Rogue Pictures | Release Date: March 3, 2006
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 54 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
40
Mixed:
5
Negative:
9
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
EldonJun 25, 2006
Uh, yeah... no... it's not stand up comedy. Get over your whining you babies. If a movie has the power to "take" something from your life, you don't have much of one to begin with. And that is, in part, what this movie is about... Uh, yeah... no... it's not stand up comedy. Get over your whining you babies. If a movie has the power to "take" something from your life, you don't have much of one to begin with. And that is, in part, what this movie is about... life. It's rare that a movie can capture the passion and fire of a community, of humanity in it's many faces. And then to express it with such artistry?! The "joke" here is on those who just don't get it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
AKSep 4, 2007
The humor was really that great, but I really enjoyed the overall movie. The entire concept of a free, surprise concert that doesn't have some corporate spin is pretty cool. Instead, the 'spin' was a scheme to perpetrate The humor was really that great, but I really enjoyed the overall movie. The entire concept of a free, surprise concert that doesn't have some corporate spin is pretty cool. Instead, the 'spin' was a scheme to perpetrate random acts of kindness on regular people and develop some fellowship among famous people. And get it on film, which is heartwarming and impressive. Kind of interesting to hear from who were annoyed that it featured hip-hop music. Maybe the long list of hip-hop acts with pictures of the people involved on the movie poster / DVD cover might have been a clue. Further, if you don't like Dave Chappelle and you completely hate hip-hop, perhaps you can put your noodle together and steer clear of a movie named "Dave Chappelle's Block Party." Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
AlecB.Jun 14, 2006
dont get me wrong,i think dave chappelle is one of the funniest comedians ever but this movie sucked so bad that i walked right out of the theater and got a refund.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
KevinE.Mar 15, 2006
Ugh. The only reviewer who had it anywhere near right is Kyle Smith from the New York Post. If you're not a fan of the music and you don't think Chapelle is genius, this is a complete waste of your life. Unfortunately, I'm not Ugh. The only reviewer who had it anywhere near right is Kyle Smith from the New York Post. If you're not a fan of the music and you don't think Chapelle is genius, this is a complete waste of your life. Unfortunately, I'm not a fan of the music, and think Chapelle is tedious at best. I want my life back. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
DanoB.Mar 10, 2006
The thing is its a movie, not a tv special. movies are suposed to bring smoething to the table, and block party did not do this. The music was good, and i'm a really big fan of mos def, but as a movie it was a waste of time. not even The thing is its a movie, not a tv special. movies are suposed to bring smoething to the table, and block party did not do this. The music was good, and i'm a really big fan of mos def, but as a movie it was a waste of time. not even rental quallity. They should just show this on like UPN during black histroy month. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
GeneralPublicJun 19, 2006
Dave Chapelle screwed up on this one. C'mon Dave! I rented this because I needed to laugh, and ended up depressed because I wasted $3.56 on this film. Dave could have made this movie worthwhile if he closed the show with a 1/2 hour Dave Chapelle screwed up on this one. C'mon Dave! I rented this because I needed to laugh, and ended up depressed because I wasted $3.56 on this film. Dave could have made this movie worthwhile if he closed the show with a 1/2 hour comedy bit but theres this scary realization after the first hour that this comedian just conned me into renting a BET special by putting his face and name on the dvd cover. I won't be fooled again. ... Its sad really. i'm begining to believe all that crap that dope rots your mind if you smoke it long enough, all because of this movie. What made it worse is that you CAN't even fast forward to the funny parts, and his comedy bits aren't even in the chapters menu. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JeffL.Mar 11, 2006
A great filmmaker is often what makes the difference between a great concert film and a glorified tour souvenir. The elegiac warmth of Martin Scorsese's The Last Waltz, the kinetic exuberance of Jonathan Demme's Stop Making Sense, A great filmmaker is often what makes the difference between a great concert film and a glorified tour souvenir. The elegiac warmth of Martin Scorsese's The Last Waltz, the kinetic exuberance of Jonathan Demme's Stop Making Sense, and even the freewheeling bawdiness of Spike Lee's The Original Kings of Comedy are as much an expression of their directors' personalities as any of their great fiction films. [Anonymous] That makes us extremely fortunate as an audience that the director of Dave Chappelle's Block Party is Michel Gondry, the genius behind Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, who makes this primarily a terrific movie and secondarily a terrific document of it's titular event, which gathered an all-star cast of contemporary hip-hop, rap, and r&b artists for a joyous rooftop concert in the middle of Brooklyn's Bed-Stuy neighborhood. In addition to presenting performances by the show's numerous acts (Kanye West, The Roots, Mos Def, Erykah Badu, and a reunited Fugees, among others), Gondry goes behind the scenes with the engaging and good-hearted Chappelle, as he passes out "golden tickets" to the event to passersby of all colors and ages in Dayton, Ohio; recruits a local marching band for the gig of their lives; hangs out with kids and teachers at the Bed-Stuy elementary school that will be providing its roof to Chappelle and company; and even shows off his limited but impressive musical chops on piano. The music itself will perhaps be of greatest interest to hip-hop fans, but even non-fans would be hard pressed not to succumb to the joyous, communal atmosphere of the event. If you think of rap only for the nihilism and misgyny of some if its worst practitioners, you owe it to yourself to enjoy the good vibrations given off here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SkellyG.Mar 3, 2006
Its beautiful. its funny, its inspiring, its political and above all, it is positive. the music has meaning and shows a side of urban music that is grossly and criminally under-represented. chappelle is as funny as ever in this one and hisIts beautiful. its funny, its inspiring, its political and above all, it is positive. the music has meaning and shows a side of urban music that is grossly and criminally under-represented. chappelle is as funny as ever in this one and his energy carries the film. yet, he never gets in the way of things. he never hogs the spotlight, allowing his musical guests to express themselves and take charge during their sets. but the spotlight searches him out because he is the undisputed star of this film and it is his party. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamMar 3, 2006
A beautiful movie! Funny as hell but also suprisingly moving and inspiring--I'm so glad Dave is back!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DkraMar 4, 2006
The undeniable talent of Chappelle, Mos Def, and other artists is on full display in this movie. I
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattMar 7, 2006
This movie was stelar. The music was amazing and it was all around a very touching and inspiring movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoeJul 7, 2006
Very impressive, wonderfully presented. Dave was extremely funny, and the music was outstanding.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SpongeeeK.Mar 12, 2006
Solid Film but I dont know where people are coming up with the whole inspiring, moving, etc. adjectives for this film. Its almost like watching Dave's home video of the event. I dont think there's a true greater purpose other than Solid Film but I dont know where people are coming up with the whole inspiring, moving, etc. adjectives for this film. Its almost like watching Dave's home video of the event. I dont think there's a true greater purpose other than to make you laugh and enjoy good music. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JDMar 26, 2006
Dave rocks, this movie shows that he is not only funny, but a humanitarian..paying equal homage to celebrities, kids, and regular folks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephenMar 4, 2006
Might possibly be the feel-good film of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ClosMar 8, 2006
This movie is a true social statement and a real pleasure to watch (and listen to).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
KraigC.Jun 24, 2006
Muscial performances were just so-so. The Fugees were a big dissappointment. And Chappelle is just not very funny, which was a big dissappointment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KurtT.Jul 21, 2006
I must say, I really loved watching this film. Probably one of the best documentary films of this year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AndrewetcAug 13, 2008
This was 10/10 for me, but this would be 0/10 if you didn't like the music. I fucking loved this. If you are fans of these guys, you will be fucking blown away by who shows up at the end, it was about the most exciting thing I saw all This was 10/10 for me, but this would be 0/10 if you didn't like the music. I fucking loved this. If you are fans of these guys, you will be fucking blown away by who shows up at the end, it was about the most exciting thing I saw all year in film. If you aren't, you won't give two shits about this. Skip this if you don't like Hip Hop or these artists, watch it if you do. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SeanS.Mar 15, 2006
Hilarious dave + great music = good Movie. If you go into this thinking it's going to be a 1:30 stand up special your not too far off. It's a stand up special with great music and even better laughs.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RachelI.Mar 22, 2006
Heart-warming, really. Movie's tone is dead-on and really quite sweet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DaveS.Jul 18, 2006
I generally agree with metacritic ratings but this movie was awful, it is a BET concert that is not even that good, just watch tv at 3 am and you see the same thing. not a single joke worth laughing to.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimothyS.Jul 21, 2006
It was a very good, well-put together concert documentary. Dave Chappelle gives forth input as he demonstrates his prowess to be a comedic genius, and he also shows the other side to hip-hop, showing the art side of it relating to the It was a very good, well-put together concert documentary. Dave Chappelle gives forth input as he demonstrates his prowess to be a comedic genius, and he also shows the other side to hip-hop, showing the art side of it relating to the everyday struggles of their upbringing and the people around them. Together this picture brings them and people all over the world together for a great night in New York. If you just expect a slapstick comedy, this may not exactly be what you had in mind. But if you want to sit back, relax, think a little a bit about issues, and hear classic Dave Chappelle comedy engaged into the music from the all-star cast of musicians headed by Kanye West and the reunited Fugees and several more, than this movie may be a highly suggested viewing, and you may get more than you bargained for. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TimM.Jul 22, 2006
This movie is not about comedy or just making you laugh. I went into the theater expecting a long "chapelle show" episode intertwined with musical performances. Though I love the show, I was pleasantly suprised with the overall feel of the This movie is not about comedy or just making you laugh. I went into the theater expecting a long "chapelle show" episode intertwined with musical performances. Though I love the show, I was pleasantly suprised with the overall feel of the joy of humanity, culture, and love that permeated throughout the film. i saw this with my girlfriend, she doesn't even like dave, but she really liked the movie as well. plus the music was freakin sweet. i didn't know gondry directed this til just now; looking back, i can see elements from his craft showing through. definitely awesome. not good if you're just looking for jokes; you will be disappointed. basically, if you're smart and a good person, you will like it. if you're shallow and self-centered, you won't. peace Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DerekE.Jul 23, 2006
How do you not like this movie? I mean, I understand if you don't like the music.... This wasn't necessarily supposed to be some hilarious comedy-fest. It was a documentary about Dave Chapelle organizing an awesome concert, you How do you not like this movie? I mean, I understand if you don't like the music.... This wasn't necessarily supposed to be some hilarious comedy-fest. It was a documentary about Dave Chapelle organizing an awesome concert, you shouldn't expect it to play out like a standup routine or something. It's funny, the music is cool, there's some suprising insight into life and humankind in general interspersed throughout... just a solid movie, and exactly what I expected for a collaboration between Chapelle and Gondry. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonJ.Nov 16, 2007
Great film. It just one those movies that makes you feel good for some reason.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
frozenfishNov 25, 2010
Liking this movie will likely involve, in order: a) being a fan of Talib Kweli, Mos Def, Erykah Badu, Jill Scott, etc. b) being a Dave Chapelle fan c) knowing that this is a concert documentary, not a comedy show. I watched it meeting each ofLiking this movie will likely involve, in order: a) being a fan of Talib Kweli, Mos Def, Erykah Badu, Jill Scott, etc. b) being a Dave Chapelle fan c) knowing that this is a concert documentary, not a comedy show. I watched it meeting each of those criteria, and I enjoyed it. The film really captured the spontaneity of Dave making the event happen. Dave seemed to try to invite anyone and everyone that might be involved in his life to any degree, regardless of whether or not they already like hip-hop/neo soul music. On stage, Dave was mostly just hosting the musical guests, and there wasn't any formal stand-up act. You get to see the artists backstage with Dave in a more candid, personal light, and the film takes on his personality. My favorite parts are when Dave is rehearsing with the Roots band/Mos Def for a little routine for the concert. It's not a perfectly crafted documentary, but overall, it's just a fun time with ordinary people, allowing you to see many of the performers as regular people as well. If none of this interests you, then don't bother watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
geedupJul 4, 2012
If you like REAL hip hop and Chappelle, you will like this for sure. As he tires to set up a block party he encounters personalities in which he can create comedy. Common people of the neighborhood all come together for this epic block party.If you like REAL hip hop and Chappelle, you will like this for sure. As he tires to set up a block party he encounters personalities in which he can create comedy. Common people of the neighborhood all come together for this epic block party. Mos Def, Talib Kweli, Jill Scott, Erika Badu and even the Fugees get together for the only time they reunited. Not sure if I would have saw it in a theater and paid $10, but for a watch its worth it to see Dave being funny. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
glasses1Nov 1, 2013
Different from most motion pictures, this movie gave it's audience an unique sense of exuberant life with it's fantastic independent spirit. It had a cool premise, to bring the people of Brooklyn a surprise concert of many extremely talentedDifferent from most motion pictures, this movie gave it's audience an unique sense of exuberant life with it's fantastic independent spirit. It had a cool premise, to bring the people of Brooklyn a surprise concert of many extremely talented performers (Kanye West, Mos Def, The Roots) as a random act of kindness. This movie shows us what a "Community" really is in other people's eyes. This film is definitely worth a look as it is one of my favorites, to have a unique social theme and sprinkle it with some humor. Inspirational film that is actually quite heart-warming. MUST SEE Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews