Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Reviewed by: Miriam Bale
    Aug 22, 2013
    70
    The film is ridiculous and laugh-out-loud funny, though it’s sometimes hard to tell if this is intentional or not. Either way, it remains riveting because of its effective tropes.
  2. Reviewed by: Owen Williams
    Aug 21, 2013
    60
    It's good to see Harlin back in the mountains, and while this isn't on par with Cliffhanger's thrills and spills, it's a smartly-executed little whatdunnit.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Glasby
    Aug 21, 2013
    60
    Sometimes bad, never boring and, at the last, completely bonkers, it’s proof at least that you can freeze cheese.
  4. Reviewed by: Mike D'Angelo
    Aug 21, 2013
    58
    Here’s the trouble: Devil’s Pass isn’t actually about the Dyatlov Pass Incident. It’s about five blandly good-looking American kids who decide to make a documentary about the Dyatlov Pass Incident but subsequently disappear in the same area, leaving behind — sigh — their camera equipment.
  5. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    Aug 24, 2013
    50
    It’s cheesy enough fun while it lasts, but in the Harlin pantheon, it isn’t a patch on “Deep Blue Sea.” Then again, few things are.
  6. Reviewed by: Drew Hunt
    Aug 22, 2013
    50
    As Renny Harlin's career progresses, it seems more and more that his early gems were merely happy accidents.
  7. Reviewed by: Noel Murray
    Aug 21, 2013
    40
    Harlan’s film—written by Vikram Weet—is a routine low-budget genre picture, with blandly attractive young actors overmatched by the freakiness lurking in the wilderness.
  8. Reviewed by: Nigel Floyd
    Aug 21, 2013
    40
    The students keep filming when it is insane to do so, and an avalanche of speculative tosh smothers everything except our mocking laughter.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 1 out of 2
  1. Sep 15, 2013
    9
    MUST SEE
    by cpace635
    I watched this on Demand today.. I personally love IFC, it brings simplicity back to the scene, the writing I thought
    was brilliantly subdued, but was able to allow for a unique juvenile building of fear and excitement for what may lie around the next snow covered bend on the Mountain I am retired army.. I have been to the Urals, my father in Antarctica, I have also been in the Carpathians in Transylvania.. I thought was such a twist, you really have to be interested in conspiracy theories, or interested in per 1960 science.. I do not want to ruin this film for anybody.. But lets say.. I wants you to believe Full Review »
  2. Feb 28, 2014
    0
    Boring! Low budget! bad actors! badly directed! and the list goes on and on! Whats a mess of a movie. I watched it 3/4 hoping that the end would make up for the crap that I was watching! Avoid this movie! Full Review »