User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 68 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 68
  2. Negative: 9 out of 68
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 15, 2014
    6
    An enjoyable foreign zombie film that comes with the entire package. Zombie blood, gore, fights, and escapes. Dead Snow was mostly good, but still has some rough edges.
  2. Aug 22, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm going to try my best to keep as much of the plot out of this review as possible as to not give any spoilers. Dead Snow is a 2009 Norwegian Horror Comedy film about a group of friends and hopeful lovers going to a cabin in the snow covered mountains for a get away trip that promises fun and hopefully, a little bumping uglys. The opening of the film sets the tone perfectly for what you're going to be watching and is an easy highlight to the feature. From there on we are introduced to the characters. To be quite honest, they're a little bland and really only serve to give us a forward look at the menu. The movie kind of drags the first 20 minutes or so, with the introduction of an outsider character that delivers a monologue about evil, as all crazy old men must do in horror movies. The first real kill doesn’t come in until about 30 minutes in, and the movie has the traditional false finish situations. You know the old cliche type situations in movies where someones looking for something, the scenery gets all dark and the music kicks up. Then a cat jumps out or something. Yeah there are a few of those kind of situations here. I will say though, once the action begins, it keeps up rather well, not feeling too rushed but not making you wait too long between scenes of violence and gore. And on another note, with so many movies today using CGI effects when it isn't necessary, it's good to see a horror film with a rather traditional focus on practical effects to get across the gore and death scenes. And that being said, there are a few death scenes in the movie that are a bit standard for this sort of thing, but some that are really good and throwbacks to good old 80's horror. The movie sort of downplays our main characters, in a way which makes them zombie bait and nothing more. The male characters are all portrayed with a harsh stupidity and the female characters as almost helpless. We don't root for them very well and as I said before, just wait for them to be chewed up. But this severe lack in character development kind of plays into another of the movies strengths, comedy. Dead Snow has a subtle sense of comedy from hilarious character reactions, to legitimately funny dialogue and moments that made me laugh, well chuckle really, out loud. This sort of haplessness portrayed by our victims makes the films second act pick up work even better than had it just been tons of blood. There’s even a couple solid homages to the Evil Dead Films in there. One real highlight to the movie is a hand to hand fight scene between one of the campers and a few of the zombies that comes across as a mix between a 1980's Hulk Hogan wrestling match, Shaun of the Dead and the Captain Kirk vs Lizard Man fight that's become such a popular internet meme. There's even a little classic 007 thrown in there just for good measure. Some other good moments are the very interesting scene where one of the girls in the film is getting eaten, with the camera in first person as she comes to. But this buffet session has a nice comedic twist. Another good mention is a particular Zombie death that brings back to mind the “Put your face on the curb” moment from American History X. Now being a movie about Nazi Zombies (a topic that is at large relegated to Video Games), it's kind of hard to not include some solid sense of humor. The zombie make up is solid for the most part and with the exception of one or two of the undead national socialists, they all for the most part look good. And as the films director Tommy Wirkola said “they are Nazi's first, then Zombies”. In case you are interested to know, we're not dealing with shuffling brain munchers in German WWII fatigues, we have fast, vicious, organized, Third Reich supporting, flash chopping, throat cutting all around evil bastard, full on Aryan and Nazi brain munchers. Another thing that needs to be mentioned is the music. To be honest it;s kind of hard to place. You see, because this is a foreign film, we get foreign music. So I’m doubting that anyone will recognize any of the songs present. But the movie crosses over a few different genres. And that;s definitely a problem. The Norwegian Scream metal song just doesn't work in this film. But for all of the music that doesn’t work, there are some moments that have songs that are just perfect. The noteworthy opening and when our cannibal chow heroes gear up for their final battle against the SS from hell. Overall, this movie is pretty well done. It has a good balance of comedy and gore, even if there isn't a scare to be found. It's definitely a film I would recommend, especially if you liked films like Tucker and Dale vs Evil, the Evil Dead series, Cabin in the Woods, and Shaun of the Dead. And by the way, the last 15 minutes of this movie are great. So take the time and check out Dead Snow. It's absolutely worth a rental or a watch on Netflix, and pick it up if you can find it for under $20.

    My Final Rating: 82%
    Not as Good to me as: Dead Alive
    On Par to me with: Tucker and Dale vs Evil
    Better to me than: Survival of the Dead
    Expand
  3. Jan 31, 2013
    7
    Martin and his friends head out to the mountains for some hijinks in the snow, but their weekend trip turns in to a bloody battle for survival when they take from a cache of Nazi gold that holds a terrible curse. Now, they bare the wrath of the undead as the Nazi foot soldiers come back from beneath the mountain to reclaim their stolen treasure! Tommy Wirkola's cult-sensation, DEAD SNOW,Martin and his friends head out to the mountains for some hijinks in the snow, but their weekend trip turns in to a bloody battle for survival when they take from a cache of Nazi gold that holds a terrible curse. Now, they bare the wrath of the undead as the Nazi foot soldiers come back from beneath the mountain to reclaim their stolen treasure! Tommy Wirkola's cult-sensation, DEAD SNOW, immediately sets the tone with its frequent genre references and familiar settings. Sam Raimi's unmistakable influence and signature form of splatstic humor is clearly felt in every moment. Unlike the many other homages to THE EVIL DEAD, however, DEAD SNOW stays fresh, fast-paced, and exciting, while scoring big points in the make-up department with several winning zombie designs and a slew of ridiculously gory gags that shock as much as they entertain. Whatever shortcomings exist in the plot or characters are more than made up for in mindless carnage, making DEAD SNOW a real treat for gore fans. Expand
  4. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    Watch it! Zombie fans out there will not be disappointed.I thought it was a well thought out combination of horror and action, with a gore in tones of the old style movies. There is plenty of reference to great Zombie films such as Evil Dead, Braindead, among others. It is by far one of the very best zombie movies I've watched.
  5. Oct 12, 2012
    6
    Dead Snow is a zombie horror comedy that, despite some good ideas and some truly funny moments, ultimately falls short, but manages to still be worth at least a rental. The movie manages to be very funny at times and adds one or two jump scare moments at the beginning of the movie, but the movie truly prides itself in it's stomach-churning gore which even made me, someone who's neverDead Snow is a zombie horror comedy that, despite some good ideas and some truly funny moments, ultimately falls short, but manages to still be worth at least a rental. The movie manages to be very funny at times and adds one or two jump scare moments at the beginning of the movie, but the movie truly prides itself in it's stomach-churning gore which even made me, someone who's never really been bothered with gore, a little bit queasy. Ultimately the movie fails to deliver any real thrills, and you may want to look elsewhere if you like your Zombie movies serious, but if your just looking for something to satisfy that Zombie movie itch this is worth a watch. It wont get rid of your itch but it will hold you over until you can get your hands on some of the better Zombie movies out there. Expand
  6. Aug 4, 2012
    1
    Dull action, inconsistent story, filled to the brink with cliché & unrealistic scenes, predictable and overall just filled with moments that you give out big "Sighs". As much as I appreciate the direction they were trying to take this movie with a new zombie type, it wasn't executed correctly and you're left with a mess acted out by amateur teenagers.
  7. Apr 5, 2012
    8
    Great movie loved it! If you're in a zombie flick mood, Dead Snow is a great choice. Unique story line, funny violent scenes. The characters are a little bland but you don't go for great character development when watching a zombie flick.
  8. Sep 18, 2011
    5
    Zombie films are always hit and miss with it seeming remarkably tricky to thread the needle. Overall Dead Snow provides a fresh perspective over the remarkably played out genre, injecting a sense of comedy as well as cheese while also embracing previously set up conventions and subverting them to provide more than a few surprises. However instead of using these conventions to create aZombie films are always hit and miss with it seeming remarkably tricky to thread the needle. Overall Dead Snow provides a fresh perspective over the remarkably played out genre, injecting a sense of comedy as well as cheese while also embracing previously set up conventions and subverting them to provide more than a few surprises. However instead of using these conventions to create a original thought, they use the understanding to merely stretch out the tension. Some scares you know are coming but they are just held a little longer than in Hollywood films making it seem like you are watching something new but it is really just recycled. However the main problem I had with Dead Snow is its lack of identity. The film doesn't know what it really wants to do so for an hour and a half you follow a group of characters with no clear direction. Even at the beginning when they are only on holiday it seems aimless with the opening segment being so unconnected to the rest of the film its hard to tell whether it is an important part of the story. Sadly it fails to live up to what could have been a great little indie horror film but still manages to entertain in a brainless kind of way. Expand
  9. Aug 13, 2011
    7
    What do you get if you take equal parts Wes Craven, Sam Raimi and Edgar Wright, and transport the resulting concoction to a chilly Nordic landscape? Dead Snow, thatâ
  10. Aug 27, 2010
    4
    "Dead Snow" is obviously meant to be a playful romp, but little do filmmakers know those kind of movies are harder to make than it seems (not everyone can be Sam Raimi). As far as plot goes, the movie painfully tries - the first 15 minutes of the movie give some of the face-palming attempts at characterization, but once zombies show up, every gore stereotype is satisfied. Despite my low"Dead Snow" is obviously meant to be a playful romp, but little do filmmakers know those kind of movies are harder to make than it seems (not everyone can be Sam Raimi). As far as plot goes, the movie painfully tries - the first 15 minutes of the movie give some of the face-palming attempts at characterization, but once zombies show up, every gore stereotype is satisfied. Despite my low score, I give the movie credit for using gutted intestines better than any other horror movie I have ever seen. Expand
  11. Mike
    Nov 3, 2009
    0
    Stay away from this movie! cheesy horror film with ugly actors.
  12. maciejs
    Oct 30, 2009
    10
    This movie was awesome, a real cult and revival of the old school zombie movies, and also gorelike movies overallz. Nazi zombies reminds me of a classic film entitled Surf Nazis Must Die.
  13. AdamP.
    Oct 24, 2009
    1
    Boring, formulaic crap. Bad acting, terrible script, and none of this is excused by the pathetic attempt at sending itself up. 63? I think not. Maybe 13 at best.
  14. JayH.
    Oct 15, 2009
    7
    What a great horror movie, it is a familiar tale but at least it has a unique approach and plenty of unexpected twists. The acting is good, the atmosphere is excellent. Great zombie effects. The cinematography is excellent as is the score. Plenty of blood and gore for those into that.
  15. MikeG.
    Aug 13, 2009
    7
    This movie is one of the best horror comedies i have seen all year. It starts of a little slow prior to the first killing, but it gets better. It has some comedy mixed in with a lot of blood and gore. This group of actors are perfect for this movie, it's a comedy but they take it seriously all throughout the movie. A tad bit predictable at some parts(when the army of zombies came This movie is one of the best horror comedies i have seen all year. It starts of a little slow prior to the first killing, but it gets better. It has some comedy mixed in with a lot of blood and gore. This group of actors are perfect for this movie, it's a comedy but they take it seriously all throughout the movie. A tad bit predictable at some parts(when the army of zombies came from the snow). But all in all a great movie, a great watch if you would like to see a gory movie without getting scared silly. I give it a 7. Expand
  16. KP
    Jul 23, 2009
    2
    This movie was a joke. No way in hell it deserves the 63 rating it scored. It's like a bad 70s horror flick some college students knocked out with a few camcorders. I've been watching a bunch of horror movies lately...and it's no where near the level of Cloverfield, Splinter, The Ruins...as this film a B or C grade film, it sure doesn't deserve as high a rating! Silly This movie was a joke. No way in hell it deserves the 63 rating it scored. It's like a bad 70s horror flick some college students knocked out with a few camcorders. I've been watching a bunch of horror movies lately...and it's no where near the level of Cloverfield, Splinter, The Ruins...as this film a B or C grade film, it sure doesn't deserve as high a rating! Silly acting, ridiculous plot, and low quality production. Expand
  17. DarcyI
    Jun 30, 2009
    8
    This film is lots of fun, between the stunning mountain vistas, the comic violence, and the sheer absurdity of a zombie Nazi troop. The opening scene gives a good idea of what's to come, before switching to the standard setup with a few hapless, naive young people going on vacation. A stranger warns them of a danger in the woods, which slowly but surely makes its presence known. This film is lots of fun, between the stunning mountain vistas, the comic violence, and the sheer absurdity of a zombie Nazi troop. The opening scene gives a good idea of what's to come, before switching to the standard setup with a few hapless, naive young people going on vacation. A stranger warns them of a danger in the woods, which slowly but surely makes its presence known. Though not precisely blood-chilling, the slow introduction of the zombie horde does have some scary moments. About halfway through, the film quickly switches gears from suspense and paranoia ("I think something's out there") to gloriously campy gore ("Yes, zombie Nazis are out there"). Normally I'm not a fan of running zombies, but for some reason it works in this film. Partly because people move slow enough as it is when they're knee-deep in the snow. While in a city or another more claustrophobic area the slow zombie shuffle works, it's hard to be that worried about something moving at normal zombie pace in such a wide open area. Also I was nearly able to convince myself that a corpse will remain much more well-preserved in the far north of Norway than most places, keeping the zombies lean and mean. Lots of blood, gore, terror, and moments of sheer awesome, with obvious but tasteful tribute paid to the genre's originators. Expand
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Stephen Farber
    50
    This blood-soaked melodrama -- a far cry from most foreign films -- has been a festival favorite and might well develop a cult following, though it's far too gory to reach beyond the core audience.
  2. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    70
    The pic reveals itself as a horror-action-comedy a la "Evil Dead," with amusing twists of fate and over-the-top gore.
  3. Reviewed by: Chuck Wilson
    60
    For more than half of this 90-minute film, director Tommy Wirkola plays things pretty straight--a mistake, perhaps, since the first half is pretty boring--but once the Nazi zombies start arriving en masse, he abruptly shifts to an "Evil Dead"–style zaniness, including the sight of a potential victim hanging off the side of a mountain while using a zombie's entrails as rope.