Paramount Home Entertainment | Release Date: December 31, 2008
5.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 165 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
91
Mixed:
26
Negative:
48
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
JayB.Jan 25, 2009
Perhaps I was overly sensitive to the Zionist message of a film at a time when Zionists were destroying the crap out of innocent lives in Gaza...Either way, this film was still also terribly over-produced, forced and predictable. I thought Perhaps I was overly sensitive to the Zionist message of a film at a time when Zionists were destroying the crap out of innocent lives in Gaza...Either way, this film was still also terribly over-produced, forced and predictable. I thought D. Craig and L. Schreiber were plan awful in this film! Ahhh! And to think I was anxiously awaiting this film. What a waste of money! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
DavidFJun 4, 2009
Action not bad but the accents drove me crazy, a mish-mash of them and languages, people speaking Russian for one sentence then switching to Russian-accented English, so you're always painfully aware they are acting. Ruined the film for me.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
[Anonymous]Jan 3, 2009
Belongs on TV at 3am. Low budget, badly cast predictable and over-produced soap opera of the forest.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
[Anonymous]Jan 3, 2009
Belongs on TV at 3am. Low budget, badly cast predictable and over-produced soap opera of the forest.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SamM.Jun 14, 2009
A story worth telling yet so remarkably badly made it hurts to watch this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
NF123Aug 19, 2010
Irritating and self important. The Bielski brothers deserved better! The main problems lie in it's melodrama. When the film does action scenes they're actually alright. But they're the only satisfying part of it and even then look likeIrritating and self important. The Bielski brothers deserved better! The main problems lie in it's melodrama. When the film does action scenes they're actually alright. But they're the only satisfying part of it and even then look like they're on a set. Wouldn't blame the director or even actors for this, I would blame the producer who greenlit this for a hollywood studio despite it clearly needing a different style then what hollywoods accustomed to Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
asylumspadezNov 26, 2011
Far too long and would have been a bit better if it wasnt. Solid acting by the main cast as well. The film overall though wasnt that interesting and often was rather dull through most parts of the film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
lawayAug 2, 2013
Neither smart, nor bright sci-fi that has poor characters, bad screenplay, cheap effects and stupid dialogs. Recommended only if there's nothing else to see (which is unlikely to happen).
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
BroyaxJan 10, 2017
Edward Zwick est coutumier du fait, à savoir d'une part des films trop longs et englués dans leur incroyable lenteur et d'autre part la guimauve qui suinte de partout, de la guimauve neuneu de base mais aussi de la guimauve patriotiqueEdward Zwick est coutumier du fait, à savoir d'une part des films trop longs et englués dans leur incroyable lenteur et d'autre part la guimauve qui suinte de partout, de la guimauve neuneu de base mais aussi de la guimauve patriotique pseudo-héroïque, prétentieuse et pathétique.

Daniel "Bond" Craig est bien gentil mais se fait vite avaler par ce malstrom très pleurnichard et très vain qui ne rend vraiment pas service à l'Histoire puisqu'il s'agit d'évènements réels semble-t-il. Le film fait penser à un Koh Lanta dans la forêt dans lequel on se bastonne de temps en temps avec les Allemands entre deux retours dans les cabanes en rondins et même une danse folklorique (Rabbi Jacob dans les cordes).

Les enjeux se retrouvent donc réduits à leur plus simple expression (un comble !) pour un film grandiloquent qui tente de nous tirer la larme à l'oeil mais qui nous fait bailler aux corneilles.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews