Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: August 31, 2007
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 146 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
123
Mixed:
12
Negative:
11
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
RoyP.Feb 3, 2008
An ill-contrived, preachy, brain-dead, and mindless mess. Also, a guide on how not to use the washed out/somewhat overexposed look in nearly every damn scene. This movie looks like it was shot by first-year film students, except done with An ill-contrived, preachy, brain-dead, and mindless mess. Also, a guide on how not to use the washed out/somewhat overexposed look in nearly every damn scene. This movie looks like it was shot by first-year film students, except done with less energy. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
KevinAJan 24, 2009
I'm glad I didn't have to pay to see this. The family scenes were so predictable that I fast forwarded through most of them. I do have to say that the action scenes were fun to watch. They were actually quite intense even though I'm glad I didn't have to pay to see this. The family scenes were so predictable that I fast forwarded through most of them. I do have to say that the action scenes were fun to watch. They were actually quite intense even though they made me laugh. I kept wondering why the cops never really interrogated Bacon or arrested him. They had probable cause. I guess it's because he was killing scumbags that the cops couldn't seem to catch, or even seem to want to catch, even after they killed some cops. So, ultimately I would have given it a 1 if it weren't for some of the action scenes. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
0
JaredC.Aug 29, 2007
Huh? I'm lost, I got confused and bored right off the bat. It's terrible, a badly performed.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
KelleyM.Oct 4, 2007
Horrible! I walked out after 40 grueling minutes. ( I have only walked out of one other film in 30+ yrs.)Don't waste your time. Kevin Bacon must have been hard up for money.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KyleJan 7, 2008
How anyone in their right mind could give this a rating over 5 (and even that would be excessively generous) is beyond my imagination. I'm having a hard time trying to even bring myself to describe how bad it was. I will say this: no How anyone in their right mind could give this a rating over 5 (and even that would be excessively generous) is beyond my imagination. I'm having a hard time trying to even bring myself to describe how bad it was. I will say this: no one in the movie, not a single character outside of maybe John Goodman's character, reacted like a normal human being (who, strangely enough, is what they were supposed to be). Ridiculous doesn't began to describe it. One scene that really stands out is after Bacon's character wakes up in the hospital, finds out his one son is still alive (barely), and the cop shows almost no sympathy whatsoever. Are you kidding me?! The man just lost his wife and oldest son in two brutal murders, has his only other family member in a coma, and is himself beaten to crap -- not to mention having all sense of security forcibly removed from his life. But of course it's all his fault for "starting" things (you know, because it was his fault for stopping for gas and all) and he should have known better, shame, shame. I can't think about this anymore. It hurts my head. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SteveAApr 12, 2008
This movie was awful. The police and detectives in this movie were embarrassingly incompetent. There are scenes of people killing and maiming each other in broad daylight for hours with a lot of people around, and the cops still don't This movie was awful. The police and detectives in this movie were embarrassingly incompetent. There are scenes of people killing and maiming each other in broad daylight for hours with a lot of people around, and the cops still don't know anything. The Bacon character was just as crappy. Did he not care about his family's safety at all? And then there are the scenes where the bad guys spend all day threatening the Bacon character and spilling blood in the streets, and then they come to Bacon's home THAT SAME NIGHT, well after the fact that every cop in town has been alerted to the situation. And that's just the tip of the iceberg. The only thing I liked about this movie was some of the acting, especially John Goodman's. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JohnS.Aug 19, 2008
Every character in the movie was incompetent. You know how sometimes movies put characters in situations designed to ask the audience "what would you do in that situation?" Well every time Bacon did something my only answer was "not that." Every character in the movie was incompetent. You know how sometimes movies put characters in situations designed to ask the audience "what would you do in that situation?" Well every time Bacon did something my only answer was "not that." There just wasn't enough killing to make up for the lackluster script. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
KayakMar 3, 2014
I felt absolutely no emotion with any of these characters. In this sort of film, you need to have some sort of connection to really feel the pain and suffering caused and Bacon himself can't even save it. Yeah, the action is alright but if II felt absolutely no emotion with any of these characters. In this sort of film, you need to have some sort of connection to really feel the pain and suffering caused and Bacon himself can't even save it. Yeah, the action is alright but if I didn't feel obliged to keep watching it to keep a friend happy, I would have turned it off long before it finished. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews