Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 56 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 24
  2. Negative: 8 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    Mar 7, 2013
    83
    Oplev composes shots with grace and an understanding of where everything is geographically and how scenes relate to each other in the multi-threaded plot. Like everything else in Dead Man Down, his direction is beautiful and brutal at the same time. Whoever thought that this movie would be as entertaining as it is existential is either lying or psychic.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Mar 7, 2013
    60
    Before it devolves into typical American-style action, there’s an intriguing, European-style complexity to Dead Man Down.
  3. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    Apr 29, 2013
    60
    A pleasingly intricate double (or is it triple?) revenge plot anchored by excellent acting, with a terrific burst of action at the climax.
  4. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Mar 7, 2013
    42
    Dead Man Down is actually mildly entertaining, without being particularly fun.
  5. Reviewed by: Keith Phipps
    Mar 10, 2013
    40
    A long, dull swim through narrative syrup interrupted occasionally by poorly choreographed acts of violence. It’s essential only for those wanting to hear Farrell try on a Hungarian accent.
  6. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Mar 10, 2013
    33
    Dead Man Down exerts an unconscionable level of effort for minimal reward: It aspires to exquisite world-weariness, but just ends up feeling exhausted by its frenzied yet fruitless exertions.
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Mar 7, 2013
    12
    While a mob thriller can be as nasty as it likes, what it can’t be is silly.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    A strong character piece filled with developed and visually distinct characters in this police-less gangland. The romance is genuine and the acting is to a tea. Everyone succeeds in their prospective roles interestingly and with panache. Expand
  2. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers. This movie was done an injustice by critics, I found the movie highly emotional, dynamic and intelligent. I felt the scars on my face when Beatrice looked at them in the mirror and when she ran her fingers down her reconstructed face, I felt victor's pain when he mailed the picture squares and watched the home videos. The movie had a lot of plot twist and dramatic moments that were not predictable in the slightest. Great movie, would have gotten a 10 if not for the a few minor things. Collapse
  3. Dec 13, 2013
    7
    This is one of the very few cases I strongly disagree with the critics. I can´t believe such a low rating as 39/100 for a film like this. It´s not the best and it´s not very original, but it´s still good. The worst part would be the done to death revenge story the male character is planning. But the rest are good things: great acting, both Colin Farrel and Noomi Rapace show commitment and deliver what we expect from them. Both have a really great career at this point. Noomi is particularly fascinating to watch in any role she takes. The thing I´ve seen people hating on the most is the pace, and I have to say I didn´t have a problem at all with it, perfect to me. At the end you also get big action scenes, so that should make action lovers happy too. Good film. One of the few cases it is better than what you expected. Expand
  4. Jul 27, 2013
    6
    The movie was okay, but I didn't really like the main character. Yeah, he wanted revenge and all, blah blah blah. I actually watched the movie for Noomi Rapace, and she did a pretty good job. Other than that, the plot was kind of blah. I'm giving this movie the score I did because I watched the movie all the way through. Expand
  5. Sep 1, 2013
    5
    Many new to this particular film.
    A thousand such as this was not true with the actors.
    But that is positive to write, you could watch all
    the way, and this is today's lineup is praise. Expand
  6. Mar 10, 2013
    5
    A really average movie. This was the way I felt about the Euro-version of Girl with a Dragon Tattoo (same director as this movie). It wasn't terrible, but it never really broke out as fully entertaining. I guess it is better than sitting in a bus stop watching the dregs of humanity fall over themselves while trying to walk and breath at the same time. What is most striking in this film is that Colin Farrell didn't completely ruin it as is his usual impact films. Before anyone tells me they like Colin Farrell go watch Alexander...enough said. Here he was serviceable which for him is a darn near Oscar caliber tour de force of acting. Expand
  7. Jul 8, 2013
    2
    Dead Man Down is the worst kind of film, one written hastily with so many side plots and themes that the central concept gets lost in translation so much that it takes literally a third of the film's run time before you find out that the films even about revenge. The film follows Victor (Colin Farrell), a local kingpins right hand man who is planning revenge against the men who killed his family. However when Beatrice (Noomi Rapace), his neighbour witnesses him murder someone in his apartment he is forced to do something for her that may mean his downfall or his salvation. There is no nice way to say it, this is a bad movie, it lacks believable characters, a decent draw and a reason to root for the central character, in fact for the first 30 minutes he just murders people with no justification behind it just because they have guns (because that's a reason to kill anyone in action films apparently). Now Colin Farrell isn't a bad actor, in fact he's quite a good one but he needs the right material and the script in Dead Man Down is just confusing. It's filled with nonsense twists that just make its two leads seem like schizophrenics as it supposedly builds to a tepid finale filled with fake emotions and ridiculously overworked messages that are so heavy-handed it just annoys you. It's filled with uninvolving resolutions and one of the dumbest final conversations in movie history. Rapace has to cope with the worst of it as her character flip flops around unsure on what she is doing, so much so that in one scene she is hitting on Victor and then suddenly she starts yelling at him for no reason, none whatsoever. It's not just a poor script though, its so poorly filmed and packaged it doesn't even qualify as an action film because those scenes are dull and unimpressive. It;s a poor picture unworthy of its two leads. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews

Trailers