boat in the middle of the atlantic during WW2, its so intense and chilling in war
An Epic among epics, its one of the most important submarine films that must be take into account.

based on a heart pounding biography of life on a German U-boat in the middle of the atlantic during WW2, its so intense and chilling in war combat you can imagine what it must be like stuck in a tin can in the bottom of the ocean waiting for fear to strike. In the end I had no whose side I was rooting for.

I think this a good film to tell the terror and agony the germans experienced from a better perspective in naval warfare, that you be hoping that at least we can live a happier lives than them in a safer world of peace and tranquility never again the horrors you will experience in this brilliant monumental epic C
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BroyaxDec 17, 2017
Trois versions de Das Boot ont vu le jour : la courte, la longue (3 plombes et demi, moussaillon !) et l'extra-longue (5h mon garçon !) parce que quand on aime, on ne compte pas, mon gars ! et toutes les 3 sont excellentes, prolongeant àTrois versions de Das Boot ont vu le jour : la courte, la longue (3 plombes et demi, moussaillon !) et l'extra-longue (5h mon garçon !) parce que quand on aime, on ne compte pas, mon gars ! et toutes les 3 sont excellentes, prolongeant à chaque fois un peu plus l'expérience de la vie des sardines dans leur boîte...

Une expérience forcément claustrophobique à l'un des (nombreux) moments-clés de la Seconde Guerre Mondiale, fin 1941 lorsque les loups silencieux ont mangé leur pain blanc et deviennent des proies, les proies de la Marine britannique équipée du sonar. L'un des tournants de la guerre évidemment et une lutte désormais perdue d'avance pour les sous-marins de la Kriegsmarine...

C'est bien sûr le film qui a fait connaître Wolfgang Petersen dont la réalisation précise et pointue comme une horloge restitue à merveille le calvaire des gars dans leur boîte de conserve. La tension et la peur, le sang-froid et l'espoir sont à couper au couteau sur ces visages tendus, de même que les moments fulgurants de l'attaque et de la fuite, ce jeu permanent du chat et de la souris.

Le film a révélé aussi Jürgen Prochnow en état de grâce ici qui campe un commandant à la fois désabusé et cynique, paternaliste et loyal jusqu'au bout... et délibérément optimiste et opiniâtre, un exemple et un phare pour ses hommes. Un vrai rôle de composition jusqu'à la fin, une fin qui offre au film un dénouement étonnant de maturité... et d'ironie.

Car Das Boot n'est pas que dramatique et stressant, il est aussi parfois drôle et toujours très humain, plus vrai que nature et réaliste jusqu'au bout des boulons. Bien sûr, les effets ont un peu vieilli pour une certaine partie d'entre eux (les maquettes...) mais au vu de son âge, Das Boot fait encore le boulot. On s'interroge également sur la musique électronique de Klaus Doldinger mais on finit par y adhérer à notre insu, son thème enquiquinant se montrant très efficace.

Il s'agit clairement d'un beau film de guerre dont la sincérité est touchante, sans aucune gloriole de bas étage, sans guimauve déplacée, sans effets de manches ou autre tour de passe-passe : c'est prenant, surprenant et d'un pacifisme intelligent.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JLuis_001Oct 14, 2017
A true epic, what a masterpiece, one of the best and most intense war films I've ever seen.
Now I have to find the different cuts, let's see if it gets even better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FilipeNetoApr 1, 2018
This interesting war film shows us a little of what was the daily life of a submarine crew during World War II. As the film is German, not surprisingly, is a German submarine. And tastes good to hear the dialogues in the original tongue,This interesting war film shows us a little of what was the daily life of a submarine crew during World War II. As the film is German, not surprisingly, is a German submarine. And tastes good to hear the dialogues in the original tongue, giving more authenticity tho the movie than the English, which most of films used indiscriminately, because of commercial interests.

This film is, of all submarine movies, the best I've ever seen. The more realistic and closer to reality, without dramatic contrivances, without the flying imagination of those who have never seen a submarine but has to make a film about it. Its based on a book by Lothar G. Buchheim which, I believe, describes real events. The script reflected this effort, this search for reality. I do not know any of the actors, I am no expert in cinema, but I enjoyed the interpretation of Jürgen Prochnow, the captain, and Klaus Wennemann, who played chief engineer submarine. I will not be very surprised if someone says to me that some footage was shot in a real submarine... whole scenario was thought to detail and it shows how submarines are claustrophobic.

Far from the American sensationalism, this European film makes a very interesting picture of a reality that most movies rather fantasize the extreme. It is a proof of how thin can sometimes be the line between documentary and a cinematographic work.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews