Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: July 11, 2014
8.2
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1099 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
963
Mixed:
87
Negative:
49
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
RazorEyeJul 11, 2014
Nothing, absolutely nothing, in Dawn of the Planet of the Apes falls short of being amazing. An emotionally heavy and truly moving film, Dawn is an absolute marvel of modern science fiction, building upon the strong and unmovable foundationsNothing, absolutely nothing, in Dawn of the Planet of the Apes falls short of being amazing. An emotionally heavy and truly moving film, Dawn is an absolute marvel of modern science fiction, building upon the strong and unmovable foundations Rise of the Planet of the Apes had left earlier. With a plethora of solid characters from both ends of the tale, an explosive sequence of events and a rather poetic script, Dawn raises the bar for the Planet of the Apes franchise and other big-budget philosophical productions of it's caliber. Dawn really is something that deserves appreciation; few films in our day can only dream of achieving what Dawn has. A film that truly touches it's audience with heartfelt passion and remorse for humanity, Dawn is the kind of film that films as an art form and the film industry needs in general.

Both Rise and Dawn are thought provoking; films that challenge our perception of our very own species through another. However, Dawn triumphs more spectacularly in a way few films before it had done so; through unsolicited and unforced emotion and depth that makes Dawn a true modern science fiction classic, something that the original creators of Planet of the Apes would be very proud of.
Expand
35 of 50 users found this helpful3515
All this user's reviews
10
PeteStaivJul 28, 2014
The best movie of 2014 so far. For two hours it immerses you into its atmosphere! Great characters, fantastic main plot, top notch CGI ... it is a must see!
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
9
MarcDoyleJul 24, 2014
Far and away the best movie of the summer. It all goes back to storytelling. This crew didn't sit back and rest on its tech laurels. Serkis is amazing, but the writing and the directing are top notch. Remember the first Apes movie? Not inFar and away the best movie of the summer. It all goes back to storytelling. This crew didn't sit back and rest on its tech laurels. Serkis is amazing, but the writing and the directing are top notch. Remember the first Apes movie? Not in this franchise. The Tim Burton fiasco? We've come a long way, baby. Expand
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
7
quincytheodoreJul 11, 2014
Although the plot is predictable, Dawn of the Planet of the Apes combines great visual effect and refined motion-capture acting into an emotional spectacle. Much of the novel factor of Planet of the Ape franchise is how believably humane theAlthough the plot is predictable, Dawn of the Planet of the Apes combines great visual effect and refined motion-capture acting into an emotional spectacle. Much of the novel factor of Planet of the Ape franchise is how believably humane the apes can be, it's also a measure bar as comparing the movies of this franchise in order serves as prove of technology advancement. Andy Serkis has perfected a masterful interpretation of the ape-human mime hybrid. It's not an overstatement that the apes fare better and more convincing than the human counterpart.

Visual is splendid and aesthetically pleasing. It's not as extravagant as other blockbusters in recent time, but the art direction offers a unique appeal. Different than most grayish dire post-apocalypse setting, the movie turns to a more organic setting, a lustful return-to-nature background while some of civilization remains still stand tattered. Glossy urban areas have now coated with rustic flavor while the apes territory is leaning towards early civilization settlement. One is deteriorating while the other contrastingly and gradually improves.

The movie has one of the best uses of motion capture lately. Apes moves with fluid almost humanized motion even though some of the hunchback traits still persist. It's interesting to see such varied range of emotion that can be conveyed by the apes' while most of them only communicate with body language. Action sequences are well done; a couple of scenes are shot in very interesting point of view or continuous shot. It's a little heavier on action than the prequel.

However, the humans aren't nearly as intriguing. Jason Clarke as Malcolm, the engineer and leader figure does a decent job, but he's eclipsed by Andy Serkis' Caesar. He's not really an engaging lead role as James Franco was, and it's a bit underwhelming when the movie tries to compare the two together. Gary Oldman as Dreyfus works with what he has. Being a man with practically a thousand faces, he can pull off any role, but here his character is rather unexceptional.

The plot is a bit overused though; those who have seen Dances with Wolves, Pocahontas or Avatar will find little surprise. Granted, there's only so much this "two civilizations" premise could go and the movie does go for more mature outlook, but a lot of the scenes foreshadow any twist the movie could've had, even more so for those knowledgeable of the franchise. In the end Dawn of the Planet of the Apes does any movie strive to, it immerses the audience and makes them invest in the character's struggle. With the pace it's going the apes are here to stay.
Expand
8 of 12 users found this helpful84
All this user's reviews
10
orderJul 19, 2014
This is the best movie I have seen in 13 years (Training Day). Everything worked in this film to perfection, I would not have changed anything, this director did bloody awesome. It's a must see. 10/10 - and I have never giving anything a 10This is the best movie I have seen in 13 years (Training Day). Everything worked in this film to perfection, I would not have changed anything, this director did bloody awesome. It's a must see. 10/10 - and I have never giving anything a 10 in any reviews. Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
10
BrianMcCriticJul 12, 2014
From start to finish had me on the edge of my seat. An amazing visual experience mixed a fantastic script and score. This film is a deeply emotional one as well you really feel for these characters. There is nothing not to like about thisFrom start to finish had me on the edge of my seat. An amazing visual experience mixed a fantastic script and score. This film is a deeply emotional one as well you really feel for these characters. There is nothing not to like about this film. A+ Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
10
SirKirbyThe4thMay 5, 2015
Such an amazing movie! If you can make monkeys on horses, guns blazing NOT funny, then you've done something right. It takes place during human extinction, wile apes & human live separately, & apes hate humans for what they've done to them.Such an amazing movie! If you can make monkeys on horses, guns blazing NOT funny, then you've done something right. It takes place during human extinction, wile apes & human live separately, & apes hate humans for what they've done to them. Its also one of the few times the sequel is better than the first, which is Rise of the... Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
sonyfanlocoAug 6, 2014
es una buena película con buenas ideas pero falto mas historia mas enfatizada en lo es pero tiene una buena historia buena trama la música suena bien pero tuvo algunas cosas que no estuvieron bien y me aburrí por eso pero lo demás fantastico
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
JamesIrish68Nov 25, 2015
Andy Serkis is something else isn't he...Caesar, his character was outstanding..the facial expressions, the movement and the atmosphere. The technology was first rate. Some of the mass ape movement scenes are nearly up there with Jaws forAndy Serkis is something else isn't he...Caesar, his character was outstanding..the facial expressions, the movement and the atmosphere. The technology was first rate. Some of the mass ape movement scenes are nearly up there with Jaws for menace. The non ape actors aren't too shabby either. Jason Clarke and Gary Oldman are on top form. There is a little anti war anti human moralising but its not laid on too thick..Great fun Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
DCEdmondsNov 13, 2014
"Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" 10 Scale Rating: 8.5 (Fantastic) ...

The Good: While they are very different films, the sequel transitions flawlessly from the first and fits into the franchise perfectly. You get so used to the apes, that
"Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" 10 Scale Rating: 8.5 (Fantastic) ...

The Good: While they are very different films, the sequel transitions flawlessly from the first and fits into the franchise perfectly. You get so used to the apes, that you forget that they are created with special effects. That is the mark of truly fantastic work and you can't help but be impressed. In films like this, it is easy for the human actors to fall to the wayside, but that does not happen here .. at least not with the leads. Jason Clarke's Malcolm believably connects with Caesar and forms a bond that I feared would not be achievable. It's a shame that Serkis won't get award consideration due to being a motion capture actor. He deserves it. The battles were intense and the film does a great job causing you to wonder if your favorite characters will live or die. Lastly, the film is very poignant and provides excellent social commentary without cramming it down your throat. A worthy successor, which is hard to come by these days.

The Bad: I gotta admit it ... scenes of monkeys, riding horses, wielding machine guns, and leaping through fire were among the more ridiculous scenes that I have ever seen. They were during some very serious moments, and I couldn't help but laugh at them. Some of the supporting cast was pretty cliche and forgettable. They also weren't well characterized and I didn't even see what happened to a few of them.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
homer4presidentMay 27, 2015
After the pleasant surprise that was the first film of the new Planet of the Apes series, the expectations for the sequel, or middle part of the trilogy, were somewhat bigger. Thankfully, everyone involved was fully aware of that andAfter the pleasant surprise that was the first film of the new Planet of the Apes series, the expectations for the sequel, or middle part of the trilogy, were somewhat bigger. Thankfully, everyone involved was fully aware of that and delivered another smart blockbuster with a lot of vital commentary on the futility of war and violent conflicts. The film doesn't want you to pick a side too easily as hostility between the last remaining humans on Earth and the intelligent apes arise. There are decent and bad characters on both sides. This makes for an interesting ride, as the conflict spins more and more into chaos and there is little anyone can do against it, after a point of no return. Once again, the CGI is incredible, thanks to great motion capture acting and the accompanying special effects. Thankfully, the human actors are en par, especially Gary Oldman only takes two short scenes to make a strong point for being one of the best of his generation. The gloomy atmosphere, the great cinematography, it all adds up to an intelligent and pretty damn entertaining continuation of the story. If there is one complaint it would have to be that the ending is merely a cliffhanger for what's next in part three. But at least we all have something to look forward to. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
ReubenIsAGodJul 11, 2014
Nothing is bad about this film. Characters are solid, likable and relative. Every side, weather Ape or Human, has an opinion backed by some, very, logical and understanding motives. The acting is superb all performances are top notch. TheNothing is bad about this film. Characters are solid, likable and relative. Every side, weather Ape or Human, has an opinion backed by some, very, logical and understanding motives. The acting is superb all performances are top notch. The over-all story-line is Sensational, does a great job bring out messages and themes that are relevant today within our changing society, also does a great job Humanizing the apes, their not just the bad guys (have never seen the original film, so im not 2 sure if they are seen with humanity).

Their are many other important points to add, but to the point, Dawn Of The Planet of the Apes is a Spectacular squeal that will go down as one of the greatest science fiction films of the 21st century.

10/10, yall **** need to watch this film :D
Expand
11 of 17 users found this helpful116
All this user's reviews
8
theofficeJul 13, 2014
Spectacular movie. Once you get over the little kids laughing at the apes you find the plot to be very deep and the characters all put in very tough situations. There was a level of drama in the film that I was not expecting. The action wasSpectacular movie. Once you get over the little kids laughing at the apes you find the plot to be very deep and the characters all put in very tough situations. There was a level of drama in the film that I was not expecting. The action was just the right amount and not overdone. I do think they rushed the transition from the first movie to the this one (a two minute montage of clips to show how the world went to hell) but other than that no real issues. Expand
9 of 14 users found this helpful95
All this user's reviews
9
ToshioneJul 12, 2014
If you didn't like Rise of the Planet of the Apes or any of the other Planet of the Apes movies, then you shouldn't see this movie, it won't change your mind about the series. That being said this movie is fantastic. It has an amazing story,If you didn't like Rise of the Planet of the Apes or any of the other Planet of the Apes movies, then you shouldn't see this movie, it won't change your mind about the series. That being said this movie is fantastic. It has an amazing story, intense action, and genuinely sad moments. My only problem with this movie was the drama scenes between the humans. These scenes weren't very long but they seemed out of place and made the movie about 10 minutes longer than it should have been. Expand
7 of 11 users found this helpful74
All this user's reviews
7
GinaKJul 13, 2014
If you are looking for an action picture that is not totally mindless, this movie is a good choice. It’s a little too long and generates more cloying sentimentality than genuine emotion. Still it has enough action in a sturdy enough plot toIf you are looking for an action picture that is not totally mindless, this movie is a good choice. It’s a little too long and generates more cloying sentimentality than genuine emotion. Still it has enough action in a sturdy enough plot to keep the audience quiet. This was the first time CGI really annoyed me (has it reached its limits?) since the swarming apes, always shot from above, looked like swarming ants with identical ape decals pasted over them. On the other hand, digital makeup has improved enormously, or Andy Serkis is simply a genius at acting under these conditions. In the end, I couldn’t decide if the pessimistic philosophy that war is inevitable and neither humans nor movie apes will improve (exemplified by the selfish “apes” who must go out for popcorn refills in the middle of a movie in a packed theater) or whether this philosophy was just a cynical excuse for another sequel. Expand
8 of 13 users found this helpful85
All this user's reviews
10
sicilia013Jul 11, 2014
Excellent movie, excellent history, and excellent visuals, I was hoping to enjoy something like this since a long time, totally surpass the previous planet of the apes.
12 of 20 users found this helpful128
All this user's reviews
10
chrismars8Jul 12, 2014
freaking monkeys and guerillas on horses with guns during an apocalypse setting o yea and gary oldman enough said about this awesome movie its a must see summer movie.
9 of 15 users found this helpful96
All this user's reviews
10
R18Jul 12, 2014
One of the most intelligent and entertaining big-studio releases of the summer so far, Easily it's one of the best of the year, It is amazing the most exciting, and powerful of all the Apes films.
9 of 15 users found this helpful96
All this user's reviews
8
JamesCannonJul 11, 2014
Good solid Film. Consider it an 8.5. It almost reaches the levels of praise that some reviewers are giving. Its a close masterpiece. I felt the climax and ending could have been handled a little differently. It almost happens so fastGood solid Film. Consider it an 8.5. It almost reaches the levels of praise that some reviewers are giving. Its a close masterpiece. I felt the climax and ending could have been handled a little differently. It almost happens so fast that you feel like the rug is pulled up from under you, because the film is just starting to hit a terrific pace that I did want to stop. The script is laced with all kinds of good allegories and you could read practically anything into this engaging and sometimes brutal tale. I stared in wonder on just how good the apes looked. It was incredible seeing them. The humans do get the short stick and there is no picture given on the events outside of San Fran. This sequel though has me looking forward to the 3rd film which I thought would never happen. I found first one mildly entertaining, but it is nothing like this one. Expand
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
0
Tessara_VejganNov 11, 2014
I expected to see a good sf flick not a pathetically slapped together f****** drama. Incredibly boring to watch. Among the worst movies I have ever seen. *vomiting sounds* Acting was s***, story was s***. There is no story buildup (unless youI expected to see a good sf flick not a pathetically slapped together f****** drama. Incredibly boring to watch. Among the worst movies I have ever seen. *vomiting sounds* Acting was s***, story was s***. There is no story buildup (unless you count that 1-2 min intro explanation), no character development, instead its just thrown in your face without proper explanation. Who the hell comes up with c*** like this? Utter waste of my time. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
rsheehanJul 18, 2014
I will make this short and sweet. Excellent movie. Has a little of everything in it. The acting is good especially what it takes to bring Caesar to life. After watching the making of Rise OPOA I realized how much went into creating a movieI will make this short and sweet. Excellent movie. Has a little of everything in it. The acting is good especially what it takes to bring Caesar to life. After watching the making of Rise OPOA I realized how much went into creating a movie like this. However, it's not just the incredible technology that brings this to life, it is the excellent story. Very touching, moving and thought provoking. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
vikesh2206Nov 21, 2014
Intelligent and provocative in all the right ways, Dawn of the Planet of the Apes expands on its remarkable predecessor with dynamic motion capture, well realized ape character arcs and a blatant and bleak social message.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
analogkid280Jul 13, 2014
A complete re-imagining of the movie "Battle for Planet of the Apes", this movie "Dawn" is exactly what the original creators of the first film wanted to do. That was until the Fox executives got their hands into the project and turned itA complete re-imagining of the movie "Battle for Planet of the Apes", this movie "Dawn" is exactly what the original creators of the first film wanted to do. That was until the Fox executives got their hands into the project and turned it into a virtual home movie and pilot for a failed TV series. It took 40 years but we finally have that great battle movie in our hands. The actors playing apes do an excellent job and you never once wonder if they are real or not you are just immersed in the film. The action and plot have many twists and turns and keeps you interested for the full duration of the film. I really love what these new movies do for the franchise giving it the credibility that the continuing 70's sequels could never give. Expand
7 of 12 users found this helpful75
All this user's reviews
10
SimpleMethodJul 14, 2014
The most entertaining, well told, socially conscious and aware films I've seen in a very long time. Loved the messages about the environment and gun violence. Wonderfully acted and shot, Dawn is a gem.
7 of 12 users found this helpful75
All this user's reviews
10
Movie1997Jul 12, 2014
Wholly crap! What an amazing film! The visuals were FANTASTIC, the characters were well realized, especially the apes, and the story is for the most part unpredictable and takes some not so heavy twists and turns that still present a strongWholly crap! What an amazing film! The visuals were FANTASTIC, the characters were well realized, especially the apes, and the story is for the most part unpredictable and takes some not so heavy twists and turns that still present a strong effect on the movie itself. There are really no plain and simple, black and white characters. As for the main characters (Caesar, Koba, Malcom and his family, even Dreyfus) present such three dimensional characters. Even for the supporting characters, they don't fully present three dimensional characters, but more of representations of different themes of characters that were used to see in movies. For example, you have a character that despises Apes for everything that's happened to the world when really he's afraid of this new world. Essentially, all the characters serve a purposeful role, three dimensional or not. In the end, it's a beautifully dark and exciting installment filled with beautiful cinematography, set pieces and fascinating characters (mainly Caesar and Koba). Overall, it's one of the greatest sequels of all time! I give this masterpiece an A+! Expand
7 of 12 users found this helpful75
All this user's reviews
10
LTRJul 11, 2014
This movie is PERFECT! The story is great, the action is good, the music is good and Cesar is one of the best cgi characters of all time! You should 100% see this movie!
12 of 21 users found this helpful129
All this user's reviews
9
MattyiceJul 12, 2014
So far, this summer, movie wise, has been pretty meh. Some movies, like 22 Jump Street and X-Men stood out to be great films, but some have been poor. Dawn of the Planet of the Apes is not only a great film, but a masterpiece that far exceedsSo far, this summer, movie wise, has been pretty meh. Some movies, like 22 Jump Street and X-Men stood out to be great films, but some have been poor. Dawn of the Planet of the Apes is not only a great film, but a masterpiece that far exceeds all of its predecessors, from the original film to the good prequel Rise of the Planet of the Apes. Dawn of the Planet of the Apes is flawless in every way possible, from the plot to the CGI. The acting was generally solid, but nothing too special. However, Serkis is unbelievably good as Caesar once again and Toby Kebbell is even better as Koba. The plot created by Matt Reeves and co. is action packed, smart, emotional, and, in general, beautiful (for the lack of a better word). However, the apes were the stars of the show. Caesar, Maurice, Blue Eyes, and especially Koba were all great and each took on significant roles in the film. Lastly, the CGI. The effects in this film are the best I've possibly ever seen in a film. It was so realistic you would think the ape actors were in costumes. In general, this film is a must see this summer and easily turned an OK movie summer to a great one. This movie will make your summer. Expand
8 of 14 users found this helpful86
All this user's reviews
4
ContinualAug 7, 2014
I'm sorry if you like this movie because to me the only people who could honestly have thought this sequel was good are the ones that are die hard fans. We've seen the premise of humans being killed off almost to extinction numerous times,I'm sorry if you like this movie because to me the only people who could honestly have thought this sequel was good are the ones that are die hard fans. We've seen the premise of humans being killed off almost to extinction numerous times, something refreshing would have been nice. The plot of this movie would get a C for attempting a mediocre plot. A movie about Apes and humans having conflict and then it's resolved but they still are going to war now (next movie) makes zero sense.....I enjoyed the 1st one but this movie had so many elements that i've seen before it just seemed stale and unoriginal. I left the theater think okay...so they dropped the ball Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
10
TheFineBroJul 11, 2014
Holy! I can´t believe how good this movie was. The story is perfect, the writing is powerful, the acting is super strong,the pacing is intense, the action is actually pretty violent and brutal, the music is empowering and inspiring, and theHoly! I can´t believe how good this movie was. The story is perfect, the writing is powerful, the acting is super strong,the pacing is intense, the action is actually pretty violent and brutal, the music is empowering and inspiring, and the movie is s freaking emotional it actually made me cry, twice. Best movie of the year, probably to stay there. Apes on horses! Expand
9 of 16 users found this helpful97
All this user's reviews
5
OhTheDerpJul 29, 2014
This is, without a doubt, one of the most boring movies I've seen all year. The action was incredibly short-lived when it actually occurred. I was hoping for an action movie, not a drama.
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews