Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 8 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , ,
  • Summary: High school seniors Michael and Matty have been best friends since 3rd grade. Still virgins, they make a pact to help each other “score” before Senior Prom – but their mission suddenly takes an unexpected turn when Matty announces that he’s gay.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Feb 13, 2014
    80
    Like a fresh ripple in the near-stagnant high school movie pool, Chris Nelson’s Date and Switch balances formula with winning performers, genuine humor and a generosity of spirit that this genre too often lacks.
  2. Reviewed by: Chuck Wilson
    Feb 13, 2014
    70
    Date and Switch isn't a gay movie. It's a zippy, happy, buddy flick.
  3. Reviewed by: Gary Goldstein
    Feb 13, 2014
    70
    The film's more heartfelt moments are what ultimately work best.
  4. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    Feb 17, 2014
    60
    Nelson's amiable comedy occasionally gets fixated on things that don't serve its overall purpose and is too self-conscious to really shine. But it's a more competent, accessible film than its stealthy theatrical release suggests.
  5. Reviewed by: Andrew Lapin
    Feb 13, 2014
    50
    Date And Switch is a plucky step in the right direction for diversity in teen comedies, but it lacks the extra oomph to stand on its own merits.
  6. Reviewed by: Erik Adams
    Feb 12, 2014
    50
    In effect, it feels a lot like the characters at its center — not terrible, just incomplete. A comic take on this premise and these themes feels like a necessity in 2014. Unfortunately, Date And Switch isn’t the movie this day and age needs.
  7. Reviewed by: Simon Abrams
    Feb 14, 2014
    25
    Pseudo-sensitive bro-dude rom-com Date and Switch comes out today, and it already feels dated.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. May 27, 2014
    10
    One of the best movies that I ever watched. Funny, simple but strong. I love the 2 lead characters. In the beginning of the movie looks like a regular romantic comedy but it is twisted by one revelation that will change their life. Expand
  2. Apr 17, 2014
    10
    I watched the movie today and I needed to write a review right away. The movie is those that love rom-coms and for those that like the typical buddy teen movie. The bonus is that it is a great message and jammed with heartfelt moments. A new favorite of mine. Expand
  3. Jun 7, 2014
    9
    This movie is wonderful. I enjoyed the struggle for self identity and the complete way the 2 main actors engaged with each other. This movie goes deeper than one would initially think yet it is also a great comedy. I guess it's because many straight people do not understand the stigma of being gay that this has a bad rating, all I can do is to advise you to watch it and see this funny movie for yourself. It's deep, complicated, humorous and leaves you with a warm fuzzy feeling. I really loved it. Expand
  4. Mar 24, 2014
    6
    This film tells the story of two best friends in high school preparing for prom. One of them comes out as gay, and their friendship is tested.

    ""Date and Switch" is a fun and lighthearted comedy about a teenager coming to terms with his sexuality, exploring his life and lifestyle. The film is full of stereotypical characters and situations, but one thing that is not stereotypical is that the lead characters are not the super camp queen that is present in many gay films. The emotional climax is a little disappointing, but the fun and happy ending makes up for it. "Date and Switch" has a but of predictability and a bit of unpredictability. I guess that's what makes the film fun."
    Collapse

Trailers