Gramercy Pictures (I) | Release Date: September 24, 1993
8.5
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 125 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
109
Mixed:
14
Negative:
2
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
nboley08Aug 16, 2010
Brilliantly funny and always entertaining. This is a film for anyone who ever wanted to grow up in the 70's but sadly missed it. It doesn't have a single thought in its head, but who cares when the scenes are so accurately shot andBrilliantly funny and always entertaining. This is a film for anyone who ever wanted to grow up in the 70's but sadly missed it. It doesn't have a single thought in its head, but who cares when the scenes are so accurately shot and excellently presented. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleJan 31, 2016
Honestly, Richard Linklater may be the only man to be able to make such an endlessly watchable and enjoyable film about a bunch of high school jerks who smoke weed and drink all day. Fantastically funny and a great look at high school in theHonestly, Richard Linklater may be the only man to be able to make such an endlessly watchable and enjoyable film about a bunch of high school jerks who smoke weed and drink all day. Fantastically funny and a great look at high school in the 1970s, Dazed and Confused is a fun and enjoyable ride that may start off a bit odd, but once it hits its stride, it's a true joy. The ensemble cast is fantastic and it is tragic that a lot of them did not get any major roles after this, aside from this obvious few because they are all a delight. Matthew McConaughey does steal the show though of course with his multiple iconic lines that will continue to live on forever. Overall, Dazed and Confused is a truly enjoyable high school stoner comedy that is fantastically written and directed by Linklater. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
DuckNationMay 25, 2014
Dazed and Confused is a great teenager film with the movie following the life of soon to be seniors and freshmen in highschool the day school ends for the summer. The seniors haze the freshmen by hitting them on the ass with a paddle and noDazed and Confused is a great teenager film with the movie following the life of soon to be seniors and freshmen in highschool the day school ends for the summer. The seniors haze the freshmen by hitting them on the ass with a paddle and no adults seems to care they even laugh about it which is funny becuase they would be arrested if that happened nowadays. At least they end up giving them a beer after the beating or they invite some out to party later on that night. The movie has no plot other then just hanging out with friends, drinking and smoking pot. The movie has quite a lot of noticeable stars that later become famous the biggest being Ben Affleck, Milla Jovovich, Matthew McConaughey.

Overall i give it a 8.0
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
MovieGuysJun 16, 2014
Dazed and Confused very accurately portrays the whole "teenage wasteland" of the 70's, I'll give it that, but it ultimately has no real plot or any real end. It swerves back and forth between certain key scenes without actually goingDazed and Confused very accurately portrays the whole "teenage wasteland" of the 70's, I'll give it that, but it ultimately has no real plot or any real end. It swerves back and forth between certain key scenes without actually going anywhere. But, it is one very entertaining movie for what it is. The whole reason to watch Dazed and Confused is Matthew McConaughey saying "alright, alright, alright!" Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
TheKavehJApr 4, 2016
Don't even try to watch this one, just see the sequel instead. The film has no point whatsoever, and is just 103 minutes of pure stupidity. From such a great director like Richard Linklater, this film is a major disappointment.
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
10
BlancoA.Nov 19, 2002
I grew up in the 70s, and this film just felt so damned authentic. I can't exactly capture what it is that's so right, but it's truly a genius flick. I saw it 4 times in the theater. I also can't remember another film I grew up in the 70s, and this film just felt so damned authentic. I can't exactly capture what it is that's so right, but it's truly a genius flick. I saw it 4 times in the theater. I also can't remember another film that featured this many undiscovered actors that eventually made it big. A MUST SEE.... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ArandaF.Jul 14, 2003
This movie is a terrific movie. It makes me laugh and reminds me of the friendships from my teenage years and early 20's. Growing up in a small town in the midwest, I am reminded of the parties and small-mnded thoughts of many of the This movie is a terrific movie. It makes me laugh and reminds me of the friendships from my teenage years and early 20's. Growing up in a small town in the midwest, I am reminded of the parties and small-mnded thoughts of many of the "grown-ups". I also know people like the characters in this movie and it is a great reminder of home. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BNButlerDec 7, 2004
When watching this film, you feel like you are living your high school years all over again. It is a timeless classic that you can relate weather you grew up in 1976 or you grew up in 1996. Linkslater has painted us a picture of all the When watching this film, you feel like you are living your high school years all over again. It is a timeless classic that you can relate weather you grew up in 1976 or you grew up in 1996. Linkslater has painted us a picture of all the imaginable characters and all the good times that we probabley forgot, but knew had. Its like all the good times condensed in under 2 hours and all the right characters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndrewM.Jun 17, 2004
I watched this film only recently, having never seen it nor even heard about it before, and therefore truly felt I had found a jewel in the rough when I had finished watching it. It's a beauty of a film. I don't know what I watched this film only recently, having never seen it nor even heard about it before, and therefore truly felt I had found a jewel in the rough when I had finished watching it. It's a beauty of a film. I don't know what Linklater's full motive and intention was when making it, but for me this film takes the viewer on a whirlwind ride through a time not that long ago but still somewhat inevitably "forgotten". I was born in the 70's but was really an 80's child, so I didn't really understand what went down any more than the 60's or 50's, other than what I'd read in books or seen on TV. This film changed that - now I feel that I have experienced my own little piece of the 70's, as though I spent an invisible 90 mins in a time machine. It's a great piece of work: the acting for the most part is brilliant, the script is precise, funny and actual, the directing is glib, the music is spot-on (and kicks ass!) and the story itself is suitably light but penetrating. Truly, anyone born this side of WWII should take this trip down "memory" lane - it's a blast. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
dakotak.Apr 13, 2005
Seniors '76.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveA.Jul 26, 2006
Simply put, this is a wonderful movie. It is among my top 10 all time favorite films. Something to note, do not judge a book by its cover! This is not some stupid wannabe Cheech and Chong comedy. Far from it! It is a heart warming trip back Simply put, this is a wonderful movie. It is among my top 10 all time favorite films. Something to note, do not judge a book by its cover! This is not some stupid wannabe Cheech and Chong comedy. Far from it! It is a heart warming trip back in time to high school life in the 1970s which can be appreciated even by those of us who were just toddlers in the 70s. See this film. Own the DVD. You'll love it, like most people do. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YoonC.Sep 15, 2003
Simply breathtaking. Linklater avoids the pitfalls of most semi-autobiographical movies--the easy sentimentality and nostalgia. Instead, he takes us on an incisive and revealing ride thru the place, the period, and emotional themepark of his Simply breathtaking. Linklater avoids the pitfalls of most semi-autobiographical movies--the easy sentimentality and nostalgia. Instead, he takes us on an incisive and revealing ride thru the place, the period, and emotional themepark of his youth. Instead of a film basked in the glow of bygone past, Linklater revives his youth as vivid present brimming over spontaneity and verve. The script is both accurate in terms of milieu but at moments rise to the level of casual but real poetry and deep insights. His characters rise above merely stereotypes and register as thinkiing, feeling individuals. Despite Linklater's degree of detachment and 'objectivity' that renders it more hardedged than your average semi-autobiographical film, it still overflows with passion, vitality, rock n roll energy. A beautifully balanced movie, fascinating as drama and comedy, as youth film, as ethnography. Also, the movie features perhaps three of the most beautiful women in current cinema. Michelle Burke especially shines as Jodie Kramer. Comparable to Altman's best, therefore one of the best ever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JessicaM.Mar 25, 2004
This movie was the best movie in the whole world...Im only 17 but i would have loved to grow up in the '70s. The movie just makes me wanna be there.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZarahM.Jul 24, 2004
This is a great movie!! I can watch it over and over again without getting sick of it. Shawn Andrews is my the best actor in the film! I also Think He is Very Hott and if anyone knows of any pictures of him please send them to my email This is a great movie!! I can watch it over and over again without getting sick of it. Shawn Andrews is my the best actor in the film! I also Think He is Very Hott and if anyone knows of any pictures of him please send them to my email adress. I am only 20 and I really wish I would have grown up in the 70. You must see this movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
kateJan 25, 2005
This movie kicks ass man, weeeedddd hey this should by comedy not drama by the way...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidM.May 23, 2006
The best teenage coming of age flick ever. Bar none. American Graffiti, Fast Times at Ridgmont High and all the others look phony and worn by comparison.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackTApr 27, 2007
A fun and entertaining portrayal of pop culture during the mid-70's. Don't look for a deep meaning or plot when watching this movie, but expect to enjoy it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
J-ShapAug 25, 2011
If I could just state an opinion (and by opinion I mean fact), Dazed and Confused is the best teen comedy of all time. It is an intelligent, energetic, and very funny look at a point in time that everyone lives through, with a strong dose ofIf I could just state an opinion (and by opinion I mean fact), Dazed and Confused is the best teen comedy of all time. It is an intelligent, energetic, and very funny look at a point in time that everyone lives through, with a strong dose of nostalgia and understanding. Set-up like Robert Atlman's take on high school, Dazed and Confused presents a cast of characters so huge that you'll barely have time to get to know all of them. Some say that's a minus, I call it a plus. You ever look into your high school yearbook and go "That guy! I remember him! He's was cool, I guess. Don't really remember much else though..." That's precisely the point. These are the people who end up influencing you the most, but you remember the least. The armies of stoners, jocks, preps, nerds, rockers, and all that jazz. There are no real struggles to overcome, and no real driving goal to the plot, other than just to enjoy yourself. You know what that sounds like? That sounds like pretty much everything I did as a teenager. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TTW107Feb 8, 2012
Fantastic movie. The movie is really about nothing, just the last day of school before summer but it just has that swagger. It has a ton of noticeable young faces that go on to have bigger and better careers. One of the most fun movies I'veFantastic movie. The movie is really about nothing, just the last day of school before summer but it just has that swagger. It has a ton of noticeable young faces that go on to have bigger and better careers. One of the most fun movies I've ever seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
geedupJul 4, 2012
I think this is the first movie I liked concerned with the "last day of school" type scenario. A cast of actors that (for the most part) you never hear from again but are perfect for their roles in this movie. A little revenge, a littleI think this is the first movie I liked concerned with the "last day of school" type scenario. A cast of actors that (for the most part) you never hear from again but are perfect for their roles in this movie. A little revenge, a little reminiscing, a little weed/indulgence during a time of innocence and absence of responsiblity. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
LeZeeDec 14, 2016
The final day of the school, but it's just the beginning!

I won't lie that I watched it after I saw 'Everybody Wants Some!!' from the same director. Because I liked that film and I heard that was a spiritual sequel to this one. So there goes
The final day of the school, but it's just the beginning!

I won't lie that I watched it after I saw 'Everybody Wants Some!!' from the same director. Because I liked that film and I heard that was a spiritual sequel to this one. So there goes my reason. I usually love the 80s and 90s teen films, you can't compare them to what they make now. The film was from the edge of before my generation began, but I'm very related that time than the other end. So I felt very familiar and enjoyed it thoroughly.

The film focused on the final day of the high school. It opened in the afternoon during the final class and followed by night where a party was arranged by the seniors that does not take off after their parents suspected it. Between the freshmen and the seniors, a tradition follows. Some of them escape, but those who got caught, struggles to way out. Not everyone, some make it their best time in high school. So who gets what and how everyone's night turns out revealed in the remaining.

We can see some of the big names of the today's cinema in this 23 year old film. Matthew McCanaughey, Milla Jovovich, Ben Affleck and many more. Though the film never focused one particular character, it was neutral and stayed that way till the end. But it told the story of the final day of the high school about the individuals and their intentions. You do not have to be a youngster to enjoy it, it will work for everybody. So I hope you watch it, especially before to try 'Everybody Wants Some'.

7/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Viper8787May 23, 2014
I loved this movie I was told it was great but I never had the urge to check this movie out, and I am really glad I did. It was a blind buy for me on Blu-Ray and I am so glad that I picked it up because I will be able to watch this movie overI loved this movie I was told it was great but I never had the urge to check this movie out, and I am really glad I did. It was a blind buy for me on Blu-Ray and I am so glad that I picked it up because I will be able to watch this movie over and over again. It wasn't a laugh out loud comedy say like The Hangover but it was just so funny as a movie as a whole with so many memorable scenes. Found myself smiling and laughing the whole time a great watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
borderlinefilmsFeb 4, 2015
for so long its not true

I only saw it once. I dare not watch this again. For some reason it was playing at a dingy burlesque-haunted cinema on old Granville Street in Vancouver on a Sunday afternoon in 1993 where wasted men usually
for so long its not true

I only saw it once. I dare not watch this again. For some reason it was playing at a dingy burlesque-haunted cinema on old Granville Street in Vancouver on a Sunday afternoon in 1993 where wasted men usually shuffle in to deposit their sperm. (Not enough credit goes to internet porn for cleaning up the streets). Richard Linkater wasn't a story at the time. The guy who made Slackers. The bastard love child of Jim Jarmusch and Chrissie Hynde for all I knew. No clue he'd be the chosen one to eventually deliver us to Boyhood. I went in with a friend on a lark and floated out on a psilocybin cloud of joy. I was awestruck. I know these guys! I wanted to endlessly sing its praises but my friend didn't get the same charge out of it. (Although months later at a Christmas party of wayward misfits, he couldn't stop playing the sound track). Maybe it was me. But this was exactly how I remembered High School in the 70's. Was I hallucinating the whole thing? Indeed I was stoned much of the time, but all that was brilliantly accounted for. All that was missing was a bit of Pink Floyd and a whole lot of Led Zeppelin as alluded to in the title. Dazed & Confused isn't merely the best movie about High School in the 1970's. It is the best movie about High School, and the best movie about the 1970's, and perhaps the best movie about male adolescence (yes, yes, IMHO, of course, what else). I dare not watch it again for what if I burst the bubble of such virgin memories to forever spoil my love and admiration for it. Or was it the dingy cinema I have fond nostalgic feelings for? Something. I'll have to watch it again, probably soon, once Linklater finally gets the grand red-carpet treatment along with the golden trinkets he so long deserves.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RalfbergsFeb 15, 2016
Fun movie about the 70s. Not giving it higher than 7, because it lacks something special in it though - you'll probably like it a lot if you like 70's vibe etc, but as a movie it isn't perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Benkoko11Feb 23, 2017
Linklater's cult-classic high school ensemble comedy captures the zeitgeist of 70's Texas without relying on narrative so much as a series of semi-related moments over the course of a night in Austin.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews