Deadfall

Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 24
  2. Negative: 6 out of 24

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Dec 7, 2012
    38
    There's nothing you haven't seen before - and better - in Deadfall, which would seem to appeal mostly to fans of snowmobile chases.
  2. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Dec 6, 2012
    38
    Wilde is stuck with the harder job of simultaneously playing sexy, innocent, conniving, and heartsore, and the effort appears to give her a headache. "This is kind of like an old movie," Liza says to Jay in one scene. Lady, don't you wish.
  3. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    Dec 6, 2012
    25
    Watching Deadfall really is like being trapped in a blizzard – the cinematography is so muddy you can barely make out what's going on on screen (besides the bright splashes of blood) – you're antsy to be anywhere else but where you are.
  4. Reviewed by: Sam Adams
    Dec 4, 2012
    20
    Ruzowitzky (The Counterfeiters) may be an occasionally interesting visual stylist, but storytelling-wise, his second English-language effort couldn't be more stillborn.
  5. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Nov 28, 2012
    38
    None of Eric Bana's mildly rousing moments clearly rise above the laborious gobbledygook that Ruzowitzky builds up through the course of the film's 94-minute duration.
  6. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Nov 28, 2012
    20
    A crime saga cobbled together from scraps of genre predecessors, Deadfall's unbelievable silliness escalates at every turn.
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Oct 15, 2015
    8
    Surprise movie! Surprising for the cast involved-impressive. Surprising for the rapid pace. Surprising for most of the photography.Surprise movie! Surprising for the cast involved-impressive. Surprising for the rapid pace. Surprising for most of the photography. Surprising for the "believability" of the characters. The glitches or shortfalls included: (1) The near-incestuous relationship was a bit underplayed at the outset; the ability to walk through a near-blizzard in street clothes seems far-fetched from my experience; the relationship between Treat Williams and Kate Mara seemed a bit off, somehow.

    I liked that the confluence of sub-plots, while stretching credibility a bit, was not too far removed from what could be realistic. Eric Bana was "delightful" as a truly evil person. All other major characters, Ms Wilde, Mr. Hunam, Ms. Spacek and Mr. Kristofferson, allowed the viewer to suspend disbelief and accept the role they played.

    I enjoyed the movie.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 11, 2015
    5
    The lack of likable characters, and depth of storyline made this film miss the mark. The most in depth character we had was the son who wasThe lack of likable characters, and depth of storyline made this film miss the mark. The most in depth character we had was the son who was released from prison, but he wasn't even the main character. There was no one in the film that I was rooting for. Maybe the female sheriff deputy, but even her back story was very short and underdeveloped. Why was she so hated among the force?

    The overall acting was good, they just didn't have much to work with. I really wanted to like it. I
    am a big Olivia Wilde fan. Unfortunately there wasn't enough to get me emotionally involved.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 13, 2014
    5
    "Deadfall" 10 Scale Rating: 4.5 (Mediocre) ...

    The Good: Great cast that doesn't disappoint. I'm a little surprised that I didn't hear more
    "Deadfall" 10 Scale Rating: 4.5 (Mediocre) ...

    The Good: Great cast that doesn't disappoint. I'm a little surprised that I didn't hear more about a film starring Eric Bana, Olivia Wilde, Kris Kristofferson, and Sissy Spacek. The film shows promise at times and the ending was mildly entertaining.

    The Bad: While it does indeed show glimpses of promise, ultimately there is nothing new here. Pretty straight forward and at times tedious, it feels like a direct to DVD release.
    Full Review »